Your Profile
Login

New Here?

Sign Up

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Birkdale Golf Club


"Below average"

12/4/22: Review by Hunter

I heard they are closing for 8 months for a sewer project, hopefully they use that time to fix the issues. The greens are newer Bermuda and were fine (but fast and hard, I like those, some may not). None of the bunkers were playable. Full of mud/water etc. To be fair they...

About The B-Man
The B-Man himself

Reviews for Regent Park Golf Club

Recent Reviews for All Courses

Review
  • 7/11/15 - Review by BLTdahacker

    "Never going back"

    I went out on Saturday afternoon at 4:00 and lets just say I was disappointed to see a former top local course this way. First off I was a little shocked that at this time of day the rate was still $39. When I asked the lady in the pro shop if that was the twilight rate she said yes the normal rate is $64. Then I go out to get my cart an had to move at least 6 carts that were left from previous rounds out of the way just to get mine out. Now to the course the tee boxes and fairways were in decent shape but the bunkers and greens were in terrible condition. The greens were covered in unfixed ball marks (that's just due to lazy players) a few dead spots. The bunkers didn't even look like they belonged on any golf course let alone one that has the rates of $64 and $39. Also there was only one water cooler on the course that had anything in it and the water was not cold and was on #10 (really hole #1 cause we started on #10) which I thought was crazy seeing how it was I don't know 100 degrees out. There was not beverage cart going around. The one bathroom on the on the front 9 was locked which I guess is not bad for a male golfer but when you have a lady in your group that pays the same crazy rates I think its a big issue. Many of you know there are several bridges on this course and I wondered as I went over them if I was going to make it across or not. I think the folks at Regent Park should take a closer look at there course and rethink there rates. Lets just say it will be awhile before I go back.

    Read The Review
  • 6/12/15 - Review by metallikviper

    "Great course"

    Almost perfect conditions. Fairways, bunkers and greens are in great shape. Greens are really soft being they are Bent greens. Lots of divot marks from lazy golfers. Tee boxes need some help, but otherwise the course is in great shape and is a really good value. Only problem is the pace of play on the weekends. They really need to do a better job getting the marshal to speed things up.

    Read The Review
  • 4/12/15 - Review by jscum13

    "Great course"

    Firs time at this course and from where I live - south Charlotte - the 15 minute drive was a great perk to this course. Loved the layout and character of the course. That 8th is a bi**h from the blue tees and is deservedly the 1 handicap on the course. Greens were in great shape and there were signs of green fairways emerging. My only issue with this course is slow play which seems to be the trend with this course. The obscene image burned in to the 5th green will make any guy laugh but it's not right and unfortunate that happened. Will play here again

    Read The Review
  • 3/15/15 - Review by metallikviper

    "Worth playing"

    First round of the new season and I was happy with my round. The new driving range is coming along nicely. Still using old beat up balls though. Fairways were mostly yellow and a bit wet from the recent rains. Tee boxes were in decent shape, but could use some work. Greens were in phenomenal shape, and almost all putts rolled true. We had a really slow foursome in front of us and the marshal did nothing to speed things up. We played the front nine just over 3 hours and after we passed them on the clubhouse we finished our round in 2 hours. PS: Green on #5 has a very inappropriate drawing of almost 10 ft, probably made by some local kids using round up. Green on #4 has a huge gouge running down the center of the green.

    Read The Review
  • 7/20/14 - Review by kincaid82

    "Great course"

    Regent park has the most consistent fairways and rough I have seen this year and would rate it a 8/10, greens a 7/10, and tee boxes 5/10. Some greens had some rough spots, but overall they looked very healthy , but not as smooth as I would have liked. Regent is a good layout, and would play there more often it was closer. There is not much extra to the course itself, as the range it pretty simple, but overall it has everything you need. One thing I have to say is the food at the turn for all four of us, was the best we have had in some time. We all had something different and each guy was impressed.

    Read The Review
  • 6/20/14 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Worth playing"

    Good value at the senior rate, not so much at the regular rate ($45). Greens bumpy in spots, other conditions good. Love the layout, so for the right price well worth playing. A bit odd that they are the only course I know of that requires a credit card to hold the reservation, for a Friday tee time no less. That used to be common, but that was in golf's heyday, not now.

    Read The Review
  • 5/26/14 - Review by metallikviper

    "Worth playing"

    This is probably the closest course to me so I play here a lot in spite of it being a bit pricey. The course is in great shape most of the year. Greens are very well maintained, fairways mowed evenly and bunker raked well. The new driving range is coming along nicely. Everything seems perfect expect for the pace of play. This is the 4th time in row that I have played a round over 5.5 hours. We teed off as a twosome and played the first five holes in 20 mins and then when we caught up on the 6th hole, we played the rest of the course over 5 hours. It took us 25 mins to play Hole#6. The beverage girl came around twice on the same hole. When we asked the marshal he said there are no gaps and its just a slow day. If they don't figure out how to speed up, they are going to lose golfers.

    Read The Review
  • 5/18/14 - Review by CU_Tigerfan

    "Worth playing"

    Average conditions all around at Regent Park. Nothing that was particularly bad. A few of the greens had some minor issues, but nothing that would prevent me from returning soon. Pace of play was good, and that's a huge bonus in my book.

    Read The Review
  • 4/22/14 - Review by oneputt

    "Worth playing"

    nice layout and routing. greens had some issues but overall played pretty consistent. there is a lot of trash, old trees, planks of old wood, bushes uprooted, that take away from the affect of the property. staff were very pleasant. i think overall this is a good place to come and play, depending on your costs.

    Read The Review
  • 3/23/14 - Review by oneputt

    "Worth playing"

    course is in expected shape for the time of the year wnd the current weather. the greens have some issues. tees and fairways were ok. theere were several areas in play that were just plain old bad. no grass,mud and trash. we played quicky without many folks in front. this was due to the impending storms. pro shop staff were very polite and professional. layout of this course is great and well worth the time and money to play.

    Read The Review
  • 3/15/14 - Review by metallikviper

    "Great course"

    Everything looks to be in good shape, tee to green. This course is going to be great in the spring and summer. Driving range is coming along nicely, though I wish they get new balls soon. Fairways were dried up which was expected. What was very unusual was that the green were very firm. Very few balls checked up, as usually they stop if not spin back a bit. I wish more people would take the time to rake bunkers. Only problem I had was the pace of play. We had a 4-some in front who were hitting almost 2 balls of every tee. We waited on them on almost every hole.

    Read The Review
  • 2/22/14 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Worth playing"

    All in all, good conditions. A few greens with rough spots. A fair amount of standing water from the rains. Fairly slow at 4:40 but didn't seem that way, and there was a ranger frequently making the rounds. Still redoing the range but it was open.

    Read The Review
  • 12/13/13 - Review by wnb5th

    "Average"

    The thing is that I love this layout but always seem to have small things come up that make me walk away thinking negatively about this course and the management. Teed off at 1 PM and was told the course was wide open and we'd be able to finish - we were told to please have the golf carts in by 5 PM. On the 13th green a ranger approached us and told us that we had to have the carts in by 4:30 PM for darkness. WTF!!!! We were told one thing when we paid and then another once we were almost 3/4 into our round. It's almost 5 PM while I type this and i certainly dont have any darkness issues. Just the little things that this course could do better.. Regarding the course - the greens are in good shape with just some isolated issues. no complaints about the course conditions.

    Read The Review
  • 11/11/13 - Review by dongtrgolfer

    "Average"

    Playing behind a tournament and it was a 5 hr15 minute brutal round waiting on almost every shot. No rangers on the course moving people along. Greens were very fast and there were a few with problems. Fairways hard as rock. Rough still fairly thick surprisingly. Great price for Veterans on Veterans Day but way too slow.

    Read The Review
  • 9/13/13 - Review by msgmu

    "Bad, stay away"

    This used to be my favorite place to play in the area not any longer. They have the worst greens period. So bad I can't compare them to anything. Bunkers are terrible. A playing partner tried to hit a shot and got caught on the tarp below the sand. If you get a deal it might be worth a practice before you go somewhere else but that's it! And the two bridges you have to cross are ridiculous! Someone is going to get hurt when they collapse.

    Read The Review
  • 9/11/13 - Review by ISlayMySelf

    "Great course"

    2nd time playing Regent Park and the conditions were much better than my previous review. Construction still taking place on the range but the tee box area was well maintained as was everything else around the clubhouse. The tee boxes, fairway and sand traps were in very good conditions. The sand traps were some of the best I have seen all year. They were dry, raked and soft. The greens were beat up but there was a company tournament there before we played and they did not repair many marks. I'm not a grass expert but I believe the type of grass on the greens does not do well this time of the year. Emerald Lake looks like they have the same grass and their greens are in comparable shape to Regent Park. Golf Now deal for $15 plus the fact I broke 90 for the first time made this a great day of golf. Most of the course is 5 stars but greens are 3.

    Read The Review
  • 8/11/13 - Review by Cant3Putt

    "Great course"

    The course was in great shape. The greens had some pitch mark problems in areas and the greens were a little thin in spots but they rolled well enough. Tee boxes, Fairways and bunkers were in great shape. Even thought the range has been under construction it is open for weekends for warm ups--No distance markers. The staff was great. I called earlier in the week and spoke to a very nice woman who offered to put our group of eight in the computer for the $52 rate instead of the rack rate of $64. She didn't have to do that since we already had the tee times. Nice gesture on her part. They still only have water on the course at two locations so be prepared. It is posted before you get on the course.

    Read The Review
  • 7/27/13 - Review by CU_Tigerfan

    "Great course"

    Managed to get in an early round Saturday at Regent before the rains came. Still in great shape. Greens were very soft, but rolled true. Unfortunately I will echo what I've been reading here a lot lately. Golfers are not fixing their ball marks. The greens were so soft at Regent even a short chip would leave a ball mark, so this certainly exacerbates the issue. It's a shame really, as we all suffer in the long run when these lazy golfers don't take 10 seconds to make repairs.

    Read The Review
  • 6/15/13 - Review by metallikviper

    "Great course"

    Green are in good shape for this time of the year as the heat is starting to pick up. They were watering the greens on some of the holes while we were playing trying to keep it green. Noticed a lot of unfixed divots. Tee boxes and fairways are in great condition. Looks like the heavy downpour from the past few weeks has taken a heavy toll on the bunkers. Practice range still closed as they are making renovations, but please put a sign up that says so. We came in an hour early to hit balls only to wait. I would have given this course 5* if it wasn't for the pace of play. I'm not a good golfer so I'm not judging, but 5 hours is inexcusable. We had to wait on every hole for the group in front and we played as a 4-some. They need to speed up the play at this course. I think the USGA is doing the right thing with their pace of play campaign.

    Read The Review
  • 6/13/13 - Review by ILL-INI

    "Great course"

    I felt like the previous reviewer was a bit unfair with his last review. He mentioned the practice area looking as though it was under construction and that the balls were scuffed, etc. Well...what gave it away - the giant bulldozer out there? They are improving the practice area, why would they have new balls right now with that being the case? The course, other than the sand traps, is in pristine condition. You cannot find a dead spot on any of the greens, the fairways are full, tee boxes all very good. The sand was a product of the torrential downpours we got last week which they are working on. I don't see how you could be disappointed at all with this track, it's in fantastic condition - unless you're playing out of the sand all day long.

    Read The Review
  • 6/10/13 - Review by ISlayMySelf

    "Worth playing"

    Greens were in great shape, tee boxes were a little hairy and the fairways were a little thin in spots. Bunkers were awful but with the recent heavy rains I don't think the course had much control over that. I'm giving 3.5 stars because of the amenities. The range was awful. Balls were dirty, scuffed or split. The range hitting area itself hasn't been cut in days and your target area is a wasteland. Nothing to aim at and most of it looks as if they are doing some type of construction. Another big negative is that they have no water or beverages available on the course. They have the spots made but don't take the time to put a cooler in there and they didn't even have a beverage cart. 90 degrees and 60% humidity make for an awfully long day when you have to wait 9 holes to get a drink. You can find cheaper courses with just as nice conditions and better amenities all over Charlotte.

    Read The Review
  • 6/7/13 - Review by CU_Tigerfan

    "Great course"

    Played here as part of a 3-day tournament over 3 different courses. Like me last review, the course is still in very good shape. Some areas were pretty soggy due to all the rain, which also left the bunkers less than ideal. Nothing that the course could really control. Greens were great. Range continues to be terrible.

    Read The Review
  • 6/2/13 - Review by CU_Tigerfan

    "Great course"

    Greens were in great shape, and rolled really well. The rest of the course was very good too, with my only comment being that it seemed the fairways were a little hard and dry already. I thought that was surprising given the wet winter/early spring we had. I will warn about the driving range; no grass at all. Basically you're just hitting off of hard pan.

    Read The Review
  • 6/1/13 - Review by metallikviper

    "Worth playing"

    The course is in great shape tee to green. Green were rolling true and very few divot marks. Tee boxes and bunkers were in good shape. The fairways seemed a bit thin and hard considering that we haven't seen a lot a of heat. I have always liked this course and it is very close to where I live. But, I was very disappointed with their service on Saturday. We had a 12:04 tee time and did not finish till 5:40. They had 2 groups that were playing in 5s and slowing everyone behind them. Once of them was in jeans and hiking boots. When we asked the Marshal if he could do something about it, he just said he is not authorized to make a call. I'll give them another chance, but wasn't impressed.

    Read The Review
  • 5/30/13 - Review by 4amigos

    "Worth playing"

    Greens are in good condition but fairways are thin and hard. Some bunkers had very little sand and mud in some others. Big problem in 80 degree weather was no water on the course, only cups. Tried to get some at the clubhouse but after 10 minutes of no service I gave up. Driving range could use grass, mostly hard and bare Course has made big improvements but needs to finish the job.

    Read The Review
  • 5/29/13 - Review by ILL-INI

    "Great course"

    Can't really say much of anything except they have this course running on all cylinders right now. Greens are in excellent shape and cut for a nice roll. Fairways are a tad thin but nothing bad. This is a nice play right now.

    Read The Review
  • 5/19/13 - Review by wnb5th

    "Below average"

    hard to rate this course any higher because of the customer service or lack thereof. had to wait in the proshop for 15 minutes before being attended to. i love the layout of this track but in the past few years the conditions (the greens) have really suffered. they are ok right now but still have some sandy, dead areas on the collars. the issue is that this course should be tip top shape right now b/c of the grass they have. for the cost, there are much better deals in the area.

    Read The Review
  • 4/26/13 - Review by estanwick

    "Great course"

    Greens grade: A- Tee boxes: B Fairways and sand: B Greens so true and fast today. I believe you should play this course before the heat gets it. But that should be about a month or two out. Worth playing currently. Strongly consider it at this time.

    Read The Review
  • 11/3/12 - Review by TheClaw

    "Worth playing"

    Greens were not perfect but still pretty good. Everything else good. Some of the greens do have bad areas but all credit to the course as they have been marked and roped off and are under treatment. They have put the pins far away from any bad areas so they don't come into play at all. In the pro shop they charge around $67 for a morning tee time which is absolutely insane for this course under these conditions right now. However it is good value at $40 but I would not pay a cent more than that.

    Read The Review
  • 10/6/12 - Review by slowmofo

    "Below average"

    Woah, what the hell happened? I played Regent Park the beginning of this year and it wasn't a bad course. Played a month or two ago and they had punched the greens. The greens were better when they were punched. The greens are dying and they were overwaterd when we played. Which equals divot mark galore. I had about 4 puts thats jumped in the air from hitting different marks in the green, every ball that landed on the green would take a massive divot, but the fairways were decent. The greens need some serious work.

    Read The Review
  • 9/5/12 - Review by stonecold

    "Below average"

    i played this course w/ a friend of mine today they charged him 55.00 what a disgrace this course is in very rough shape greens r very spotty tee boxes did not have markers posted/ the bridges are being patched up instead of being fixed! plus we had a 4 some who would not let us play through we were a 2some. i myself had a coupon so i pd 21.00 for the cart fee i used to like this course but the conditions are not good and watch out for the fees!!

    Read The Review
  • 8/12/12 - Review by rjrnyy

    "Worth playing"

    Overall, the tee area and fairways are in great condition. Trouble is the bunkers and greens need as lot of work. Sand is missing in some bunkers and those that have sand, it is minimal and hard as a rock, No maintenance at all. Greens were being worked on here and there, but it's going to take more than that. No one was on the course at noon so pace of play was fantastic but I would assume people know about the conditions.

    Read The Review
  • 7/30/12 - Review by izzyf150

    "Worth playing"

    Played Regent Park for the first time. I thought it was a pretty good course. The tee boxes were in good condition. The fairways were good shape . (not thin) The greens rolled nice and had a nice medium speed to it. (not too fast, not too slow). The greens were also nice and soft. I was leaving some pretty big divots, bigger than any other course I’ve been on this year. Now for the negatives. Quite a few greens had grassless rough patches around the outer edge of the green. It doesn’t affect the game that much unless you land your ball on the area. (which would be rare) Otherwise your usually chipping the ball over that area anyway. The greens (because they are soft) had ball marks. It’s past time for them to replace their golf carts. The girl working the counter I don’t think knew a thing about golf. Then the worst one of all, the price. $49 to play 18 with a tee time close to noon or a week day! That’s enough that I will not be back any time soon.

    Read The Review
  • 3/14/12 - Review by Taylan

    "Worth playing"

    The course was in decent shape for the winter. The greens were not the best with some isolated problem areas but were rolling true. We had an early morning teetime and pretty much had the course to ourselves. Overally it's worth playing especially if you can get out there during the weekdays.

    Read The Review
  • 3/10/12 - Review by metallikviper

    "Worth playing"

    Overall the course was in good shape for this time of the year. It was really annoying however to play a round almost over 5 hrs. Granted it was a Saturday and warm, but waiting at every hole gets pretty irritating. Did not a see a marshal the entire round. Fairways were all dead which is expected this time of the year. Greens were in good shape except for a few. Looks like they were aerated last week. Sand in bunkers is always in good shape. Pin locations seemed like we were playing at Augusta on Sunday. Most of the tee boxes were in good condition and looked like they had been over-seeded.

    Read The Review
  • 2/11/12 - Review by 4Putts

    "Below average"

    I wanted to check this off the list and it's an interesting layout but OMG... What a goat ranch. Avoid this one. (topped off the round by waiting 15 mins for a Hot Dog... a Hot Dog, not exactly complicated... And it was cold) 1.5 stars is probably being generous.

    Read The Review
  • 11/24/11 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Below average"

    Thanksgiving - was going to be a shotgun, but with literally <10 people playing, told to just go off the 1st. Playing single, catch a tractor blowing leaves on second green. Mind you - blowing leaves, NOT setting pins. Wait 5 minutes. 3rd green - same. 4th - same...you get the picture. The guy clearly saw me waiting, never pulled to the side to let me through. 9th green, he's at the back, I hit to the front, my ball about 15 feet from the pin. By the time I get up to the green, my ball is nowhere to be found! When I asked in the pro shop who has the right of way - a leaf blower or a golfer - was told it was the leaf blower. Won't be back for a while.

    Read The Review
  • 10/25/11 - Review by piversen

    "Great course"

    group of 9 canadians teed off early morning...large range of abilities...liked by all. some rough patches on greens...well framed....interesting layout....felt wide open for a residential course. great value for the money....will return

    Read The Review
  • 9/11/11 - Review by Sephlo

    "Worth playing"

    Course is in decent shape. Normal wear for late summer greens. Only a few greens were really iffy. Fairways and tee boxes were excellent.

    Read The Review
  • 9/9/11 - Review by 2bluemonkeys

    "Never going back"

    I don't get it? I'm reading the reviews of Regent and for the most part they are all positive. These reviews are so NOT accurate and are either from Regent's employee's...all 4 of them...or member's trying to lure the unsuspecting to the course so they actually get some $ coming in!!! This place is a goat ranch. Greens need no description cause they don't exist...bunkers are NEVER raked...tee boxes are cut at 4-5" and their bermuda...rough always has clumps of grass in it as they never bag or blow...bare spots EVERYWHERE...and that's just the first hole. Any positive comment's dating back to 03/04/05 are valid BUT what's been posted as of late is just NOT correct. Renaissance does have a twin...Regent Park.

    Read The Review
  • 7/17/11 - Review by ILL-INI

    "Great course"

    I want to give this course 4.5 stars but the greens just won't allow me to do it. Everything leading up to the greens are nearly perfect. Plenty of plush grass in the fairways, tee boxes are cut fine, sand was full, etc. I really enjoyed playing out here Saturday. If the greens were in line I would say Regent park would be right up there with Springfield, Olde Sycamore and Stonebridge in terms of overall asthetics. Course is in great shape...greens are just hurting a little. I would play again no problem.

    Read The Review
  • 7/15/11 - Review by metallikviper

    "Worth playing"

    Course is in great shape. Tee boxes need some repair, fairways are near perfect and the sand in bunkers is probably the best in town. Greens are really showing signs of abuse and harsh weather. Balls marks everywhere and some of the greens have a bunch of dead patches, almost looks diseased. Pace of play was decent with no waiting. They probably have the best twilight deal and so close to the city.

    Read The Review
  • 7/15/11 - Review by Russell

    "Worth playing"

    I have been avoiding Regent Park since they seemed to be hit harder by last year's harsh weather than surrounding courses. Their practice green is about 1/3 the size it used to be but the practice area is still pretty nice. Tees were pretty good, the fairways were in excellent shape and the rough was pretty thick. The greens are still suffering. Patchy in many areas. Maybe I have become so used to the miniverde greens (Springfield, Fort Mill, Tega Cay) that the bent greens seem sparse. Ball marks are plentiful. Again, I have to say the sand is some of the best in town - I just wish I could stay out of it.

    Read The Review
  • 6/10/11 - Review by metallikviper

    "Great course"

    Course is in near perfect condition. We played it on Friday after work and used the twilight special of $30. I would be happy to even pay $50 for this course as it is in great condition. Fairways, tee boxes and rough were in great shape except for a few barren spots. Sand in bunkers were even and soft as I ending up being in almost everyone of them that day. Greens probably had the truest roll I've seen around Charlotte. Will definitely be coming back if they keep it up.

    Read The Review
  • 6/6/11 - Review by Fattyhoon

    "Great course"

    Played this morning. Course was in good shape. 1st green was really beat up, but all others were in good shape. Fairways and rough were in good shape as well. there was the occasional barren spot right off the cart path that has to much cart travel, but nothing that should affect play. Greens were decent speed, and rolled true. One of the best all around courses as far as condition goes that I have played this year. My only complaint was that we(3some) were stuck behind a 4some of ladies for 12 holes that didn't let us play through. It really slowed the round down for us, but we never saw a ranger to mention it to. U understand that 4.5 hours isn't abnormally long, but there was no reason that my group couldn't have finished 30-45 minutes quicker. Great course and great conditions. I will be going back soon.

    Read The Review
  • 1/30/11 - Review by JD

    "Never going back"

    Pro shop told me course was "in good shape for January." Lie! 6-8 greens with significant issues. And they had the guts to charge the full $55 rate. The new owners (4-5 years ago) promised they'd uphold the course conditions. They have not. I'm done with this place until they get new owners.

    Read The Review
  • 1/30/11 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Average"

    Everything good except the greens - very significant issues. Lots of bare spots, lots of bumpy bare spots. I don't know if they will be able to solve this with the spring punch. Not a good sign for the coming year.

    Read The Review
  • 11/11/10 - Review by deadliftdaddy

    "Average"

    Given the apparent pride they take in this course (read--price) you would think they would have the greens back by now. The places that were good were real good, the places that were bad were down right unacceptable. Pace of play was awful. How in the world do two twosomes hold up a foursome?

    Read The Review
  • 7/24/10 - Review by CU_Tigerfan

    "Below average"

    Played here for the 2nd time in about a month and a half, and unfortunately their greens are just terrible. The 17th had a temporary green. The others were bare dirt over large portions. The rest of the course (bunkers, tees, fairways, rough) is really in very good shape. Pace of play was good for a Saturday morning, but it's just not worth playing right now.

    Read The Review
  • 7/11/10 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Worth playing"

    They lost green #17, so it's playing with a temporary green which doesn't really make it a hole. Other than that, most greens were in very good shape, as was the overall course. Unfortunately, as much as I like the layout, it seems every time I play here (usually just one or two times a year), there is some issue with conditions - temporary green, bunkers not in good condition, just always something.

    Read The Review
  • 7/5/10 - Review by wnb5th

    "Great course"

    Overall the course is in good shape- it usually always is. The greens are taking a beating from the heat but they are doing a really good effort to keep them in good shape. Only one green, #17, had issues. Compared to Waterford where I played 2 days earlier this was great. Actually no comparson, Regent was in much better condition. I play in a golf league here as well and think it is one of the best courses around for the money and the layout is great. Challenging golf course and if your par #8 you should be proud.

    Read The Review
  • 5/30/10 - Review by CU_Tigerfan

    "Great course"

    Course was in very good shape. Very enjoyable round here on Sunday. A couple of fairways were a little water logged, but other than that no complaints at all. We didn't see another group in front of us, or behind of us all day.

    Read The Review
  • 4/30/10 - Review by B-Man

    "Worth playing"

    After hearing great reviews lately, I tried Regent out. The greens did not disappoint. They were quick, rolled true and in great playing condition. There were no issues with tees, fairways, or rough. Overall, the course is a fun round with challenges and easier holes mixed well. A couple of holes can play very difficult, though, and so my scores always seem to balloon because of a few bad swings. In particular, #1 is a target tee shot where long will get you in trouble, then you have a tricky downhill approach to a green guarded by a creek and a big bunker -- where one of my shots plugged. They had us starting on #10, so this was our 10th hole, but otherwise that's a tough opening hole. #8 is a brutally long par 4 that can give you a blind 2nd shot, but it also penalizes long tee shots that are just a little left of center. #10 is a par 5 with a very narrow target area for your 2nd shot and anything left is dead and gone. And then #13 is a pretty scary long par 3. The tee shot requires almost the full hole distance's worth of carry to a sliver of a green. Perhaps I just don't play here often enough to shoot a good score. It seems like experience with the layout will help you quite a bit.

    Read The Review
Latest Forum Post

Reply To: Latest Newsletter Issue is Out!

By B-Man on 11/17/22

The November issue of my email newsletter went out today. Sign up if you haven't already and go check out this report on winter golf in Charlotte, the new Toptracer range at The Divide, my 2-month epic golf odyssey and the latest course reviews from around Charlotte. I...

Your Profile
Login

New Here?

Sign Up

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Birkdale Golf Club


"Below average"

12/4/22: Review by Hunter

I heard they are closing for 8 months for a sewer project, hopefully they use that time to fix the issues. The greens are newer Bermuda and were fine (but fast and hard, I like those, some may not). None of the bunkers were playable. Full of mud/water etc. To be fair they...

Latest Forum Post

Reply To: Latest Newsletter Issue is Out!

By B-Man on 11/17/22

The November issue of my email newsletter went out today. Sign up if you haven't already and go check out this report on winter golf in Charlotte, the new Toptracer range at The Divide, my 2-month epic golf odyssey and the latest course reviews from around Charlotte. I...

About The B-Man
The B-Man himself
Homestretch Golf
Homestretch Golf
The Best Golf Tournament Wagering Platform!
See the Demo