Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses

MGOBLUE's Course Reviews

Recent Reviews by All Users

Review
  • 10/17/20 - Edgewater Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    Edgewater is one of my favorite course and again I really enjoyed it today. I wasn't aware that they had just aerated the greens 12 days ago and they were still very soft and not very smooth, had to repair alot of ball marks. My neighbor and I teed off at 10:30 we another twosome, great guys, and played the front 9 in ~ 2 hrs. They had only signed up for 9 so we played the back as a twosome and that 9 took 2 hrs and 40 minutes. We had a lot of holes with one group on the green, one in the fairway and two groups on the tee. We never saw the ranger on the back 9. The weather was beautiful so I really shouldn't complain. Again one of my favorite courses , cant wait for the greens to heal.

    Read The Review
  • 10/14/20 - Rocky River Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    I cannot remember the last time I played Rocky River(15 years?) but it was always a must play course. The course was in great shape in spite of all the rain we had last weekend and it was cart path only. My neighbor and I were paired with a regular golfer at Rocky River and he gave us good advice the whole round , a great guy. I love the layout , I hit the boulder on #3 !, and the views of the surrounding holes and terrain from the tee boxes were awesome. Again why hadn't I played here in that many years?! My only complaint was the pace of play. We teed off a little early to get ahead of a large group of very young golfers and we were playing at a < 4 hour pace until #9 when we caught up with a twosome that were walking. From that point forward it was at least a 5 minute wait on every tee box. We saw the ranger quite a few time and on the back 9 he commented on the slow pace but based on our 12 noon tee time he stated that we were still going to finish within their recommended time frame. We finished at 4:15 so 4 1/2 hours to play. It's definitely walkable so I'll will be back with my push cart. Again a great layout in great shape.

    Read The Review
  • 8/24/19 - Eagle Chase Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Agree with IM4DHERD's 7/7/19 review. Greens, fairways and tee boxes in great shape. With over 2 inches of rain last night some of the bunkers had casual water in them but I had no trouble getting out of two I found. Cart paths are indeed very bumpy. Played behind a very, very slow foursome which made for a 5 hour rd. One of my favorite courses.

    Read The Review
  • 8/16/19 - Tega Cay Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    I love this layout and agree that it is important to play with someone familiar with the course. It is critical on a lot of holes to be not just in the fairway but the correct side of the fairway. The greens were smooth and very fast and the fairways, tee boxes and bunkers were in great shape.

    Read The Review
  • 8/5/19 - Waterford Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    I received an email from Waterford on 7/24 that their greens had recovered from a root disease and decided to give it a try after playing it in early May posting here to stay away. The greens were in very good condition as was the rest of the course. Due to the heavy rain on Sunday the bunkers were a little firm but overall very satisfied. This is one of my favorite courses and I am so glad its back it great shape.

    Read The Review
  • 7/29/19 - Edgewater Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    One of my favorite courses and it didn't disappoint. Greens were in great shape and were very fast. Bunkers and tee boxes were in good shape as well.

    Read The Review
  • 5/5/19 - Birkdale Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    First time playing here in years and I was very pleased with the course conditions. Fairways were lush and green , greens were smooth and fast. I only played the front 9 due to weather concerns, lightening in the area. This was always one of my favorite courses in the Charlotte area and I definitely will be back and very soon.

    Read The Review
  • 5/4/19 - Waterford Golf Club

    "Bad, stay away"
    Course photo

    Let me start by saying that Waterford is one of my favorite golf courses in the Charlotte area. I have played this course several times this year and it has always been in good shape so I was shocked to see the condition of the greens and tee boxes. I am not sure what is going on with the greens but they were almost bare as were the tee boxes. Not sure if this is related to all the rain we have had in the past half year or what. The pace of play was 4 hours and 40 mins which is way too slow for me. When my threesome got to the twelth tee box there was the twosome that was ahead of us on the tee, in the fairway was a threesome and on the green was another threesome. I called the pro shop to ask for a ranger and was told no ranger was on duty that day due to only 45 golfers having signed up to play. I explained that all those 45 golfers were on the 12th hole at the same time. I had found out earlier that a tournament had been scheduled for May 4th but was canceled due to not enough golfers signing up. Maybe they saw the conditions of the greens and tee boxes? I hope the greens and tee boxes come back to their normally great condition as this is one of my favorite courses.

    Read The Review
  • 10/25/18 - Carolina Lakes Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Played in the Lancaster Chamber of Commerce Rub of the Green Golf Tournament and the course was in near perfect shape; the only issue I had was no one seemed to repair ball marks on the greens. This is one of my favorite courses in the area.

    Read The Review
  • 10/13/18 - Springfield Golf Club

    "Perfect"
    Course photo

    Last played here in April, front 9 only, and thought the front was in pretty good shape. They closed the course for almost 2 mos to replace the greens and all I can say is that it they did a fantastic job. Fairways were lush and if there were any dead spots I didn't see them. The greens were immaculate and rolled great. I was only in one bunker but it had plenty of the white stuff in it. The tee boxes would be the only area not up to the same standard as the rest of the course.

    Read The Review
  • 7/12/18 - Highland Creek Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    Played here for the first time since the fall 2016 and I was impressed by the course conditions based on past reviews. Some of the greens had bare/dead spots, but with the exception of #10(almost unplayable) and #14 , they were located mainly on the edges away from the hole. The course could use a good soaking from mother nature as fairways and tee boxes were very firm. Hopefully this is an indication that Highland Creek is on it's way back to the shape I remember in the late 90's and early 2000's.

    Read The Review
  • 5/24/18 - Emerald Lake Golf Club

    "Perfect"
    Course photo

    Played in a church tournament today which was the first time playing here since ??? Course was in fantastic shape even though they had heavy rain the night before. I had forgotten how much I had enjoyed playing here in the past. I will be back and soon.

    Read The Review
  • 5/10/18 - Skybrook Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    First time playing here since 2012. Greens and bunkers were in good shape but tee boxes and fairways were not. Number one fairway was in the worst shape of them all and had maintenance being done to it while we teed off. They appear to be making an honest effort to get it back in shape so I will be back as this was once one of my favorite courses.

    Read The Review
  • 4/21/18 - Edgewater Golf Club

    "Perfect"
    Course photo

    Love Edgewater, conditions were perfect. My only complaint was a near 5 hour rd of golf. We waited on every tee box with no ranger in sight to speed up play.

    Read The Review
  • 10/22/17 - Eagle Chase Golf Club

    "Perfect"
    Course photo

    This was my first time playing Eagle Chase, but after reading many good reviews over the years I decided to give it a try and I was not disappointed. The course conditions were near perfect,the layout was very challenging and the staff was very friendly. They even had a ranger on the course successfully keeping the pace of play at 4 hours. The drive from Ft Mill was almost 1 hour, but once you exited I-485 , the drive in the country was a great change of pace from typical highway driving in and around Charlotte. I will definitely be back.

    Read The Review
  • 11/5/16 - Highland Creek Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    Highland Creek used to be my favorite course in the Charlotte area but the last time I played there was in 2013 and the condition of the course was pretty bad. I Thought I would give it another try even after the bad September 2016 review. The course looked wide open on their website when I booked my tee time on Thursday but the front 9 took 2 1/2 hours where we waited on every hole. My threesome skipped the snack bar at the turn in hopes of getting in front of the threesome we had been playing behind but when we arrived at the 10th tee we found a foursome letting that threesome play through. I called the pro shop and they were very courteous and understanding and said the front 9 was wide open and we could play it again. We took them up on the offer and played the front 9 a second time in 2 hours and we let a single play through on #4 and ended up catching him on just about every hole after that. This course could definitely use a ranger especially on a Saturday morning. That being said I was pleasantly surprised by the course conditions. The greens were in pretty good shape except for #7 which I think has too many shade trees around it and had some bare spots and a bunker on #8 was being "worked on" . The rough was a little too deep and made finding errant shots difficult and time consuming. All in all I thought the front 9 was in good shape.

    Read The Review
  • 5/17/15 - Red Bridge Golf & Country Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    I haven't played here in almost a year but it is one of my favorite courses in the area. The greens and bunkers were in perfect condition while the fairways could definitely use some rain and TLC. They were very thin, very, very firm with mixture of yellow and green grass. I guess Ft Mill Golf Club has me spolied when it comes to course conditions.

    Read The Review
  • 7/4/13 - Harry L. Jones Sr. Golf Course

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    I haven't played Renaissance Park in awhile but it has always been one of my favorites . This course is in fantastic shape even with all the rain we have had. The greens were a little slow due to the amount of rain but very , very smooth rolling. Hole #17's green I remember being almost 50/50 grass and dirt was in great shape. My only complaint was pace of play , almost 5 hours due to a foursome who hadn't quite mastered the art of swinging and not missing on almost every shot. An employee ? came up to us on #6 in a golf cart and advised of a slow foursome ahead of us but just nodded and said "It's the Fourth of July, what are you going to do ?" I will definitely be back .

    Read The Review
  • 5/9/13 - Highland Creek Golf Club

    "Below average"
    Course photo

    The greens on the front 9 were in pretty bad shape with some almost being unplayable, especially hole # 1. The back 9 surprisingly was in pretty good shape with #18 being almost perfect. Hard to explain the difference . The course also seems to send out people on the back as we had the first tee time of the day and while making the turn we noticed a foursome on #18. This is one of our favorite tracks in the area and we hope the condition of the greens is due the weather we have had in the winter and spring.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Forum Post

Edgewater Aerating 10/4-10/5

By The B-Man on 9/29/20

Here's a note from Edgewater about aeration next week: We're working hard to keep our course in tip-top shape for you. On October 4th and 5th, the course will be undergoing aeration. Please expect recovery conditions. Check our website for reduced rates during this time!

Instagram

@charlottegolfer