Your Profile
Login

New Here?

Sign Up

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

The Divide Golf Club


"Worth playing"

8/7/22: Review by Steve K

Greens nice but super firm. Fairways: some good. some a bit tight and dry. tee boxes were rough. don't expect any turf-tees here. Was an enjoyable, albeit SLOW round.

About The B-Man
The B-Man himself

Reviews for Harry L. Jones Sr. Golf Course

Recent Reviews for All Courses

Review
  • 5/20/22 - Review by Jonny

    "Worth playing"

    The last time I played this course was in 1999. It was somewhat new at the time and built on re-claimed property from a land fill. I was most impressed by the driving range and practice area for chipping and putting. Nearly every course I have gone to in the CLT area is challenged to keep real grass growing on the driving range tees but not this place. Over all this course is about what you would expect for a Charlotte area public course. The tee boxes are in decent shape, the fairways are spotty with grass that needs water and scattered bare spots. The cart paths are a disaster. Broken concrete and MIA in many cases, at times you're on gravel. Sometimes a challenge getting on the correct cart path from green to tee, the paths are not well marked. What I found exceptional was the condition of the greens. Not a single bare spot on any of the 18 greens. all well cut and rolling true. There are quite a few blind shots, up hills and severe dog legs. There is a fair amount of water and you'll be punished for missing the fairways. If you're distracted by the sound of gunfire, you might want to avoid this course as there is a nearby gun range. I played 18 holes with a cart for $34.00 bucks with the Perks + plan. Even though they have a dining room and kitchen, it remains closed due to COVID.

    Read The Review
  • 7/19/21 - Review by jlong8004

    "Worth playing"

    Considering the greens are brand new you really can not beat the quality of this course for the price! Course has serious potential. I love the layout. The front 9 is fairly straight forward, what you see is what you get. The back 9, however, is a different animal entirely! Course management is a must on the back 9! Overall it is a great value at $37. Staff has really worked hard to bring this course back from the dead.

    Read The Review
  • 7/16/21 - Review by RML2134

    "Worth playing"

    Saw they re-seeded the fairways and greens so I figured I'd give it a shot. Still your typical run of the mill municipal course. Very serviceable. Greens were extremely slow, but I'm assuming that's because they haven't rolled them at all since they re-seeded. Hopefully they pick up speed as they grow in. Other than that, course was in really good shape. Had a foursome with a younger kid in front of us, but still kept pace. Wouldn't mind going here again to get some work in.

    Read The Review
  • 10/22/20 - Review by MGOBLUE

    "Average"

    My neighbor and I were the first to tee off at 7:40 and were finished by 11 so pace of play was not an issue as it was in my last two reviews. This was one of the first courses I played when I first moved here 25 years ago and it was our home course when we played in the Charlotte Golf League in 2000? I love the layout , the links style front and the parkland style back are so different. My only complaint was the condition of the greens. They were being mowed ahead of us and were still incredibly slow and many had bare spots, #13 and 15 were in the worst shape. I thought I had read on this website that this course was going to be shut down to be re-routed to make maintenance easier. Not sure if this is still going to happen but I hope they go with new greens too, Bermuda instead of Bent .

    Read The Review
  • 6/6/20 - Review by Hunter

    "Below average"

    I get it is a muni. But for $10-20 more for a round I'll play elsewhere. Greens were shaggy/slow, layout is goofy. No transition areas. Bunkers were surprisingly decent. A few cool holes. I'd love to see Charlotte have a great muni like Torrey or Coronado or Bethpage. But none of them are close to being repeat rounds for me.

    Read The Review
  • 10/5/17 - Review by B-Man

    "Worth playing"

    My first time back at RP in several years. I do enjoy the uniqueness of the layout, with lots of elevation changes and hilly terrain, a few blind shots. It was very familiar even having not played here in so long. That said, the course is quirky. Lies will be hit or miss everywhere. Since so many holes are sloped and hilly even fairway lies will be iffy. The fairways were in good shape for the most part. The rough on many holes had not been mowed recently, so we nearly lost a few balls in it. The greens on the front 9 were really good and quick. The back 9 was like a completely different course and very disappointing. Most of the greens were nearly unputtable due to sandy bare spots. Count two putts and pick up your ball. That bad. Not sure why the front 9 and back 9 were like night and day. I will say that the pro shop attendant mentioned that they had aerated 2 weeks ago and gave us a coupon for $20 off our next round if we come back in the next 2 weeks. I won't have a chance to use it and the expiration was kinda short, but it was a nice gesture. I do enjoy the challenge of this course so it was fun being back, but I'd like to see the back 9 greens in better shape when I play next.

    Read The Review
  • 8/12/16 - Review by Swingandamiss

    "Below average"

    Played Renaissance this morning for the first time, and saw alot of what the previous reviewers were talking about. The course was in rough shape, perhaps due to the rain, and overall not a great experience. The course does have some interesting holes, especially in the back 9 though, which make it worthwhile. The staff in the pro shop were nice, as well as the Marshal, but the folks performing maintenance on the course were incredibly rude. We were followed for 4 holes by someone mowing the fairways, who kept crossing our shots seemingly on purpose. All that said though, $28 for 18 holes is a great bargain, and we expected the rough conditions. Overall I wouldn't play here over the weekends, but if you're looking for a course to practice on this will work.

    Read The Review
  • 9/3/15 - Review by carolinas_knife_guy

    "Never going back"

    I have played Renaissance in the past and it was not a bad experience, however this outing was one where I was embarrassed to have taken out of town guests to a course representing Charlotte. I never received any pre warning when I booked the tee time on the phone, nor when I checked in and paid for my round about heavy equipment that was actively working tearing up tee boxes, requirements to tee off from the rough, and the greens with mange, fungus or algae death that has left them with 1/3 to 1/2 of the grass still on them. To add insult to injury, our 4-some was charged full rate for county residents and out of town rates for our guests! The final kick in the pants was a God-awful smell on the back 9 around a swampy par 3 that words cannot describe.

    Read The Review
  • 8/21/15 - Review by GinMillDJ

    "Never going back"

    I understand that some of the poor course conditions were due to work that is being done, but to pay full price for a course that was in such poor shape did not sit well with our foursome. Tee boxes on some hole were non-existent. Many fairways were chewed up and some of the greens were absolutely atrocious. I would seriously check course conditions before playing there.

    Read The Review
  • 7/3/15 - Review by ISlayMySelf

    "Worth playing"

    I haven't had many opportunities to play Charlotte courses this year but I got a nice surprise with Renaissance this past Friday. I'm going to focus my review on the course condition because that is really all that matters when playing a muni course. They are repairing some fairways (#1 being the worst) for drainage I presume and their are some sod repairs on a few greens. Most shots will not be effected by the work and the sod looks like it is taking fine on the greens (will be seamless come fall). The tee boxes are in fine shape but not consistently level and the fairways are green with some fluff to hit off of. The traps are not white and fluffy but they are maintained and raked. Greens are cut a little high, play slow and are soft but that is most likely done intentionally to preserve them due to the recent heat wave. With the budget limitations of a muni course a lot of credit needs to be given to the superintendent and his staff. They have focused there efforts in the right places and it shows. I stopped playing here about 4 years ago because of the conditions and started going to Regent because of the location but no more. Only the sand traps and level tee boxes are better there. If you are like me and gave up on Renaissance then I suggest giving it a mulligan. I played for $36 last second on a Friday and it was great. Exactly what a muni course should be and with the work they are doing it will only be in better conditions for the future.

    Read The Review
  • 6/2/15 - Review by jscum13

    "Average"

    Played a twilight and walked 18 in 3 hours and 20 minutes. That was the positive. But the course is what it has been for years. Average at best. Definitely has nice character and I love the layout, but when the fairways are beat up, lies are tight and rock hard and then your greens are the complete opposite, furry and slow, not many will leave happy with course conditions. They were watering the greens as we played, but the course never recovered from the harsh winter and the winterkill of the Bermuda grass is everywhere as we are in to June! Maybe an easy winter and some work will help this track out for the future, but for now it's not worth the heavy greens fees on a weekend.

    Read The Review
  • 5/16/15 - Review by metallikviper

    "Worth playing"

    The course was playing like it always does. Like a better than average public course and should charge no more than $40 for the weekend. Most of the tee boxes were barren or tore up. Some of the bunkers were in bad shape. Fairways were mostly in good shape, but like always the greens are in great shape.

    Read The Review
  • 1/21/15 - Review by dongtrgolfer

    "Average"

    Played Renaissance for the first time in about 6 months. Previous reviews showed problems with greens. I am glad to report there has been some improvement. The greens on the front nine were in much better shape than the last time I played. The back nine was more hit or miss with some ok, and some with issues. The tee boxes remain a problem. Many are not level and hard to find a level place to tee off. Most are pretty well chewed up. Fairways and rough are also hit and miss. Some ok, some with some issues. Hopefully improvement will come once the weather gets warmer. I got the senior member week day rate, so for the price I paid I am ok with playing the course. However, I would not pay full price for this course as there are much better courses around.

    Read The Review
  • 9/1/14 - Review by slowmofo

    "Bad, stay away"

    I don't know why I gave this place another chance after last year. Tee boxes, horrible. Fairways, they ripped up most and the ones they haven't were unplayable. Greens, suffering from severe root rot ( overwatering ) and the ones that weren't did have any grass. Not a good experience.

    Read The Review
  • 7/14/14 - Review by dongtrgolfer

    "Average"

    I really like the layout and I typically score well here. However, the conditions were average at best. Some fairways are ok and others have large dirt areas. Some drives had some very big bounces and a lot of roll. Bunkers were spotty with some raked and others not in good shape. The greens appear to be on the edge. Lots of ball marks and spotty areas. The heat must be getting to the greens since they are bent. The putts rolled ok but I could see problems in the future. Many tee boxes are not level and they were pretty torn up. Overall I was disappointed and probably will not return for a while.

    Read The Review
  • 6/7/14 - Review by metallikviper

    "Worth playing"

    The course is playing well from tee to green. The greens are in great shape and so are the fairways. The tee boxes and bunkers could definitely use some help. What they really need to work on is the pace of play on the weekends. Over 5 hours will really drive people away from golf.

    Read The Review
  • 5/22/14 - Review by gopher.birdies

    "Great course"

    Tee boxes and fairways were a little beat up. Greens did have a few scuff marks but would hold approach shots and putts rolled smooth and true. Play this course fairly frequently and it is in good shape for what it is.

    Read The Review
  • 4/26/14 - Review by metallikviper

    "Worth playing"

    Course is looking really good in the spring. Tee boxes could you some work and some bunkers were unraked. The fairways are getting slicker and the ball seems to roll forever. I was playing approach shots out of places I've never been before. Only big problem I had was the pace of play. I can understand a 4.5-5 hr round on a weekend morning, but having to wait on every shot is just painful. This is the second time this has happened where we've gone over 5 hrs.

    Read The Review
  • 4/26/14 - Review by magriff1

    "Below average"

    Calling around Friday for an early morning tee time left me with playing renaissance for the first time. Greens were actually pretty good, a little bumpy but in decent shape. The fairways were nonexistant. Looking off of the tee box i couldnt tell where the fairway was, looked like a field, closely mown and dead. $50 was a joke for this place, won't be back.

    Read The Review
  • 3/2/14 - Review by metallikviper

    "Worth playing"

    Everything looks good for this time of the year. The course was a little wet from all the rain so muddy conditions were expected. The roughs need to be trimmed a bit and some of the tee boxes were chewed up. Green were firm and fast. Should be good for the golf season.

    Read The Review
  • 9/29/13 - Review by esb

    "Never going back"

    AWFUL in every regard. GREENS: 4 decent and 14 unplayable. Bounce, bounce, bounce. FARWAYS: AWFUL: Ridden with fire ants. I suffered 8 bites on my hand and arm after a handful hitch-hiked on my putter (I guess I laid it down on a nest). Escaped a second encounter when 10 or more hitchhiked on my shoes. Thank god I saw them before they got to work. My playing partner had 4 bites on his ankles. SAND TRAPS: A joke....no sand. TEE BOXES: Barren. Conclusion: Why would anyone play here other than for the price?

    Read The Review
  • 9/8/13 - Review by slowmofo

    "Bad, stay away"

    Stay away from Renaissance right now. The greens are punched with holes about the size of a baseball bat and what green is left is horrible Putting I would have to take a driver swing to get it to the hole and then if it actually rolled shiz. Renaissance has never been a great course, but it has always been on the lower end of the mid tier list. Price and proximity are the only reason I golf there occasionally. These greens though were just dreadful

    Read The Review
  • 8/11/13 - Review by dongtrgolfer

    "Worth playing"

    Played Renaissance at 6:30 AM. First off and a nice fast round. Rough was high and fairways in ok shape. Didn't get into bunkers so can't comment but with all the rain most courses have problems with bunkers now. The front 9 greens were fine. The back 9 greens seemed to be under stress. No impact on how the ball rolled but I did notice they looked to be in trouble. Speed a little slow on the greens but fairly typical for this course. Pro shop staff friendly and efficient.

    Read The Review
  • 7/30/13 - Review by oneputt

    "Worth playing"

    Amazing! The greens went from spectacular to really poor in just three weeks! Every green had bare spots and burnt areas. The poor weather has really had an impact. Fairways were good and drying out. Traps had been worked on and were good. The rough was rough. My playing partners lost several balls in the long and unruly rough. Pace of play for a Tuesday morning was very slow. No sign of a ranger or a cart person the entire round. I really like layout and will keep on coming back. Overall, pretty good experience.

    Read The Review
  • 7/4/13 - Review by MGOBLUE

    "Great course"

    I haven't played Renaissance Park in awhile but it has always been one of my favorites . This course is in fantastic shape even with all the rain we have had. The greens were a little slow due to the amount of rain but very , very smooth rolling. Hole #17's green I remember being almost 50/50 grass and dirt was in great shape. My only complaint was pace of play , almost 5 hours due to a foursome who hadn't quite mastered the art of swinging and not missing on almost every shot. An employee ? came up to us on #6 in a golf cart and advised of a slow foursome ahead of us but just nodded and said "It's the Fourth of July, what are you going to do ?" I will definitely be back .

    Read The Review
  • 6/21/13 - Review by oneputt

    "Great course"

    Great, friendly folks. Walked the course....a challenge but doable. Greens were perfect! Fairways mowed tight and there were a few rough spots but golf as originally meant to be played was not in a pristine,perfect layout. Holes had character, 18 was a pleasant surprise! I have played many municipal courses in my lifetime and this was really a pleasant surprise. Will certainly go back soon. PS. I am new to the area, a senior golfer, playing to a 7. Would welcome any invites to come play golf.

    Read The Review
  • 6/17/13 - Review by zzazazz

    "Great course"

    The course is in the best shape I've seen since I started playing it a few years ago. The greens are a very nice surprise. Almost perfect for the whole course. The fairways are even great condition also. Overall, a BIG step up from last year. A nice surprise since my group and I had stopped going late last fall due to bad course conditions.

    Read The Review
  • 6/1/13 - Review by dongtrgolfer

    "Worth playing"

    Was first off at 6:30 AM. Greens in good shape but slower than other courses I play. Fairways in ok condition. The fairways were really hard and I got several big bounces. More rain would definitely help. Playing partner said bunkers not in great shape. Rough not that high, so not a big deal if you miss fairway.

    Read The Review
  • 5/25/13 - Review by metallikviper

    "Great course"

    Course is in good shape and the greens were in great shape. Tee boxes and bunkers could use some help. Fairways were very thin, but that did help me get my driving average up. I think it is playing about as much as you're paying for it.

    Read The Review
  • 4/24/13 - Review by robertgarris

    "Worth playing"

    I play this course about four times a month, they just aerified the greens a couple weeks ago, BUT they are rolling true, I absolutely had a great time.

    Read The Review
  • 7/21/12 - Review by dongtrgolfer

    "Below average"

    We decided to go out early and were the first off at 6:30. Course conditions were the usual. Terrible bunkers, some bad tee boxes but greens in ok shape. Cart path only but we got around the front nine in under 2 hours. Then on #10 there are several groups in front of us. I call the pro shop and they say no one should be in front of us. They said they will send some out. They didn't or it had no effect. We waited on every hole on the back nine. No course should put multiple player groups in front of their first tee time. I will not be back. For the money there are better deals in Charlotte.

    Read The Review
  • 7/14/12 - Review by metallikviper

    "Great course"

    This is the third time I have played this course this year. This is the closest course to where I live, but the course conditions are usually bad. I was very impressed with the conditions for the third time. The driving range which I used for the first time was very well maintained. Some of the tee boxes could use help. The greens were amazing considering the recent heat wave we've had. I would definitely recommend this course and for $40 I think it a priced just right.

    Read The Review
  • 6/16/12 - Review by Russell

    "Worth playing"

    It has probably been four or five years since I braved the conditions at Renaissance. Conditions had gone from marginal to poor since Ratcliffe took over management and there are just too many other good courses near by in this price range. So I had low expectations and I was pleasantly surprised. The greens were in much better shape than I remember. They are not perfect - but it is all relative. Most surprising were the traps - much better than other courses in the area. Sure, the fairways are spotty and there are bare dirt spots and other maintenance issues like its sister courses CT Myers and Sunset Hills but overall not terrible. If they would lower the greens fee I would consider playing here more often.

    Read The Review
  • 5/17/12 - Review by phatdba

    "Worth playing"

    Renaissance has gotten mixed reviews, but no reviews recently, so they are due for an update. The greens are in very good shape, fast and true, the fairways are patchy. Got a great deal for a morning weekday round from golfnow.com and flew through the course in 3 hours. Love the challenge here, it is a long tough course, definitely would play again for a good bargain.

    Read The Review
  • 8/10/11 - Review by NLM

    "Bad, stay away"

    Wow, was the conditioning terrible at this course. There literally were patches of rough growing in numerous spots on the greens. Greens were super slow, sandtraps hadn't seen a rake in days. Rough was randomly cut so that there were bare stripes next to 3" grass. $15 would have been a fair rate today. I am sad to say that I was dumb enough to pay $39. Maybe I will check it out again in the fall, but these issues didn't just seem weather related.

    Read The Review
  • 7/23/11 - Review by dongtrgolfer

    "Worth playing"

    I really like this course. I got out first and played fast. Course is defintely showing wear and tear of a lot of play. Tee boxes okay and fairways in most places okay. I was not in the bunkers so don't know how they were but they have been hit or miss in the past. Greens were slow for me but it may be because I was ahead of the mowers for the most part. The greens were definitely showing marks from where people did not fix their ball marks. Fairly bumpy on putts.

    Read The Review
  • 7/23/11 - Review by ILL-INI

    "Never going back"

    There is absolutely NOTHING nice to say about this goat track of a golf course. I mean literally this is the laughing stock of courses in Charlotte. If Charlotte golf courses had an illegitimate child, Renaissance would be it. Talk about a joke of a course. I am still steamed after playing this course Saturday. One of our foursome made the tee time without anyone knowing and it was too late to go somewhere else for the tee time we needed. I knew it was going to be bad but no idea it was going to be THAT bad. The rough is laughable...US Open type lenth that you can barely find your ball in. I bet we spent an extra 30 minutes trying to find balls that were a couple feet off the fairway. Fairways are complete shit, greens are long, short, long, short and complete shit. They really need to tear this thing down and return it to a landfill. This course is absolutely WORHTLESS.

    Read The Review
  • 11/18/10 - Review by sparky83

    "Worth playing"

    Had never played this course before, but because it's close to my office, I figured I'd try it out. The city courses aren't often in the best shape, so my expectations were low. The tee boxes and fairways are in okay shape for this time of year, but I have to say the greens are in great shape. Balls roll true, and they have good speed. The layout is fun and challenging, and I'll be playing here again soon.

    Read The Review
  • 11/7/10 - Review by deadliftdaddy

    "Great course"

    Dodged this course for years due to the condition it was in; however, that has all changed. Ratcliffe is doing a great job with this place and the greens were some of the best I've played this year. Will definitely be going back.

    Read The Review
Your Profile
Login

New Here?

Sign Up

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

The Divide Golf Club


"Worth playing"

8/7/22: Review by Steve K

Greens nice but super firm. Fairways: some good. some a bit tight and dry. tee boxes were rough. don't expect any turf-tees here. Was an enjoyable, albeit SLOW round.

Latest Forum Post

Reply To: Aerification Dates – 2022

By B-Man on 8/10/22

Stonebridge: Monday, August 22nd - Course, Clubhouse, and Practice Facility Closed all day Tuesday, August 23rd - 9 holes open $10 off all rack rates August 23-28

About The B-Man
The B-Man himself
Homestretch Golf
Homestretch Golf
The Best Golf Tournament Wagering Platform!
See the Demo