Your Profile
Login

New Here?

Sign Up

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Edgewater Golf Club


"Worth playing"

8/13/22: Review by GinMillDJ

Fairways were in great shape. Bunkers normal. Greens were extremely soft and there were a tone of ball marks that were not repaired. Fun course but a haul from Charlotte. Rangers did not do a great job keeping the pace of play on track. We skipped a hole on the back...

About The B-Man
The B-Man himself

Reviews for The Golf Club at Ballantyne

Recent Reviews for All Courses

Review
  • 10/15/20 - Review by JB

    "Worth playing"

    Hate to hear this course is going away, despite not being my favorite however it's right around the corner from home and does offer a lot of challenging holes. I play this course a handful of times a year (usually for tournaments, really good venue for tournaments!). Had a really fun time with my group and the course was in excellent shape, greens a tad slow which is unusually for the Ballantyne Resort Course. The rough was extremely challenging which means if you don't hit the fairway you will pay, not a bad thing just makes the challenge more fun or for some golfers, tougher. Pin placements for a Thursday were interesting, literally some holes had pin placement 5 feet from the edge of the green which made for an interesting day. All in all a great course and it will be missed, hopefully I'll grab another round or two in before they shut down.

    Read The Review
  • 10/13/20 - Review by Jonny

    "Great course"

    This course is on everyones tops list and is considered one of the top places to play in the Charlotte Metro area. I've heard so much about it over the years and my Son plays here regularly and says it's his favorite. Today, me, Ben, Jason B & James D played 18 holes on a Tuesday early afternoon. After two days of rain on Sat & Sun from Hurricane Delta it was still quite wet in areas which affected your fairway shots and pace of play since it was cart path only. It took us about 4 1/2 hours to play 18. This is a resort style course and is upscale though still public. The property has been sold to a developer and eventually it will be gone. The ProShop is attached to the hotel so they don't allow you to take the gas carts into the parking lot. You drop your bag, then park and go downstairs to the ProShop to check in. They have a starter so you'll need your receipt. At the ProShop they assign you a cart and give you a card which you hang on your cart with your Tee Time. Everyone I came in contact with was nice and professional. Once you leave the ProShop you follow the cart path to the practice area where they have a driving range as well as a chipping and putting area. There is a large open air pavilion which has a full bar and food as well as bathrooms. From here you check in with the Starter who will direct you to the 1st Tee and get you off on time. There is a huge clock next to the first tee in sight of the practice area so everyone can keep up with the time with a quick glance. The course is very nice, it's fairly wide open with the usual out of bound areas but for the most part the fairways are wide. There are 5 Par 3's. Thats right FIVE par 3's. Two on the front and three on the back. There are four Tee's and most play from the Whites and the Seniors play the Green tees. All the Par 3's are fun and accessible. My favorite hole is #18 which offers an elevated tee with a clear view of the green sitting right in front of the hotel. There are green side bunkers on the right alongside water & water fountain and the distance from the White tee's is 350 yards. Jason & Ben both hit beautiful drives and Jason barely edging Ben out with about a 340 yard drive. It's interesting that the 9th hole doesn't bring you back to the club house. There is another small bar/restaurant at the turn where you can get a beverage some food and take a bio break, I really like this course overall and the way it plays. The water is not going to create a lot of problems and the bunkers are designed to compliment the course and not make it too risky. The tees boxes are well maintained, the fairways are great and the greens are well kept and roll true. Not too many un-repaired ball marks as on so many courses. The downside of being in such a developed area is you have Interstate 485 right on you so you hear the traffic on the back 9 with the sirens and horns. There is also a lot of construction going on all around the course so don't be surprised to hear a saw start up as you get set for your putt. As in most things you get what you pay for. This course is a little pricer than most. I got on with the GolfNow app for $58 bucks. I would recommend this course no matter your skill level. Especially if you have out of town quests in to entertain or just want to enjoy a day outside with friends and family with easy access to cold beverages and food.

    Read The Review
  • 9/4/20 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    Got in 15 holes before dusk at Ballantyne resort. The course is in good shape overall, but not pristine. Fairways have lots of divots - and they have not put sand bottles back in the carts. The bunkers are hit or miss - with no rakes and players lifting and placing, they seem kinda neglected as far as daily maintenance. And, wow, the rough. The bermuda rough is so thick that my group nearly lost balls just off the fairway on about 6 holes. If you don't see exactly where your ball entered the rough, good luck. I found one ball literally by stepping on it. For a public course, the rough is ridiculously thick and penalizing -- and maddening. Searching for balls just off the fairway is extremely frustrating and slows play tremendously. The greens were typically slick. Combined with the slopes on most greens, the speed really increases the difficulty of the course. Adding to that, the greens did not putt very smoothly today. Overall, my opinion on the conditions for this being a resort course was very mixed. Due to COVID policies, their hole cups are still upside down (causing some good putts to bounce out and you have to decide to count it) and there are no attendants to bring your bag up or down the stairs. Yet, they are still charging their normal resort course rates. I keep hearing different predictions on when the course will close for the re-development. So I guess I will still play it while I can. Just hope to have more of a "resort" experience for my next round.

    Read The Review
  • 4/8/20 - Review by IM4DHERD

    "Great course"

    Ballantyne is in a good a shape as I have ever seen. Fairways are near perfect. A couple tee boxes have some bald spots. Green are in very good shape. They do raise the cups now, but I heard from someone who lives just off the course they might be changing that to allow the ball to drop into the cup.

    Read The Review
  • 3/30/20 - Review by dischydo

    "Worth playing"

    Starting to green up. Fairways and tee boxes in decent condition for this time of year. Greens were super furry. slowest iv ever seen out of the 20+ times playing here.

    Read The Review
  • 8/27/19 - Review by IM4DHERD

    "Great course"

    Better than good, but not perfect. Fastest greens I've played in a while. Place is in great shape. Worst score in a LONG time, but it certainly wasn't due to conditions. Place will be closing before too terribly long.

    Read The Review
  • 8/26/18 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    I came back again for the 3rd time in 2 months. The course is now in just about perfect shape. The greens were nearly immaculate and rolling very fast! Tees, fairways and bunkers were all in good shape. The bermuda rough was the only knock. Seemed like it had not been cut or they are keeping it high. The ball tends to sink down in it so you can't find it unless you walk right over the ball. This makes it very easy to lose a golf ball that's just a few yards off the fairway. So definitely keep a couple pairs of eyes on your ball if it is headed for the thick stuff. I played with a member so perhaps I got a guest rate. I paid $82 in July - so this was much better.

    Read The Review
  • 7/7/18 - Review by B-Man

    "Worth playing"

    The good - greens were in good shape and rolled pretty well, though they were not as fast and smooth as usual for Ballantyne. Plenty of beverage access before, during and at the turn. The starter and cart crew were courteous and helpful. The bad - the price (!) -- this round was a terrible value compared to other local courses given... the bunkers, plain terrible. The majority had standing water but even those that didn't played like dried up river beds. Every one my group landed in had to be played as ground under repair and it was difficult to find a playable spot. This really looked like negligent maintenance, like they hadn't been touched in weeks. I was also not happy that it was cart path only even though the fairways were fine (I noticed the next morning that the cart rule was 90*). The tee boxes were also very bad -- many were very thin and muddy. Overall, these were course conditions I'd expect to see at a $40 course at best, not one that charges $82 for an afternoon round. I will not be back to play at those rates.

    Read The Review
  • 6/26/18 - Review by aepfeiffer

    "Great course"

    Course is in overall great shape, nothing wrong with the bunkers, fairways or anything, but they just recently punched the course tee to green within a week or less, so some holes here and there on the tee boxes and fairways, but greens are extremely bumpy from being punched but still rolling pretty quick! Overall you cant go wrong playing here, only thing I was disappointed to hear was they were only cutting off $10 the price to play while the greens were punched!

    Read The Review
  • 5/12/18 - Review by GinMillDJ

    "Great course"

    Fairways and greens are spectacular. Most bunkers are in good shape. Some of the tee boxes are chewed up. The course is trying to repair the regular mens tee boxes, so some tee positions are playing back and some are playing from the senior area. Course does a pretty good job trying to keep the pace of play around 4.5 hours. On hot days, the ranger drives around with cold wet towels to cool down with. Nice touch

    Read The Review
  • 9/24/17 - Review by kuehbr

    "Best of the best"

    It is always a treat playing Ballantyne. The course was in gorgeous shape. The greens were very quick and they were holding any shots into them. Pace of play was quirky since they allow 2somes out in the morning in between foursomes. The beer special on sundays are great, $1 dollar beers and they start serving at 10am. Staff was very friendly as well.

    Read The Review
  • 8/15/17 - Review by GinMillDJ

    "Great course"

    Greens are lightning quick and very well maintained. Fairways are also in really good shape. Some of the bunkers are not in the greatest shape, which is the only reason I didn't rate it perfect/5 Stars. Course is definitely worth playing.

    Read The Review
  • 8/5/15 - Review by GinMillDJ

    "Great course"

    Course is in very good shape. Very high rough and lightning fast greens. Fairways are in spectacular shape. Staff is always courteous making sure you are hydrated on hot days as well as a ranger on the course handing out cold towels and ice water.

    Read The Review
  • 8/2/15 - Review by TheClaw

    "Worth playing"

    So they say the problem with golf these days is it is too long, too expensive and too hard. Ballantyne is a great example of a course that does it's best to promote all 3 of those. It is pricey, even the layout is not spectacular (it is a golf course fitted between an office park). But the kicker was the course set up. The greens roll perfect and lightning fast, so as a result you would expect the pins to be in flat spots, where the ball feeds towards them to make it fun for everyone... Not here. Standing in the first fairway we watched 2 guys 4 putt, 1 guy pick up after his 4th putt, and another guy 3 putt. We got to the green and could see why...the pin was on a ridge that falls away steeply. We all 3-putted and the highest handicap in our group was a 7. Naturally this makes the round long, as on almost every green people were putting and marking, putting and marking. Also the rough was diabolically thick just off the fairway in most places. Strange to see a resort course play so tough. Some of the pin positions were madness based on the greens being so hard and fast. They just need to add the clowns and windmills next time. Otherwise the conditions were perfect, staff were friendly, but it was a debilitating round of golf thanks to the setup.

    Read The Review
  • 7/26/15 - Review by ISlayMySelf

    "Great course"

    I received a give card for the Ballantyne Resort Golf Club for Valentines day and decided to us it this past Sunday. What a great experience. From the guys at the bag drop, to the starter, to the course ranger and even the concession stand at the turn. Top notch service that was friendly and helpful(the starter does a great job with helping first time players navigate the course and on how to play the greens). The ranger provided us with towels soaking in ice water on #10 that probably spoiled me for any future rangers I meet. The course was near immaculate. Greens are definitely fast but fair, sand is raked and fluffy and fairways are in great condition. The only minor complaint is some par 3 tee boxes were chewed up but all they have to do is move the tee area back or to the side. Looks like they were the same tee placement from Saturday. For Valentines or Fathers Day ask for a gift card to Ballantyne Golf resort. You'll enjoy it much more than a bad tie or a box of chocolates.

    Read The Review
  • 7/17/15 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    My first time at Ballantyne this year. The course was in near perfect shape, as usual. This is a pricey round of golf, but you get private course conditions. The greens are among the fastest in the area -- definitely tops for any public course -- and they can be maddening. My partner and I just had to laugh at a few putts that took a break and rolled well past the hole more than a few times. If your chipping and putting is not on here, you will have a frustrating round. The greens are pretty much immaculate though -- it's just the crazy quickness, slopes and undulations. Tee to green, the course has no peer right now from a public play perspective. The rough is lush and thick -- be sure to watch your shots til they finish. You may way to walk right over your ball to find it in the rough. The only hole with some issues is #8. Always cart-path only, they are still having difficulty sodding the fairway near the green. I found myself in this area and while it was supposed to be fairway, it was thick like rough since it had not been mowed. They need to mark it as Ground Under Repair in my opinion. That was my only complaint (outside of my struggles on the greens). This course is a treat to play every once in a while.

    Read The Review
  • 7/16/15 - Review by GetThere214

    "Best of the best"

    The best public course in the area. Course was in great shape. You get treated first class here and it makes for a very enjoyable experience. Course conditions were very good and soft even with the dry weather. Greens were blazing fast from above the hole and ran true. Love the layout and # 18 is probably my favorite hole in Charlotte.

    Read The Review
  • 6/11/15 - Review by GinMillDJ

    "Best of the best"

    Fairways were like carpet. Greens were in very good shape. Some of the Par 3 tee boxes were a little chewed up, but still playable.

    Read The Review
  • 8/31/14 - Review by TheClaw

    "Great course"

    Took advantage of the clickit deal and headed out to the Ballantyne resort. The conditions of the course are always great and it was no different this time. Greens were in great condition and rolling fast and true. Even a little softer than I remember them (but still firm). I wish they had more tee options. From the back tees it is around 6800 yards, then the next set up is around 6100 yards. Would be nice if they could a set at around 6500 yards like most courses have. But not a train smash. On a different note, normally myself and my buddies tend to have a problem with the attitude of a lot of the staff here. We have noticed that unless you are a 40+ rich old guy, they tend to get a bit..difficult...with you ( you meaning us younger guys 35 and below). We have all experienced it on different occasions, but in fairness they were pretty hospitable this time.

    Read The Review
  • 8/28/13 - Review by FuzzyMulligan

    "Great course"

    Course was in excellent condition as always. Only problem today was the pace of play. Lots of singles out and many foursomes. This hampered pace to sometimes waiting 20+ minutes from the tee boxes, but since the click-it deal, it was worth the wait for $40 @ a great course.

    Read The Review
  • 5/25/13 - Review by SmitteyB

    "Great course"

    This was my first time playing Ballantyne and from the reviews, I went in with high expectations. The facilities are top-notch, from the greeting to the putting greens- very nice. The range I thought was laughable due to its limited hitting slots, but that it nit picky. The putting greens were nice and rolled nicely as well. The tee boxes were very brown and crisp. The greens were rolling well, however the ranger said the course was under water Tuesday and Wednesday which would explain why they looked bad. Fairways were in nice shape, few dead spots. The course is somewhat tights and the small greens make for a challenging test of golf, especially if you do not know the course. Overall the course was in good condition, I don't see myself playing much very often due to the steep weekend prices, but $59 weekday rate is certainly doable. Certainly one of the nicest courses in the CLT area.

    Read The Review
  • 4/28/13 - Review by carp24000

    "Best of the best"

    Best course in Charlotte, IMO. The fairways are 95% green and the greens are the nicest, truest greens I have played all year. The amenities and workers are top notch. Love this place!

    Read The Review
  • 4/10/13 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    Got back to Ballantyne yesterday thanks to a vendor outing. Conditions were perfect. Best shape of any course I've played since last season. Greens were immaculate, rolling well but not ridiculously slick (like they sometimes can be here). The bunkers are some of the nicest in town, with fine, white sand. Tee boxes were about the only thing not perfect with some thin spots, but that's a nit-pick. Fairways were very good. The biggest difference now is that most of the construction around the course is complete. So there are no distractions, no hole re-routing and no ugly mounds of dirt affecting play anymore. Pace of play was great and the halfway house at #10 was well-stocked. Great to see the course whole again. It's pricey but at least back to feeling like a treat when you splurge.

    Read The Review
  • 8/17/12 - Review by GungaGalunga

    "Great course"

    Course was in great shape. Greens rolled true all the way through. Love this course, just wish it cost less, but they take great care of it and it is very nice.

    Read The Review
  • 7/15/12 - Review by TheClaw

    "Best of the best"

    Managed to play Ballantyne at 9am on Sunday for $40 thanks to the ClickIt deal. Best deal of the year in my opinion. Love this course, hope they keep the deals coming. The course is always in near perfect condition. Tees, fairways, greens and bunkers were all great. A guy even came around with ice towels for everyone to help keep cool. I wish the greens were bent grass though, I find that the greens here can be tricky because of the grain. But don't let their appearance fool you, they are still lightning fast. However the only real issue (small one) I have with this course is that the greens are very hard. Bring your softest, highest spinning Pro V1s if you want to go flag hunting at the back pins.

    Read The Review
  • 2/20/12 - Review by ammo55

    "Great course"

    So it probably wasn't the best idea to play the first round of the year at Ballentyne, but it is such a great course I couldn't pass it up for $39. It had rained the day before so the fairways were a little "thin" but the greens were as quick as ever. Can't wait to play when the course is in perfect shape.

    Read The Review
  • 9/14/11 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    I was invited to play here on media day and see the improvements they have made and the shape the new greens are in now. I must say I was impressed. My last experience here back in May was not great because they had just started the construction behind #2 tee and the renovation of #8. While the building construction is still in progress, the #2 tee has been moved closer to the 8th green and now makes the hole play as a more difficult dogleg right. For #8, they have built a new green in front of the creek, shortening the hole and softening the slope of the green. They are still filling in the old temporary green with sod in the middle of the new fairway. So that played as ground under repair. They said the sod should be finished within the week. Everywhere else the conditions were impeccable, especially the new Champion Ultra Dwarf greens. The course recently hosted an LPGA championship and the greens were cut extremely fast -- as fast as any I've ever played. That made the course play more difficult than usual. I realize it was media day and all, but I was treated extremely well by the entire staff and had a great experience. I look forward to going back soon.

    Read The Review
  • 5/5/11 - Review by B-Man

    "Average"

    My first round here in almost 2 years. I was disappointed. I was surprised right away as we headed to the 2nd tee to see that #2 and #8 were being torn up and renovated. I'm on Ballantyne's golf e-mail list and I get messages about once a week. Nowhere in any of these messages has it mentioned any renovations. The work was going on while we were playing, including very loud equipment. #2 was not much affected, but #8 had been shortened to a 250yd par 4 with a temporary green. Not cool. Elsewhere on the course, conditions were very average. Several greens had bare spots covered with green sand. Several fairways had bad patches. The greens were extremely hard and slick. It was a difficult putting day. Overall, I was sorely disappointed since we paid $60 for an afternoon tee time. If I'd paid $30 or even $40, I might have let it go. But when I play a resort course, it should be immaculate. I can't recommend this course right now.

    Read The Review
  • 3/18/11 - Review by JD

    "Worth playing"

    I never liked the layout of this track, but it is in good condition. If you're player who works the ball from left to right, you're dead here on at least 6 holes.

    Read The Review
Your Profile
Login

New Here?

Sign Up

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Edgewater Golf Club


"Worth playing"

8/13/22: Review by GinMillDJ

Fairways were in great shape. Bunkers normal. Greens were extremely soft and there were a tone of ball marks that were not repaired. Fun course but a haul from Charlotte. Rangers did not do a great job keeping the pace of play on track. We skipped a hole on the back...

Latest Forum Post

Reply To: Aerification Dates – 2022

By B-Man on 8/10/22

Stonebridge: Monday, August 22nd - Course, Clubhouse, and Practice Facility Closed all day Tuesday, August 23rd - 9 holes open $10 off all rack rates August 23-28

About The B-Man
The B-Man himself
Homestretch Golf
Homestretch Golf
The Best Golf Tournament Wagering Platform!
See the Demo