Your Profile
Login

New Here?

Sign Up

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Edgewater Golf Club


"Worth playing"

8/13/22: Review by GinMillDJ

Fairways were in great shape. Bunkers normal. Greens were extremely soft and there were a tone of ball marks that were not repaired. Fun course but a haul from Charlotte. Rangers did not do a great job keeping the pace of play on track. We skipped a hole on the back...

About The B-Man
The B-Man himself

Reviews for Monroe Country Club

Recent Reviews for All Courses

Review
  • 10/11/21 - Review by GinMillDJ

    "Worth playing"

    Greens were in very good shape except for 17. Fairways were in great shape. Some of the tee boxes could use a little TLC. If you have not played here before, the front 9 is a real treat as it was designed by Donald Ross - turtle back greens and fairly tight fairways. Worth the trip

    Read The Review
  • 4/7/21 - Review by B-Man

    "Worth playing"

    Back at Monroe where the greens are still just about perfect. They are quick and tricky, but not crazy fast as I've seen 'em before here. They are the best part of the course. The rest of the conditions were not that impressive for April. Fairways were just okay, fairly thin. Rough was erratic -- in some places it was bare and thin, in others it was overgrown with weeds. The lies around the greens, sometimes just 5 or 10 yards off, were sometimes not good. For the price and with near perfect greens, Monroe is always worth playing. I'm wondering how it will fare this year, with PGA Master Pro Nick Jacobi having left for Stonebridge. I'm sure I'll be back this summer.

    Read The Review
  • 8/16/20 - Review by BirdiesandFlies

    "Great course"

    Monroe Country Club is in very good shape. This was my second time playing and I was not disappointed. The greens had some patches of weeds on them, but they must constantly roll them out as it did not impact putts whatsoever. They were quick and held approach shots nicely. Tee boxes and fairways were in great shape. The rough has not been mowed recently and was very punishing. The only downside of Monroe is that the driving range is a solid 5-7 minute cart ride from the pro shop- plan accordingly for your tee time. Overall, a great round and a very fun course to play. My round ended with a 110 wedge in for eagle!

    Read The Review
  • 7/12/20 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    Monroe CC is in great shape. Greens were punched on 6/30 but you wouldn't know it. They were rolling fast and true. Price was good as usual and pace was fine. All surfaces were in good shape. Not a single issue to report. Go check it out.

    Read The Review
  • 4/2/20 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    This review may be ever so slightly biased by the 2020 best 78 I shot, but the facts are that the greens were perfect. The Champion Bermuda grass is in great shape right now, rolling quick (but not crazy fast) and true. Tees, fairways and bunkers are all quickly getting into top season form. For the conditions and the price, this course can hardly be beat. I got my tee time online and called the pro shop when I arrived since it was closed -- paid thru a card slot in the door and off I went. There was a starter regulating groups and pace of play. The putting green and driving range (which I still have never actually seen) were both closed, but no big deal. They were using foam fillers in all of the cup holes to make it easier to retrieve your ball without touching the flagstick. This works pretty well, but some putts that obviously would have fallen in will sometimes dive in and pop out. You count those as good but make sure you have common sense playing partners. Personally, I like the courses that have turned the cups upside down the best (e.g. Springfield before it closed), but at least they haven't raised the cups (ala Ballantyne for one). This course is fairly easy once you get to know it. All of the par 5's are reachable -- #12 especially -- but several of the par 4's and almost all of the par 3's are challenging and can even out those birdie holes. I shot my career best score of 73 here a couple of years ago. The course added a short game practice area between holes 1 and 3. Looks like you can hit 100 yard shots and in. Nice addition to help PGA Master Instructor Nick Jacobi give lessons. While the course does lack some amenities of other top courses around Charlotte, the golf itself is top notch and very inexpensive. This one may well show up in my Top 10 list.

    Read The Review
  • 2/6/19 - Review by jaydee

    "Worth playing"

    First time playing here. Fairways and greens in good shape for time of year, greens were fast and true. While playing back nine couldn't help but noticed excessive noise from major highway . Front nines greens are small and raised making for short shots rolling back off putting surface. All in all liked course except for "road noise".

    Read The Review
  • 9/3/18 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    My review may be slightly biased by my score. I shot a career best 73 with 4 birdies. I was a little worried before I teed off because the putting green was not in great shape. The greens on the course were fine though. Not perfect but they rolled pretty well and I was able to make some putts. Some were tricky to read as the bermuda blades have dried out in the summer heat. Tees and fairways were fine. I was only in 2 bunkers and they had no issues. The rough in a few places was pretty penalizing and deep enough you might not find your ball unless you step on it (raises hand). I won't say too much though because the thick rough kept one errant tee shot in play for me. This course is very reasonably priced and now has tee times online. The starter was friendly and offered to let me go off #10 as a single so I wouldn't be held up. I ran into a maintenance worker on several holes who was filling fairway divots with sand and generally checking things out. That was good to see. Nick Jacobi runs a great course and you should check it out when you can!

    Read The Review
  • 7/20/18 - Review by Jdog85

    "Best of the best"

    From Tee to Green course in outstanding condition. Recommend a trip around this track staff does a good job keep this course looking good.

    Read The Review
  • 6/24/18 - Review by aepfeiffer

    "Best of the best"

    I've said it a few times over the past few months, but if you aren't playing at Monroe CC you are not doing yourself a favor, the price, the conditions and everything are outstanding! They just punched the greens just over 2 weeks ago and the greens were in perfect condition and rolling quick!! Go out and play this course!!

    Read The Review
  • 5/27/18 - Review by mattc1323

    "Great course"

    Fun little course. Greens are in great shape. They let a walker go off in front of us, at 8:00am, caused us to have a 5 hour round. Very frustrating, but the course is a solid play at a great price.

    Read The Review
  • 4/14/18 - Review by jscum13

    "Below average"

    You know how you get stuck behind that one group?? That one group that plays so slow and is a hole behind the entire round. Turns your 4 hour round in to 5 hours. That happened to our group today and no one at Monroe did anything about it, including the head pro Nick who came out to the course, saw a group well behind and did nothing about it. A member of our group even said something to him about the pace of play and he rudely blew him off. He was an eye witness to an errant shot that nearly hit my playing partner on the fly, with no fore call, and he did nothing to reprimand that group. That’s the head pro of a public course ignoring the request of a paid golfer. Nick and his staff did nothing to speed these guys up. The greens were great and fast and the course is coming in slowly, but that was a really bad look for a course I (used to) hold to high regard. Safe to say I won’t be back.

    Read The Review
  • 4/6/18 - Review by aepfeiffer

    "Great course"

    Course is really coming in, fairways trying their best to grow in, with some rain and warm weather this course will possibly be the best public course around Charlotte this year, the greens are ultra smooth and quick usually, this course is a fun course to play, the front 9 and back 9 play totally different and the staff are super friendly, I've played here quite often lately due to the quality of the course versus others and usually play pretty quick except a few times! If you want good greens and a good course layout overall then this is the place to play!!!

    Read The Review
  • 8/6/17 - Review by B-Man

    "Worth playing"

    This was a tale of two nines. The front nine caters to members, walkers and families. So even teeing off at 4:15, it was a very slow front 9. The front 9 is also the more difficult nine with small tricky greens and elevation changes that can make it difficult to get a good lie. I breezed through the back 9 in about 75 minutes with almost no one playing the full 18. I came within inches of an eagle on #12. All in all I had a fun round and the course was just how I remember it and expected it to be. The greens will not make a mark so they are all in good shape and rolling quick. And man was it cheap for a Sunday afternoon!

    Read The Review
  • 5/10/17 - Review by dad4204

    "Worth playing"

    Fairways were a little thin, but not too bad. The senior tees were way up near the reds on most holes. Tees Ok, Bunkers really good. Greens perfect. Rolled very true. Most divots were filled with sand, congrats to the people who play there.

    Read The Review
  • 9/3/16 - Review by scrillthedeal13

    "Best of the best"

    Once again course was in perfect condition, even after the torrential rains that hit the area on 9/2. Played in under 4 hours, even with it being cart path only. Love this course and will continue playing it every chance I get!

    Read The Review
  • 8/27/16 - Review by tmathes

    "Never going back"

    I’ve played Monroe Country Club four or five times and each of the previous rounds has been very enjoyable. The exception was today. We had a foursome and teed off at 9:20. From the 8th hole on we had a ranger monitoring us on EVERY SINGLE HOLE. He complained that there were two holes open in front of us. Well duh! From 8:58am till we teed off at 9:20 nobody teed off ahead of us so, yeah, there were two open holes ahead of us. Then when we finished the front nine, a guy told us we were 20 minutes behind. Really? The last few rounds I’ve played there have been completed in 4:15 and I’ve never been warned by a marshal for slow play. Then on the back nine we had a marshal still with us timing us on each hole. Bottom line is we finished the round in 4 hours and 10 minutes, which to me is about the norm. Now according to “your rules” you pretty much have to finish 18 holes in 3 hours and 40 minutes. Now really, don’t most people work all week to go out and have an enjoyable round of golf? With this kind of treatment to players it is ANYTHING BUT ENJOYABLE. It was the first time the three other players in my group had ever played Monroe Country Club and judging by what they said at the end, it will be their last. Mine too. If the 3 hour and 40 minute time is what they demand for 18 holes then turn the thing private because I don’t know too many golfers who want to have to hurry through their round.

    Read The Review
  • 7/16/16 - Review by jscum13

    "Best of the best"

    Never said this for a course before but Monroe was PERFECT. Probably because we played behind the club championship and there is a US Amateur Qualifier next week. The course was pristine, greens running lightning quick around a 12 the head pro said. Fairways perfect. Rough perfect. Bunkers perfect. If you like quick, pure greens like I do then get out there while you can folks.

    Read The Review
  • 5/1/16 - Review by GetThere214

    "Worth playing"

    Course was is very good shape. Everything has greened up nicely and the greens were very good. Played in the early afternoon and we were done in 3.5 hours. Was an enjoyable round and looking forward to playing again.

    Read The Review
  • 4/3/16 - Review by ImYourHuckleberry

    "Best of the best"

    Far and away the best public course in the Charlotte area. The front nine is typical Donald Ross with small elevated greens surrounded by runoffs in all directions with deep bunkers. The Tom Jackson designed back 9 is much more open than the front 9 and has quite a bit more length. BEST GREENS IN CHARLOTTE! Put's Ballantyne Resort to shame at 1/3 of the price!

    Read The Review
  • 10/22/15 - Review by hotrod jb

    "Great course"

    The course is in great shape. Fairways were a little thin in some places but the greens are perfect! I played as a solo in 2 hours and 20 minutes. Good value in the area

    Read The Review
  • 8/1/15 - Review by jscum13

    "Worth playing"

    I love this Donald Ross track, the back 9 more so than the front, but it has his hand print all over it with false fronts and elevated greens. The course tee to green was perfect. The greens had just been aerated about a week and we didn't know about it, but they rolled pretty good for the most part. There were some greens that had a bunch of sand on to fill the aeration, but they placed the pins away from most of the heavy stuff. Good pace of play with marshals all over the course to navigate play. I did lose my PW on the last hole I guess and can't find it. Called the pro shop but no one turned it in I guess. Other than that, it was an awesome day and a great course.

    Read The Review
  • 7/14/15 - Review by scrillthedeal13

    "Great course"

    Been playing here since I was a kid (2000 -present). Unfortunately, I'm no longer a member, though I will probably join again soon. This course has improved significantly over the years with the bunker modifications + champion Bermuda greens. Monroe CC is in great shape, with some of the quickest Champion Bermuda greens in the business. Though the course isn't long, (6700 from the tips) it can play tough depending on how the pins are set up. Stay below the hole on the front nine and keep your drives in play on the back. On the front, its imperative to miss in the right spots around the greens (as is typical of DR courses). Best course in Monroe for the money, great fairways, with fast undulating greens. Check it out!

    Read The Review
  • 6/29/15 - Review by GinMillDJ

    "Great course"

    Course was crowded, but played at a good pace for a Sunday. Rangers on the course helped. Greens were in very good shape and considering the very hot and dry conditions, the fairways are holding up. A few brown and bare patches here and there, but nothing that interfered with the game too much.

    Read The Review
  • 5/13/15 - Review by Jan

    "Great course"

    Course is in excellent shape. Greens are fast and true. This was my first time playing here, The staff was friendly. The course is not well-marked. There are no signs directing you to the location of the 10th tee. Its a good thing we were paired up with a couple who had been there previously. Rangers were present to keep the pace of play moving along. Most were pleasant, although one told our group that we were one minute behind the expected pace after 14 holes. I thought that was a bit ridiculous.

    Read The Review
  • 11/5/14 - Review by oneputt

    "Best of the best"

    Playing at MCC is a real treat! What a throw back to older times and really stately courses. Of course the DR front nine is not only fun to play but it is also typical DR, fast greens with plenty of breaks. The greens were perfect. They held shots, rolled true and were very quick. The fairways were in good shape. Bunkers had plenty of sand and were dry. The rough was thick in places and thin in others. No problem with leaves, yet. On the back nine the greens were in great shape but not as fast or challenging as the front greens. The layout has the more modern feel but it is very pretty and challenging. Golf here at MCC is worth every minute of the drive that it takes to find the place. Great Golf.

    Read The Review
  • 10/2/14 - Review by syncgolf

    "Best of the best"

    This is the second time I've played this course. Great value. Well worth the $40 to play. Front nine old school Donald Ross course and back nine "modern" Tom Jackson. Both sides had perfect fairways, bunkers were perfect and greens rolled fast and smooth at about at 10. Had a nice chat with the head professional, Nick Jacoby who is was very personable! Give it a try it well worth it!

    Read The Review
  • 8/30/14 - Review by dongtrgolfer

    "Worth playing"

    Course in very nice condition overall. Fairways, bunkers, tee boxes good. Greens in great shape but wicked fast on downhill putts. Pins were placed in very difficult positions and near edge of greens. Made putting very difficult with the pace and placement causing me several 3 putts. I could never get a good feel for the greens.

    Read The Review
  • 6/22/14 - Review by B-Man

    "Worth playing"

    Playing conditions were very good. I jumped on for a late Sunday afternoon tee time at $38. Not as much of a deal as it used to be, though I could have gotten $5 if I had bought a Clickit coupon ahead of my round. There were 3 groups stacked ahead of me on the tee box, but once I got through the initial foursome on the 3rd hole, I was clear til about the 6th green. Then it was slow going for the final 12 holes. Still only a 4 hour round, but a little frustrating. The greens are in good shape and nary a blemish, yet they are vexing to me -- difficult to read and so fast downhill that there are some impossible greenside shots and pin locations (ex. left of #2 green). Also, yardages are tough to come by on this course other than the 200/150/100 plates in the fairway and on the cart paths. With elevation changes on many holes, it can be tough to get a good number. Not helping me today was the greenskeeper who randomly colored the flags -- they are supposed to indicate front/middle/back, but at least 1/3 of the flags were colored wrong for today's pin location. Sloppy. Overall, this is a good value course but not one of my favorites.

    Read The Review
  • 6/15/14 - Review by metallikviper

    "Great course"

    This is probably the best value golf course out there. For $38 on the weekend this course is in excellent shape. It has a very nice old school course layout. The greens are rolling smooth and the fairways are in good shape. Didn't get in any bunkers, but they looked to be in good shape. Also, I was really happy with the 4 hour round of golf, which is real treat on the weekends. I wish their driving range wasn't so far away and you can't go wrong with $2 domestics. I would highly recommend playing here if you can make the drive.

    Read The Review
  • 2/22/14 - Review by DriveCannon

    "Worth playing"

    Considering the time of year and recent snow falls the course was in solid shape. The greens had minimum bumps and rolled true for the most part, except for variations in roll speed from green to green. The fairways were in good shape except for a lot of wet spots due to the rain. Overall this course was relatively consistent with its normal year around maintained conditions, especially when paying only $24. The only con of the day was the extremely slow pace of play. I believe this was due to everyone experiencing cabin fever and Saturday was the first warm golf day in a while.

    Read The Review
  • 7/29/13 - Review by slowmofo

    "Great course"

    Wow, what a great course. Very old school feel. The front 9 ross design you could tell was evident with the elevated upside down saucer greens. The back jackson side was great as well. I will def be playing here more often especially if I can continue to get this price. It seems that the course drains pretty nicely because we had some balls that were just running down the fairways. The best part of this place is the greens. Full and probably some of the fastest greens I have played this year. I def will be back

    Read The Review
  • 7/27/13 - Review by KeystoneUTK

    "Great course"

    I played this the previous day, they cut the greens in between and the greens played much tougher. The greens were fast, I had some terrible putts adjusting from Friday to Saturday. Ended up with 9 more strokes in putting from my Friday round. With the greens being cut it may become my favorite course for the price and location. Not a bad drive from South Charlotte and everything is in good condition. Pro and staff are all very friendly.

    Read The Review
  • 7/26/13 - Review by KeystoneUTK

    "Worth playing"

    First time playing this course and really liked it. They hadn't mowed the greens and you could attack the hole with your putts. I was impressed with the conditions of the tees, fairways, and greens. Would of preferred them cut but it made for a small amount of putts. Very open course, I think I played from the wrong fairway on 4 holes on the front, couldn't get off the tee but that's my own problem. Clickit had the $16 hot deal posted Friday morning so I took advantage. Played by myself and was done in just under 3 hours playing two balls on several holes.

    Read The Review
  • 7/15/13 - Review by oneputt

    "Great course"

    Very wet. Fairways had not been mowed as we played. Many embedded balls in the fairways. Greens were super! Love the layout. Especially the original nine. Back nine was also well done. Shop staff very friendly and eager to make sure experiences were good. Will certainly head out there again soon. When and if it dries up some.

    Read The Review
  • 5/11/13 - Review by metallikviper

    "Great course"

    I really like this course and its layout. I would play here more if it wasn't so far away. Greens were beautiful, tee boxes lush and fairways were green. The roughs could use a bit of trimming however. Definitely worth the $37 clickit is charging.

    Read The Review
  • 4/30/13 - Review by hotrod jb

    "Great course"

    Only played the back 9 but the course is in great shape! Tee boxes, fairways, and greens are all in prime condition. The only flaw was the bunkers from all the rain we had this weekend but you can't control that. Love this place so much I became a member....

    Read The Review
  • 4/14/13 - Review by hotrod jb

    "Worth playing"

    This course is really coming in pretty nice. The greens are in great shape and the fairways are greening up great. Looking forward to playing here a bunch this year. Back 9 is great!

    Read The Review
  • 4/5/13 - Review by Chant72

    "Great course"

    The best $21 you can spend in the Charlotte area. Front nine by Ross and back nine by Tom Jackson of Cliffs at Glassy fame. Would have been a blast to play in its prime. Though not quite to the level, reminds me a bit of Bethpage in that the bones are there - the course could be a state gem if given the right funding and attention. This is not meant as a knock on current conditions, which are generally good - especially given the time of year. The front nine fits a lot of character into a little space, working hilly terrain and finishing with four holes near the lake. The back nine has a more modern feel, is much longer but keeps tradition with classic-feel raised, and often guarded, greens.

    Read The Review
  • 11/9/12 - Review by JHG

    "Best of the best"

    Great course with lots of character. Greens are excellent as is the rest of the course.

    Read The Review
  • 10/20/12 - Review by metallikviper

    "Great course"

    First time playing this course. Played here on Saturday for a best ball tournament hosted by a friends company. The course is in great shape. Tee boxes and bunkers were well maintained. Fairways and greens were perfect. The fairways were almost country club like. The greens were mini-verde and didn't seem to leave divots so were in good condition. If the drive wasn't so long I would be playing here more often. I highly recommend this course even if the drive is long. Clickit is running a $37 weekend coupon which is a real value.

    Read The Review
  • 6/23/12 - Review by dongtrgolfer

    "Great course"

    First time playing here. Tee boxes and fairways perfect. Greens in good shape and fast. The only knock was the group in front of us was slow on the back nine. The woman in the pro shop tried to get us out in front of them but we were waiting on.two guys from our foursome. I like the course as there are some easy holes and some hard holes. Fairways had real nice grass to hit from, like a nice private club. Great price and value. Little bit of a haul from Charlotte and traffic through Monroe. I will be back here again.

    Read The Review
  • 6/8/12 - Review by Orion

    "Great course"

    A friend and I went to Monroe for 9 holes after work. We were able to go out to the back 9. We were extremely impressed. The tee boxes and fairways were absolutely fantastic. The greens had a little bit of damage, but were still very nice. I highly recommend this course to anybody in the area. Great value and a great course.

    Read The Review
  • 1/2/12 - Review by izzyf150

    "Worth playing"

    This course is in good shape right now. This is a good course to play when the weather has been wet. The whole course just seems to drain well. I have nothing bad to say about this course really except for a couple of personal issues. The greens are hard (especially the front 9) and the greens are fast (faster then most). If this stuff doesnt bother you consider giving this course a try, especially just after wet weather. Your day will be less soggy and you can probably avoid a cart path only day that you would have a another golf course.

    Read The Review
  • 5/26/11 - Review by B-Man

    "Worth playing"

    I try to play here when I can, but it's sometimes difficult to get tee times. They get quite a bit of member / local play and don't start tee times until 8am. I kinda feel like an outsider here since I'm not a regular. So I can't say the course / staff is overly welcoming. I did manage to be the first one off today and the lady let me go at 7:45, but several holes were still being watered, well after 8:00 too. So I had to dodge waterfalls on a few holes. The course is in really good shape, but I'm not a huge fan of the greens here. Only one had issues (#12 with bare spots being repaired) and the rest were nicely manicured. The problem is that the greens have a very pronounced grain where your uphill putts are extremely slow, downhill putts fast and almost every putt has alot of break. So it was difficult for me to make even 5-10 footers consistently. Tees, fairways and bunkers were all in good shape and I do enjoy the layout (which should play really easy, but there are some tricky holes and OB stakes). Fore warning -- they are aerating the greens over the next couple of weeks. So it may be late June before you want to come back if you don't get out there in the next week.

    Read The Review
  • 2/20/11 - Review by estanwick

    "Worth playing"

    Greens were lightning fast. Some pin placements were impossible to keep your putts on the green if you were above the hole. Tee boxes= B; fairways= B; Greens= B+ (if the speed was slower I would give it a better rating).

    Read The Review
  • 8/8/10 - Review by estanwick

    "Worth playing"

    Monroe CC: Tees: B+; Fairways: B+; Greens: A-. Overall compared to other courses (springfield, Regent etc,) this course is in very good shape. The greens had no signs of heat or disease damage and in very good condition. It is very easy to lose a golf ball in the rough here due to the thickness. It is not an extremely long course but well worth the drive to play this course. Pace of play: 4 1/2 hours on Sunday morning.

    Read The Review
Your Profile
Login

New Here?

Sign Up

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Edgewater Golf Club


"Worth playing"

8/13/22: Review by GinMillDJ

Fairways were in great shape. Bunkers normal. Greens were extremely soft and there were a tone of ball marks that were not repaired. Fun course but a haul from Charlotte. Rangers did not do a great job keeping the pace of play on track. We skipped a hole on the back...

Latest Forum Post

Reply To: Aerification Dates – 2022

By B-Man on 8/10/22

Stonebridge: Monday, August 22nd - Course, Clubhouse, and Practice Facility Closed all day Tuesday, August 23rd - 9 holes open $10 off all rack rates August 23-28

About The B-Man
The B-Man himself
Homestretch Golf
Homestretch Golf
The Best Golf Tournament Wagering Platform!
See the Demo