Your Profile
Login

New Here?

Sign Up

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Birkdale Golf Club


"Below average"

12/4/22: Review by Hunter

I heard they are closing for 8 months for a sewer project, hopefully they use that time to fix the issues. The greens are newer Bermuda and were fine (but fast and hard, I like those, some may not). None of the bunkers were playable. Full of mud/water etc. To be fair they...

About The B-Man
The B-Man himself

Reviews for Stonebridge Golf Club

Recent Reviews for All Courses

Review
  • 6/18/22 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    Had to get back out to Stonebridge since I had been hearing good things. First off a conditions update. Greens were in good shape though I noticed the slowness of the Bentgrass more this round since my last round was on Cramer Mountain's lightning quick Bermuda. Tough comparison and while the difference is exaggerated since Cramer is private, it illustrates what a public Bentgrass course is up against. It is difficult to keep these greens firm and fast during the heat of the summer, which for Charlotte lasts pretty much late May to early September. It was difficult to get the ball to the hole, especially from just off the green even thru just a few feet of fringe. A few of my putts were bumped off line by old ball marks. So, all in all, I have to give the greens a B-minus. A couple even had some sizable bare spots that almost looked like vandalism or maintenance mistakes (No. 8 in particular). The tee boxes, fairways and bunkers were all in good shape and I didn't notice any other issues that affected play. As reported in April, they've flipped the nines to improve pace of play. A source told me rounds are 12-15 minutes faster with the nines flipped. While I appreciate that improvement, I sure miss the Nos. 5 through 9 being the closing stretch. It's the best part of the course, bordering the large pond and featuring risk-reward choices on every hole. Since my last visit, the course has undergone another significant change, with developers finally clearing land to build more houses around several holes. The clearing has changed sight lines and aesthetics (arguably not for the better). This has changed the surroundings on No. 2 (left fairway and green side), No. 3 (left fairway), No. 10 (right fairway), No. 13 (right fairway), No. 16 (left fairway, now out of bounds), and No. 17 (left fairway). So far, it's just clearing and marking of lots. Once construction starts, expect significant intrusions and distractions to what was once a fairly peaceful round of golf. Stonebridge has one of the best practice areas and staff of teachers in the Charlotte area, led by GM and PGA Master Professional Nick Jacobi. The range servant accepts credit cards and Apple Pay. So it's easy to get a bucket of balls for the range or the short game area. You can now check in online when you get to the course. So you don't have to wait in the pro shop. That was nice. Finally, I have to mention the price. The online reservation said $75. That did not include taxes or the $2 reservation fee per golfer that the reserver has to pay when booking. You get the fee back as a credit assuming your group checks in, but we're talking $82 for a Saturday late morning tee time. On a value scale here in Charlotte, Stonebridge falls somewhere in the middle. It's not the worst (I'm looking at you, Olde Sycamore, and your $97 weekend rate), but it's nowhere near the value of Rock Barn, Mooresville, or Deer Brook. I'd keep my eye on these reviews to see how the greens hold up this summer and I would suggest finding an afternoon time or weekday to play this course at a better rate.

    Read The Review
  • 7/13/21 - Review by dad4204

    "Great course"

    This course is perfect now. The fairways are really lush, you don't have to move your ball at all to find grass. The greens are great, they roll super and the players are fixing the ball marks really well. I only found about 10 to fix on all 18 greens. They greens were super receptive to good shots. The ball stopped or backed up. I loved it. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Read The Review
  • 4/23/21 - Review by oneputt

    "Great course"

    Beginning with the shop staff, Kate and Bob, they were outstanding. The course was in really good shape. Fairways had a good stand of grass and it was almost perfect for playing the ball down. The bunkers all had good sand amounts. Rakes were plentiful. The greens were smooth and moderately quick. It looks to me that they could be really quick. Pace of play was consistent. Saw the ranger three times. Overall I would say that playing here was most enjoyable and worth the drive.

    Read The Review
  • 4/7/21 - Review by dad4204

    "Average"

    Usually my go to course, Stonebridge was not up to par. The fairways haven't grown in yet so most lies were tight. I'm poor with those. Also the greens had been punched recently and it was like putting over gravel. It should be back to normal in a month or so. Play was steady and crowded.

    Read The Review
  • 8/6/20 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    Course is still hanging in there amidst the hot summer days, though the greens, with dozens of unrepaired marks on every green, are teetering on the edge. They rolled with good speed (and faster than I thought) but were a little bumpy, making shorter, normally makeable putts (10-15 feet) a bit of a crap shoot. It's likely than by month's end, they will not be fun to putt on. So get out and play em now. The rest of the course was in fine shape, no issues anywhere that I noticed.

    Read The Review
  • 8/2/20 - Review by Hunter

    "Great course"

    The bent greens are rolling surprisingly well for this time of year. A few rough areas but overall I was impressed. Kept thinking they would be slower than they were which led to a few run by 3 putts on front 9. But figured them out and shot a smooth 36 on back. Bunkers were solid which was nice given all the rain we have gotten recently. This course is only going to get better for the next few months.

    Read The Review
  • 6/14/20 - Review by wnb5th

    "Great course"

    Stonebridge is in great shape right now. Aerated 3 weeks ago and greens are healthy and roll true. Play it now. As the summer goes on they have to water the bent grass a lot it it gets a lot of ball marks but for now, it is in awesome shape.

    Read The Review
  • 6/7/20 - Review by Hunter

    "Great course"

    Almost perfect. Greens are almost fully healed and rolling as good as you can ask for in summer. Fairways and tees are grown in. Managed to avoid the bunkers today but they looked perfect. Staff was amazing as always. Always a top-5 course for me.

    Read The Review
  • 5/18/20 - Review by BetterThanMost

    "Great course"

    Played Stonebridge this morning before all the rain we're supposed to get this week. NOTE: They punched the front nine, so only the back nine is open and you are playing it twice. I imagine that they'll do the same to the back nine at some point in the next couple of weeks. The course was in great shape. Fairways have greened up nicely. Teeboxes were a little beat up in spots, but nothing terrible. Greens were in fantastic shape and rolled really, really well. I didn't hit into any bunkers, so I can't comment on those, other than to say they looked fine.

    Read The Review
  • 1/8/20 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    The bentgrass greens were in really good shape and rolling well. Fairways, tees and bunkers were fine, though of course it was very wet and cart path only. A few of the greenside collars had not been cut and stop a few balls from going off the green - however, that left an awkward putt where you couldn't get the club behind the ball. Overall it was as good as I expected it to be and a decent value for a weekday afternoon.

    Read The Review
  • 9/19/19 - Review by IM4DHERD

    "Worth playing"

    Stonebridge is in great shape except for the greens. very slow and a lot of ball marks not healing well. Great layout and the fairways and teeboxes are all in great shape.

    Read The Review
  • 8/24/19 - Review by jbe

    "Great course"

    One of the areas best! Greens have healed and we’re rolling true. Bunkers need a grooming but not surprising with all the rain they’ve had.

    Read The Review
  • 7/28/19 - Review by Hunter

    "Great course"

    I love Stonebridge. Fair layout. Looked in great shape from tee to green. Few ball marks but that is on the players not the course. Staff is always friendly and well worth the money for a primetime weekend round.

    Read The Review
  • 6/29/19 - Review by GinMillDJ

    "Great course"

    Normal wear and tear for late June. Fairways and greens were in great shape. Bunkers - Average. Tee boxes could use a little bit of TLC. Played in just under 4 hours. Will be back.

    Read The Review
  • 9/23/18 - Review by StanTheCaddy

    "Great course"

    The entire course played slooooooow most likely from Florence. Rough was high but playable and fairways were pristine. Greens slow with a few scars due to people not repairing their marks. Some tee boxes were worn but nothing too bad. Pace of play was on par for Sat morning - a little slow.

    Read The Review
  • 7/29/18 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    Been meaning to get back out here and finally made it late Sunday afternoon. I really enjoy this course because it's straightforward and a place where you can post a good score (like I did today!). It's a bit of a drive since it's situated in the middle of Union County halfway between Monroe, Indian Trail and Waxhaw. They've really picked up the construction on the neighborhood now. So the landscape has changed, especially behind the par 3 third and to the right of number 4. Right now, the trees have been cleared and so it's just dirt piles. Besides that, they are working on the tee boxes everywhere but especially the front 9. They've chopped down lots of trees on the front 9 too. Hole #5 needs some love. I think they intend to sod around the areas where they cleared trees but right now it's rocks and dirt all along the left side of the hole and up to the green. If you stay on the fairway around this layout, you'll love the conditions. If you get off the fairway though, you will have some difficult lies on dirt and rocks. The greens and bunkers seemed to be in good shape. The bent grass greens have held up well and they were not too many unrepaired ballmarks. I thought the speeds were average but putts were rolling true. All in all, very good conditions for late summer. I will complain a bit about the rate though. $54 for a Sunday 4:30 tee time? My partner said he asked for a twilight rate and got $29. Why was I charged $25 more?? I'll be sending the course a note. Assuming the price is right, I'll be back here again soon.

    Read The Review
  • 6/9/18 - Review by aepfeiffer

    "Great course"

    Amazing course, great layout, kind of reminds me of the low country or Myrtle Beach if it wasn't in this area, pretty flat course overall, some creeks and water to play around, but was a great course and was in excellent shape! Only wish it didn't cost an arm and a leg to play there on the weekends, its a bit of a drive for me from north charlotte area, but was worth it! But if it was priced closer to Monroe price Id play it more!

    Read The Review
  • 6/5/18 - Review by hotrod jb

    "Great course"

    SB is in it's prime right now. The only thing I could see that needs some improvement is a few tee boxes. I highly suggest you give it a try. Great course in great shape.

    Read The Review
  • 5/21/18 - Review by ILL-INI

    "Great course"

    I've played Stonebridge 5 or 6 times in the last 30 days and it's been in really good shape each time. They mini-punched a couple weeks ago but the greens are pretty much back to normal - a little hairy as of yesterday but that's too be expected - they still roll true just have to put a little more speed on them. Prior to the punch they were rolling at least a 10 and true. Some of the "Gold" back tees are in need of some love but really only a couple are in need of repair. Exceptional golf course, exceptional staff, exceptional value. This and Carolina Lakes (At sun city) are my must plays right now.

    Read The Review
  • 8/5/17 - Review by GinMillDJ

    "Great course"

    Greens are getting a bit chewed up from the heat. On a scale of 1-10, I'd give the greens about a 6. The grounds crew are working hard to keep the greens playable. Fairways were in almost perfect condition. Traps were good as well although I was only in 1 on them all day. My fellow golfers didn't seem to have any issues with the bunkers they were in. Staff is friendly and the rangers do a nice job going around the course, keeping groups on time without being too pushy. Definitely a course worth playing.

    Read The Review
  • 7/30/17 - Review by B-Man

    "Worth playing"

    I enjoyed my visit back to a layout I enjoy and that lends to good scores for me. Course conditions outside the greens were pretty good. The bent grass greens are struggling as the summer winds down though. The pro shop gave me the heads up that 4 of the greens needed to be punched -- 3 on the front, 1 on the back. So those will need some time to come back. The others were fine, though the green speeds were fairly slow, as I think they are reluctant to cut them low due to the heat stress. I'll probably give the course a break until the fall, but I'll be back.

    Read The Review
  • 7/30/16 - Review by ShooterMcGavin71

    "Worth playing"

    Came away less impressed than I thought I would be. Greens cratered with unrepaired ball-marks, and the lack of rain is very evident on the course. Still, putts rolled well and lots of variety. I'll come back when conditions are better.

    Read The Review
  • 6/28/16 - Review by dad4204

    "Great course"

    Course is in great shape, greens perfect, ball marks are being repaired a lot better than last time we played. Fairways excellent. Go there.

    Read The Review
  • 10/14/15 - Review by HittOD

    "Best of the best"

    Played Stonebridge for the first time, Oct. 14, 15. Good layout, scenic holes, fair bunkering, and bent grass greens in great shape and fast. Was able to play the ball down with no problem. Good value with deal through Golfnow.com. Played blue tees (~ 6400 yards), within a foursome in about 3.5 hours. Definitely the kind of course I would like to play again, although the 1 hour 20 minute drive to the course is a limiting factor for me. One of the nicer courses in the Charlotte, NC region.

    Read The Review
  • 10/9/15 - Review by GetThere214

    "Worth playing"

    Course was in good shape especially after all the rain last week. Their were some low areas that were damp, but overall pretty good. This is the first time I played Stonebridge and enjoyed the round. Pace was a little slow, their was a group in front of us that backed everyone up. It did get better on the back 9. Tee boxes were good. Fairways were very good and greens were receptive but pretty quick. Were a fair amount of marks in the greens but for the most part ran true. Will be coming back.

    Read The Review
  • 7/16/15 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    Stonebridge is in really good shape, tee to green. The greens are just a little on the slow side as they protect them from the summer heat by keeping them a little longer. No issues to report, though. The water level is very low in the lakes and ponds -- we saw a hundred golf balls in the mud short of the par 3 17th. Couldn't believe no one had retrieved them yet. The staff was friendly and helpful -- my clubs were picked up at my car immediately. This course can be pricey even with a Clickit deal but it's being managed well.

    Read The Review
  • 7/1/15 - Review by psychgunny

    "Great course"

    Continues to be one of the better courses in the Charlotte area. Greens rolled nicely, the fairways were some of the best in the area, and the bunkers were in good shape.

    Read The Review
  • 5/4/15 - Review by ILL-INI

    "Great course"

    The guys out at Stonebridge continue to put out a great product. It's a real pleasure to play out there. Greens and fairways were 9 out of 10 and no problems with the bunkers. My only complaint has ever been that 18 seems so plain and uninspired. other than that I love the course.

    Read The Review
  • 4/13/15 - Review by dad4204

    "Worth playing"

    As I've said before I really like Stonebridge. The greens had been punched and were still bumpy, probably a week away from being back to good. The tee boxes were worn. Sand looked good, but I didn't play from it. Fairways still growing in.

    Read The Review
  • 9/16/14 - Review by dad4204

    "Great course"

    The fairways were great, they were dragging them to get the clumps of grass out from mowing. Sand traps were wet from rain, but Ok. Greens held great, but were pockmarked from balls hitting them. They rolled great unless you hit a mark, but we just played around them. I really like Stonebridge.

    Read The Review
  • 9/1/14 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    I had not been back to Stonebridge yet this year. So I was overdue. I enjoy this course -- it's kept in good shape from tee to green and is a relatively easy layout with plenty of scoring chances. It didn't disappoint today. The $28 after 3pm rate was nice too. One of the reasons I don't get here very often is the high fees on the weekends. Tees, fairways, rough and bunkers were all in great shape with no issues or complaints anywhere. The greens were in decent shape, really just ball marks to complain about on the bent grass surfaces. The pro shop and starter were both nice and helpful. The course is being aerated this week so you'll want to give it a few weeks to come back.

    Read The Review
  • 8/7/14 - Review by PADave

    "Great course"

    Just love this course. Clubhouse, putting green, practice area, course are all just awesome. I just kick myself every time I go back because the 5 hr rounds just KILL me. My last 4 rounds here this summer were all well over 4.5 hrs. It's just too long to wait...hit....wait...hit... It's 94 degrees! Let's go!

    Read The Review
  • 7/20/14 - Review by hotrod jb

    "Great course"

    Once again Stonebridge is on great shape. The only complaint as always at this course, people do not fix ball marks. The group I played in must have fixed 50 a piece during the round.

    Read The Review
  • 6/11/14 - Review by hotrod jb

    "Great course"

    Went out to SB yesterday before the storms hit and wow! This place is in wonderful condition. Greens are slower than perfect but in great shape. The fairways are perfect. Played 9 holes in one hour and fifteen minutes.

    Read The Review
  • 6/5/14 - Review by Northernhacker

    "Great course"

    Loved this layout, people in the clubhouse and starter were very friendly. Started on the back 9. Got a special rate because the greens were aerated a week ago. Got matched up with 3 random guys, one was a former NFL player. The conditions were incredible, tee boxes, fairways were great. 4.5 because the greens were not in their perfect form but I'm confident they will be in a few weeks. I'll come back for sure.

    Read The Review
  • 5/11/14 - Review by estanwick

    "Worth playing"

    Course is super dry. tons of roll in fairway. Greens are in pretty good shape but if they don't get rain, they will lose the greens by mid-summer. Tee boxes are okay at best. Overall: B/B-

    Read The Review
  • 3/11/14 - Review by hotrod jb

    "Great course"

    Great track as always. Still brown and kind of muddy but that is expected. Tee boxes a little rough but that is expected this time of year. They just punched the greens but in a few weeks they will be the best around if people will fix ball marks.

    Read The Review
  • 12/8/13 - Review by wnb5th

    "Great course"

    Always a pleasure at this course... Bent grass and always do a great job keeping it in shape and good customer service.

    Read The Review
  • 10/21/13 - Review by Cant3Putt

    "Best of the best"

    First time playing Stonebridge. It has a great mix of hard holes, mostly on the back nine, and plenty of holes to challenge your course management and self control. Similar to a well know TPC course in north Florida, Stonebridge has a card wrecker 17th hole that will challenge the best ball strikers. Current conditions are perfect all around, The greens are flawless and very fast. The fairways are in great shape with no issues, The is not as high as some courses, it is very possible to get a decent lie on the Bermuda turf. The bunkers have plenty of sand but didn't seemed to be raked the day I played. Thankfully I didn't have to play out of any. Stonebridge does have some blind shots of the tee and your second shots. Play with someone who knows the course, like I did, and you will save yourself 5-8 strokes on the round. The staff was super nice. I was greeted by a guy with a cart at my car even before I turned of the ignition. Pro shop was nicely stocked as well. Play this course if you are in the Monroe area, you won't be disappointed.

    Read The Review
  • 7/7/13 - Review by estanwick

    "Worth playing"

    Considering all the rain we have had, the course was in fair shape. It was cart path only. I judge a course based upon its greens so.... Anyway, Greens: B+/A-; Fairways: B (some standing water); Tee boxes: B; Pace of play: B. I would say wait about a week and let the course dry out before you play it.

    Read The Review
  • 6/20/13 - Review by dad4204

    "Best of the best"

    I've played here before and really like the course. I found it to be perfect today. The greens were super and fast and true. The fairways are grown in very well and the rough is just about right. The traps are excellent, and I hate traps. What else can I say.

    Read The Review
  • 5/26/13 - Review by wnb5th

    "Great course"

    it was slow but thats because it was a holiday weekend BUT the greens were perfect. we are talking country club quality greens. some of the tee boxes and fairways need some help but the greens are what matters the most to me and these were superb. also always receive good service from this staff. make sure you get their VIP card - it can save you a lot of money. one of my favorite courses in the area.. if i lived closer i would play it exclusively.

    Read The Review
  • 5/18/13 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    I took a short game clinic with Fred Bond in the morning and then went out to play a round in the afternoon. Big thumbs up for both. Fred is a great teacher and I was able to put some of his teachings into practice right away with good results. The short game practice area at Stonebridge is great -- big green for putting/chipping practice and several smaller target greens for pitching. They also have a nice big sand bunker. As for the course, it was in fabulous shape. Greens were just perfect. The whole experience was great -- pro shop is well stocked and the staff seemed genuinely interested in making sure everyone was having a good experience. The beverage cart made it around to us several times during the round. They also have a hole-in-one deal on #3 - $3 to have a shot at $10,000 for a hole-in-one, $20 if you get it within the flagstick and the consolation prize is that regardless of your shot, your ticket is good for a draft beer after the round. You can't lose on that deal.

    Read The Review
  • 5/13/13 - Review by izzyf150

    "Worth playing"

    Stonebridge has improved since the last rating. The greens are on the fast side, they still show signs of being punched but it is not effecting the roll of the ball. The sand traps are in great shape. The tee boxes showing signs of use. The fairways are still just a touch on the thin side (but not too bad). Hopefully a little warm weather will thicken them up some more. Brand new golf carts with nice canopy for clubs during weather. This course is good to go and is only going to get better with a little more time.

    Read The Review
  • 4/6/13 - Review by Hackerama

    "Below average"

    I was very dissapointed with Stonebridge. They punched the greens 5 weeks ago and they still have holes in them. What was worse is the fairways, rough, everything was terrible. I've heard that they have been getting outings after outings and the course shows. It's in the worst shape I've ever seen it and they need some major work otherwise the course will be below avg all year. No one fixes ball marks or divots and with wet conditions to get the grass back will be hard. Carolina Lakes and Ballantyne Resort were much better and had deals in 50-55 range as well to play.

    Read The Review
  • 4/1/13 - Review by hotrod jb

    "Below average"

    This is my "home" course and normally it's in great shape but not right now. The greens were plugged a while back but still needs some time to come in. The fairways are ok as well but a lot them have crab grass and weeds every where. Tee boxes are mostly in rough shape but most are this time of year.

    Read The Review
  • 11/19/12 - Review by izzyf150

    "Worth playing"

    Stonebridge is in its normal condition, for those of you that play here. The greens are not as nice looking (due to the cooler weather) but the ball is still rolling good. They just put brand new white soft sand in all the traps, therefore the traps are in perfect shape. They also had ground crew out keeping the fairways and greens clear of leaves. Still a good course to be playing this time of year.

    Read The Review
  • 9/10/12 - Review by izzyf150

    "Worth playing"

    Stonebridge is in its normal condition (good shape). Only one bad thing to report (which is not their fault), they just punched their greens and put a layer of sand down. They are playable but they do bounce some. I would give it a few weeks before going out there.

    Read The Review
  • 8/25/12 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    Stonebridge was a busy place on Saturday morning, but pace of play was normal. And the course was in great shape. Everything was lush and well-manicured. While the greens were a bit thin in spots, the speed was very good (read: fast) and consistent. I was happy with the experience and it feels like a treat to play here -- nice clubhouse, good staff, beverage cart service, expansive practice area. With their frequent player's card, you'll always get a better deal than Clickit and never pay more than $47. The B-Woman bought me a voucher at $55 so I had to use or lose it. Otherwise, I woulda used my card. The course also does a deal where you pay $3 for a hole-in-one ticket and get your chance at $1000+ on one of the par 3's. If you get within the flagstick (about 8 feet), you get $20 and even if you don't get close or on the green, your ticket is worth a free drink at the end of the round. Nice deal.

    Read The Review
  • 8/12/12 - Review by estanwick

    "Average"

    The greens are soft and bumby. Many,many ball marks. Shame cause I played there about 2 months ago and it was in pretty good shape then. Overall I give it a B-/C+. Positives: Excellent staff. Consider other options before you play here currently.

    Read The Review
  • 6/10/12 - Review by estanwick

    "Great course"

    Greens: "B" grade. (areation happened 2 weeks prior but they have healed real nice). Little slow but no issues. Fairways in excellent shape & tee boxes have aeration punches but are in good shape. Worth playing this course but maybe wait a week so greens can be fully healthy. Right now they are at 90% healthy from aeration.

    Read The Review
  • 5/7/12 - Review by Huckleberry

    "Great course"

    The golf course is in excellent shape right now! The fairways are firm so you get a nice amount of roll. The greens are firm as well but they will hold a solidly struck shot with any club. They have been watering the fairways and rough so there is a lot of grass on the fairways. If there is any complaint, the greens are a little on the slow slide but they are rolling very smooth!

    Read The Review
  • 1/29/12 - Review by ILL-INI

    "Great course"

    The only gripe I have about Stonebridge is the pace of play. It always seems like we get stuck behind the slowest groups out here but it has to be the way the course is laid out. That par 3 - 3rd and then guys waiting to tee off on 4 until they hear the bell is just a disaster. It completely holds up traffic and I'm super lucky to ever get a 4 1/2 hr round out here. The course is in good shape for this time of yr. The greens are a little dented up but apparently that's because the last 400 people that played the course forgot their divot tools at home. Seriously people...repair your ball marks.

    Read The Review
  • 10/17/11 - Review by izzyf150

    "Worth playing"

    Stonebridge was in pretty good shape today. The tee boxes are pretty scarred up but that’s not too big of a deal to me. I guess they poked holes in the greens about 3 weeks ago then they put a coat of sand on them and rolled them. Now the greens are a little on the fast side and the ball rolls smooth. You can actually see a sand splash when you fly one into the greens.

    Read The Review
  • 9/26/11 - Review by Orion

    "Great course"

    This is my favorite course now. I've only played for about a year now, but out of the places I've been (Monroe CC, Charlotte National, Mooresville CC, and Pine Lake), this is the best I've been to. I love the setting, the road that this runs across isn't very busy, you don't have to worry too much about the people driving by honking their horn just before you go to sink your winning put. Speaking of greens, I can tell that they are normally kept in good condition, but given the rain we have had, they were very soft and marked quite a lot. I was a little nervous because of all the marshalls driving around; we had a group of four, and two of us (including myself) were not the best. Luckily, we kept up with the group in front of us so it was never a problem. I am definitely looking forward to my next trip there!

    Read The Review
  • 9/24/11 - Review by metallikviper

    "Worth playing"

    Overall the course was in good shape and has held the summer heat well. Tee Boxes need some work. Fairways and roughs were cut to a good length. The sand in bunkers was a bit inconsistent. Some of the greens need help, but most greens rolled true. Definitely worth the $36 we paid. Really wish they had more Marshals on the course. I usually don't complain unless something really bothers me, but what I saw on Saturday was ridiculous. Right about at the 12 hole, 2 groups of 3 started playing as a 6-some. We almost had to wait 7-10 minutes on every hole. One of them even had a boom box which was playing music really loud. They wouldn't even let us play through. So, my friend calls the club house by the 15th hole to complain hoping they would do something and the marshal comes out and says we don't usually allow this kind of behavior and just drives away. They let them play 2 more holes and finally splits them up on the 18th!!! Instead of having guys picking up our clubs and cleaning them I would have much rather appreciated they stop this kind of foolery.

    Read The Review
  • 8/11/11 - Review by Jova007200

    "Great course"

    I didn't finish the course unfortunately because of the rain, but the 7 holes that I did play were all in great shape. The greens were a bit marked, but I'd think that its expected at this point in the season. The staff is friendly..... it being my first time there I was kinda "lost." Tried to start off at the 10th tee. The starter came over and put me on the right path after my goofy error. Gave me a pamphlet with the course layout too. Can't wait to go back. Got a $16 credit since I stopped after 7. They've got great rates at 6 PM. 16 bucks for a round.

    Read The Review
  • 7/24/11 - Review by BetterThanMost

    "Great course"

    Stonebridge was in great shape as usual. The greens were a little more marked up than the last time I played there in May. I'm guessing people will never learned to repair ball marks. The $16 rate after 6pm might be the best deal in town.

    Read The Review
  • 7/6/11 - Review by stonecold

    "Worth playing"

    the only thing i have to complain about is the lack of yardage to ponds /lakes /or any creeks that cross the course! it seems like the course is trying to get you to buy the caddy book which would tell you the layout ! no signage at tees to the "trouble" other than that the course was in fine shape!!!

    Read The Review
  • 6/19/11 - Review by ILL-INI

    "Great course"

    Stonebridge still looking great. Greens were rolling a tad bit slower than I'm used to but still good. I wish people would learn how to at least attempt to use a divot tool on the greens. Pathetic how many unrepaired divots there are on the greens...not the courses fault. Anyway...great play as always.

    Read The Review
  • 6/1/11 - Review by Porkchop

    "Great course"

    The best bang for your buck around period. Only problem is everyone is finding out about it, and pace of play is really starting to get slow. 5 hours on the weekend is a sure thing.

    Read The Review
  • 5/28/11 - Review by estanwick

    "Great course"

    Overall: A- ranking. Greens had very true roll and in excellent condition. Tees and fairways were in very good condition also. There were heavy rains the prior night so it was cart path only. I would say the greens were among the best I've played this year.

    Read The Review
  • 5/15/11 - Review by BetterThanMost

    "Great course"

    Played Stonebridge for the first time on 5/15. WOW! The course was in fantastic shape, despite it being wet. The greens were by far the best I've seen in quite some time in the Charlotte area. Putts rolled true and stayed online, and this was after play all day on Saturday. The rest of the course was in really fine shape as well. I can't wait to get back to play again.

    Read The Review
  • 5/8/11 - Review by ILL-INI

    "Best of the best"

    If Stonebridge Golf Course were a lady...well...you get the idea. Unreal how nice this course is playing right now, so early in the season and everything is green, fairways are lush, greens roll true, tee boxes are great, etc. I live roughly 25 minutes from this course in the Ballantyne area and I drive here every weekend to play. I just can't bring myself to play any other course right now because of how nice they have this course running. We played on Mothers day and had a 10:40 tee time. Pace of play was good because not a lot of people were playing that morning. The only real downside I can say about Stonebridge is I have played some longer rounds out here, in the neighborhood of 5 hours. Mostly due to the 2,3 and 4, holes seem to back up traffic a little. It seems like once you get past the par 3 6th over the ju ju things start to speed up quite a bit. I also like a lot how the front nine and back nine just feel different. You never get bored out here. There are some shots that when you hit them it keeps bringing you back for more and more. Stonebridge isn't a super demanding course but will reward you fro straight shots. You don't have to be super long to shoot well here. Pin placements seem to always be fair and the greens...ahhh the greens...best rolling and fairest rolling greens I have played in a long time. The only other greens that roll as good that I've played recently was at Tega Cay. Anyway, if you haven't played this course you have to make the Saturday/Sunday drive down to Mineral Springs and check out this little secret gem. You won't be dissapointed.

    Read The Review
  • 10/6/10 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Great course"

    Nice conditions, just a few greens that had some minor issues. The best pro shop of any daily fee course - lots of nice stuff, nice discounts.

    Read The Review
  • 9/19/10 - Review by metallikviper

    "Great course"

    Almost a perfect course. Made the drive from Charlotte worth it. Greens were very well maintained, fairways showed very little wear and the rough was cut the perfect length. Course played on the easier side, but still had a few challenging holes. Except for a really slow 2-some we should have been done in 4 hours, but would have appreciated a ranger to come by and ask them to speed it up.

    Read The Review
  • 5/31/10 - Review by JD

    "Great course"

    Stonebridge is in perfect shape. The greens crew there does an amazing job. As an example, they were spraying all of the red and yellow hazard lines yesterday, and re-raking some bunkers.

    Read The Review
  • 5/2/10 - Review by B-Man

    "Best of the best"

    I don't give many perfect scores, but today I couldn't find anything but great things to say about Stonebridge. The pace was awesome. We were a twosome and after a few holes, we never caught the group in front. We finished in just under 4 hours. The greens were immaculate, the best I've played this season. Tees, fairways, rough and bunkers were all good, too. It's an easier course than others around town, with large, mostly flat greens and many holes where you can run the ball up to the hole. Maybe that's why I shoot good scores around here. In any case, I like it and will be back as soon as I'm able.

    Read The Review
Latest Forum Post

Reply To: Latest Newsletter Issue is Out!

By B-Man on 11/17/22

The November issue of my email newsletter went out today. Sign up if you haven't already and go check out this report on winter golf in Charlotte, the new Toptracer range at The Divide, my 2-month epic golf odyssey and the latest course reviews from around Charlotte. I...

Your Profile
Login

New Here?

Sign Up

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Birkdale Golf Club


"Below average"

12/4/22: Review by Hunter

I heard they are closing for 8 months for a sewer project, hopefully they use that time to fix the issues. The greens are newer Bermuda and were fine (but fast and hard, I like those, some may not). None of the bunkers were playable. Full of mud/water etc. To be fair they...

Latest Forum Post

Reply To: Latest Newsletter Issue is Out!

By B-Man on 11/17/22

The November issue of my email newsletter went out today. Sign up if you haven't already and go check out this report on winter golf in Charlotte, the new Toptracer range at The Divide, my 2-month epic golf odyssey and the latest course reviews from around Charlotte. I...

About The B-Man
The B-Man himself
Homestretch Golf
Homestretch Golf
The Best Golf Tournament Wagering Platform!
See the Demo