Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses

Hunter's Course Reviews

Recent Reviews by All Users

  • Location: Charlotte, NC
    Age Group: 25-34
    Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)
    Handicap: 7.0
Review
  • 8/30/20 - Olde Sycamore Golf Plantation

    "Average"
    Course photo

    Avoid for now. Took 45 minutes to get a cart (Tee time was 136, we teed off around 2:15) I know COVID factors in, but no other course seems to have this problem. Greens are in pretty bad shape. #2 might be lost for the year. Other ones were fair at best. Better value out there.

    Read The Review
  • 8/2/20 - Stonebridge Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    The bent greens are rolling surprisingly well for this time of year. A few rough areas but overall I was impressed. Kept thinking they would be slower than they were which led to a few run by 3 putts on front 9. But figured them out and shot a smooth 36 on back. Bunkers were solid which was nice given all the rain we have gotten recently. This course is only going to get better for the next few months.

    Read The Review
  • 7/26/20 - Carolina Lakes Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    Greens were slow and tons of ball marks, but that is sort of expected this time of year with bentgrass. Several bunkers were washed out due to rain, and they look in need of major work. I love this course, but just felt a little steep for what you got. It will be back on my favorites come fall.

    Read The Review
  • 7/25/20 - Rocky River Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Could not beat the deal. Course was fine tee to green. Pace of play was solid for a Saturday. Didn't really wait or have anyone behind us either.

    Read The Review
  • 6/17/20 - The Divide Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    Apparently I am just following around the B-Man. And I tend to agree with him. If you enjoy the layout of the Divide, now is the time to get out there. The course is pretty decent for the price. Greens are running a little slow for my tastes, but putts roll on line.

    Read The Review
  • 6/14/20 - Carolina Lakes Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    One of the best values in the area, especially if you live in south Charlotte. The greens were aerated around 10 days ago but are already at 95% and were rolling fine. Staff is friendly as always, and we got around in around 4:45 hours, but the course was packed (not a single space in parking lot) and really the flow was fine so it didn't feel like 5 hours (no long waiting). My ONLY complaint and I am probably nit-picking here. This course has a TON of bunkers, which I don't mind. But they keep the fairway bunkers fluffy and thick just like a green-side bunker, versus the traditional firmer sand of most courses. Makes it pretty difficult to hit a fairway bunker shot effectively (if you hit down, ball goes nowhere). This easily cost me several strokes and was annoying. Add this up with no rakes and you drew some pretty crap breaks.

    Read The Review
  • 6/9/20 - Skybrook Golf Club

    "Perfect"
    Course photo

    Skybrook is BACK! This course is in perfect condition. The new greens look great (Little fast/tough to figure out as first, evidenced by my +7 start on first 5 holes with several 3-putts) but once you get them figured out they roll smooth and true. Just cut everything in half and hit less club in. There is a reason it's virtually impossible to find a weekend tee-time here without booking well in advance.

    Read The Review
  • 6/7/20 - Stonebridge Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Almost perfect. Greens are almost fully healed and rolling as good as you can ask for in summer. Fairways and tees are grown in. Managed to avoid the bunkers today but they looked perfect. Staff was amazing as always. Always a top-5 course for me.

    Read The Review
  • 6/6/20 - Harry L. Jones Sr. Golf Course

    "Below average"
    Course photo

    I get it is a muni. But for $10-20 more for a round I'll play elsewhere. Greens were shaggy/slow, layout is goofy. No transition areas. Bunkers were surprisingly decent. A few cool holes. I'd love to see Charlotte have a great muni like Torrey or Coronado or Bethpage. But none of them are close to being repeat rounds for me.

    Read The Review
  • 5/31/20 - Olde Sycamore Golf Plantation

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    Sad I didn't run into Chris out there since we were both on course at same time. My review pretty much echoes his. I was impressed with conditions given all the weather lately. Greens were really slow and some soggy spots, but still solid all things considered. We had two groups of walkers in front of us that grouped up into a 6-some on hole 12 or so and took FOREVER. Not a ranger to be seen on back 9 to correct it. 5 hour round. For $70 bucks, I'd pass. But this course is a great value later in day or during the week.

    Read The Review
  • 7/30/19 - Highland Creek Golf Club

    "Below average"
    Course photo

    I used to like this course. Layout wise. Haven't played in a LONG time and heard it got better so we played 9 after work. Outside of the tee boxes/fairways I was not impressed. Greens have tons of weeds and were very bumpy/slow. Several dead spots. Some bunkers looked good others looked mud. I will be passing on this course until I hear better news.

    Read The Review
  • 7/28/19 - Stonebridge Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    I love Stonebridge. Fair layout. Looked in great shape from tee to green. Few ball marks but that is on the players not the course. Staff is always friendly and well worth the money for a primetime weekend round.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Forum Post

The Divide closing for greens renovation this month

By The B-Man on 8/5/20

Great news for The Divide! The course was approved for a $350k greens renovation starting this month. The greens will be sodded with Diamond Zoysia grass, the same as Eagle Chase in Marshville (and those have been good year round). The work starts next week and the course...

Instagram

@charlottegolfer