Your Profile
Login

New Here?

Sign Up

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Red Bridge Golf & Country Club


"Great course"

6/15/24: Review by GinMillDJ

Tee boxes could use a little TLC. Fairways were in very good shape. Although we weren’t in a lot of bunkers, they were in good shape. Fluffy sand. Greens were recently sanded so they played pretty slow and a little bumpy. But not very many blemishes or dead spots. Friendly...

TripCaddie
B-Man on the 19th tee at Payne's Valley - Big Cedar Lodge with TripCaddie
Join Me on a Ready-Made Golf Trip with TripCaddie in 2024!
Sign Up Your Group!

Reviews for Rock Barn Golf & Spa

Recent Reviews for All Courses

Review
  • 6/1/24 - Review by B-Man

    "Best of the best"

    Rock Barn is a treat every time I play it. The layout is fantastic with so many fun scoring opportunities and breathtaking risk-reward shots. The greens were in good shape, but not quite perfect. They had been aerated about a month ago and verti-cut recently. There were still a few traces of that but I didn't notice much effect on the roll. So maybe they played a bit slower than normal but they rolled true. The rest of the course conditions were ideal. If you can make it past the opening tee shot (a 200 yard carry over a hazard), the course plays short (about 6000 yards from the Men's tees for a par 71). The two par 3's on the front side have dramatic drops from tee to green with a beautiful pond fronting the signature No. 6 green and a steep ravine requiring 2-3 clubs down on No. 9. The par 5 10th hole is one of my favorite risk-reward holes in the area with another gasp-worthy tee shot that drops 50-75 feet to the fairway, then a decision to go for it in two (175-200yd carry) or layup to the right side of the pond. The two par 3's on the back nine play slightly uphill and both have ponds to carry for a mid-iron shot. The par 4 15th hole is a short but fun and picturesque hole with the fairway sloping down towards a pond and a second shot to a super long green (120+ feet). The par 18th takes you back up the hill to the spa and clubhouse with a large, severely sloping green. Par is tough on this one! If you've never played Rock Barn, go make the trip! The price is very reasonable for what you get (best public course in the area with GPS / green maps on the cart and range balls included). I can't recommend it enough.

    Read The Review
  • 5/9/23 - Review by B-Man

    "Best of the best"

    Rock Barn continues to be my favorite course within an hour of Charlotte – and it stretches that radius to the max as it's located in Conover just west of Statesville. The course is well worth the drive, however, and the price. At $65 for a weekday round and $75 on weekends, Rock Barn is still a great value for what you get. The Tom Jackson course is the public track but the resort also has a private Robert Trent Jones, Jr. course for members only. Both courses share the same clubhouse and practice area, which are resort quality. The practice putting green is by far the largest I know of in the Carolinas and it allows you to practice those 200-foot putts if you want a fun challenge. The Jackson course is a par-71 layout that tips out at only 6427 yards. So you may feel it plays short, but your first shot will have to carry 180-200 yards uphill across a hazard to reach the short grass. Several holes feature dramatic elevation changes, both downhill and uphill on tee shots and approaches. With the shorter length, you get some fun risk-reward choices throughout the round, none more exciting than the 10th hole. This downhill then dogleg left par 5 is one of my favorite public course holes in the area. If you hit a good drive, you should only have 200 or less yards to reach the green. However, that shot will be 90% carry over water! I didn't trust my 210-yard carry and so I laid up to about 80 yards during my round to give myself a birdie putt. One of the signature stretches is Nos. 5 and 6. No. 5 is a narrow par 4 tee shot with a severely downhill approach to a green that falls off the back into a pond. That same pond surrounds the front and right side of the par 3 No. 6 hole that plays dramatically downhill. And speaking of dramatically downhill, the par 3 9th hole is another long tee shot over a hazard with a 100-foot drop from tee to green. The back nine closes with a fun stretch from Nos. 15 to 18, again with elevation changes and ponds in play. The closing hole requires an uphill approach shot to one of the largest greens on the course that protects par with a two-tiered, back-to-front steep slope. Overall, this layout is very memorable and fun to play, which is one of my criteria for the Top 10 list. The course is part of the Rock Barn Resort & Spa and so the amenities (which include a very nice public bar/bistro and a members-only restaurant) are top-notch. Your range balls are included in your round, making the price even better by comparison to other Charlotte courses that charge another $6-$8 for a bucket. Not to give too much away (the new Top 10 list will be out in a few weeks) but Rock Barn was No. 1 last year for good reasons and not much has changed. NOTE: the course will be aerated next week. So give it a few weeks to recover.

    Read The Review
  • 5/22/22 - Review by Jonny

    "Great course"

    I arrived at 940am for a 1040am tee time. There are no markings on the three buildings that share the same address on the GPS. The Club House is the building with the 3 flags flying in front. You drive around behind this building for the bag drop. There will be an attendant who will provide your cart and load your bag and direct you to the back door of the Pro Shop. I made my way down to the driving range and began to hit some balls which are included in the $75 green fee which also includes the cart. I made my way to the #1 hole which was not marked. The carts have GPS so it did say 'Jackson' and hole #1 even though there is no yardage marker on the 1st hole I was told there would be a starter named Grant to check me in and confirming my pairing, there was no starter. I waited a few minutes and saw another cart coming down the path. I introduced myself and it was Ted & Carmen. A local couple who had played the course several times. They explained the GPS operation on the cart and impressed upon me the importance of staying within distance parameters of the greens. If you go too far, you'll hear a loud beep and text on the GPS screen instructing you to 'put your cart in reverse back to the cart path' Happy to be paired with some locals who explained this as the cart attendant never said a word nor did anyone at the Pro Shop on check in. For the most part the course is top tier for a public course, The tee boxes are well marked and in very good condition. The fairways were not so great. Very sparse with grass in areas, it's been a while since they had some rain and it showed. The greens were in really good condition, they are mostly large and very undulating creating challenges. Most every green is gudarded by at least one bunker There are ponds on many holes but no creeks My favorite hole was The Signature #6 a Par 3. From an elevated tee box you look down 150 yards to the pin. There is a massive pond on the right and trees guarding on the left. There are 3 large bunkers on the left side which slope down the to the green. I nailed my tee shot, my red Callaway sailed beautifully and landed on the green and bounced a little before stopping about 25 feet from the cup. The round took about 4 hours total. We called ahead to order food on the 9th tee box & food was ready in the bar/restaurant when we arrived. At $75 it's more than I would normally pay for a public and non-resort type course. I will have to think long and hard about another 1.5 hour trip here from Fort Mill, SC but it's #1 on the B-Man's ranking of the top 10 courses so it's now checked off!

    Read The Review
  • 3/27/22 - Review by B-Man

    "Best of the best"

    Go play Rock Barn. You won't regret it. It's a good 50-minute drive up Hwy 16 from Charlotte (you'll pass Verdict Ridge on your way), but you will be well rewarded for making the trip. The club feels like a resort with 36 holes (the Jones course is private, however), a spa, tennis courts, pool, and a couple of restaurants onsite. Range balls are included in your fee – which, at $65 for a weekend round, is still a great value compared to the $75+ rates at a few courses in Charlotte. The club features the largest practice putting green I've ever seen. So if you need to practice those 100-foot putts, Rock Barn will be your jam. The Jackson Course is the public track but it is kept in great condition. The Bentgrass greens were in great shape and rolled quick and true. A few of the greens can be really tough due to the slopes – during our round, the pins on 11, 13 and 18 were treacherous. The course plays short, giving you many chances to hit less than driver off the tee. Risk-reward choices abound, but none more tricky than the par 5 10th hole – where even the layup makes you consider how much of the water-guarded dogleg to bite off. The par 6th hole is one of the signature holes with a long downhill carry over water. During our round, it played as nearly a 190-yard shot with a stiff wind in our face. Bogey won this hole in our group. I love playing here when I get a chance to make the drive. As the days get longer, it'd be a good one to pair with Verdict Ridge or River Oaks for a 36-hole marathon. I highly recommend the hot dog at the Fresh Chef cafe in the clubhouse at the turn and the chicken quesadillas afterward. Last thing – see my note in the Forum about aeration dates. Rock Barn will aerate the Jackson course on April 11th.

    Read The Review
  • 3/27/21 - Review by 2chipdan

    "Great course"

    This course is a bit of a hike from Charlotte, but definitely worth the trip a couple of times every year. Fun mix of challenging and scoreable holes. Jackson Course was wet from all of the rain earlier this week, and it showed in the fairways and tee boxes in spots. The greens were in solid shape and rolled true. $55 on a Saturday morning is about as good as it gets in the area. $25 replay rate makes for an affordable 36 hole day as well.

    Read The Review
  • 4/22/20 - Review by B-Man

    "Best of the best"

    My first time at Rock Barn (Jackson course) and my first perfect rating of the year. The course was in immaculate condition tee to green. The layout is fun, challenging and score-able. It only cost $35 for a weekday afternoon with range balls included. And if it weren't for the pandemic I would have enjoyed the restaurant and amenities as well. This is a great resort course that is more than worth the hour's drive from Charlotte. And it is less than 15 minutes from another top 10 course in our area -- River Oaks. So if you want to make a weekend of it or play 36 in one day, pair these two courses together. Of course, Rock Barn has a Robert Trent Jones II course as well, but it is now members only and private since 2016. Look for some photos from the course on my Instagram (@charlottegolfer). I can't wait to go back and play Rock Barn again!

    Read The Review
  • 10/17/15 - Review by Bogey-Golf

    "Great course"

    Played the Jones course on Saturday. about as nice of a day and nice of course that you can play. Greens were spectacular and fast. Course was in great shape overall. Played with three nice gentleman just a very long around. I think we were the only ones on the course and it still took five hours but nonetheless a good round other than my score

    Read The Review
  • 8/22/15 - Review by JBenn76

    "Below average"

    Here's my review of the Jackson Course at Rock Barn. Going to use the "10 scale". Greens: 8-good public golf speed. Fairways:8-they were pretty good except for the 2 holes where it was carts on path. Rough: 1-if you didn't hit the fairway, be ready to go on a hurt. It took this two-some over 3.5 hours to play...not because of bad play or an overcrowded course. The rough hadn't been mowed in weeks!! Bunkers: 0-It was hard for me to believe the level of neglect. Grass in every single bunker. Edges were nonexistent. Extremely disappointing and showed laziness on the part of the super. They were horrible!! Layout: 3-Typical Tom Jackson layout. Great par 3s, decent par 5s, and horrible par 4s. I'm guessing the Jones course is where they spend their time, money, and manpower. One thing is for sure, I'll never play the Jackson course ever again. A poorly maintained Tom Jackson course just isn't worth what we paid!!

    Read The Review
  • 6/15/15 - Review by Jan

    "Worth playing"

    Played the Jackson course on a very hot Monday afternoon. Course was in average shape with some significant bare spots in the fairways on the back nine. A couple of the women's tee boxes were pretty torn up. The greens were in very good shape for the most part. It would have been nice if there had been a starter and ranger to help with the pace of play. There was a foursome of teenage boys walking ahead of my twosome. It must have taken them twenty minutes to play each of the first four holes. Thank goodness they finally quit after six holes, I think because of the heat. Staff was courteous, patrons were not.

    Read The Review
  • 4/29/15 - Review by joe-paris

    "Great course"

    What a gem!! If you have the time to drive north to Rock barn then you must go! The course design is awesome and for only $45, although we got the round for $35. The pro shop was excellent and very accommodating! Next time I visit Charlotte I am staying at Rock Barn and playing both courses!! Excellent course.

    Read The Review
  • 8/21/14 - Review by Bob10276

    "Best of the best"

    Played the Jackson course as a twosome. Zipped around with no delay. Great fairways. Rough mown to reasonable length. Nice, soft greens that allowed you to shoot right at the flag. Almost no fungus in the greens, but it was obvious they were watering them to keep them soft. Great golf course with nice scenery and a bargain at $45. Friendly pro shop and efficient cart staff.

    Read The Review
  • 7/14/14 - Review by slowmofo

    "Best of the best"

    We got out around 11 and played the Jackson course. Not a long course (jones is longer) but elevation comes into play. There are so many pretty holes on this course. 6 & 10 would be perfect examples. Decent amount of water. Everything right now is in prime condition. The starters and the guys who get your cart are always on point. The food inside isn't bad. It's hard to say which course I like better, though my friend favors the jackson over the jones. If it wasn't 55 minutes away I would def play here more often.

    Read The Review
Your Profile
Login

New Here?

Sign Up

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Red Bridge Golf & Country Club


"Great course"

6/15/24: Review by GinMillDJ

Tee boxes could use a little TLC. Fairways were in very good shape. Although we weren’t in a lot of bunkers, they were in good shape. Fluffy sand. Greens were recently sanded so they played pretty slow and a little bumpy. But not very many blemishes or dead spots. Friendly...

Latest Forum Post

Aerification Dates – 2024

By B-Man on 6/15/24

Here's a list of maintenance schedules for local courses. Please add any updates you know of for courses not listed. Rock Barn: 4/22 Verdict Ridge: 7/15-7/16 - April-Sept: light top dressing each week, verti-cutting to remove thatch every 2 weeks to keep greens healthy,...

About The B-Man
The B-Man himself
TripCaddie
B-Man on the 19th tee at Payne's Valley - Big Cedar Lodge with TripCaddie
Join Me on a Ready-Made Golf Trip with TripCaddie in 2024!
Sign Up Your Group!
Homestretch Golf
Homestretch Golf
The Best Golf Tournament Wagering Platform!
See the Demo