Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses

KyleSmith's Course Reviews

Recent Reviews by All Users

  • Location: Charlotte, NC
    Age Group: 25-34
    Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)
    Handicap: 2.4
Review
  • 8/7/20 - The Tradition Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    Typical conditions- fairways good, tee boxes decent, bunkers hard and wet and greens are chewed up and slower. I donít understand why people donít pick up their feet on bent grass greens. Also, tons of unfixed ball marks on these soft bent greens. They could really benefit from following the Divide and switching over. Pace would have been even better if the four some in front of us actually let us play through as a two some before we skipped a hole to get in front of them.

    Read The Review
  • 7/18/20 - The Divide Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    First time playing this course. For some reason the gold tees were not out, so I played 1 set forward which made it somewhat short for me. This helped the scoring, but made it a little mundane off the tee. Overall I like the layout. Greens were a hair fuzzy but rolled good. For bent grass, they are in great shape this tile of year. The course played wet, but not cart path only. Iíll be back- it was a great time and friendly staff.

    Read The Review
  • 7/17/20 - Skybrook Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    They punched about two weeks ago (Monday following the 4th of July) and greens have recovered nicely so far. They had top dressing, and holes were still affecting putts but not as bad as I would have imagined. They held the club Member-Member there this weekend, so they have the course in pristine conditions. the only issue I have run across is the bunkers still arent draining great, and several were closer to hardpan than they were to sand. That is going to be in the next phase of renovations going on at this place (including the range and working to get some better short game practice area). Overall, worth it if you can get a tee time.

    Read The Review
  • 7/9/20 - The Tradition Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    Overall, not much has changed on this course throughout the year. Greens are still in good shape, but were a little on the slower side. Not sure if water had anything to do with that, but they just seemed like they hadn't been cut that day. Fairways were in decent shape, and no huge issues on any other area of the course. Its a good "middle tier" course in the area and if you can get off of the tee box and keep it in play, you can score well. The afternoon walking rate is the same as the afternoon riding rate, which blows my mind.

    Read The Review
  • 6/20/20 - Olde Sycamore Golf Plantation

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    This course just never lives up to the price or hype. Greens were soaking wet, soft and slow. Pace was bad even though it was the suggested pace of play. Staff was pissy all day. Just an overrated course in general. Play it if you like, avoid if not.

    Read The Review
  • 6/6/20 - Warrior Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    Finally got out to play Warrior this past weekend. First impression was awesome- loved the drive in through the country, and the course seemed pretty open. Driving range was decent, but the grass was pretty inconsistent (I wish people understood how divot patterns on driving ranges work, and why they are good for the turf). Practice green was pretty true to the course, which was slow and really, really grainy. 4 foot putts would slide 8-12 inches on some holes. The rest of the course was good- I liked the layout alot (except for number 7 and the grass tees), and thought it was a really fun round. I dont know if I will make it back anytime soon, however. The first 18 we played (10:40 tee time and teed off after 11) took nearly 4.5 hours compared to just over 3 hours for the second 18. No ranger on the course, no starter on the first tee and no cart girls. On the 16th hole, there were 4 groups waiting on the tee box while one was on the green finishing out. FOUR GROUPS! Its just wild to see it get so backed up and no attempt to fix it. Stinks, because its a fun course otherwise.

    Read The Review
  • 4/6/20 - Skybrook Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    My "home" course, as I play it more than any other course by far. The course is still in great shape. The tee boxes still show some overseeding from winter, so they are green and plush. Bunkers are good (a few fairway bunkers that arent in play off the tee still hold standing water i.e. 11 fairway). Fairways have spots that are getting patches of weed grass, but nothing that is unplayable. More of an eye sore than anything. Greens were baked out and FAST Sunday. Tee times are spaced out every 20 minutes, everyone in their own cart unless you live in the same household, walking is allowed, grill/bar is open for takeout only, and pro shop is open but they are discouraging interaction by putting the card chip further out from the counter. Range is still shut down, but chipping green and putting green were "open" with no flags out.

    Read The Review
  • 4/5/20 - The Tradition Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    Overall the course was in good shape. Wet in spots, but 90* rule was in place. Everyone took their own carts, and the range was shut down due to state/county mandate. Greens are in good shape- playing early helps as you avoid alot of spike marks later in the day. Bunkers are in decent shape, some wetter than others but still playable. Worth playing, but not the best in the area. Booked on Wednesday and still had most of the tee times open. Asked in the pro shop Saturday and they said any two some that books will likely not be paired with anyone- so that can limit some tee times.

    Read The Review
  • 10/6/19 - The Tradition Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    First time playing this course and overall I was impressed. Booked the tee time Thursday afternoon and got a 9am tee time on a day the weather was supposed to turn really nice, so I was slightly worried that this course wasn't going to be very good. I was wrong. Course was pretty green and in good shape. The bent grass greens are in good shape, but some idiot in a group in front of us was tearing them up with his/her spikes. Made it tough to put. Overall, worth the price. Good course and will play again soon.

    Read The Review
  • 9/3/18 - Red Bridge Golf & Country Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    Overall, this course is worth playing, especially if you can find a deal online. The greens are perfect as usual- quick and true. The fairways had some spots throughout the course, which is pretty typical from what I have experienced. Tee boxes were pretty decent, although I played the tips for the first time and they don't get as much use. This course plays completely different from the tips- multiple 200+ yard carries and different angles when you have to hit driver. Still a fantastic course. Worth the trip.

    Read The Review
  • 6/10/18 - Highland Creek Golf Club

    "Below average"
    Course photo

    Overall, this is a good beginner course, but after playing Rocky River Friday, this course just about drove me crazy. A lot of bare spots in fairways, a lot of rocks in areas just off fairways, bunkers as hard as concrete, and greens that might have ran at a 7 on the stimp (if they weren't losing them). Overall, the conditions wouldn't bother me if the green fee/cart fee weren't higher than the majority of the other public courses in the area. But $52 to play, and another $10 for approximately 45 range balls, is a joke. I don't suggest playing Highland Creek, especially with Skybrook and Rocky River so close.

    Read The Review
  • 6/8/18 - Rocky River Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Got out of the office a little early and played a late 18 with B-Man himself. I had never played this course and have heard so many good things about it, so I was excited to get out. It didnt disappoint. The fairways were green and in great shape, and the greens were fast and true. There was a little bit of an issue on 17 green (not sure if its winter kill or what), but it seemed close to flawless other than that. Can't wait to get back to this course.

    Read The Review
  • 6/4/18 - Birkdale Golf Club

    "Average"
    Course photo

    Birkdale is the perfect example of why I hate the current state of golf. They charge $65 for a course that is very green, but plays pretty terrible. The course looked great- very green, not many issues in the fairways or tee boxes, and greens looked decent from the fairways. In reality, if you missed a fairway at all, you were probably not finding your ball because of isolated dirt patches that shoot your ball way off line, or thick bermuda rough that wasn't that thick at Quail for the PGA. The greens were incredibly soft and a hair furry (read: slow). I had heard a lot of good stuff about Birkdale, and later this summer I might give it another go, but I am not impressed with the $65 round Sunday.

    Read The Review
  • 5/27/18 - Mooresville Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Disclaimer up front: yes, they have three temp greens currently. That shouldn't keep you from playing this course if you are in the area. This is the best public track I have played in Charlotte. Hands down. The back nine (our front nine) can play a little tight, but many holes I hit 2 iron off the tee and still had low iron/wedge in. The course was well kept and the greens were pristine. I will for sure be back that way this summer once the greens are finished.

    Read The Review
  • 5/23/17 - Olde Sycamore Golf Plantation

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Won't post a score/rate for this round since it was a tournament, but wanted to share course conditions. This was my first time playing Old Sycamore, and it was a fun track. Course is in great shape, especially considering the amount of rain we had leading up to the tournament date. fairways were solid, and greens were in great shape. Highly recommend making your way to play it.

    Read The Review
  • 5/15/17 - Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    First time playing it and loved it. If it wasn't so far from uptown I would play it more often. It was windy, so it made hitting fairways a little tougher, and they were a little soft so not much run. The greens were great- quick but receptive. Used to playing on hard greens with little reception so it was nice to get some check-up shots. I love the layout of the course, but wish the Par 3's weren't as long (three over 200yds from the tips) and there weren't so many short par 4s. Overall, I recommend everyone getting out and playing this one. In great shape right now.

    Read The Review
  • 4/30/17 - Eagle Chase Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    The course is very green, and despite the rain last week it still had some run to it in the fairways. I love the lack of rough here, because the ball runs out a good ways but doesn't penalize you for it. The greens were a little slow, but that was probably due to the massive amount of rain from the early part of the week. The only gripe I have with the course is that the bunkers are bad. Some spots have lesser sand than others, and there are a ton of rocks/pebbles in every one. Saturday morning gets a little slow, but nothing out of control. I would recommend

    Read The Review
  • 4/17/17 - Red Bridge Golf & Country Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    This course never fails. Its in great shape and the greens are the best in the area that I have seen (although I hear Mooresville and Monroe CC are great right now too). Well worth making the trip out, and I believe its the best value golf in the area.

    Read The Review
  • 11/25/16 - Skybrook Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    I moved to the Charlotte area about two years ago, so maybe my fascination with this course is based on the fact that I didn't play it back when it was "in its prime" according to several people I have spoken to. With that said, I think this course is playing great right now. There are spots where if you miss the fairway, the rough will eat your ball up and you could lose it (we found 15 balls in the rough on 5). The greens are fast and true, and soft to hold approaches. The only knock I have is that its nearly impossible to get spin around the green because of the bent grass greens being so slick. I would recommend anyone play it right now. For the price, I don't know many in the area that are more fun to play.

    Read The Review
  • 11/6/16 - Red Bridge Golf & Country Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    I have heard alot of good stories about this course. Finally played it and can not wait to go back. The greens were amazing, multi tier and plenty of grain. If you can read these greens, you are a good putter (or play here way too much). As a long hitter, I liked having to take iron off of alot of tee boxes. Really mixed up my game. By far my favorite feature on this course was the bunkers. I dont know that Augusta has bunkers this fluffy. Its like hitting from a cloud. Absolutely can't wait to go back. This is now my favorite public course in the area.

    Read The Review
  • 10/24/16 - Carolina Lakes Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Course was playing well. When the wind picks up, this course is 5-10 shots harder. Greens were a little wet, which made approach shots easy. Can't wait to get back down there to play.

    Read The Review
  • 7/30/16 - Springfield Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    I played this course in October of 2014 (before I moved to charlotte) and haven't played it since. Man, I need to play this course more. The fairways were nice, with a few spots here or there but to be this late in the summer it was awesome to see them that taken care of. The greens were dying from Wut I'm guessing is heat and lack of water, which meant they were fast and I loved it. All of them were quicker than any other public course I've played. The pace of play was awesome. We're only got help up twice towards the end, but they had a Marshall driving around to enforce pace. Overall, I'd recommend this course to anyone looking for a reasonable price and a great track. I will be back.

    Read The Review
  • 6/5/16 - Tega Cay Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    I'll get the bad out of the way early-= pace of play was terrible, especially for an 11:00 am tee time in June. The group in front of us acted like they were on tour- the exact opposite of ready golf. No rangers or other course employees to help push them through didn't make it easier. Wasn't completely on them, as the group ahead of them spent more time searching for golf balls than they did playing golf. This course just needs a ranger to drive around enforcing pace of play. Also, the fairways could benefit from about a month straight of cart-path only. They hold water for a while and it looks like the mowers/carts have done some damage. On the positive, the greens were some of the bet I have played in the area. Held shots well and rolled quick and true. Overall,I enjoyed the round. I will enjoy getting back out there to play another round.

    Read The Review
  • 5/29/16 - Skybrook Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    Course is in great shape. Wasn't too water logged considering the amount of rain it had gotten in recent days. Only issue was the slow 4-some playing in front of us causing us to wait a while between shots. The course is great, and greens are starting to play true. Look forward to playing here more this summer.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Forum Post

Edgewater Aerating 10/4-10/5

By The B-Man on 9/29/20

Here's a note from Edgewater about aeration next week: We're working hard to keep our course in tip-top shape for you. On October 4th and 5th, the course will be undergoing aeration. Please expect recovery conditions. Check our website for reduced rates during this time!

Instagram

@charlottegolfer