Your Profile
Login

New Here?

Sign Up

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

River Oaks Golf Club


"Worth playing"

5/20/24: Review by golferdude

Played the tips..few mud balls due to recent rains. Greens were decent speed but not very receptive (many iron shots and pitches ran off the green). First time here in 8 years. Do like the look with the renovations. Rates are reasonable.

TripCaddie
B-Man on the 19th tee at Payne's Valley - Big Cedar Lodge with TripCaddie
Join Me on a Ready-Made Golf Trip with TripCaddie in 2024!
Sign Up Your Group!

Reviews for Red Bridge Golf & Country Club

Recent Reviews for All Courses

Review
  • 5/5/24 - Review by Mark

    "Never going back"

    Do not play this course. Without any notice on their website...we had to play the front 9 twice. No discount. No ranger to keep pace of play going smoothly. The group in front of us were re teeing multiple times. Would not let us pass through. And finally..the greens are horrific. Don't not waste your money. Shame on this once a wonderful golf course that you money grabbed on a Sunday ! At best...it's a $30 round. Never will play there again.

    Read The Review
  • 4/15/24 - Review by Steve

    "Great course"

    Red Bridge is looking good right now. We played after a morning tournament and you would never know it, course is in good condition. Greens are running super fast.

    Read The Review
  • 3/31/24 - Review by JDgolf

    "Great course"

    Every time I play Red Bridge I have an absolute blast. This time of the year is easily the best time to play anywhere in the Charlotte area. However, Red Bridge never ceases to amaze. With great pricing. The greens were rolling a solid 12-13, and fairways were amazing. The reason this course isn’t a 10 or a 9, is simply because of the lack of scenery. Red Bridge has some pretty holes, my personal favorite is #9, a picture worthy par 3. As a golfer who has played semi-professional, this course is ideal for both beginners and professionals. I would put it in my top 5 public courses.

    Read The Review
  • 9/16/23 - Review by cswan14

    "Great course"

    Finally made it out to Red Bridge and man is it a different course than anything else in the area. After a par 4 1st, there's a run of 3-5-5-3-5 on the next 5 holes that is definitely unique. You want to find the fairway because the rough is thick and will punish you for your misses. Many greens have mounds surrounding them that will also kick you left or right if you miss...and if you hit the greens they were playing very fast. Water is found throughout the course but I avoided it, and only found 2 bunkers that were very well maintained. Fairways and tee boxes were all in excellent condition as well. It was a unique and challenging track, but I'm not looking forward to the day that construction is complete on the surrounding homes...many holes will have houses right on top of them (each cart has a warning to not cut the corner on 3 as there's a house right at the dogleg). Took 30 minutes to get there from East Charlotte, so not nearly as far as Eagle Chase...a really easy drive down Albemarle Rd. Everyone out there was nice when we interacted, and I'll definitely return!

    Read The Review
  • 7/15/23 - Review by Mike

    "Great course"

    They had just aerated the greens earlier in the week so they were still not grown back in fully at the time we played. So the greens were less than optimal, but it's just the way it is. I was still able to 2 putt even from reasonable distances, so it wasn't that bad. The course was strangely damp for 12:45PM and onward, and I don't recall there being any rain in the morning. Although maybe there was an isolated shower. The sand was wet and the fairways had some damp spots. I can only guess they're increasing watering to fend off the heat. That said, it didn't really impact scoring. My score is all...me....with several holes of just awful play that likely separated me from shooting in the 90s (typical, right?). Had a lot of fun as usual at Red Bridge. I don't recall this course ever really disappointing. It's in 9-10 shape, but the wet sand and damp conditions along with aeration were the reason for the 8. The aeration is both temporary and necessary.

    Read The Review
  • 5/7/23 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    Good to be back at Red Bridge after almost 2 years. They had some maintenance issues in the summer of ‘21 and so it had been awhile. I still love the layout and a few of the holes stand out as very unique to Charlotte. I was playing in TheGrint Tour’s two day Spring Sizzler event (Oak Valley was the day 1 course). We were playing the Black tees (just under 6800 yards) and that was a first for me, playing the tips here. I’m not a long hitter so this made it extra challenging for me today. From the Black tees, several tee shots require a 220-240 yard carry to reach the fairway (!). With houses and backyard fences now guarding the dogleg on the par 5 third hole, it can be a very intimidating tee shot. Speaking of those new housing developments, Out of Bounds stakes now encroach very quickly on the left side of holes 3 and 4. With the layout featuring five par 3s and five par 5s, it feels fun and score-able (just not from the tips!). A few years ago, they redid the bunkers British Open style on the signature par 3 9th hole and it’s a very picturesque hole now. The short downhill dogleg right par 4 17th is still my favorite though. Lots of risk reward on both the tee shot and the approach, with a creek and a pond threatening those shots. The 600+ yard par 5 18th is the longest hole in the Charlotte public golf landscape. From the tips yesterday, the GPS on TheGrint app showed it playing 627 yards (!). After my tee shot got into trouble left forcing me to punch out, I managed to reach the green in *five* but missed my bogey putt. [sigh] The Bermuda greens were quick and in good shape overall. Although most looked like they had been raked (?) when they were last aerated and most had several old cup scars, they rolled true. A few of my competitors thought they were bumpy but I guess everyone’s mileage varied. For the price, conditions and the fun factor in this layout, Red Bridge is worth playing and in the top 15 tracks in the area.

    Read The Review
  • 4/18/23 - Review by skwahder

    "Average"

    A little disappointed in conditions. The front 9 greens appeared to be recently verticut. The grooves affected your putts, but they left the waste, cut grass on the greens. This made you putting difficult to read putts as the loose grass and the cut lines into the grass. As always there the tee boxes need plenty of growth.

    Read The Review
  • 4/11/23 - Review by dalewt43

    "Worth playing"

    First time playing Red Bridge Golf Club in over 10 years. I was surprised by the build up in the area and the sign on the back door requesting golfers not cut the corner on #3 due to houses. Course conditions were good. #3 fairway had a burst water pipe which made the fairway about unplayable but that we the only water situation on the course that I saw, which was pretty good considering the downpours we had over the weekend. Tee boxes were thin on grass at times. Greens were good. Approach shots held the greens well and putts tracked pretty good. Sand traps were average. It seemed like pace of play was slow but we finished in 4:39 which is only 9 minutes over the posted pace of play. Course was very busy today. I will go back and play the course again. Very good value for the price.

    Read The Review
  • 3/31/23 - Review by skwahder

    "Worth playing"

    You’ll love the layout. There’s a couple of risk/reward holes. Overall, the course is in decent shape (fairways and greens). Their tee boxes always have issues with lack of grass. At least at the moment they are not using the fake grass mats this year.

    Read The Review
  • 2/21/23 - Review by skwahder

    "Worth playing"

    Always has been a nice layout. For the most part physically the course was in good shake for February. The greens were deceivingly fast. The only issue I have with Red Bridge is their lack of on course management. Three singles went off in front of us. They were slow and eventually made a threesome. They were still and we waited on every hole and it was obvious that there were holes open ahead of them. I never see rangers on this course and it always takes more than 4 hours to play here. I go back because I do like the course.

    Read The Review
  • 6/11/22 - Review by GinMillDJ

    "Worth playing"

    Several of the tee boxes are under construction. Fairways are in good shape but they are starting to get hard with the dry hot weather. Greens are in very good shape. Bunkers have real sand. Staff is friendly. Course has a nice layout. 3 or 4 holes have a severe right doglegs. One is a 90 degree on #17. I always enjoy playing here.

    Read The Review
  • 5/15/22 - Review by Brandon S.

    "Great course"

    Only my 2nd round at this course, but both times I’ve been pleasantly surprised with the condition the course is in. Fairways in great shape and the greens rolled true. Tee boxes are the only thing that need some love as they look to have had a lot of play. Fun/attackable layout that is pretty forgiving from the tee box. Staff was friendly and helpful, but would love to see a better clubhouse and food options.

    Read The Review
  • 8/31/21 - Review by jlong8004

    "Great course"

    I LOVE this golf course! For the price you will not find much better conditions elsewhere. Fairways are nice and full, rough is certainly healthy, greens look great (hardly any blemishes aside from some bare spots on the outer edge of the green which rarely affect you.) The layout is hands down my favorite in the area! So many scoring opportunities with the par 5's! In my opinion you will not find a better maintained, more enjoyable round of golf anywhere else in this area at that price.

    Read The Review
  • 6/9/21 - Review by B-Man

    "Worth playing"

    Passing along this update from a friend who played Red Bridge this week... "For those that were disappointed with the conditions at Red Bridge so far this year. The course has made major gains. Played it today the fairways and rough are all good. A few tee boxes for the whites are still a little rough but the other tees are all good. It's the same ones that normally struggle there. The greens are being top dressed every 2 weeks and the Bermuda is coming back in well. No other grasses to be found on any of them. Green collars also look good. Still a bit bumpy but no major bare spots and most greens roll fairly true. Give it another 2 weeks to a month and the greens should be really good again."

    Read The Review
  • 5/21/21 - Review by mweezy

    "Average"

    I've played at Red Bridge three times. I enjoy the layout - it's a nice mix of target golf and some holes where you can really rip it. It's out in the middle of nowhere, but the staff is friendly and it's very reasonably priced. Fairways and rough were in fine condition. The tee boxes were a little shaky. The greens on the other hand had some serious problems. I've never seen them like that. There was very little grass. Mostly sand and incredibly bumpy. They must be having some issues. Still think it's a fun course and worth going out there if you haven't played it. Might wait a couple months.

    Read The Review
  • 8/4/20 - Review by mgkriston

    "Great course"

    Fairways are coming in real nice especially on some that had been a little bare in spots. They spent some money on fertilizer earlier in the year and it's paying off. Great job Red Bridge Staff!

    Read The Review
  • 5/26/20 - Review by skwahder

    "Average"

    It was a slow round. Had group in front of us from 2nd hole on holding everyone up. We finally called on 6th with 2 open holes ahead of us. Nobody ever came after they said they would. Frustrating. The course was in ok condition. Wear and tear and the weather have caused a few areas that could be fixed. The tee boxes need a lot of help.

    Read The Review
  • 5/13/20 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    I'll first say that I love the layout here -- and not just because I almost shot par today for the first time in my playing career! Five par 5's (including back-to-back on the front 9), five par 3's, several short par 4's, the namesake bridge, a mammoth par 5 closing hole, quick Bermuda greens, value-priced greens fees. There's a lot to love about this course if you are willing make the drive out to Stanly County and the little town of Locust. For the past season or so though, the conditions outside of the greens have deteriorated, I'm sad to say. The fairways had tons of crabgrass patches and divots. I had several terrible lies in the middle of the fairway due to this. There was also crabgrass on the collars and just off the greens, which made those delicate putts from just off the green very unpredictable. The tee boxes were chewed up with very little grass and not just on the par 3's. The greens themselves were good. They had been top-dressed with sand recently but didn't affect play. They were rolling quick and true. And though I did miss a couple of short putts I won't blame the greens. I had this in my Top 10 last year and I came back to play today to see how it was shaping up. Have to say I was disappointed overall. This is a top 5 layout saddled with average conditions outside of the greens. Hopefully it will round back into shape by next season.

    Read The Review
  • 8/30/19 - Review by B-Man

    "Worth playing"

    Greens were great as always, no issues. Tee boxes were not great, however. Not a huge deal, but noticeable -- either bare thin, weeds or flufy bermuda almost like rough. And around several fairways or just off, even just off the greens, there were lots of weeds. It wasn't a big problem, but enough to make some lies worse than they should have been and of course diminish the aesthetics. The layout is still great and the price is always really good. So still a great course, just not as nice as I've seen it.

    Read The Review
  • 8/18/19 - Review by wesleyheightshacker

    "Great course"

    Played Red Bridge this morning. Per the usual, the greens and fairways were in fantastic shape. They continue to have some trouble with some of the tee boxes. Overall, the experience was fantastic.

    Read The Review
  • 7/6/19 - Review by TPX

    "Great course"

    Always like playing here. Course was in good shape. Greens weren’t quite as fast as the practice green which was a shame as it was rolling great. Course greens rolling pretty good too.

    Read The Review
  • 9/3/18 - Review by KyleSmith

    "Worth playing"

    Overall, this course is worth playing, especially if you can find a deal online. The greens are perfect as usual- quick and true. The fairways had some spots throughout the course, which is pretty typical from what I have experienced. Tee boxes were pretty decent, although I played the tips for the first time and they don't get as much use. This course plays completely different from the tips- multiple 200+ yard carries and different angles when you have to hit driver. Still a fantastic course. Worth the trip.

    Read The Review
  • 7/28/18 - Review by GolfNiners5

    "Great course"

    Course is in great shape, greens were slow and you could tell they had been punched within the last couple of weeks but hey rolled true. My main complaint and reasoning for not giving it 5 stars was the pace of play. They piled people up even though they had a starter. We waited pretty much on every hole and probably every shot. It had to be the longest round of golf in my life. They have 3 to 4 rangers driving around but they don't do anything to speed people up. If I wasn't playing so well we probably would have quit early.

    Read The Review
  • 6/27/18 - Review by Shankapotomous

    "Best of the best"

    I stumbled on this website recently and I firmly believe in first hand reviews. So since I play often and everywhere, I thought this might be helpful. First of all ... if you have not played Red Bridge or its been a while, do yourself a favor and go again. In terms of public courses in Charlotte, Red Bridge is absolutely one of the best I have played. It starts at check in with a first class staff (Mark Davis - Head Pro) is always extremely helpful and attentive. And it goes through the grounds crew who do a great job with the course. This truly is a hidden gem. It is always in top notch shape and is a true test to your game. The greens are very smooth and well manicured, and the fairways are green and great turf to hit off. The seeding of the course is consistent and flush and green throughout. The rough is fair and plays consistent hole to hole. The bunkers are well maintained and fair to hit from (actually true playing sand .... not the dirt or hard pan many courses have). There are 2 greens (12 and 15) which had small winter kill which is being addressed and rectified by the grounds crew. These greens were aerated and top dressed and are recovering appropriately, and they do a good job of placing the pins where you can still play the greens fairly so keep an open mind and be glad they are doing everything they can to have those back in tip top shape soon too. Several holes have some newly laid sod which seems to be a proactive course improvement to areas before they became an issue (so kudos to the grounds crew and staff for being proactive and not reactive). Weekday rounds (pay at the counter are roughly $35 but if you pay online you can get them as cheap as $25 in some cases). Pace of play is what you would expect and the course is a great mix of dog legs left and right, and is made up of 5 par 5's, 5 par 3's and 8 par 4's. All of which play tough but fair. All in all, if you haven't played here .... you are missing out. Do yourself a favor and go play Red Bridge and take a few friends as well, you will not be disappointed. This really is a hidden gem around the area.

    Read The Review
  • 4/29/18 - Review by jscum13

    "Below average"

    Almost every tee box was dead. Dirt or significant issues but you had to search for grass in order to put a peg in the ground. Greens were fast, very fast...and true but half the greens were suffering from significant poa disease and it was thick and prevalent around the greens making the Texas wedge almost impossible. Red Bridge is usually in good shape but judging by the reviews on this site, it appears April hasn’t been a good month for the public tracks. Course was very dry too, fairways thin and spotty and need the heat really bad.

    Read The Review
  • 4/14/18 - Review by B-Man

    "Worth playing"

    I have to caveat this review with the fact that I shot my career best tying round (76) - lol. I actually told my dad during the round that if I shot my best score, I would take on an extra half star to my review. The other caveat is that Red Bridge has literally been my favorite public course in the area for the last several years. So I have high expectations around here. I have to say though that it is not in the best shape right now. The bermuda greens are blotched with poa annua - really badly on the front 9, not so much on the back. It does affect putting on about 1/3 of the holes. Talking to the staff, they acknowledged it would be a few weeks before the poa annua dies off as the bermuda wakes up and starts growing again. In addition to the greens, the tee boxes were badly torn up and many were bare dirt. The fairways were very thin and at least one (#8) was littered with weeds. So the course is showing some neglect in addition to the poa annua. That was disappointing to see -- this course is usually in tremendous shape. I got a very good deal online ($26 for a 2pm Saturday tee time) so the value was certainly there. Pace of play was slow but we were warned that a large outing had teed off about 45 minutes before we did. The issues I listed didn't significantly affect play (though we allowed everyone to move their ball on the green if there was poa annua in the immediate direct line). I just expected better. With the score I shot, I'll be back of course :-P, but I'll probably wait at least a month before I consider it.

    Read The Review
  • 4/6/18 - Review by jaydee

    "Great course"

    Tee boxes / areas are pretty rough shape but not a real concern for me. Greens in good shape, some irregular areas thought but course in great shape for early April. Got a deal on GolfNow, at $20 each I'll play this course all day. Both me and my wife always enjoy course.

    Read The Review
  • 4/29/17 - Review by Drewpac

    "Worth playing"

    Greens were in great shape. However it looked like the many areas of the course had not been mowed. Pretty much just the greens and surrounding areas were the only areas that were consistently mowed. Was hard to find balls even if barely in the rough. They're also suffering with large amounts of poa annua in fairways. Great track, but would like to see them have a bit better maintenance on a beautiful weekend day. Maybe last week's rain had to due with the struggles on the grounds side. Hopefully it is resolved.

    Read The Review
  • 4/17/17 - Review by KyleSmith

    "Great course"

    This course never fails. Its in great shape and the greens are the best in the area that I have seen (although I hear Mooresville and Monroe CC are great right now too). Well worth making the trip out, and I believe its the best value golf in the area.

    Read The Review
  • 3/7/17 - Review by dad4204

    "Great course"

    Red Bridge was in good shape, Fairways coming in, greens in good shape and rolling true. Bunkers the best I've seen this year, unfortunately for me. I like Red Bridge for the variety of shots you must make, even though I didn't make them this time.

    Read The Review
  • 11/6/16 - Review by KyleSmith

    "Great course"

    I have heard alot of good stories about this course. Finally played it and can not wait to go back. The greens were amazing, multi tier and plenty of grain. If you can read these greens, you are a good putter (or play here way too much). As a long hitter, I liked having to take iron off of alot of tee boxes. Really mixed up my game. By far my favorite feature on this course was the bunkers. I dont know that Augusta has bunkers this fluffy. Its like hitting from a cloud. Absolutely can't wait to go back. This is now my favorite public course in the area.

    Read The Review
  • 10/4/16 - Review by dad4204

    "Great course"

    I really enjoyed Red bridge today. Tee boxes were fine, greens really good, I don't read them very well so I can't comment on that. Fairways good, both sand traps I was in were really good, plenty of sand and fluffy. You can't beat $22 Tuesday, but it's worth the regular rate for sure. I played the gold tees.

    Read The Review
  • 9/30/16 - Review by TPX

    "Great course"

    Always love this course. The staff can be quirky to deal with. Was in really good shape today, greens pretty much perfect and the rest of the course as well. *PSA*-avoid buying snacks/drinks here. This course has always been reasonable on rates, but $1.50 for a pack of crackers and $3 for bottled drinks is ridiculous.

    Read The Review
  • 8/14/16 - Review by ShooterMcGavin71

    "Worth playing"

    Fun course. Lots of variety. Anything left above hole was lightning fast going down. Putting green faster than course greens (grrr) Pace of play was kind of slow - didn't see a ranger until 14th hole.

    Read The Review
  • 8/7/16 - Review by metallikviper

    "Great course"

    The course is in perfect shape. I really wish this course was not so far away. Tee to green the course is in great shape and the layout is very challenging. Virtually no issues to report. I would definitely recommend this course.

    Read The Review
  • 3/9/16 - Review by GetThere214

    "Worth playing"

    Was able to get out on a great Wednesday afternoon and course is in good shape. Tee Boxes were good. Fairways were fine for the time of year. Bunkers were very good and taken care of. Greens were very good. Rolled a little slower then I am used to here but ran pure. Overall in very good shape for the winter and looking forward to coming back.

    Read The Review
  • 9/6/15 - Review by GetThere214

    "Great course"

    Golf course was in great shape. We were one of the first groups out on Sunday morning. Tee boxes had some wear and tear because it seemed like they did not move the tee areas from the previous day. But there was still plenty of areas to tee up without a problem. Fairways were very good. Rough was good but very thick in some areas. Was a difficult shot out if you got caught in it. Bunkers were good. Greens were very good. Extremely fast from above the hole. Overall a great course and round of golf.

    Read The Review
  • 8/27/15 - Review by ILL-INI

    "Great course"

    I'd have to give this course a 5-star if it weren't for a few goofy pin placements and a few spotty tee boxes. The greens were tight and rolling true, the fairways were plush, sand is fine. Pace of play today was lightning quick which I guess is to be expected during the day on a weekday. The $13 tee time was through golf-now - actually it was $10 if not for the $3 golf now fee - couldn't believe it when I saw it. It was for a one-person tee time though, which makes a little sense. Either way, a complete steal for the money. I wish this course were a little closer to my house, I'd play it way more often. Right now is a good time to book a tee-time though, course is in phenomenal shape.

    Read The Review
  • 7/8/15 - Review by panthersfann55

    "Worth playing"

    Greens were fast and tough. cups cut on slopes killed our group. Always a good test off golf. my only complaint is the fairways being cut so tight. with a steep downswing my club bounced all day.

    Read The Review
  • 6/29/15 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    Back at my favorite course for the first time in a while. This is the best conditioned public course I've played around town this year. The greens were immaculate, all of them rolling true and quick. The bermuda greens don't show too many marks but there were a few that needed to be tamped down as lazy golfers weren't fixing them. Tees were very good. Fairways were also very good, but there may have been one or two (#15 comes to mind) that still had some thinness or dead areas. Bunkers were raked and dry. I got out for a Clickit deal at $27 and the course was pretty empty at 5:30. I got around in under 3 hrs. I can always count on Red Bridge for a great round at a great price and this was no exception.

    Read The Review
  • 6/15/15 - Review by scrillthedeal13

    "Great course"

    Great Golf Course. Booked on GolfNow for $18 and teed off around 4pm. This course was in great shape tee to green. I'm honestly surprised that this course doesn't get more play than it does, but it is kind of out of the way. I really like that the course has so many par 5's. There are plenty of chances to score out here. Check it out sometime!

    Read The Review
  • 6/13/15 - Review by pga5f

    "Bad, stay away"

    Played early Saturday morning. Unfortunately the first group out (7 am) was on a 5+ hour pace. The course quickly became a log jam. The rangers did nothing about it until it was too late. The course was in good shape but the pace of play and the lack of attention by the rangers made it miserable. With the price getting higher ($60 including range balls), I expect more.

    Read The Review
  • 5/17/15 - Review by MGOBLUE

    "Worth playing"

    I haven't played here in almost a year but it is one of my favorite courses in the area. The greens and bunkers were in perfect condition while the fairways could definitely use some rain and TLC. They were very thin, very, very firm with mixture of yellow and green grass. I guess Ft Mill Golf Club has me spolied when it comes to course conditions.

    Read The Review
  • 5/3/15 - Review by GetThere214

    "Worth playing"

    This is the second time I have played Red Bridge. Had a great time and was very impressed with the course conditions. Tee boxes were the only issue (some were pretty chopped up). Tf they were a little better would have gotten 4 stars. Fairways were nice. Course has greened up well. The real pleasure of the day was on the greens. They were in great shape. They were soft to hold a shot into them and rolled really well. Speed was really good. Will definitely be coming back.

    Read The Review
  • 4/24/15 - Review by tvrepairex

    "Great course"

    Good conditions for the most part.Course greening up well.Greens good except for a few ball marks and pretty fast.Traps were good even, after all the rain the past week,with plenty of fluffy ,white sand.Course is challenging,but fair,just a little long for an old guy like me (63)from the white tees.My fault on that-should have moved up!

    Read The Review
  • 4/4/15 - Review by jscum13

    "Average"

    Seems to be the theme of every course I've played lately. Shotty tee boxes and fairways/rough, but pure greens. Red Bridge was especially dormant from tee to green. Very quirky course. Our group hit some tee shits in the middle of the fairway and watched them run off in to hazards and ponds. Not a fan of the layout, but the pace of play was good.

    Read The Review
  • 1/19/15 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    For my first round of the new year, I went back to one of my top 5 courses in the area. Got a great price for a morning round on a holiday for some people, though I don't think it was holiday rates. Despite the nice weather, there was apparently still a 40 minute frost delay (9-9:40) and so our tee time was pushed back about 30-40 minutes - however, the pro shop was no help with that. And there was no starter. I mighta thought they would shotgun the start or at least double tee off the back to catch. Nope... Pace of play was brutally slow for 3/4 of the round and no rangers in sight. That's all the bad news. The good news is that the course is just as nice as I remember. Greens in fine shape and very fast (downhill). Tees and fairways were dormant of course and many of the tees were bare dirt in spots, but overall I felt the conditions were good. I just wish they had managed the pace of play better.

    Read The Review
  • 10/23/14 - Review by panthersfann55

    "Worth playing"

    greens A+, fairways very thin, bunkers were playable, the ball will sit down in the rough buddy lost a ball 10 feet off of #7 green never to be seen again, tees were in good shape. pace of play was horrible the 2 groups in front of us were no match for the tees they played from. at one point there was 5 groups on one hole #13. Pins were in very tough spots no flat putts today. When there is an almost full tee sheet there should be a ranger roaming around the course.

    Read The Review
  • 10/14/14 - Review by oneputt

    "Great course"

    Made the trip out to RB. It was worth every mile! The geography that the course is built on is really nice. The trees were just starting to turn their fall colors. The layout of the course was interesting. Several of the holes played rather gimmicky. The greens were perfect. They held shots nicely and the putts rolled true and smooth. Some of the best greens I have seen so far this fall. The fairways were mowed tight. Good amount of roll and overall the lies were good. Traps had plenty of sand and were for the most part dry and consistent. Tee boxes were ok. Staff was very friendly. I will most certainly make another trip soon.

    Read The Review
  • 9/7/14 - Review by FrankGolfs

    "Best of the best"

    Greens were excellent, awesome day for the trip to Red Bridge. Its always worth the drive if you haven't played the course. Rolling hills and plenty of difficulty. The back tee's are brutal and you should bring your A game to play them. This is in my top 5 Charlotte area courses to play!

    Read The Review
  • 8/19/14 - Review by malamute

    "Great course"

    course is always in great shape very few players on a hot afternoon staff always very helpful and friendly

    Read The Review
  • 8/6/14 - Review by nenad

    "Great course"

    Nice layout, and the golf course was in a good shape. I was playing in the early afternoon during the week so I basically had a golf course to myself. Price on golf now was 22 so it was definitely worth a travel. I would probably play this golf course more often if I lived closer.

    Read The Review
  • 7/3/14 - Review by panthersfann55

    "Worth playing"

    got caught in a down pour for 30 minutes but the greens drained well. fairways got a little sloppy in the low areas. greens still showing punch marks and the ball bounced off line a few times. fairways still thin and i don't think this will ever change due to the direction golf courses are headed these days saving water. pins were in some tough spots that I haven't seen before.

    Read The Review
  • 6/21/14 - Review by MGOBLUE

    "Best of the best"

    Nearly perfect course conditions, fairways were a little on the firm side on many holes but really nothing to complain about.

    Read The Review
  • 6/4/14 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Best of the best"

    Red Bridge just surpassed Verdict Ridge for my #1 course in Charlotte. The combination of perfect conditions (fairways the best of any course I have played this year, hands down), great pricing, and great people just can't be beat.

    Read The Review
  • 5/25/14 - Review by hotrod jb

    "Worth playing"

    Tee boxes are great, fairways dry and a little thin. Greens are very good and roll fairly quick. Really nice course right now.

    Read The Review
  • 5/4/14 - Review by stint32

    "Great course"

    Course is in wonderful shape as always. greens are the best in the area and i would say this is currently the best public golf you will get anywhere near here. Only thing is waiting on fairways to come in but other than that wonderful.

    Read The Review
  • 5/4/14 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Best of the best"

    Let's see. Greens: perfect. Traps: perfect. Pace: 4 hours. Fairways: just a little thin, normal for this time of year.

    Read The Review
  • 5/3/14 - Review by hotrod jb

    "Great course"

    It's in really good shape. Driving range is in great shape as well. Greens are nice and quick. I think the guy placing the pin locations had a bad Friday night or something. Place was set up for a Sunday PGA tourney but still great.

    Read The Review
  • 3/22/14 - Review by metallikviper

    "Worth playing"

    It had almost been a year since I played this course and it is nice to see that they are maintaining it well. Driving range, putting green and chipping area are all in great condition. Looking at all the great reviews I was expecting a pristine course, so I was slightly disappointed. Tee boxes on par threes were a little chewed up and could use some seeding. Fairways were all yellow which is expected at this time of the year. The greens definitely needed to be mowed as they were very hairy and it looks like they had just sprayed them green. The course should play nicely in the summer.

    Read The Review
  • 3/20/14 - Review by malamute

    "Great course"

    is always is nice conditions / greens great / new tee box for hole 12 / small putting put in by the range / really need better quality range balls

    Read The Review
  • 10/27/13 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Great course"

    The first time in a while that I didn't give Red Bridge perfect conditions. The reason is the fairways are thin and hard, and some teeboxes a bit chewed up. Greens perfect, traps beautifully raked, and still overall a great course at a great rate.

    Read The Review
  • 9/14/13 - Review by dsfiji

    "Best of the best"

    What a great course, played this for the first time this past weekend (9/14/13).. Always seen this course pop up on Click-it-Golf and didn't pay it any attention.. From looking at reviews on this site we decided to play.. What a great course and in phenomenal condition.. The greens where immaculate and very undulating.. Does wonders on making you think where to place your approach shots... Also some challenging tee-off shots which is great to choose from using a driver, wood or iron depending upon hazard placements... Only drawback is the drive which is about 1 hr from Mooresville.. I Will definately be playing this again soon and many more times

    Read The Review
  • 7/20/13 - Review by Bogey-Golf

    "Worth playing"

    Got a good deal online to play. Greens and fairways were good. Pretty good layout. The biggest problem was pace of play. RB decided to let a six-some...yes a six-some out midday on a weekend. On top of that they were letting two-somes out instead of foursomes. It was a cluster. The course is nice so the only way I'm going back there is on a weekday when it's not so busy. 5+ hour round.

    Read The Review
  • 7/14/13 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Best of the best"

    I guess the perfect should be qualified as perfect given all the rain - sure there were some spots on some fairways where you had to move the ball, but there weren't that many. 90 degree rule on 15 holes. For $32 for an 11:00 am Sunday tee time that included a free bucket of balls, just astounding. Brand new range balls, new practice chipping greens. Only negative was some slow play that wasn't rangered well.

    Read The Review
  • 6/12/13 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Best of the best"

    Wow! Red Bridge just keeps getting better. Every time I go, they have done something to improve the course. Most recently, brand new range balls and perfect range conditions, along with a chipping green with several pin placements. Greens, fairways, traps all perfect, and prices still low.

    Read The Review
  • 5/24/13 - Review by IM4DHERD

    "Great course"

    "Perfect" is much closer than "Good - normal wear and tear". Some rough is still a bit thin, but the teeboxes, fairways and greens are in excellent shape, perhaps the best I've seen this year so far. Hadn't been to Red Bridge in perhaps a year and am very impressed with how it's grown in. Always liked the layout.

    Read The Review
  • 4/25/13 - Review by malamute

    "Great course"

    course is in very good shape - fairways hard and ball runs out well / greens still show a little punch but rolled very well - not too fast / not much to find wrong here - will be great in a few weeks

    Read The Review
  • 4/21/13 - Review by ILL-INI

    "Great course"

    Heck of a play for $39 bucks right now. Fairways are still a tad thin but coming in nicely. Greens were rolling a little slower than normal but still very nice and rolling true. I'm happy to drive a little further to play this course, it's a nice little gem.

    Read The Review
  • 4/13/13 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    This is the best round I've enjoyed here, not just from a score perspective but conditions and experience as well. I think the course has finally grown in -- the greens are more receptive, the tee and pin placements seem fairer, and the yardages are marked! All of those are previous complaints of mine. Today conditions were great. A few tee boxes were thin. The sand traps were just okay. Fairways and greens were great and that's what really counts in my eyes. All of the greens were consistently good, not running too slick. And as I said, the course now has yardage plates in the fairways and distances to hazards on the tee boxes. Pace of play was normal and the $39 Clickit coupon was a steal for a Saturday morning round at this course.

    Read The Review
  • 3/20/13 - Review by JHG

    "Worth playing"

    Course is in ok shape. Tees and fairways are ok. Greens are good. Sand in bunkers is good. All in all not bad. Cart path only on a few holes.

    Read The Review
  • 3/12/13 - Review by 4amigos

    "Worth playing"

    In very good shape for this time of year. Greens in good condition but running a little slower than they do in the early fall. No Marshall and could have used one. We caught up to a group on the back nine hitting from the back tees and less than 200 yard drives so they ended up in a lot of the short hazards

    Read The Review
  • 3/10/13 - Review by _mk70

    "Worth playing"

    The course was in good shape as were the greens. The tee boxes were a bit beat up but that's about it. The real issue was the ranger. He asked us pick up our pace after 9. Nobody behind us was waiting on their shots but we picked up our pace starting on 10. Then the ranger actually sat behind our carts and watched us play 11 which we found to be very rude. Then on 12 he asked us again to pick up the pace and keep up with the 3-some ahead of us even though we had a 4-some. It turned our round from having fun, to constantly looking over our shoulder for the ranger to yell at us again. Two guys in our group shot in the low 80s so it wasn't like we had 4 hackers working our way up the course. We finished our round in 4:35 and Red Bridge's suggestion is 4:25 so we are talking about ten minutes over. The course was fun but probably won't be back for a long time due to the bad taste in my mouth from the ranger.

    Read The Review
  • 12/2/12 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Great course"

    Only thing less than perfect is the greens had some little tiny punch holes, but they still putted true. They really work hard to make this a nice place to play. In addition to near perfect conditions most of the time, the prices are always reasonable.

    Read The Review
  • 10/22/12 - Review by izzyf150

    "Worth playing"

    Red Bridge is in good shape still. Only a few complaints today. Tee boxes needed to be moved to a new location, most boxes were really divoted up. There were some thin fairways. Also some of the fairways were really hard. I got robbed a few times from balls hitting in the short grass on the fairway and taking wild bounces left or right. I also got some longer distance off the box on the flatter fairways but I would gladly given up the extra yardage to avoid the shots I got robbed on. Greens and sandtraps were in good condition.

    Read The Review
  • 9/21/12 - Review by Jova007200

    "Great course"

    I am getting eager to see the new improvements as they are finished. I am still kind of disappointed in the lack of ball washers and small things of the sort. I've played it a lot, and now have a golf GPS, but the new to Red Bridge golfer will still have a really difficult time given that the layout of the course will be virtually unknown. I think this has a lot to do with the fact that the course was open and updates and upgrades were put on halt during the crunch. They're building new Tee Boxes on a few holes according to one of the Rangers, and I did see that one on the #11 Par 3. The clubhouse is in the books too. Its pretty clear that there is construction progressing around the course given the activity I have seen. So its a good sign that money is starting to roll in more reliably and we'll be seeing more improvements as time goes on. As for the course, conditions were excellent. Only the #17 fairway seems to need a lot of work given the sheer amount of divots but that is the outlier. The course is in great shapes and the greens are in great shape as always. This course probably over maintains the greens, as the dwarf bermuda doesn't require as much as they're really giving it. But that can only be a GOOD thing. Close to the end of September and they are looking like they did months ago. The only thing that annoys me is the old guy who's always in the #10 & #18 area collecting lost balls to obviously sell. Its distracting when you've gotta worry about hitting him and he won't move. hehe

    Read The Review
  • 9/16/12 - Review by slowmofo

    "Great course"

    First time I have made the trek to red bridge. What an awesome course. Everything was in perfect shape. The mini verde greens are doing exceptionally well and they are soft. I actually spun one off the green which was suprising. I have to agree with Bman about the only thing I didn't like on this course. its that the scorecards don't show the layout too well, and you will have no idea how far the hazards are on some of the blind dog legs. This caused my score to drop as I should have pulled 3 iron on two holes instead of driver. After playing it, I will remember where to hit, but you should play with someone who knows the course the first time.

    Read The Review
  • 8/29/12 - Review by panthersfann55

    "Best of the best"

    only second time I have given a course a 5. New ownership, friendly staff, tee to green plush. Couple of bounces did not go my way which killed me on the par 5's. Sand was smooth to hit out of and looks like they are making a new tee box on 11 left of cart path on the hill.

    Read The Review
  • 8/26/12 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Best of the best"

    The previously reported sand on the greens is 95% gone. A bit of waiting on each shot but 4 1/2 hours on a crowded Sunday is not bad.

    Read The Review
  • 8/21/12 - Review by GungaGalunga

    "Great course"

    Tee to green the course is in very good shape. I forget how many white stakes are out here (stroke and distance) luckily it was quiet and I could go back to the tee box when I needed. The layout here is good and pace is great and people are friendly.

    Read The Review
  • 8/20/12 - Review by izzyf150

    "Great course"

    This place is in good shape still. Only a couple of things to report. They have put down a layer of sand all over the greens giving the greens a whiteish color to it. Kind of like dew in the morning or something. The greens seem to be a touch slower with a little less break on the ball. The ball still rolls smooth but on occasion you do have to go tamp down some small clumps of sand that are on your line. Maybe some of you golf experts might know how long for the sand to soak in. By no means did it make the round less enjoyable though. Most of the tee boxes were good shape. Noticed a couple of thin fairways but not bad. Sand traps were good.

    Read The Review
  • 8/8/12 - Review by Wulfpack

    "Great course"

    It was my first time out to Red Bridge and I really like this course. It is a bit quirky and makes you think. Must place your shots on several holes. Had to play no. 18 driver, 3-wood, 3-wood but managed to par it. It is a monster of a hole. No. 17, that dogleg right par 4 with the water got me, but other than that it was a very smooth and enjoyable round. No one was out there and I rolled on through in about 2.5 hours. Conditions were perfect, though greens seemed a little on the slow side. Must have recently punched them. Only suggestion would be to place some yardage markers out there. There are really not many at all and it is a bit frustrating considering how nice and well kept the course is. Wouldn't take much. I highly recommend this course if you can make it out there. And previous reviewers were spot on about Andy's burgers and fries afterwards. Some seriously good stuff!

    Read The Review
  • 7/29/12 - Review by mondiablo

    "Worth playing"

    The course was in reasonable shape considering the heat. The front 9 greens had been punched recently, and I believe the back 9 was getting punched this week. May give it a couple weeks before heading back. Bunkers were in good shape as well as the fairways and tee boxes.

    Read The Review
  • 7/7/12 - Review by B-Man

    "Great course"

    I finally got back to Red Bridge after almost 2 years. Other than the routing changes on the front 9, not much has changed -- and that is good and bad. The good is that the course is still very well maintained. The mini-verde greens are in fine shape, as well as the fairways and most tee boxes. There were a few holes where the white tees were up or back (mostly up). I missed all the bunkers so I didn't notice any issues there. Also good was the new routing -- the 412 yard par 4 is a much more logical starting hole than the old one, the 129 yard par 3. On the flip side, however... I was disappointed to see the course is still not well marked. All you get on most holes is the 50 yard markers. There are plenty of sprinklers but 90% of them don't have a yardage. There's also little information on the tees about carry and hazard distances. So if you don't play here often, you can get into trouble with what you think is a good shot (happened to me on #8). I would think by now they would have yardage markers, pictures of the hole on the cart or the tee boxes, some kind of help. While the greens were immaculate in condition, I am not a big fan of the mini-verde grass. There is such a dramatic difference in speed and break on any kind of slope -- very slow uphill and almost unstoppable downhill. With several of the greens severely sloped, there are many unfair places to put the pins and I ran into a few today (front on #5, front on #10, and front on #16). I was also not pleased with the pace of play. I was a single and took 3.5 hours (most places I get around in 2.5 to 3). When I called to check before coming (~3:00), the guy had me make a tee time (for 3:44), took my name and phone number (?), and told me they were clear for 30 minutes around my tee time. Shortly after I got there (3:30), though, not one, but two twosomes somehow get in front of me (never saw them check in). The first was gracious to let me tee off #1 ahead of them, no problem. I caught up to the second group on #3, said hello, but received no offer to play through. I was not in a big hurry so I took my time and played behind them the rest of the front 9. At #9, I hit the clubhouse for some water and when I get to #10 tee, another (!) twosome has jumped in front of me. Why would the clubhouse let them start on #10, with a single on #9? So I played the whole back 9 trailing these 2 twosomes in 95+ temps. Not fun. Overall, I still enjoy the uniqueness of the layout and find it challenging yet rewarding. I just think it is still a little rough around the edges.

    Read The Review
  • 7/6/12 - Review by malamute

    "Great course"

    course is in great shape / greens are a#1 / fairways were hard and the ball really had some roll / just missed a birdie on #18 SOB! / love this course

    Read The Review
  • 7/3/12 - Review by Gin Mill DJ

    "Great course"

    The fairways were a little hard from the extreme heat, but the greens were in prefect shape. Some of the holes are very similar. Alot of Dogleg rights with similar distances. #18 is a monster! 619 yds from the white tees. With a waste area/creek 30-40 yds in front of an elevated green.

    Read The Review
  • 6/23/12 - Review by metallikviper

    "Great course"

    Probably Charlotte's best maintained course. Tee boxes, fairways, greens, bunkers almost perfect. I really like the layout of this course as it challenges you to play the smarter stroke. Some are long, some risk-reward and some just blind. If it wasn't a 50 min drive, I would be here at-least once a month.

    Read The Review
  • 6/18/12 - Review by mondiablo

    "Great course"

    Course was in excellent shape...greens were perfect! I love this course and continue to come back again and again. Can't beat it for the price.

    Read The Review
  • 5/16/12 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Best of the best"

    Amazing recovery for the greens from punching 2 weeks ago. THere was some sand on the greens, but the holes from punching were completely gone. I thought the greens were perfect - the sand slowed the pace a little, but the lines held true. The sand bothered my playing partner but I don't know why. Fairways in very good condition - I played the ball down and had no issues at all. Red Bridge continues to amaze me with how much upkeep and improvements they continue to make. Every time I play I see several employees out on the course improving the conditions. They apparently have an owner who continues to put money into the course, and plans are for a new clubhouse in a year or so. The only bad news is that I overheard them talking about starting to charge the prices that the course really deserves - I think the $29 specials may be gone. I don't care - I put this course right up with Verdict Ridge, Carolina Lakes, Olde Sycamore - and even at $39 during the week and $49 on weekends their prices are more than competitive, especially when I think their conditions are better than any of those courses. The Bermuda greens are just fantastic.

    Read The Review
  • 4/26/12 - Review by jimmyd26

    "Great course"

    Flew into NC from Michigan to play golf. Really enjoyed the layout. Got burned a couple times because first time playing course. Greens were tough to get used to, I'm used to playing on bent. Fairways were firm and still in spring form. Staff was nice, new owners looking to invest in course. Would definitely play again.

    Read The Review
  • 4/21/12 - Review by Orion

    "Great course"

    The course is in fantastic shape. The aeration they had earlier has really helped. The tee-boxes are still full of holes, but everything else is smooth. The greens are in great shape also. This is another one of those really tough courses, be sure to bring extra balls just in case! We were able to get a fantastic rate through clickit, only problem is that the guy at the counter did not recognize the rate. We easily resolved it and were able to move on. I highly recommend making the drive out.

    Read The Review
  • 4/14/12 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Worth playing"

    Greens perfect. Fairways just punched with big plugs, so they are very bumpy. Teeboxes need some work. Traps were fine. All in all, decent shape and the plugging of the fairways should help conditions later on the year.

    Read The Review
  • 2/25/12 - Review by ILL-INI

    "Great course"

    The greens are some of the best rolling greens out there. If it wasn't for the drive (about 40 minutes from South Charlotte), I would play this course all the time. For $39 bucks though you really can't beat it. We played at 9am and rolled through in about 4 hours, roughly. Fairways and boxes are all in great shape. Sand was fine as well. There's really nothing bad to say about the place other than the drive to get there. Andy's burgers afterwards is a must - I still claim they have the best Cheeseburger!

    Read The Review
  • 10/8/11 - Review by cmgbulldog

    "Best of the best"

    This was my first round at Red Bridge. I have to admit, even though I played horrible, this course is in awesome condition. The greens are some of the best, if not the best, around. I played in a four-some, two of whom had played the course before and two that have not and trust me, it plays no favor for knowing the layout of the course. It is full of difficult tee shots and approach shots and challenging putts. Definitely a golf course suited for the target golfer. All-in-all, I'd recommend anyone that hasn't played here give it a shot, it's a little ways out there, but well worth the drive.

    Read The Review
Your Profile
Login

New Here?

Sign Up

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

River Oaks Golf Club


"Worth playing"

5/20/24: Review by golferdude

Played the tips..few mud balls due to recent rains. Greens were decent speed but not very receptive (many iron shots and pitches ran off the green). First time here in 8 years. Do like the look with the renovations. Rates are reasonable.

Latest Forum Post

Reply To: Short Game Lessons or Clinic

By B-Man on 5/23/24

Lots of clubs around town will do short game clinics (1-3 hours on one day) that are fairly inexpensive ($30-$100). Stonebridge is one course that offers this. I've taken the one with Fred Bond and got my money's worth out of it. These types of clinics are usually a good...

About The B-Man
The B-Man himself
TripCaddie
B-Man on the 19th tee at Payne's Valley - Big Cedar Lodge with TripCaddie
Join Me on a Ready-Made Golf Trip with TripCaddie in 2024!
Sign Up Your Group!
Homestretch Golf
Homestretch Golf
The Best Golf Tournament Wagering Platform!
See the Demo