Your Profile
Login

New Here?

Sign Up

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

River Oaks Golf Club


"Worth playing"

5/20/24: Review by golferdude

Played the tips..few mud balls due to recent rains. Greens were decent speed but not very receptive (many iron shots and pitches ran off the green). First time here in 8 years. Do like the look with the renovations. Rates are reasonable.

TripCaddie
B-Man on the 19th tee at Payne's Valley - Big Cedar Lodge with TripCaddie
Join Me on a Ready-Made Golf Trip with TripCaddie in 2024!
Sign Up Your Group!

Reviews for Lancaster Golf Club

Recent Reviews for All Courses

Review
  • 12/6/23 - Review by MGOBLUE

    "Great course"

    First time playing here in over 20 years and I will definitely be back. Course was in good shape, really liked the layout, back 9 more than the front 9. Definitely walkable, pace of play was 3 1/2 hrs and only $30 to walk 18.

    Read The Review
  • 9/11/23 - Review by jsud

    "Worth playing"

    Played a solo during a weekday and it was pretty empty which I loved. overall the course was in great shape, particularly the front 9. Some greens had some burn marks on the edges but overall nothing to complain about. The only real complaint was hole 12 was going thru some fairway repair so it went from a 350 yard par 4 (from white tees) to a 60 yard par 3. no warning about it from the club house or anything. will return once course is fully back

    Read The Review
  • 7/16/23 - Review by GoBux

    "Great course"

    First time playing here but well worth it and will play more often Front and back are totally different which makes this unique. Fairways and greens were in great shape! Pace of play was 4 hours in the AM -- 10 minutes between tee times. Go play it!

    Read The Review
  • 1/16/23 - Review by skwahder

    "Worth playing"

    I was disappointed. We were instructed cart path only. I asked the started why since there was minimal water around the course. He said their carts wouldn’t hold up charges for a full 18 holes. They were trying to save the batteries. Buy new carts!!! The course itself was in ok shape. The greens were on the slower side, but rolled nicely. A little overpriced in comparison to other area courses.

    Read The Review
  • 5/22/22 - Review by GinMillDJ

    "Great course"

    It's a hike to get to this course from the Charlotte area, but it's well maintained, affordable and pace of play is excellent. Aside from the fairways being mowed a little too short and the bunkers having more dirt than sand, I would definitely play here more regularly. Fairway width is very forgiving.

    Read The Review
  • 5/8/21 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    Played a GolfWeek Amateur Tour event at Lancaster this weekend, which is about the only time I make it down to play this course. That's a shame, too, because I really like this classic Donald Ross track (it's over 85 years old!). The Bermuda grass greens are typically in great shape and they are vintage Donald Ross. Very challenging. Right now, a few of the greens have some issues around the edges and collars, with bare spots that have been filled in with sand to repair them. On a few holes, these spots came into play requiring relief (holes #2 and #7) for chip shots just off the putting surface. Tees, fairways and bunkers were good. This course can be sneaky tough. The first few holes run adjacent and give you tons of room off the tee, but the uphill approaches on #1 and #3 can be difficult to judge to large sloped greens. The par 5's are all reachable in two but they defend par well with hazards (#2), O.B. (#5), blind, uphill second shots (#14) or trees guarding the dogleg (#16). Ponds make the par 4 6th and par 3 7th holes challenging as well. And #17 continues to give me fits. This downhill dogleg left par 4 requires a layup tee shot (unless you are comfortable hitting a long, accurate draw off the tee) and then a long downhill approach shot to a green guarded by bunkers and a rocky ditch. Overall, I really like the layout and the conditions, along with the price. I just wish it was closer!

    Read The Review
  • 8/1/20 - Review by Steveboos

    "Best of the best"

    Second Time playing Lancaster Golf Club and i was even more impressed. The greens are perfect, fast and smooth. Tee boxes are well kept and few divots. Fairways are in great shape, even considering the course got a few inches of rain the days before we played. The course was packed on a Saturday, as to be expected, but the round was enjoyable and staff was great! Will definitely return. Carts are nice and new as well, which is a nice sight to see for a course at this price point.

    Read The Review
  • 7/15/20 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    My first ever visit to Lancaster Golf Club and it gets a perfect conditions rating. Everything was immaculate, tee to green. Extremely well maintained. I've noticed many many local courses that don't care well for their tee boxes. So when I play one like Lancaster that takes extra care to keep their tee boxes lush like carpet, I notice. The Bermuda greens were rolling quick and true. I only noticed one hole with any kind of issue and that was the green apron on #9 that had some bare dirt spots. That was about it that I can remember. This is an old school course, especially the front nine designed by Donald Ross in 1935. Wide open, with the challenge mostly in the elevation changes tee to green and then the tiered and sloped slick greens. The turn to the Russell Breeden designed back 9 is very different - tree lined and doglegged, but with some of the same elevation changes tee to green. One thing that was true throughout, for the holes with a pin cut in the back or front, they were 5-10 feet off the edges, making for some tricky approaches. Definitely consider pin location before choosing your club. A few of the fun holes include an island green par 3 (#7, roughly an 8 iron) and the dogleg right par 4 9th hole protected by a pond. You do need some course knowledge for a few of the tee shots -- especially the dogleg left par 4 17th where it's easy to drive through the fairway into the woods. Overall, if you are chipping/putting well on the slick, undulating Bermuda greens, it's not a difficult track and you can score well. This course is very reasonably priced and the pro shop guy was very friendly and helpful. I thoroughly enjoyed my first visit (and I'll be back again Saturday for a GolfWeek tourney) and can highly recommend this course, despite the long haul from my neck of the woods (~45 min).

    Read The Review
  • 5/23/20 - Review by skwahder

    "Worth playing"

    Always a fun course. Nice layout. Today, knowing going in, was cart path only. The greens were rolling smooth and fast.

    Read The Review
  • 8/19/17 - Review by GinMillDJ

    "Great course"

    Nice layout. Greens were really nice. Fairways very good. Bunkers were good. Many of the fairways are wide and very open, however the rough if almost non-existent. Any ball that rolled through the rough, either ended up in the woods and lost or ended up on rocky dirt patches. I probably lost 3 or 4 balls that would have been normally played out of the rough. Good course though. Maybe the rough will come back in the fall.

    Read The Review
  • 12/26/15 - Review by Albert So

    "Great course"

    One of my favorite Charlotte area courses. There have been steady frequently heavy showers for the last 10 days or so. I knew the course would be muddy. I played lift/clean/place including from the bunkers. Must be an indication of how much I enjoy playing here. Figure at least two days for the course to dry out. The drive is less than an hour for me. (South Blvd & Scaleybark. Don't take 77 to Hwy 9 unless you're speeding. Hwy 521 is faster.) Fairways are mostly wide. When there are trees there is still usually a shot out. Or, at least, you can find your ball. Greens are some of the best for the money. Bunkers are great (if it hasn't been raining) Speaking of which, I was told that rates will be coming down. Not that I care. I pay $11 as a senior walking during the week. Roy in the clubhouse is great. He'll start you on the back if the front is loaded.

    Read The Review
  • 8/15/15 - Review by dongtrgolfer

    "Great course"

    Played at 11 am, course was fairly empty, in a foursome and no wait. 4 hr round. Greens in good shape but probably the fastest greens I have played in the Charlotte area this year. Some tough pin locations. Tee boxes, fairways, rough all in good shape. Very challenging course with lots of trees. If closer to Charlotte I would play more often. I think the more you play this courses the better you play here. A little on the expensive side if not member, but golfnow has some discounts.

    Read The Review
  • 1/19/15 - Review by dongtrgolfer

    "Great course"

    Played Lancaster and overall very pleased. There were a bunch of groups stacked up on the first tee so the guy in the pro shop came out and told us we could start on #10. That made all the difference in the world. We followed a 3 some and never waited on a shot. Played in under 3.5 hours. Greens are in good shape and fast. This is a course you need to play a few times to get the hang of the greens and where not to place the ball on the greens (stay away from downhill putts). Fairways were dormant but ok. Only in one bunker and it was raked nicely. Tee boxes in mostly good shape. Friendly and helpful staff. If closer to where I lived and played more I could see this being one of my favorite courses.

    Read The Review
  • 8/18/14 - Review by oneputt

    "Best of the best"

    Finally,found my way to this gem of a course! Took advantage of my free birthday round. Very nice treat from the course and no gimmicks attached, just play. The fairways were almost perfect. Not a bad lie the entire day. They were cutting the fairways so you had some clippings in the way. The traps were in good condition. Some were wet but still very playable. The greens. Where to begin....they were very fast. I mean fast! They rolled perfectly. Shots held nicely. Pin placements were somewhat of a challenge but they could have been diabolical. Pro-shop staff were very nice. Really interested in how you found the course to be playing. Pace of play was right on. I will certainly get back down here soon to play again. You should too.

    Read The Review
  • 8/3/14 - Review by metallikviper

    "Great course"

    First time playing this course due to the distance. I was very impressed with the course and all the Springs courses are always in great shape. It has a very nice layout and is fairly challenging. There were no significant issues on this course from tee to green. Only problem I had was that I stepped on a fire ant mound getting of the cart on the 18th green. Luckily it was the 18 green and I finished playing barefoot. If it wasn't so far away I would play it more often.

    Read The Review
  • 2/4/13 - Review by izzyf150

    "Great course"

    Lancaster was is great shape for the current time of year. Greens and fairways is good shape, and sand traps had plenty of sand. Only noticed one thing to mention as a negative. On the back side of the island green looking par 3, they have patched in some new grass several months ago. Its close to smooth but not there yet. Overall though, the course is great.

    Read The Review
  • 10/1/12 - Review by izzyf150

    "Best of the best"

    What is the deal? Why are all the great golf courses the ones that require driving close to an hour to get there? Fox Den, Edgewater, Tillery Tradition, and now Lancaster and there all about an hour travel time to get there. Lancaster was in great condition today. Greens were in perfect condition. Guy at the club house told us about a couple of greens on the hard side but I guess with the wet weather we didn’t notice it. I’m not sure about the number scale that I see people use so I just have to describe it in my own way and that is the greens were between a medium and fast speed. Fairways were great. A couple of sand traps had water in them but it had rained prior to us playing. I didn’t get in the sand today but you could tell by looking at them the sand traps would be good on a dry day. Absolutely nothing bad to say about this course. Another great course in great condition.

    Read The Review
  • 8/12/12 - Review by 4Putts

    "Worth playing"

    I like this track a lot (enough to drive 75 miles to play it) so based on a previous review I decided it was time to make the trek. Course was in good shape. Some bare spots here and there but nothing outrageous. New greens are nice although slowish & HARD in spots. Bunkers had not been drug so very hard & wet but otherwise fine. Good people, good price, good course. Check it out.

    Read The Review
  • 8/4/12 - Review by nolimt735

    "Great course"

    First time playing Lancaster since they renovated the course and I can say the conditions were about as perfect as you could expect. The greens were in fantastic shape since they were redone with MiniVerde greens. I have avoided this place because of the greens but now that they have them fixed this will be added back to the rotation. We were the 4th group out on the day with 2 foursomes and threesome in front of us and we played in 3.5 hours. I would highly recommend this course to anyone that lives in the area.

    Read The Review
  • 8/14/11 - Review by Hackerama

    "Below average"

    We got a 4 for 120 special and it was ok. It reminded me of a Public Course or Muni type of track. Fairways were shaggy, Greens were super slow. Lay was ok, nothing too exciting. You're better off going to Edgewater if you drive all the way down there.

    Read The Review
  • 6/6/11 - Review by Porkchop

    "Worth playing"

    Greens are recovering from the FU they had last year, fairways may be the best around and rough is penalizing. Once they cut the greens down, the course will be back in good shape. $32 after 3 is a little steep, thats not really a break, but pace of play is usually pretty good there

    Read The Review
  • 8/28/10 - Review by JD

    "Worth playing"

    Sadly, they just started to lose the greens here. Still playable, just a bit bumpy. They're doing their best to keep the putts rolling. Still a good value.

    Read The Review
  • 7/31/10 - Review by JD

    "Great course"

    Continues to be one of the best values in Charlotte -- just a gem of a traditional course. They are working HARD to keep things in good condition -- watering like crazy -- and it seems to be working for them.

    Read The Review
  • 5/17/10 - Review by JD

    "Great course"

    What a gem of old-world course design. A Donald Ross "mini classic." In great shape and gets very little play on Sundays. Worth the drive.

    Read The Review
Your Profile
Login

New Here?

Sign Up

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

River Oaks Golf Club


"Worth playing"

5/20/24: Review by golferdude

Played the tips..few mud balls due to recent rains. Greens were decent speed but not very receptive (many iron shots and pitches ran off the green). First time here in 8 years. Do like the look with the renovations. Rates are reasonable.

Latest Forum Post

Reply To: Short Game Lessons or Clinic

By B-Man on 5/23/24

Lots of clubs around town will do short game clinics (1-3 hours on one day) that are fairly inexpensive ($30-$100). Stonebridge is one course that offers this. I've taken the one with Fred Bond and got my money's worth out of it. These types of clinics are usually a good...

About The B-Man
The B-Man himself
TripCaddie
B-Man on the 19th tee at Payne's Valley - Big Cedar Lodge with TripCaddie
Join Me on a Ready-Made Golf Trip with TripCaddie in 2024!
Sign Up Your Group!
Homestretch Golf
Homestretch Golf
The Best Golf Tournament Wagering Platform!
See the Demo