Your Profile
Login

New Here?

Sign Up

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Rocky River Golf Club


"Great course"

7/1/22: Review by GinMillDJ

Hot dry weather have made the fairways rock hard but overall the course was in very good shape. Greens fast as ever but in near perfect conditions. Real sand in the bunkers. Tee boxes had the normal wear and tear. Nice layout overall for the course. Staff was super friendly...

About The B-Man
The B-Man himself

Reviews for Mooresville Golf Club

Recent Reviews for All Courses

Review
  • 5/15/22 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    Played Sunday in TheGrintTour's Classic at Mooresville. Overall, the course was in great shape. The greens were typically immaculate, rolling quick and true – watch out for some of the pin positions near slopes! Tee boxes and fairways were lush and green, except for signs of heavy play. I did end up in one sand-filled fairway divot and a few of the par 3 tee boxes were divot minefields. Bunkers were in good shape and I didn't notice any maintenance issues throughout the course. My only *complaint* is the inconsistent markings of hazard areas. In a tournament, you have to play things very strictly. If an area of high grass or marsh is not marked Red, you have to play it as a lost ball if you don't find it or unplayable if you do find it but don't have a shot. This made the course play very difficult. I went through scorecards and probably 2/3 of the field had at least an 8 or worse – there was even a 13! I lost a couple of balls in the high grass, which comes into play on many holes: #1, #5, #8, #11, #13, #15, #16, #17, #18. Several of those are not marked as Red hazards. This slowed play tremendously and led to those high scores. The other difficult aspects of this course are the long, forced carries from the tee on several holes: #1, #8, #10, #11, #16. In some cases, those carries are 175-200 yards to safely reach the fairway from the White Men's tees. So, by no means is this a course I would bring a beginner or high handicapper to play. If your game is in good shape and you can putt slick, Bermuda greens well, you will like this course. It's kept in great shape and has top-notch amenities, including an excellent practice area.

    Read The Review
  • 4/17/22 - Review by The Good Son

    "Great course"

    One of the better public courses I've played recently. Greens were slick and rolled true. A few of the tee boxes were somewhat beat up given all the play (tee sheet always fills up!), but that's easy to forgive. The value you get for the green fees is still one of the best in the CLT area for public courses IMO.

    Read The Review
  • 6/5/21 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    Mooresville is in great shape right now as many local courses are hitting their prime conditions. And that goes for everything, tees, fairways, greens, bunkers. There were only a few sporadic issues with some bare, washed out areas around some of the greens (#11, #15, #18) - I suggest playing them as GUR. The greens were typical TifEagle Bermuda – fast downhill and slow, breaking more uphill. They gave me fits as I had at least 5 lipouts in 18 holes. The grain grabs the ball as your putts slow down and they break away from the hole. So not my favorite Bermuda greens, but your mileage may vary. The only other thing of note is the clearing / construction work being done around holes 6 and 8. Not sure what is being built there but it will certainly change the aesthetics of those holes 6-8. Right now it's just mounds of orange dirt. For me, the front 9 plays easier than the back, though overall this can be a tough track. The closing 3 hole stretch of 16 (short par 4 but a difficult tee shot), 17 (long par 4 with OB on both sides and a large sloped green) and 18 (long narrow par 5 guarded by OB left, hazard right and fairway bunkers in the layup zone) is one of the more difficult in town. For the money and the amenities (incl. a nice practice area and large clubhouse/restaurant), Mooresville is still one of the nicer places to play around Charlotte.

    Read The Review
  • 11/5/20 - Review by MGOBLUE

    "Great course"

    Only played here once before the renovations and that was 15+ years ago. The course is in fantastic shape with incredibly fast and smooth greens. I love the layout , the front a little more than the back. The pace of play was ~4 hrs and never had to wait. My only issue was when I called to book last week I mentioned that their website said cart path only during "winter months". I asked when that would be and they replied in a couple of weeks. It was cart path only yesterday. Don't think we had any rain since last Wednesday and if I had known that I would have brought my push cart and walked. Again great layout and conditions, friendly staff , I will be back but I will call ahead to check on cart path only restrictions.

    Read The Review
  • 7/14/20 - Review by RT

    "Great course"

    Mooresville is in superb condition. Tee boxes are some of the best in the area. Fairways were play-the-ball-down condition with excellent lies all day. Greens were firm but receptive and rolled very smoothly with very consistent speed all day. The Bermuda is thriving in the summer heat, and the turf is full, with the rough cut at about a half-stroke penalty height. Fun course. Front and back are very different.

    Read The Review
  • 6/1/20 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    Mooresville comes in at #4 on my recently published Top 10 list for Charlotte and this round validated that ranking. The layout is fun and challenging. The greens are tough but fair and the price is right. Just a well maintained course and great bang for the buck. Today, conditions were very good. Tees and fairways are lush and full with very few issues due to the rain. The greens were not as fast as I've seen them here but they were rolling true. It was still cart path only today but I heard that should change tomorrow. The path restriction meant we couldn't use the GPS on the carts today but it's a nice feature when you can drive to your ball. It's two to a cart now and there were sand bottles on the carts. So some of the restrictions are easing up. This course has a nice practice area for your warm-up. I really like the front nine. It's easily walkable and has two reachable par 5's. The back nine is a little trickier and has three of each par 3, par 4 and par 5s, which is unique for Charlotte. The only issues today were some ground under repair on #1 where the rains have washed out some areas that just have sand right now and also around the green on #11. Those issues were isolated but I found both areas with my approaches and had to take relief. This is a great course and if you have never played it, take a trip up 77 and check it out.

    Read The Review
  • 9/22/19 - Review by wesleyheightshacker

    "Best of the best"

    First time playing Mooresville today and I will be back. The course was in fantastic shape - tee boxes, fairways, and greens. Pace of play was right at 4 hours. The front nine is a little more aesthetically appealing to my eye, however the entire course was excellent.

    Read The Review
  • 8/29/19 - Review by IM4DHERD

    "Great course"

    Or darn near perfect. Greens rival those at The Warrior. When they re-opened a while back they were far too fast. Coupla years of aerating and they roll as well or better than anywhere. Great layout and near perfect conditions.

    Read The Review
  • 7/24/19 - Review by IM4DHERD

    "Great course"

    Mooresville is looking and playing great. Some of the best greens in the area, right up there with Warrior. When they were rebuilt they were too hard and fast, but have settled down. Fairways, rough, tee boxes all in excellent shape. One of the best practice ranges, chipping greens and putting greens in the Metro area.

    Read The Review
  • 5/27/18 - Review by KyleSmith

    "Great course"

    Disclaimer up front: yes, they have three temp greens currently. That shouldn't keep you from playing this course if you are in the area. This is the best public track I have played in Charlotte. Hands down. The back nine (our front nine) can play a little tight, but many holes I hit 2 iron off the tee and still had low iron/wedge in. The course was well kept and the greens were pristine. I will for sure be back that way this summer once the greens are finished.

    Read The Review
  • 5/27/18 - Review by BetterThanMost

    "Never going back"

    Mooresville Golf Club is currently using 3 temporary greens and will close on June 11th for the remainder of the month of June to complete repairs.

    Read The Review
  • 5/5/18 - Review by dischydo

    "Great course"

    Fairways were in bad shape. #2,4 and 18 greens were bad as well. A A member told me that they are closing it down for a month to get them back. They really want it to be a great course, which it could be

    Read The Review
  • 8/5/17 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    My first time getting out to Mooresville to see the renovated layout and new amenities. The clubhouse is complete and open, though the snack area and restaurant were not fully functional yet. The practice facility is as advertised and very extensive. I made a tee time the night before and got a decent weekend afternoon rate. I loved the course! It's in great shape. The bermuda greens are very challenging but very consistent. With 5 par-5's and par-3's and a couple of short par 4's, scoring opportunities abound. It definitely helps to have some local knowledge to pick good targets, especially on approaches into these young greens -- which don't hold approaches very well. There are some picturesque holes and quirky ones (be careful with your approach into #4!). Conditions were pretty immaculate tee-to-green, but don't venture off the first cut of rough. I lost two balls in thick pampass grass/weeds just off the cart paths on two holes, which was very frustrating. The beverage cart was out on the course and we saw it frequently - which seems to be a lost art these days with other courses. All in all this is course that's worth the long drive for me (50+ min) and I will make the trip again soon!

    Read The Review
  • 5/14/17 - Review by BetterThanMost

    "Worth playing"

    Played the redesign for the first time yesterday. Huge improvement over the old layout. Conditions for the most part much better as well. There are still a few fairways that are thin, particularly the 2nd. Greens are still concrete hard. Well struck shots did not hold a green as they would bounce over the back. Greens are also lightning fast. Construction on the new clubhouse seems to be progressing nicely, and the range and practice areas are really nice.

    Read The Review
  • 12/29/16 - Review by TPX

    "Great course"

    Loved the old setup, love the new setup. Really a great course for the money. Always crowded, so make sure to get a time in advance. For winter conditions, the course is great. New greens are very firm and fast. Along with the speed of the greens, the new greens have a ton of undulations to navigate. A very good test of your game.

    Read The Review
Your Profile
Login

New Here?

Sign Up

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Rocky River Golf Club


"Great course"

7/1/22: Review by GinMillDJ

Hot dry weather have made the fairways rock hard but overall the course was in very good shape. Greens fast as ever but in near perfect conditions. Real sand in the bunkers. Tee boxes had the normal wear and tear. Nice layout overall for the course. Staff was super friendly...

Latest Forum Post

Reply To: Aerification Dates – 2022

By B-Man on 6/28/22

Red Bridge in Locust is aerating greens on July 5th.

About The B-Man
The B-Man himself
Homestretch Golf
Homestretch Golf
The Best Golf Tournament Wagering Platform!
See the Demo