Your Profile
Login

New Here?

Sign Up

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

The Divide Golf Club


"Worth playing"

8/7/22: Review by Steve K

Greens nice but super firm. Fairways: some good. some a bit tight and dry. tee boxes were rough. don't expect any turf-tees here. Was an enjoyable, albeit SLOW round.

About The B-Man
The B-Man himself

Reviews for Eagle Chase Golf Club

Recent Reviews for All Courses

Review
  • 6/26/22 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    Eagle Chase has gotten even better over the past year. They've completed the bunker renovations and they are excellent now. And glory be! They repaved cart paths throughout the course! I've been complaining about broken cart paths and recommending that you don't even use them for years. They finally fixed them! There are 3 covered pavilions next to the clubhouse now, including one with tables and stools for gatherings and events. It's a great place to settle bets after the round over beers. I was disappointed they didn't have any hot dogs on this Sunday. So just pre-packaged sandwiches as far as food. The fairways and greens were in fine shape. The greens were consistently good throughout. Typical speed not lightning fast. The rate was $54 for a weekend morning. That's at least $20-$30 less than other top tier public courses around Charlotte. This course and Deer Brook are the best courses for your money locally. Living uptown, Eagle Chase is now a good 50-60 minutes for me but I will continue to go back every chance I get.

    Read The Review
  • 5/12/22 - Review by Jonny

    "Worth playing"

    I've been reading about the B-Man's Guide to the 'Top 10 Public Courses' in the Charlotte area and this course came in ranked as #7. If you've got some 'wind shield time' take a minute and download the 'Taking Dead Aim' Podcast and listen to the B-Man and Charlie Nance talk about the 'Top 10'. It's a long haul from Fort Mill, SC. It took me an hour to get there and the return trip was and hour and one half. Can you say commitment? When you get there you'll be rewarded. This is in the 'country' and that's part of the charm. Especially if you go during the week. I felt relaxed and not rushed. It was a slow Thursday, maybe because the weather forecast was not the best. It never did rain so I had no one in front or behind me so I played a very relaxed round in 4 hours. I had a 110p tee time and I got there early and hit a small bucket for $6 bucks. They have a nice driving range and distance poles give you good aims and marks for your range finder. There is also a large practice putt area and a chipping area with a bunker. The Clubhouse Pro and Instructor is a guy named Matt who is straight to the point and very knowledgable. I was concerned about the possibility of rain and he assured me there would be an option for a raincheck no matter how many holes I played. The course is in really good condition for the most part. The Zoysia greens are large and roll very fast. There are a few holes where you simply can't see the flag or the green from the fairway. The tee boxes are well marked and in great condition. There are some Par 3's that offer elevated greens and many of the Par 4's are accessible. There are just a few little nits I have and I'm not going to make a big deal because overall this course is a great value for the money. I'm not one of those golfers that can't hit off a fairway with no grass. There is grass but it's short. The cart paths will be a challenge There are many stretches where there is no paved path, it's all gravel. There were several holes where there was ground under repair close in around the greens. I like the elevation changes. Its on a beautiful piece of land. There is a fair amount of water & on a couple of holes it will challenge your strategy for risk/reward. There are a few fairway bunkers but they are not in play for the most part. Same for the green side bunkers. In fact it looks like they have removed some of them and allowed grass to grow in. This is definitely not a course you want to walk. In many cases there is quite a distance from the green to the next tee and there is a lot of up and down hills. There is a small club house & they do have some food and hot dogs. They have several well stocked coolers with a mix of beer's and sodas. They offer a Veteran discount so I got in 18 holes for just $35.00, just a great value.

    Read The Review
  • 3/26/22 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    Still one of my faves. The layout, the scenery and the greens will keep this in my Top 10. In the meantime, they have made some improvements and have some in progress that will make it even better. They are halfway through a bunker renovation with the front 9 completed and the back 9 nearly done. For now, several holes on the back have bunkers marked as Ground Under Repair until they are able to fill them in with sand – this made for a hilarious shot by one of my playing partners where he tried to chip over the left greenside bunker on 13, duffed it, bounced off the concrete bunker bottom and onto the green :-D. The bunkers that are done are niiice. Full, fluffy white sand has replaced the old, washed out red dirt bunkers. This will be an excellent upgrade. They've also reshaped and enlarged a few of them. Case in point, the aforementioned left greenside bunker on the driveable par 4 13th now extends across the front of the green. This will block a ball from rolling up onto the green, but it will also save balls from taking the left to right slope and rolling into the water. So I'd call it a good change. They've laid new sod around some of the greens and new bunkers as well. They have also dug up the pond to the right of the par 3 6th hole to put in better drainage I'm guessing. This won't change the hole but might improve the aesthetics when they are done. The Zoysia greens have matured now and they are able to keep them smooth and fast. Downhill putts – and you will have many on these greens – can be scary fast. They are in great shape. Eagle Chase used to be this hidden gem out in the Union County pastures, but with its beauty and excellent greens, word has gotten out. The course is more crowded now and the rates are going up (now $60 for a prime weekend tee time). Still, it is worth the drive and the money!

    Read The Review
  • 6/19/21 - Review by THE BIG SHOW

    "Great course"

    Played here for the first time 6/19/2021. We drove an hour and half (90 miles) to play there. We had a 9:20 tee time. Course was everything we were told it would be. Course was in great condition, great greens. Lots of elevation change through out the course, $53 for Saturday morning tee time was great for being near the Charlotte area.

    Read The Review
  • 4/25/21 - Review by GoBux

    "Worth playing"

    Great Course - Great Greens - Horrendous pace of play. Skipped the last two holes in frustration.

    Read The Review
  • 3/24/21 - Review by HittOD

    "Great course"

    The major problem with this course previously was the poor conditions of the cart paths in some areas, with tree roots having raised the asphalt. I am glad to see that this has been addressed. The bad areas of cart paths have been removed and replaced by smooth packed gravel/dirt. The course is great, with Diamond Zoysia greens and no bad spots. The greens are a good challenge, with most putts having some break. The holes are unique, making the layout enjoyable to play. I saw one guy with a walking cart, but this would be a difficult course to walk due to elevation changes. The clubhouse is basic with no frills. I highly recommend this course.

    Read The Review
  • 1/18/21 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    Greens were fa-a-a-st! When I play during the warmer months, the greens are usually lush and play like thick carpet. At this time of year, they are dormant and slick. Downhill putts were treacherous! The course has dried out so no issues in the fairways or bunkers. $40 for a holiday Monday was a great deal.

    Read The Review
  • 12/10/20 - Review by MGOBLUE

    "Great course"

    First time playing here since August 2019 and the course did not disappoint. Greens were perfect, smooth and fast. Fairways were dormant but in good/great shape. First time in forever I didn't land in a bunker but they looked to be in great shape. I really love this course just wished it was closer , it was almost and hour drive from Ft Mill. My only issue today was no one except for me and my neighbor wore masks in the pro shop.

    Read The Review
  • 11/4/20 - Review by twodown02

    "Worth playing"

    Nice course, like the greens. But pace of play was initially abysmal. I think it was more group(s) we were stuck behind. Group of 3 in front to over 40 mins to get to third tee, just pick up! Then they let us play through and played next 2 holes at fast pace to only run into next group who was equally slow. So, to play front 9 took us 3 hours. Fortunately, we passed that group on 9/10 and finished back in 90 mins. That pace of play ruins the experience. Also, 90 degree rule --- the cart paths are back breakers :-) But, it is not at all close to me and I like Edgewater, Springfield much better.

    Read The Review
  • 7/26/20 - Review by B-Man

    "Best of the best"

    Eagle Chase almost never disappoints. Greens were in fabulous shape, rolling well. Tees/fairways all good. A few bunkers had standing water, but with lift/clean/place were not a problem. $39 for a Sunday 12:50 tee time was a deal (compare to $59 at Birkdale on Saturday). The ranger was on the course and checked in with us a few times, letting us know a slow group in front of us was "on the clock". He swung by on the back 9 and in the parking lot (!?) to make sure we had a good round. Maybe he liked us? LOL. All in all, just a great track at a great price with great service. I'll give my usual caveat advice to avoid the cart paths.

    Read The Review
  • 7/25/20 - Review by anewt33

    "Best of the best"

    This was my first time out at Eagle Chase, and I was very impressed. Course lived up to the reviews I have read and was in fantastic shape. Greens rolled smooth and true, and I loved the layout that almost gives you a mountain course feel. Stretch of holes 11-13 on the back nine was the highlight of the course for me. A bit of a drive to get out there, but I will surely be back for a value you can't beat in the Charlotte area.

    Read The Review
  • 5/30/20 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    Eagle Chase was in good shape, despite all the rain. Tees, fairways and greens were fine with little or no puddles even with another mid round rain shower. Many bunkers had standing water though. With the no rakes, lift/clean/place rule already in effect, this didn't matter much. They have PVC pieces in the cups and they worked fine. Greens were smooth with nary a ballmark but they were a bit on the slow side, softened by the rain. Course was beautiful and fun to play as always. This course deserves its spot in my Top 10.

    Read The Review
  • 4/27/20 - Review by BetterThanMost

    "Great course"

    Played Eagle Chase on Monday. They are implementing several SD measures: One person to a cart (optional). No one in the clubhouse unless to use restroom. No rakes, sandbottles, ballwashers, etc. The driving range is open. The course itself is in decent shape. Teeboxes are mostly OK, with a few bare ones. Fairways have grass on them, but they are thin. Greens are in excellent shape. Bunkers are in good shape as well. The zoysia greens are extremely hard to read. A putt into the grain is like velcro, while a putt with the grain is very slick. They are doing some work on the path down to the 2nd green, so you actually cut across the white teebox on #2 and then use part of the path coming down from #4 tee. Everyone started on #10 the day we played; don't know if that's the case each day or not.

    Read The Review
  • 8/24/19 - Review by MGOBLUE

    "Great course"

    Agree with IM4DHERD's 7/7/19 review. Greens, fairways and tee boxes in great shape. With over 2 inches of rain last night some of the bunkers had casual water in them but I had no trouble getting out of two I found. Cart paths are indeed very bumpy. Played behind a very, very slow foursome which made for a 5 hour rd. One of my favorite courses.

    Read The Review
  • 7/7/19 - Review by IM4DHERD

    "Worth playing"

    Where it needs to be good, it is very good. Where it doesn't, not so much. Greens, fairways and teeboxes are in great shape. Sandtraps have a lot of gravel in the them, or at least the two I was in and others I observed walking by. Much of the cartpaths are so broken up as to be very uncomfortable, if not dangerous, to ride on. Outside of the fairways and some rough are a lot of bare areas, but this has always been the case.

    Read The Review
  • 5/14/19 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    Took a first timer out for his maiden round at Eagle Chase and he loved it. Greens were virtually perfect as they usually are. Carts were 90* despite weekend rainfall. A few bunkers had standing water but the maintenance crew was actively draining them on several holes (we teed off at 7:30am). So it was good to see them being proactive to quickly address it. Staff was very friendly to let us play through and did not interrupt our round.

    Read The Review
  • 9/2/18 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    Eagle Chase never disappoints me. While they did have some winterkill damage to repair over the past 2 months on a few greens, the problems are pretty much resolved. They resodded and mended a few (notably #9 and #17). Greens were a little slower than usual but still rolled true. Tees, fairways and bunkers were all fine. The rates and the views here are some of the best around. If the course were closer, I'd get a membership.

    Read The Review
  • 7/21/18 - Review by dischydo

    "Worth playing"

    First time playing Eagle Chase after hearing great things. Was not as impressed as other reviews make it sound. About ⅓ of the greens had been partially sodded and the rest were punched about 2 weeks ago. Overall good layout but the greens were slow and the sod really made it questionable. Give it a month or 2

    Read The Review
  • 7/5/18 - Review by Shankapotomous

    "Great course"

    Eagle Chase is always a welcome addition to the rotation of courses that I play. If it wasn't for the time it takes me to drive there to play, I would play there far more often. It's a completely different style of course than you will find any other place in the area. It gives you a mountain course feel with the elevation changes and slopes and is a test unlike other courses in the area. Having said that, they are making their way through some of the same issues that have plagued other courses in the area over the harsh winter. However they are handling the necessary recovery efforts better than most courses. Roughly 5 to 6 greens had some form of winter damage that they have worked hard to repair. Of those greens there were only 2 that I would call "damaged" currently. However the sod they replaced and the aeration and top dressing is taking well. All but 1 green should be 95% healed within the next 2 weeks with a little rain. Having said that, the course staff does an EXCELLENT job of placing the pins in unaffected areas of the greens and still making sure your experience is pleasurable. Fairways are very well maintained and course conditions are as good as any around. When the greens on this course are healed, they will be back to being some of the best (as they normally are) in all of Charlotte. It is well worth playing. If you are the type however that gets easily frustrated at conditions that are not pristine (even if due to acts of nature) then hold off for about 3 more weeks before playing it. But if you are the type of player who recognizes a good course, understands how conditions change and appreciates a staff that takes care of you and does the best they can to get the course back in the tip top shape it almost always is, then give it a shot and make sure to go in the clubhouse afterwards and tell Wally and the staff that they are doing a great job with the hand they were dealt. It is an excellent value for the course you always get. It's a great mix of holes and strategy that you don't use on most other courses. Appreciate the views and give it a go !

    Read The Review
  • 6/3/18 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    One of my top 5 favorite public courses in the area is in pretty good shape. They just have a handful of greens with areas they had to aerify recently due to lingering winterkill issues but the greens are large enough that they were able to put pins in spots where it did not affect play. They had a note posted on each cart listing the holes affected and asking you to play them as ground under repair. The only one I really noticed was #9 but the others (#1, #8, #17 and #18) were not that bad. All the other greens were immaculate and rolling well. This is a great course with beautiful views and it's very reasonably priced. I need to play it once a month at least.

    Read The Review
  • 5/1/18 - Review by aepfeiffer

    "Great course"

    Course is in good shape, greens are a little thin in areas but roll smooth, they had punched 2-3 greens but didn't affect play at all, course is looking beautiful tho, one of the best public courses around, just wish it didn't take me 45 minutes to get there! Honestly this course and Monroe CC have become my favorite 2 public courses around the Charlotte region, both are in good shape and you cant beat the price they charge!!

    Read The Review
  • 12/1/17 - Review by GetThere214

    "Great course"

    Love this course. Course is in great shape for late fall. Did have some leaves on and around the greens which is to be expected. They got some new golf carts which are really nice. Can't wait to get out here again.

    Read The Review
  • 10/27/17 - Review by jaydee

    "Great course"

    Greens in great shape. I always find the course fun to play , every hole is different. Pace of play was a little slow but not bad considering it was a Friday afternoon.

    Read The Review
  • 10/22/17 - Review by MGOBLUE

    "Best of the best"

    This was my first time playing Eagle Chase, but after reading many good reviews over the years I decided to give it a try and I was not disappointed. The course conditions were near perfect,the layout was very challenging and the staff was very friendly. They even had a ranger on the course successfully keeping the pace of play at 4 hours. The drive from Ft Mill was almost 1 hour, but once you exited I-485 , the drive in the country was a great change of pace from typical highway driving in and around Charlotte. I will definitely be back.

    Read The Review
  • 9/17/17 - Review by kuehbr

    "Great course"

    Course was busy but pace of play was decent. They had a hard time turning carts due to the morning play. The zoysia greens were in fantastic shape and rolling very fast for an afternoon round. I really do like playing this course even though it is a bit of a drive to get there. Cheap beer and a friendly staff makes it even better. Definitely worth the money and the drive to go play it.

    Read The Review
  • 7/9/17 - Review by GinMillDJ

    "Great course"

    Greens are amazing, the fairways are great and the tee boxes were in pretty good shape. Bunkers could use a little TLC. Pace of play was a tad slow, but it was Sunday morning. The course is always well maintained. With no roads or houses near the holes, it's super quiet and and very tranquil. A demanding course with some fun elevation changes on several holes. Totally worth the drive from Charlotte. Definitely will be back.

    Read The Review
  • 7/8/17 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    This remains one of my favorite courses, especially the back 9 -- on which I broke par for the first time in my life. :-P The greens were immaculate. They simply don't mark up and roll really well. Tees, fairways and bunkers were all in fine shape. I know folks complain about the cart paths, but they let you in the fairway pretty early. So it's easy to avoid them for the most part. Late afternoon is a perfect time to play here when it's not very crowded. And $29 is a great deal. Can't recommend this course enough for when you can make the drive out there.

    Read The Review
  • 4/30/17 - Review by KyleSmith

    "Great course"

    The course is very green, and despite the rain last week it still had some run to it in the fairways. I love the lack of rough here, because the ball runs out a good ways but doesn't penalize you for it. The greens were a little slow, but that was probably due to the massive amount of rain from the early part of the week. The only gripe I have with the course is that the bunkers are bad. Some spots have lesser sand than others, and there are a ton of rocks/pebbles in every one. Saturday morning gets a little slow, but nothing out of control. I would recommend

    Read The Review
  • 4/21/17 - Review by GetThere214

    "Great course"

    Course is in very good shape. Has greened up very nicely. Greens are as usual very good. I thought they were a little longer then usual but everything ran very true. course is getting a little dry in some areas but a good rain will soften everything right up. I love playing here and cant wait to come back.

    Read The Review
  • 9/3/16 - Review by jscum13

    "Great course"

    Simply the best. I say it every time I play and review Eagle Chase. Greens were really pure, hardly a ball mark in sight. Fairway and rough lies were perfect. Bunkers were unplayable solely because of the previous day's hurricane storm so they held a lot of water. Usually they are well manicured on any other day. Group in front of us came to a screeching halt on the back 9 so the round took a little bit longer than we would have hoped but the gorgeous views help pass the time

    Read The Review
  • 8/13/16 - Review by ShooterMcGavin71

    "Great course"

    Very challenging course from the tips. All greens firm, save 17, which is soft. Driving the ball accurately is key (I didn't do this). Greens were slower than putting green, which caused me to leave many putts short. Friendly ranger. I'd love to go back.

    Read The Review
  • 5/30/16 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    Played a Memorial Day late morning round with my Dad (also his birthday) and got paired with another twosome. The ranger was managing groups well and we had no problem with pace of play. $39 for a holiday morning tee time was great value. The course is in very good shape. The greens in particular were excellent, rolling very quick. It took me a few holes to adjust to their speed -- I've never seen them quicker at Eagle Chase. I was happy to see the bunkers raked since I was in several. They're not perfect around the edges, but the playing areas in the bunkers were very good. By the back 9, the sun came out and the views were spectacular (see my @charlottegolfer instagram for a pic). Eagle Chase is a beautiful course, especially the 11-14 hole stretch. The pro shop team is very friendly and helpful. I really enjoy playing here and will come back often this summer.

    Read The Review
  • 3/27/16 - Review by scrillthedeal13

    "Worth playing"

    Overall the course looked good, greens rolled excellent. The only complaint I have is with the firmness of the greens. I hit a number of shots that would bounce 4-5 feet in the air once they landed on the green, and I have a very high ball flight. Almost like it was hitting a trampoline, very strange. Also the cart paths out here are terrible, definitely a must fix for this course. They will beat you to death is you don't slow down like you're going over speed bumps. Eagle Chase has a great layout and serious potential to be a 5 star course. There only problem is $$$, or lack of. In all, great local course and always interesting. # 2, # 6, # 13 are some of the best golf holes in the county!!!

    Read The Review
  • 3/19/16 - Review by jscum13

    "Great course"

    As usual, the 45 minute drive to Eagle Chase did not disappoint. Once this course greens up, it's the best kept secret in the area. mini verde greens were fast, true and in great shape. Bunkers were all excellent as well as the tee boxes. Once the fairways grow in it should be mint. Love this track.

    Read The Review
  • 3/12/16 - Review by GetThere214

    "Great course"

    Course is in great shape for the winter. Tee boxes were very good. Fairways were very good for the time of year. Bunkers were pure and greens were really good. Speed was above average but the putts rolled great. One of my favorite courses in the Charlotte area.

    Read The Review
  • 3/11/16 - Review by tvrepairex

    "Great course"

    Greens good and Rolls true.Traps have good sand and were well raked.Fairways good ,will be great when they green up.Noticed they have been working on some "thicket"areas near some of the lakes and streams.

    Read The Review
  • 9/13/15 - Review by GetThere214

    "Great course"

    Great morning of golf. Got out early on Sunday and played the round in just over 3 hours. Tee boxes were good. Had no problems finding somewhere to tee off. Fairways were almost perfect. Rough was high and thick. You really need to watch exactly where you ball went in. Almost had to be right on top of it to see it. I don't mind that though gives a good challenge and have to think about your shot out. Bunkers were very good and raked that morning. The best aspect of the course were the greens. They were perfect. Love this course and cant wait to come back.

    Read The Review
  • 8/29/15 - Review by JBenn76

    "Great course"

    Getting new greens at Eagle Chase was the best thing the ever did. The new diamond zoysia putting surfaces are pretty good. They are definitely a little slow up the hill but I'm not complaining. I've always thought if they could keep the greens good and consistent, people would read enjoy playing their course. It feels like you are playing a mountain course with all the elevation changes and nice views. The tees were in really good shape and the fairways were next to perfect. The rough was a little bit high if I have to complain about something. But I know that the super has an extremely small staff. All in all, Eagle Chase was in the best shape I've seen it in a very long time! Highly recommended!!

    Read The Review
  • 8/21/15 - Review by panthersfann55

    "Best of the best"

    went back to play one last round before i move out of state. after 2 days of down pours this course was almost dry. greens were slick but fair. tees and fairways in great shape. some bunkers did have water in them but ones that didn't were raked. the rough was very tough. since they have tightened some of the fairways put away the driver and play for position. the ball will sit down in it but you should be in the fairway anyway. found a lot of shag balls just off the fairways today. great test of golf. i'm glad someone bought it out a few years ago and invested in it.

    Read The Review
  • 8/2/15 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    I ventured out to Eagle Chase on a mid-Sunday afternoon for my first round here since last season. I really enjoy the layout and it's very reasonably priced ($24 this afternoon). I was surprised to see recent reviews complain about the greens. I literally could not find a bad spot on any of them. They are immaculate. They were very consistent and rolled true. Speed seemed fine to me. There are many sloped greens so the uphill putts are certainly slow, but those downhillers are quick. So it seemed about right to me. The bunkers I was in were in fine shape, though some players had not raked after playing them. The rough is definitely hazardously thick, but I didn't think it was unfair. My only frustration today was with pace of play. Even though my round was relatively fast overall and several groups let me play through, there was no marshal and really no guidance from the pro shop about who would tee off when. So the first 7 holes were very slow as we had to sort it out ourselves.

    Read The Review
  • 7/27/15 - Review by panthersfann55

    "Worth playing"

    They verticut and sand the greens every monday morning. greens in great shape and consistent (tad on the slow side but its not fun putting on glass all the time). The rough is deep but that's what they do in the summer (have played here for over 10 years). Fairways in great shape could have been mowed today but I think they do that on tuesdays. Bunkers I were in were fluffy but others do tend to wash out. This is the first time I would complain on the proshop. 2 4somes were late for their tee time (710am and 720am) and back the rest of us up. We were a 2some that was supposed to tee off at 730 and didn't till almost 750am. somethings wrong with that when we were all in the shop at the same time. excuse was "they always play on monday and thats what they do". well we always play on wed and are 1/2 early and that's what we do. your late u forfeit your tee time especially when faster players are behind u. . I guess its time to move on. We tried to play through but they just looked at us so we jumped ahead to 14 (play started on 10) and finished our round on 13.

    Read The Review
  • 7/26/15 - Review by scrillthedeal13

    "Worth playing"

    The best part of my recent round at Eagle Chase was the pace of play. We had 2 players and teed off around 3, we were finished by 6 so it was a very quick round. The course conditions were below average in my opinion. The greens are some type of Zoysia grass, they look nice buy were slow and very grainy. The rough was so high in places that it is difficult to find your ball, even 5 yards off the green. I double bogeyed 6 from 5 feet off the green. The Bermuda rough was so deep and the ball fall straits to the bottom. No joke the rough is close to 5-6 inches in spots. I don't think they have the personnel or funding to cut it. Bunkers have very little sand in them, wash out around the sides. Tees and fairways were ok, but who can't grow Bermuda fairwyas in the summer in NC ? Overall, course was average. Make the greens faster and cut your rough to a fair length.

    Read The Review
  • 7/25/15 - Review by GinMillDJ

    "Great course"

    Fairways were in great shape. Bunkers, tee boxes and greens were good. Greens played very slow. If it's your first time playing here, prepare for a lot of elevation changes! Challenging course

    Read The Review
  • 7/18/15 - Review by GetThere214

    "Great course"

    Course is in very good shape. Tee boxes where very good and had no issue finding a clean spot to tee off. Fairways were very good. Rough was high and the ball seemed to be sitting down every time I was in it. Greens were very good and ran a bit slower then usual. Overall a great course.

    Read The Review
  • 6/15/15 - Review by panthersfann55

    "Great course"

    found out they verticut every monday. Greens were slower then normal but it seems the norm. when u put across the cut hit the putt a touch harder. if you putt with the cut it's quicker. didn't really effect play once i figured this out. tee to green was in great great shape as were the bunkers.

    Read The Review
  • 5/26/15 - Review by Jan

    "Great course"

    Tee boxes were in very good shape for the most part. Greens were hard to judge the correct speed. Course is extremely hilly, almost like playing in the mountains. The cart paths are a real teeth-rattling adventure. My partner were paired with 2 very pleasant gentlemen and had a great time. I really like this course and will definitely play again.

    Read The Review
  • 5/26/15 - Review by panthersfann55

    "Great course"

    Greens starting to show stress (they were verticuting today. very slow (more then normal) putting across the cut. fairways starting to get thin and hard. Still a good value just couldn't putt today. pace of play slowed to a crawl on the back side with 2 foresomes in front of us that seemed to like the woods.

    Read The Review
  • 4/30/15 - Review by joe-paris

    "Best of the best"

    The most scenic course in Charlotte! There are so many beautiful holes on this course it is hard to have a favorite! Great course, amazing layout, and very inexpensive! If you have time to play, you must play Eagle Chase!

    Read The Review
  • 4/26/15 - Review by BetterThanMost

    "Great course"

    Based on recent reviews of Eagle Chase, I decided to play here for the first time in about 10 years. The course was in great shape. I was surprised at how dry it was after the all-day rain on Saturday. Tees, fairways, and greens were all lush, and bunkers were well maintained. Pace of play was a little slow. I played with a member who said that folks usually get around quicker than the pace on Sunday. I will definitely go back.

    Read The Review
  • 4/24/15 - Review by GetThere214

    "Great course"

    Course is in very good shape. Has greened up nicely. Greens were the real pleasure of the course. They rolled true and speed was great. Took us 3.5 hours to play and did not have to wait on any hole to play out next shot. Really enjoy coming out to Eagle Chase and always look forward to my next round out there.

    Read The Review
  • 4/22/15 - Review by panthersfann55

    "Great course"

    it was like it never rained last week. green grass coming in on fairways was nice. windy day made it tough to score but it was a good day on the course. greens were soft enough to hold high shots. love this place.

    Read The Review
  • 4/5/15 - Review by jscum13

    "Great course"

    I love this course. A hidden gem. I'd play it more if it wasn't 50+ minutes from Charlotte. Looks like the fairways are just starting to grow in grass, greens were picture perfect and the layout is as good as you'll find anywhere. No one was out there as it was Easter so we were able to take our time, hit extra shots and enjoy the view.

    Read The Review
  • 3/17/15 - Review by panthersfann55

    "Great course"

    I can't wait till the green grass grows in. It looked like they were starting to use pre emrge to get it going. Greens in one word awesome everything else was brown. Bunkers were raked. Can't beat a free birthday round on an 80 degree spring day!!!

    Read The Review
  • 1/21/15 - Review by panthersfann55

    "Great course"

    Course in great shape. Greens will hold a high shot but one with a lower trajectory not so much. The bite gets better with these greens when warmer (like red bridge) weather is around. The only issue today which is rare was a 3some that was 30 minutes late was put in front of us 2 minutes before our tee time and took 30 minutes (we timed them) to play the 1st hole. It was bad to watch. we finally skipped a hole to pass them because whenever we got close enough to ask they would take off. Like I said it was rare but golf etiquette is a thing of the past. Word of advice its winter pick up if you are at triple bogey or worse.

    Read The Review
  • 1/2/15 - Review by GetThere214

    "Worth playing"

    Course is in good shape even with all the rain. Greens are really good! Its a little bit of a drive but always worth it.

    Read The Review
  • 10/30/14 - Review by panthersfann55

    "Great course"

    Greens in good shape. fairways/tees are becoming dormant and thin again. bunkers are soft. great pace of play and the trees are turning their colors. at one point it was so quite you could hear a pin drop.

    Read The Review
  • 9/12/14 - Review by malamute

    "Great course"

    mr wally's course is in excellent shape! (please excuse if posted before) they have new carts, scorecards, yardage markers on range and reworked the short game green. hard to find anything wrong here - greens were great / bunkers very good.

    Read The Review
  • 9/2/14 - Review by FrankGolfs

    "Great course"

    Great day out on the links. Can't beat the $19 rate from Golf Now. The course is in good shape with the greens just a tad on the slow side today (usually fast). Its always a good day at this course and worth the drive.

    Read The Review
  • 8/24/14 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    My 3rd time here with the new greens. Love 'em. All are pretty much immaculate. Even #12 is now redone and back in shape with the rest of them. The 3 hole stretch of #11-12-13 is one of the most scenic and best risk-reward series of holes around. It's only about 30 minutes for me (would be 25 but Hwy 218 is still closed between me and 601) but I wish it were closer. It's affordable and now in great condition year-round.

    Read The Review
  • 7/31/14 - Review by hotrod jb

    "Worth playing"

    First time playing E.C. and I really like the layout. I know a lot of people don't care for the mountain feel of this course but I really liked it. It's in good shape and the greens roll true. Some holes are pretty hairy as far as the cart path. If you don't pay attention to could seriously die!

    Read The Review
  • 7/29/14 - Review by dad4204

    "Worth playing"

    Eagle Chase is a fun course in very good shape. The fairways are growing in well, tee boxes a little torn up, but players could help this with sand. Greens have been sanded and did not hold a shot, therefore you had to play short. Part of the game. they putted well though. Maybe a little slow. I loved it there and will go back.

    Read The Review
  • 7/23/14 - Review by panthersfann55

    "Great course"

    Finally grass in the fairways kept me from thin shots. rough is getting thick in spots. some greens with a little sand on them but didn't affect the putts. #12 is getting better. bunkers being worked on due to rain. Still a great value.

    Read The Review
  • 7/9/14 - Review by panthersfann55

    "Great course"

    greens showing heat stress but holding up. #12 I think was resodded again. bunkers raked and in good shape. fairways thin, the ball will bounce and roll a good distance.looks like they had equipment in the parking lot to start working on the cart paths and chop down some trees. overall as always a good experience.

    Read The Review
  • 6/19/14 - Review by panthersfann55

    "Great course"

    fairways hard and fast, clubs will bounce. green speed medium but consistent. This course has come back and holding up against the 90 degree elements. 4.5 for me just because i like a little grass under the ball in the fairway.

    Read The Review
  • 6/4/14 - Review by panthersfann55

    "Great course"

    Bunkers raked, tees growing in, fairways finally are green, greens are in better shape from what they were a few weeks ago (#12 still having issues). Overall wish I could putt. Have to learn all the new breaks, just glad my ball has stopped backing off #3 green.

    Read The Review
  • 5/18/14 - Review by kincaid82

    "Great course"

    Well i finally got a chance to get out to Eagle chase and play. The best thing i can say about this course is i can't wait to get out there again. All but one Green in GREAT shape, fairways greening up nicely except maybe one or two holes. Back nine is tougher than the front, but i enjoyed every hole except 15. Tough uphill par 4 that plays like a par 5 even though it's only about 370 yards. You hit a solid drive and chances are you are at the bottom left had side of the fairway, looking at a green that's 50-60 feet above your head. I was 135 out, and tried a 7 iron (155-160 for me) and came up very short. Then just as a learning experience i try a 6 iron (175-180) and it looks like i barely gets up to the green. I get up finally to the green and can't find my 6 iron shot very tough, and next time will just keep with the 7 iron short of green.

    Read The Review
  • 5/12/14 - Review by panthersfann55

    "Worth playing"

    greens were lightly top dressed but you could still putt. the fairways can't grow in fast enough. rough, tees, bunkers still in good shape.

    Read The Review
  • 5/10/14 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    My first time back since they redid the greens in Diamond Zoysia last year. I like them. They seem to roll well, maybe just a tad bumpy, but pretty solid. A few of them have some thin spots, though. Hopefully that's not a sign of trouble. The course was in good shape and the $26 deal off their tee time web site (which I grabbed 2 hours before playing) was great for a Saturday afternoon -- can't beat that for a course like this. I do love the layout here and that hasn't changed. Neither have the rough cart paths near some greens. Ha. We ran into a bit of thunderstorm halfway thru (see my pic on Twitter), but it went thru and we went right back it after maybe 20 minutes. The course soaked it up like it hadn't rained in weeks. This course is worth the ride out to Marshville.

    Read The Review
  • 5/7/14 - Review by panthersfann55

    "Worth playing"

    tees and fairways greening up, bunkers in great shape, some greens are starting to struggle (2 or 3 reairifed due to disease) others getting thin. hope they can turn around. looks like weekday play picking up a lot.

    Read The Review
  • 4/17/14 - Review by panthersfann55

    "Great course"

    I remember the days of pulling in the parking lot and 1 car being there. I'm glad the new owners made the green change. This will be year 2 of the new greens and there are no complaints here just fast very fast. bunkers great shape (repairing one on 14). red bridge went up to $37 here still $28. can't beat the price. Wally the head pro is great. fairways greening up. looks like the cart paths are going to be the next project.

    Read The Review
  • 4/8/14 - Review by panthersfann55

    "Great course"

    Fairways are starting to green up. Greens are in excellent shape. Great drainage after yesterdays rain. Bunkers still had water but were raked for play. Some tee boxes are getting chewed up. With warm weather on the way this course will get more business.

    Read The Review
  • 2/20/14 - Review by panthersfann55

    "Great course"

    wow this course will be awesome once spring hits. you can tell money was invested in saving it. this was always my "home" course but stayed away last year while the redid the greens. fantastic greens. they held high wedge shots very well. they were fast too. many 3 putts on the front side but figured out speed as the round went on. Bunkers in great shape very little water if any. fairways still brown and thin but with warm weather on the way in a few weeks that will be taken care of. as in other posts very little wet areas around the course (low lying around the drains). clickit has a $19 deal going on right now for any day any time. take advantage of it.

    Read The Review
  • 1/17/14 - Review by tvrepairex

    "Great course"

    Good conditions in spite of all the rain.A little water in one or two traps but most of them were raked and in good shape.Fairways drain well there and greens were very fast.Some pin placements were tough- side hill ,on ridges-but not overly unfair.Course was NOT cart path only like most courses that we checked with.

    Read The Review
  • 11/10/13 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Great course"

    Greens and other conditions perfect, except 1/2 star off for the cart paths, although they are doing some work on them. The greens are fantastic right now, and the fringes around most greens really good as well.

    Read The Review
  • 10/11/13 - Review by malamute

    "Great course"

    ok i play there a lot but you can't bear the value - greens are A # 1 / nothing but pure golf here / like doc said it will never be a country club - however if you want to play a nice course where the employees treat you well and the conditions are in great shape - you can't beat the MIGHTY EAGLE!

    Read The Review
  • 9/27/13 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Great course"

    The big news is that they are working on the cart paths. Eagle Chase will never be a resort, but for a fantastic layout, great people in the clubhouse, and great rates it is up there with the best places to play.

    Read The Review
  • 8/29/13 - Review by panthersfann55

    "Best of the best"

    Amazing. just amazing. This was a course that i would play all the time spring and fall but forget about the summer greens would always die. What a value. i have waited a long time for this course to redo the greens and its nothing short of awesome. i like that they have also fixed some contours on 3,12, and 16 because my ball would always spin off those 3 greens. will have to relearn the greens since i have stayed away for so long. Fresh sand in the bunkers. new tee box on 12 makes it more playable. love the course. i have always liked tom jackson designs too.

    Read The Review
  • 8/28/13 - Review by HittOD

    "Great course"

    This was my first time playing at Eagle Chase. I had heard that it was a much better course since the greens had been converted to Diamond Zoysia. I found this to be a very good layout, with the course well maintained. The greens putted very well even though they were just renovated in April. The one big problem with this course is the condition of the cart paths. The cart paths are in terrible shape, mainly from tree roots raising and damaging the paths in many areas. This has nothing to do with the playability of the course, but it is somewhat of an annoyance having to either go very slow in many areas, or go normal speed and, self and clubs, be well shaken. Another con to me is that the course is not very walkable due to elevation changes. I purchased this round via an online golf website at a very good price. If I didn't live quite far away, I would definitely play this course again due to the great value.

    Read The Review
  • 8/18/13 - Review by YoMama111

    "Best of the best"

    If you haven't played eagle chase since the re-open with the new greens, go play it!! The greens are GREAT! Only other zoija greens I've ever seen are at the golf links. We all know how those are....awful! So I didn't have high hopes, but these things are amazing! Like they've been there for years! Do yourself a favor and go play it!

    Read The Review
  • 8/15/13 - Review by malamute

    "Great course"

    greens in super shape - little sand on 12 / 13 rough is not high but brutal some bunkers had standing water

    Read The Review
  • 8/2/13 - Review by malamute

    "Worth playing"

    greens in very good condition except one or two that had some sand / bunkers on #6 were GUR and the bunker on #13 was messed up / lot of people playing which slowed things down somewhat / staff are the nicest people you will find working at a course

    Read The Review
  • 6/27/13 - Review by malamute

    "Worth playing"

    course is in good shape / after new sod on greens was a bummer that they are so so - putts rolled well but were not as nice as i expected / still a great value for a decent track

    Read The Review
  • 6/23/13 - Review by PT3040

    "Great course"

    Played Eagle Chase for the first time in more than 7 years. I had forgotten how tough this course can be. I was impressed with the shape it was in. Fairways were great, greens were good but slower than I am used to. This is from the recent resodding that was done. They should be great after they grow in. Staff was very friendly. I am looking forward to playing here alot more in the future.

    Read The Review
  • 5/31/13 - Review by malamute

    "Worth playing"

    Much like the doc said course will be great in a month. Lot of brush has been cut down on course and some holes in the cart path filled in. #12 green the roughest but grounds crew was working on it most of the day. When the greens smooth out course will be excellent and you cannot beat the value.

    Read The Review
  • 5/29/13 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Worth playing"

    Course open, 17/18 holes - finishing #12 today/tomorrow. The front side greens are one week ahead of the back: all the greens are puttable, but certainly not smooth, with some of the greens on the back still showing the lines where the sod was laid, and many green collars are also showing sod lines. In a few weeks they should be in fine shape. The contours of several holes were softened/flattened, which should improve playability. Other conditions were great - fairways with mostly good grass, bunkers raked, teeboxes fine.

    Read The Review
  • 2/8/13 - Review by malamute

    "Great course"

    Eagle chase is in very nice shape – greens are nice and fast / 16 was a little bumpy / they are doing renovations on the greens starting in April - front nine first then the back nine – one side WILL BE OPEN for play each time during this project – completion expected by mid May – some of the greens are going to be reshaped as well – this is great news because these greens have had problems in the summer heat - should make the course much better and will be interesting to see the greens once they are completed

    Read The Review
  • 12/9/12 - Review by YoMama111

    "Average"

    This could be such a great course if they would just fix the greens. All but 3 of them were awful. A ton of Bermuda and patch marks (which they put the pins right in). If you have bad areas on your greens, don't put the pins directly in them. Tee boxes were good, rough was fair, but the greens need major work. If your greens are over 70% Bermuda, just let it go and make them Bermuda. If they switched like alot of other courses have, this course would live up to its potential

    Read The Review
  • 12/4/12 - Review by malamute

    "Great course"

    some of the greens were bumpy but most were in good shape - out of the way but a great design and worth playing

    Read The Review
  • 10/17/12 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Great course"

    Eagle Chase is OPEN! OK, let's be clear. Eagle Chase is not: upscale. No cart girls. No ranger. Modest clubhouse. Conditions will never be great unless or until they redo the greens, repair the cart paths, and maybe redo the bunkers. Eagle Chase is: a great layout, nice people in the clubhouse, inexpensive. The greens are back to very playable - not perfect, still some rough spots, but not bad. The fairways are great, the traps OK, the rough difficult but fair. The course will be back in our rotation, although granted there is a lot of competition this time of year.

    Read The Review
  • 9/21/12 - Review by malamute

    "Worth playing"

    greens are starting to come back 1/9 still need work / rest of the course in nice shape / sign posted about new management taking over

    Read The Review
  • 9/4/12 - Review by izzyf150

    "Bad, stay away"

    EAGLE CHASE IS CLOSED FOR THE YEAR. Well not officially, there is a guy out there that will still take your money and let you get a golf cart. This is the worst golf course I think I ever played on. This golf course make the worst Carolina Trail course look like Pebble Beach. I went out there because somebody had reported it was a good wet weather course because it drained well. LIAR! I needed a canoe to get to #10 tee box. 90% of the sand traps were full of water. I actually lost a ball in a sand trap because the water was too deep to see it. The other 10% hardly had any sand in them. The greens were terrible. I could count the number of greens in okay to good condition on one hand. The fairways were the only thing is decent condition but because of the wet weather the farmer wasn’t able to bail the mowed grass. I would give them at least a couple of days for them to get it bailed up and hauled off the course. Cart paths are all rooted up, I hope you like hearing your clubs beat off each other because that noise don’t stop until the cart does. Did I mention the greens were horrible, well its worth mentioning again. Yeah big patches of grassless areas, nothing but dark dirt and white sand. They were also bumpy (go figure) It’s going to take a ton of good reviews by a bunch of different people before I even think about this course again. If you want to see for yourself be sure to save your receipt you can deduct it from your taxes as charity. I gave it one star for nice parking lot, plenty of empty spaces too.

    Read The Review
  • 8/20/12 - Review by malamute

    "Below average"

    some greens on the front are in bad shape / back 9 better unless you want to play all day for $35 you may want to wait until they rebound some (crew was working on them) / still a fun course to play

    Read The Review
  • 7/24/12 - Review by panthersfann55

    "Average"

    The heat is now taking it's toll on the greens. I love playing here, but stay away during July and August because the heat just beats up the greens. I decided to give it a try since we have had so much rain lately. The greens held very well but after reaching the first green I knew I was in for a 2 putt max on each hole. Some had weeds growing others were burning up. Bunkers were shot but I think it rained the night before. Fairways, tees, and rough were all in great shape. With all that said I was told that they do have new owners who may install mini verde greens next year, fix the bunkers, and repair the cart paths that so many people complain about. I hope they do. Wally and his team are top notch and kudos to the staff for trying to keep the greens alive, but alas it's time for change. Bent grass just can't survive the heat we get for 2 months. Will be back in Sept.

    Read The Review
  • 6/21/12 - Review by malamute

    "Great course"

    Course in great shape / greens running true / staff always nice / all they need is to fix the cart paths and have hooter girls serving lunch.

    Read The Review
  • 6/1/12 - Review by malamute

    "Great course"

    course in good shape / greens still showed slots from punching and were slow but in good condition everything else nice

    Read The Review
Your Profile
Login

New Here?

Sign Up

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

The Divide Golf Club


"Worth playing"

8/7/22: Review by Steve K

Greens nice but super firm. Fairways: some good. some a bit tight and dry. tee boxes were rough. don't expect any turf-tees here. Was an enjoyable, albeit SLOW round.

Latest Forum Post

Reply To: Aerification Dates – 2022

By B-Man on 8/10/22

Stonebridge: Monday, August 22nd - Course, Clubhouse, and Practice Facility Closed all day Tuesday, August 23rd - 9 holes open $10 off all rack rates August 23-28

About The B-Man
The B-Man himself
Homestretch Golf
Homestretch Golf
The Best Golf Tournament Wagering Platform!
See the Demo