Your Profile
Login

New Here?

Sign Up

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

River Oaks Golf Club


"Worth playing"

5/20/24: Review by golferdude

Played the tips..few mud balls due to recent rains. Greens were decent speed but not very receptive (many iron shots and pitches ran off the green). First time here in 8 years. Do like the look with the renovations. Rates are reasonable.

TripCaddie
B-Man on the 19th tee at Payne's Valley - Big Cedar Lodge with TripCaddie
Join Me on a Ready-Made Golf Trip with TripCaddie in 2024!
Sign Up Your Group!

Reviews for Olde Beau Resort & Golf Club

Recent Reviews for All Courses

Review
  • 8/30/20 - Review by 2chipdan

    "Worth playing"

    1st time playing, there’s some wild holes, blind shots, huge elevation changes, and some punishing misses. Greens were quick and rolled true. Fairways were very hairy everywhere and wet in spots. Apparently they got 16 inches of rain last week so that’s probably why they haven’t been able to cut the fairways but it was the equivalent of the second cut anywhere else. A second look is probably needed to give a fair final verdict.

    Read The Review
  • 4/12/20 - Review by IM4DHERD

    "Great course"

    Olde Beau is in great shape...They had just aerated and sanded the greens but I can't fault them for that. I didn't see the "aeration alert" on Golfnow when I set up the tee time. Fairways, rough and teeboxes all were all lush and full. Funky, funky course that makes you think through every shot. Well worth the drive.

    Read The Review
  • 4/2/17 - Review by Swingandamiss

    "Great course"

    Great course, and played it the week it opened so still relatively quiet. The course is incredibly challenging, with some great views. THe course has a ton of elevation so expect to walk alot. Some of the holes have experienced some issues, but that's to be expected at the beginning of the season. Course would have gotten 5 stars had they offered a course layout or map on the scorecard, since alot of the holes are blind.

    Read The Review
  • 7/25/16 - Review by Albert So

    "Best of the best"

    My favorite North Carolina course. It's about 1 1/2 hours up I-77 from Charlotte near the Blue Ridge Pkwy and spittin' distance from the Eastern Continental Divide. Played there last year. Loved it. Took a day off this year to make the trip and play two rounds (18 hole replay is $25). Spectacular views especially on the back. Up & down or left & right slopes are a near constant. Old Beau is well-thought out and challenging without being gimmicky. At least two holes are right-angle doglegs. One par three demands a shot crowded by trees while another is to a green waaaay way down there surrounded by dense greenery but also includes ball saving embankments. I'm a walker. This course is unwalkable. At two points the incline was so severe the cart wouldn't go up. Twice I found myself sliding backwards! If you can't see what your shot might be headed into drive the cart ahead and look. Several holes have huge areas that lure your shot into a lost ball abyss. On the good side of that I got on a couple of par-5s in three because the fairway slope gave my club another 30-40 yards! Greens are spectacular. Not pretty. Kind of splotchy. But they're fast, soft (on a Monday a maintenance guy was out soaking them down) and run beautifully true. Most of my high score was from reading breaks that weren't there. (Guy in the clubhouse said I was overthinking it.) Heat might take a bit more of a tole through August, it was unusually hot for that elevation. But If I have a complaint it was having to wait for sprinklers to turn out of the way. Guarantee you have never seen any hole on a public course in the Charlotte area similar to #17 at Old Beau. If you're a skier, think double-black diamond steep from about 150 yards out to about 50 yards from the green, which is steeply elevated. To the right, a babbling brook. If you keep it in the middle you will be on in three. What a hoot.

    Read The Review
  • 8/25/14 - Review by panthersfann55

    "Great course"

    Tough mountain golf at its best. see message board posting about my round. It took so long as a twosome do to not knowing the course. took a little over an hour and a half to get there. play a replay round if you want to score better. It would have been a perfect score if the fairways were mowed (it caused the ball to get no roll out and plug a lot). Saw no other players besides to another twosome the whole day.

    Read The Review
Your Profile
Login

New Here?

Sign Up

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

River Oaks Golf Club


"Worth playing"

5/20/24: Review by golferdude

Played the tips..few mud balls due to recent rains. Greens were decent speed but not very receptive (many iron shots and pitches ran off the green). First time here in 8 years. Do like the look with the renovations. Rates are reasonable.

Latest Forum Post

Reply To: Short Game Lessons or Clinic

By B-Man on 5/23/24

Lots of clubs around town will do short game clinics (1-3 hours on one day) that are fairly inexpensive ($30-$100). Stonebridge is one course that offers this. I've taken the one with Fred Bond and got my money's worth out of it. These types of clinics are usually a good...

About The B-Man
The B-Man himself
TripCaddie
B-Man on the 19th tee at Payne's Valley - Big Cedar Lodge with TripCaddie
Join Me on a Ready-Made Golf Trip with TripCaddie in 2024!
Sign Up Your Group!
Homestretch Golf
Homestretch Golf
The Best Golf Tournament Wagering Platform!
See the Demo