Your Profile
Login

New Here?

Sign Up

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Olde Sycamore Golf Plantation


"Below average"

5/26/24: Review by RT

Poor value. Fairways in good shape, with a few isolated spots, but able to play the ball down. Greens generally in good shape, with a lot of unrepaired ball marks. Speeds were consistent. Tee boxes are beat up. Bunkers not raked. Pace of play was just under 5 hours,...

TripCaddie
B-Man on the 19th tee at Payne's Valley - Big Cedar Lodge with TripCaddie
Join Me on a Ready-Made Golf Trip with TripCaddie in 2024!
Sign Up Your Group!

Reviews for Charlotte Golf Links

Recent Reviews for All Courses

Review
  • 10/27/13 - Review by Xudeuce

    "Average"

    While this course isn't great it is in better shape than a few months ago so new management is on the write track. It is a links course but it was very dry, no different in the color of the fairway, rough or greens. Reduced rates online make it a decent spot to play. But would never play here at full price!!

    Read The Review
  • 7/25/13 - Review by carp24000

    "Never going back"

    Played 18 at Ballantyne Thursday morning, and wanted to play another round in the afternoon. Stopped here and figured it would be pretty well-priced for Thurs afternoon...wow I was wrong. $49!!! for a round on a weekday afternoon. This is ridiculous, but luckily I found a coupon for $28. This was just the beginning of this mess of a course. Tee boxes are non-existent...all weeds. Fairways and rough a also non-existent. It is literally all weeds or crabgrass, or dirt. Greens are without a doubt have higher grass than fairways. They are awful. The staff are rude...which may have to do with not getting paid. I would stay away from this trainwreck like the plague. Embarrassing.

    Read The Review
  • 5/31/13 - Review by carp24000

    "Below average"

    This is my least favorite course in Charlotte. I got invited to play with a co-worker, which is the only reason I played. Ball machine on the range was jammed, and the range was like hitting off of sand. Tee boxes were covered in weeds and didnt seem to have been cut in a few weeks. Fairways were in ok shape, but brown grass clipping were everywhere. Greens were awful...it was like putting on shag carpet. Ball was bouncing everywhere and wouldnt hold any shots. You lose a ton of balls if you dont hit the ball right down the middle, since the rough and other areas on the course are extremely long and not well kept. I would avoid this course like the plague.

    Read The Review
  • 5/31/13 - Review by Sndtr603

    "Below average"

    Course is in pretty good shape even though the greens were replaced last year. Wish I could say the same for the golf carts and range ball machine. Our cart died twice during the round and overheard the staff telling others that their cart might die. Range machine was broken again and they were giving out balls in the pro shop. Hats off to the staff for dealing with all the crap. The problems continue for the Carolina Trail courses, but they don't have a problem charging the rates they do for bad carts and a "hit or miss" that the range will be open and supplied with balls.

    Read The Review
  • 4/27/13 - Review by metallikviper

    "Great course"

    Never really cared for links style golf courses, but this one isn't so bad. Greens seemed a bit brown, but were rolling true. Tee boxes, fairways and bunkers were all in good shape. Definitely worth the $35 clickit was charging for it. I really wish they'd put up a dividing net between the practice range and 1st fairway. If you hit a drive left, you're pretty much hunting for about 10 mins.

    Read The Review
  • 4/7/13 - Review by GolfNiners5

    "Average"

    Fairways were in good shape. Tee boxes were awful and hard to hit off on Par 3's. Greens had a great color but are incredibly hard. I believe they changed them all recently and were decent to putt on but impossible to hit a ball into. Couldn't get irons to stop at all and balls would bounce 3 or 4 times after first landing. Got a special on ezlinks and had a coupon code so for $20 it was worth it. Hopefully rain will come and soften up the greens. Also had problems with carts. If your early they tell you to wait on the cart path after hitting balls and they will bring a cart to you. We waited a good 20 minutes before our cart was available and teed off late.

    Read The Review
  • 3/18/13 - Review by Cant3Putt

    "Average"

    I'll start with the good news. The greens are in great shape. There is not a mark on them. The replacement of the greens has worked. More good news, the brush is still way down so it's still easy to find wayward shots. The fairways are starting to green up but mostly dormant. The bad news is that pace of play on weekend is still terrible, the bunkers are mostly unplayable because they are mud/dirt/clay for most f them and the tee boxes haven't seen a seed for ages. I would give the back nine holes, minus #17 three stars, but the front holes are so bad, except for 6, it gets 2 stars. Carolina Trail should do the same greens at the Divide and restore that course before it's a housing development.

    Read The Review
  • 1/9/13 - Review by 4amigos

    "Worth playing"

    Had a gift of golf coupon so the cost was $20, other twosome was $35. Greens were in very good shape and the fairways typical for winter. Tees were a little rough. No waiting on Wednesday morning and it was NOT cart path only

    Read The Review
  • 12/7/12 - Review by Russell

    "Average"

    It has been many years since I have played here. I am not a big fan of the layout and never seem to finish a round in less than 5 hours. I thought I would give it another chance since they have replaced the greens. A light drizzle kept most people off the course but the tee sheet was pretty open anyway. The clubhouse was dirty and worn out - but that's not really important to me if the course is in good shape. My biggest issue was with the greens. Like most new greens they are hard to hold with an approach shot. This combined with the fact that almost all the greens are elevated with run off areas in all directions made it very difficult to score. Once on the greens they rolled pretty well and were pretty heavily contoured. Tee areas were pretty chewed up and could of used a trim. They have cleared out many of the waste areas that I remember - I imagine to try to speed up play. The course needs a season or two for the greens to soften up before I come back. Hopefully Carolina Trail will have sold the course by then to a management group willing to spend some of their income on the course.

    Read The Review
  • 9/11/12 - Review by ISlayMySelf

    "Great course"

    2nd time here and I really enjoyed it. The new greens look great and appear to be taking well. They are still being cut a little long, which is understandable, so putting was slow. Some tee boxes were a little beat up but that was the exception. Fairways were in fine condition and the weather was perfect. My only complaint was the rough. The rough was recently cut so there were large clumps of dead grass lining every fairway. It made it tough to find tee shots that missed the fairway. Overall I had a great time and really enjoyed the course.

    Read The Review
  • 8/31/12 - Review by thomastlawson

    "Bad, stay away"

    Do not play this course. We called to book a tee time and their head pro was an absolute jerk. Their customer service is terrible. I went to the range and they didn't have any buckets to get balls to hit. The course is not that great and the pace is slow, but if you want to have someone be a smart*** to you feel free to give them a call.

    Read The Review
  • 8/10/12 - Review by magriff1

    "Average"

    went out and played nine after work for $10 with the boagies to birdies deal they have. I was very disappointed in the greens especially since they were recently "renovated". I might as well have been putting on the fairway the grass was so long. There were still sod lines on the greens also. I hope they are planning on cutting the greens alot shorter as the pace was so slow. The rest of the course was in average condition and very wet from all the rain we have had.

    Read The Review
  • 6/11/12 - Review by oladipo_for_mayor

    "Great course"

    New to Charlotte and bought the Carolina Trail so I could try many courses around town. So far I've been to Tradition, Birkdale, Divide, Waterford, and now Carolina Golf Links. I would have to say the Links was my favorite thus far, with Waterford a close second (the others a distant tie for last.) Course was in good shape, blue tee boxes were great, greens had many, many ball marks but almost all were fixed and green rolled well. It truly is a links style course except for approach shots (not possible to run the ball onto the greens). The best thing going for the course is that it is unique in how you have to play the "pot bunkers" from all over the course, fairway, greenside, etc. I still have Highland and Skybrook to play on the card but I'd have to say this is the best the Trail has to offer thus far.

    Read The Review
  • 6/2/12 - Review by _mk70

    "Worth playing"

    Course was in decent shape considering how busy it gets. Our round lasted 4.5 hours long which seems to be our average round there. The course has some bottlenecks but CGL looks like they have mowed down some rough to keep up the pace of play. Staff is very friendly.

    Read The Review
  • 5/12/12 - Review by metallikviper

    "Worth playing"

    I've never liked Links style courses as they always seem to challenge me. Course overall was in good shape. Greens were in great condition. I was amazed at the number of golfers showing up at this course. Bunkers really need some work. Fairways and roughs were mowed to a good height and were in decent shape. Heard they are shutting the place down in July to replace the greens. So go ahead and enjoy it while it is still in good condition. Overall grade would be a "B".

    Read The Review
  • 4/27/12 - Review by B-Man

    "Worth playing"

    My first time back at CGL in a while since my experiences and your reviews have varied widely over the last few years. Overall, the course is in good shape. The greens, especially, were solid and cut low and fast with no major issues on any holes. The changes they've made -- I assume to cut down on delays during play -- are not that aesthetically pleasing, since they removed trees and bushes and changed the views, and they've made the course easier. The effect is that about 1/2 of the holes are forgettable and not very challenging (#1, #10, #11, #13, #14, #15 especially). I was surprised the course was not very crowded after 3pm on a Friday and we were able to finish while taking our time. Another thumbs up for the beverage cart which made the rounds several times up til about 6:30pm. All in all, I had low expectations going in and they were exceeded. I won't go out of my way to play here, but it's just so darn convenient and at least now I know the conditions are decent.

    Read The Review
  • 8/2/11 - Review by GungaGalunga

    "Below average"

    Played 9 holes after work. Got them in in just over an hour. Course was pretty mush wide open. Greens stood out as being an issue. They have two types of grass...which appear to grow at different rates and cause putts to jump all over. For some reason I was chipping well and had close puts most of the time, so I only had one put that I felt was bumped out of line by this issue. They should really overhaul greens and get it down to one grass. Fairways were nice and lush. Tee boxes in good shape. But I will try another course until I hear the greens are not an issue. That is where I plan on at least two strokes per hole...I like it to be true. My game does not need the added challenge of patches of furry grass spots on greens.

    Read The Review
  • 7/27/11 - Review by Matt

    "Average"

    Course itself is decent. Fairways: B Greens: C Tee boxes: D Sand: C Rough is fair However, the course is way overpriced and the three staff members I communicated with were absolute jerks! First, the guy at the counter where you pay overcharged me $9. I nicely informed him that the rate was $25 dollars for me according to the internet and it said riding next to it. He then replied "Well yeah so what, that's on a computer, but I'm standing right in front of you telling you it is $34 and I know I am right." I asked him if they were going to fix the website to which he responded "not my job!" Second person I had an issue with was an employee picking up balls on the range. I walked up there and stood there not hitting balls afraid I would hit him. He waved me on and seemed to not be worried about getting hit. So, I hit. One ball was heading his way and I yelled fore and the ball missed him by 10 yards. He then turned to me and held up his hands like a did something wrong even though he was the one standing in the middle of the range and the one that waved me on to hit while he was out there. Lastly, at the turn I went to buy a candy bar and soda. When I got my change I tipped the lady a dollar and she almost sneered at me like that wasn't anything. No "thank you" or "have a nice day." She just stared at me and almost looked disgusted. Lady, chill out, I just gave you a 25% tip and you are going to complain. All you did was reach in a fridge. Needless to say the rude staff members ruined an otherwise average course. If I were you, I would not play unless you are desperate and are not expecting a great high-quality course.

    Read The Review
  • 6/25/11 - Review by metallikviper

    "Worth playing"

    I have never liked this course because of the layout. If you hit an errant shot you wind up in the high grass and its gone. But, the course is in great shape. Greens rolled true and have been taken care of except for some idiots who don't fix their divots. Fairways were green and showed little wear. Tee boxes could use some help as most looked like they had taken a severe beating. I would recommend this course.

    Read The Review
  • 6/1/11 - Review by Matt

    "Worth playing"

    Course in best shape I've ever seen it in but still not very good. I have multiplt complaints starting with being overcharged $9. I wanted the $25 junior rate that is clearly listed on the website is a riding rate. The guy insisted that was a walking rate and $34 which is college student rate was the riding rate for juniors. I know it is $25 cause I played there a month ago and paid $25. I should have just left, but whatever I wanted to play. Fairways and greens are actually green now but still not very good. Fairways are thick and need to be desperately mowed. Speaking of mowing, on 4th hole, a mower was driving down fairway and would not move to side and let us hit. After we hit, he stayed in the middle and didn't move for our second shot either. The greens were consistent but extremely SLOOOOOOW! Also, the roughs around the greens were a little thick for a fairly easy golf course. Specific complaints, 3rd hole tee boxes terrible and 18th hole green there was a ballmark every square inch. All in all, not bad but not great. It wasnt crowded at all though.

    Read The Review
  • 5/30/11 - Review by Stevenr6

    "Worth playing"

    I play here more than any other course around due to me and a few buddies joining the trail for the past 2 years and living close by. Overall the course is in good condition. The greens were late to come in this spring after being punched, but are now pretty good condition. My only complaint is that people don't fix their ball marks. Fairways are good but need to be mowed more often so there's not a bunch of grass clippings all over. #3 tee box is in poor condition and has been this way for years.I have not played in the Thursday night dog fight this year, but plan on doing so in the near future. Overall the staff is good especially Bobby and the new GM Rich.

    Read The Review
  • 5/5/11 - Review by malamute

    "Worth playing"

    course in good shape - greens ok but people need to fix ball marks - back to grass at range - no gps but was a pin sheet provided

    Read The Review
  • 8/13/10 - Review by outliar

    "Below average"

    I played the front 9 only: The good news: their greens aren't burnt out like most of the rest of the course's in the region. The bad news: Greens were absolutely covered with weeds. It was the biggest tease EVER! As I pitched onto the 1st green I thought, "wow, what a surprise...of all places to not have lost the course...". Then I got on the green and was snapped immediately back to reality. I guess Golf Links has officially replaced Crystal Lakes. It almost makes me cry, because the DESIGN is among my favorite, and in it's heyday (in MY opinion), THIS IS WAS ONE OF THE MOST FAITHFUL re-creations of links play this side of the Atlantic. FOR SHAME FOR SHAME FOR SHAME!!!

    Read The Review
  • 7/30/10 - Review by JD

    "Great course"

    Links is still beating the heat with pretty good conditions. I learned that the practice green is Mini-Verde...wonder if they'll make the switch to the course?

    Read The Review
  • 7/25/10 - Review by JD

    "Worth playing"

    Links continues to be in good shape, when you factor how many rounds this course gets and in this heat. Pock-marked greens are annoying, but that's lazy players' fault, not the course managers. A few tee boxes weren't great...but this time of year, the course was in relatively good shape.

    Read The Review
  • 7/23/10 - Review by malamute

    "Great course"

    course in great shape except 13th green /course holds up well with amount of play / in good shape compared to most courses around right now

    Read The Review
  • 7/21/10 - Review by hvalmer

    "Great course"

    Golf course is in great shape. The greens have held up to the heat very well. I have heard other courses are not faring as well, so I was surprised to see the greens in as good of shape as they were. Quick pace of play, but that was expected on a very hot weekday afternoon. All in all, kudos to the staff here.

    Read The Review
  • 7/13/10 - Review by B-Man

    "Worth playing"

    I was worried about conditions, given recent reports from other local courses, including a few of the Carolina Trail ones. I'm happy to report Golf Links is doing fine. The greens were in good shape. Just lots of ball marks and the 13th green had aeration holes and some sand. For whatever reason, they cannot keep the 13th green in good shape. It's always been an issue on this course. Tees and fairways were fine. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised. We had a 6:51 start time, cart path only due to the floods Monday. After we let one twosome play through ours, we breezed through our round in just over 3 hours.

    Read The Review
  • 5/14/10 - Review by JD

    "Great course"

    Over the years, I've been hard on Charlotte Golf Links because I feel it never reaches it's potential. It's a Tom Doak course (yes, THAT Tom Doak) but it's typically overplayed and underkept. Not this morning. Near-perfect conditions with average-fast greens. Two minor gripes: uneven tee boxes and fairways were about 80% good, but a few brown/bare spots. The course is at its peak potential right now. Go play it.

    Read The Review
  • 4/1/10 - Review by malamute

    "Worth playing"

    good course despite the amount of play / had 3 birdies / range was in great shape but range balls are of poor quality

    Read The Review
Your Profile
Login

New Here?

Sign Up

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Olde Sycamore Golf Plantation


"Below average"

5/26/24: Review by RT

Poor value. Fairways in good shape, with a few isolated spots, but able to play the ball down. Greens generally in good shape, with a lot of unrepaired ball marks. Speeds were consistent. Tee boxes are beat up. Bunkers not raked. Pace of play was just under 5 hours,...

Latest Forum Post

Heads up…Stonebridge aerification

By Pudge on 5/27/24

Stonebridge GC is closed tomorrow (5/28) for aerification and on Wednesday (5/29) only one of the 9 holes is available (you'll play it twice for an 18 hole round). Don't know which nine or the size of the punch. Pudge

About The B-Man
The B-Man himself
TripCaddie
B-Man on the 19th tee at Payne's Valley - Big Cedar Lodge with TripCaddie
Join Me on a Ready-Made Golf Trip with TripCaddie in 2024!
Sign Up Your Group!
Homestretch Golf
Homestretch Golf
The Best Golf Tournament Wagering Platform!
See the Demo