Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses

metallikviper's Course Reviews

Recent Reviews by All Users

  • Location: Charlotte, NC
    Age Group: 25-34
    Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)
    Handicap: 16.0
Review
  • 8/14/16 - Highland Creek Golf Club

    "Below average"
    Course photo

    Very disappointed with the course! Every since the new management took over the course had made some great progress and different problem areas were being worked on. I've played this course the most as I really like the layout and is challenging. Unfortunately it looks like they seem to be going backwards. Greens on front were in really bad shape, covered with weeds. They weren't mowed in the while and were slow and bumpy. Tee boxes were in bad shape and more than a third of the bunkers were unplayable. Fairways and rough hadn't been moved. I didn't know if this was intentional. It was almost impossible to find your ball if you ended up in the rough. All the employees were courteous and very helpful though. Don't think I'll be coming back till I hear some better reviews. However, even though it doesn't concern this course the other courses like The Divide, Waterford and The Tradition all seem to be doing really well.

    Read The Review
  • 8/7/16 - Red Bridge Golf & Country Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    The course is in perfect shape. I really wish this course was not so far away. Tee to green the course is in great shape and the layout is very challenging. Virtually no issues to report. I would definitely recommend this course.

    Read The Review
  • 7/23/16 - The Divide Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Very impressed with the turnaround this course has made over the past couple of years. There still are some issues, but its nice to see the management is making the effort to fix it. Tee boxes needs some work and a lot of the tee boxes have been moved around to fix them. They should be good come fall. Fairways and rough were in decent shape, some a lot better than the rest. Greens were very soft and rolled true. Only downside was they left huge pitch marks. Lot of unfixed divots, but the patrons are more to blame than the course. Marshall came around a couple of times asking if we were OK with the pace of play. 4.5 hours on a weekend is not bad by any means. Water on a lot of holes and the beverage girl passed us a couple of times. Overall, very impressed with the course and management and will definitely come back and highly recommend for the price they charge. Nothing to complain about the practice range or the practice greens.

    Read The Review
  • 10/17/15 - Skybrook Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    This is probably the highest rating I've given a golf course considering the price I paid. Tee to green this course was in awesome shape. The last I played this course was over 3 years ago and the Trail had almost but killed it. I really liked the concept of their dynamic pricing where they price the slower moving tee times less than the sought after ones. Tee boxes were lush and well maintained, bunkers were raked and were in decent shape and the fairways were very evenly mowed and maintained. There was actual rough so it made the course a bit challenging. The best part about the course was the condition of the greens. There were in immaculate shape except in areas under repair and probably had the the most true roll I've seen in the area. I would definitely recommend playing here.

    Read The Review
  • 6/27/15 - Charles T. Myers Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    Course is in average shape from tee to green. Greens were very soft so had tons of divots from lazy golfers. However, they putted very true and checked up nicely. Bunkers were in poor shape with most of them being covered in water, if not they were wet. Fairways and tee boxes were in better shape, but were wet from the rain. I will come back if the rate stays below $40 for the weekend.

    Read The Review
  • 6/21/15 - Highland Creek Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    I have always like this course and its layout, very interesting and challenging. Very pleased to see that a lot of work has been done to bring this course back to what it used to be. There is still a lot of work being done and it is very encouraging. Course should be in even better condition is a couple of months. They had a storm the night before we played and the maintenance crew did a great job getting it ready. Greens in great shape, fairways were mostly good and bunkers were being worked on. Tee boxes need work like the other trail courses, but not a major issue. Good value if you have the Queen City Passport. I will be coming back for sure.

    Read The Review
  • 6/20/15 - The Tradition Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Great course, nice layout and back to being in good condition. Greens are in really good shape like all the other trail courses. Bunkers and fairways are being worked on which is a good sign. It should be in really good shape this fall if they keep up the good work. Looks like the management is working on the tee boxes the least on all the courses. This course was no exception and the tee boxes needed some work done. Good deal if you have the Queen City Passport.

    Read The Review
  • 6/14/15 - The Divide Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    I'm playing this course after almost 2 years after hearing good things about it. This course is in the best shape it has been in over 5 years. Great job by the new management. Bunker and greens have made a real turnaround. Fairways were a bit thin, but not too bad. Tee boxes definitely need some work. Good value if you have the Queen City Passport card.

    Read The Review
  • 6/12/15 - Regent Park Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Almost perfect conditions. Fairways, bunkers and greens are in great shape. Greens are really soft being they are Bent greens. Lots of divot marks from lazy golfers. Tee boxes need some help, but otherwise the course is in great shape and is a really good value. Only problem is the pace of play on the weekends. They really need to do a better job getting the marshal to speed things up.

    Read The Review
  • 6/7/15 - Emerald Lake Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Course is in better shape than it usually is. Bunkers were in really good shape and the greens were soft and rolling nicely. $50 is just right if you get it on Clickitgolf, other wise its too expensive.

    Read The Review
  • 5/30/15 - Waterford Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    Greens are in great shape and putting well. Tee boxes need a lot of work as most are barren. Overall a good experience and worth the $40 if you have a Queen City Passport for the New Trail courses.

    Read The Review
  • 5/16/15 - Harry L. Jones Sr. Golf Course

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    The course was playing like it always does. Like a better than average public course and should charge no more than $40 for the weekend. Most of the tee boxes were barren or tore up. Some of the bunkers were in bad shape. Fairways were mostly in good shape, but like always the greens are in great shape.

    Read The Review
  • 5/10/15 - Carolina Lakes Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    AS usual the course is in good shape. Greens were recently punched/aerated so we expected the putting to be rough. Surprising they did not reduce the price and even the $54 was a 4-some coupon on clickit. Fairways and greens are very firm and roll forever. Bunkers were in great shape as always.

    Read The Review
  • 3/15/15 - Regent Park Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    First round of the new season and I was happy with my round. The new driving range is coming along nicely. Still using old beat up balls though. Fairways were mostly yellow and a bit wet from the recent rains. Tee boxes were in decent shape, but could use some work. Greens were in phenomenal shape, and almost all putts rolled true. We had a really slow foursome in front of us and the marshal did nothing to speed things up. We played the front nine just over 3 hours and after we passed them on the clubhouse we finished our round in 2 hours. PS: Green on #5 has a very inappropriate drawing of almost 10 ft, probably made by some local kids using round up. Green on #4 has a huge gouge running down the center of the green.

    Read The Review
  • 9/13/14 - The Tradition Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Finally played here after 1.5 years and I'm amazed how much a new ownership changes a course. The last time I came here, I decided never to play a Trail course again. I really like what the new management is doing with the trail courses. Tee boxes, fairways and greens are in excellent shape. Some greens needed help and lots of fresh sod around the fairways. There was a downpour the morning before we played so the bunkers were soaked with standing water in many of them. All in all, great improvements around the course and I will definitely recommend playing here.

    Read The Review
  • 9/1/14 - Chester Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    First time playing this course. This course has a very nice layout and an old school golf course feel. Everything about this course was normal. Tee boxes were well kept, bunkers raked and greens were also good. I think they were about to aerate the greens and had left them a bit hairy. $47 was a bit steep in my opinion, but I would play here again.

    Read The Review
  • 8/31/14 - Tega Cay Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Closest course to home and I play it a lot. This course gets a lot of play and they always have this course in great shape. Played the Cove 9 a few weeks ago and it was a great deal for $14 on a weekday. I just hate the location of the driving range as the sun is right in your face in the mornings and the right side of the 10th fairway always has stray balls making it hard to find your ball. Overall, a great course and reasonably priced.

    Read The Review
  • 8/3/14 - Lancaster Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    First time playing this course and I was impressed. It has a very nice layout. The course was a bit wet from the rain and the bunkers were packed and almost impossible to get out of. Other than that the greens are in great shape and the fairways are well mowed. There were a lot of weeds in the roughs, but since they were mowed down I didn't care. There were a lot of fire ant mounds along the cart path and I stepped in one. Luckily it was on the 18th green and I could play barefoot from there. If it wasn't as long as a drive, I'd play it more often.

    Read The Review
  • 8/3/14 - Lancaster Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    First time playing this course due to the distance. I was very impressed with the course and all the Springs courses are always in great shape. It has a very nice layout and is fairly challenging. There were no significant issues on this course from tee to green. Only problem I had was that I stepped on a fire ant mound getting of the cart on the 18th green. Luckily it was the 18 green and I finished playing barefoot. If it wasn't so far away I would play it more often.

    Read The Review
  • 7/26/14 - Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Other than the greens being bumpy (were punched a few weeks back) there was nothing wrong with this course. We had a slow golfer in our group and we were happy to see the marshal push us. I wish more courses did this. Playing a round of golf in a reasonable amount of time is very enjoyable.

    Read The Review
  • 6/15/14 - Monroe Country Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    This is probably the best value golf course out there. For $38 on the weekend this course is in excellent shape. It has a very nice old school course layout. The greens are rolling smooth and the fairways are in good shape. Didn't get in any bunkers, but they looked to be in good shape. Also, I was really happy with the 4 hour round of golf, which is real treat on the weekends. I wish their driving range wasn't so far away and you can't go wrong with $2 domestics. I would highly recommend playing here if you can make the drive.

    Read The Review
  • 6/7/14 - Harry L. Jones Sr. Golf Course

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    The course is playing well from tee to green. The greens are in great shape and so are the fairways. The tee boxes and bunkers could definitely use some help. What they really need to work on is the pace of play on the weekends. Over 5 hours will really drive people away from golf.

    Read The Review
  • 5/26/14 - Regent Park Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    This is probably the closest course to me so I play here a lot in spite of it being a bit pricey. The course is in great shape most of the year. Greens are very well maintained, fairways mowed evenly and bunker raked well. The new driving range is coming along nicely. Everything seems perfect expect for the pace of play. This is the 4th time in row that I have played a round over 5.5 hours. We teed off as a twosome and played the first five holes in 20 mins and then when we caught up on the 6th hole, we played the rest of the course over 5 hours. It took us 25 mins to play Hole#6. The beverage girl came around twice on the same hole. When we asked the marshal he said there are no gaps and its just a slow day. If they don't figure out how to speed up, they are going to lose golfers.

    Read The Review
  • 5/17/14 - Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    First time playing this course and I was not disappointed. However, I was very disappointed with my score on a great course. The greens are probably the best in town. The tee boxes and the bunkers could use some help. The only reason I did not give it a 5* was due to the pace of play. I would definitely like to go back there. The marshals could have sped it up a bit.

    Read The Review
  • 5/10/14 - Edgewater Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Second time playing this course and I was not disappointed with the reviews. The greens are probably the best around Charlotte. The fairways could definitely use some help. There were weeds and barren patches on most fairways. Didn't affect play all that much. The bunker were very wet from the rain a couple of days ago. IF this course wasn't so far from Charlotte I would definitely play it more often.

    Read The Review
  • 4/26/14 - Harry L. Jones Sr. Golf Course

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    Course is looking really good in the spring. Tee boxes could you some work and some bunkers were unraked. The fairways are getting slicker and the ball seems to roll forever. I was playing approach shots out of places I've never been before. Only big problem I had was the pace of play. I can understand a 4.5-5 hr round on a weekend morning, but having to wait on every shot is just painful. This is the second time this has happened where we've gone over 5 hrs.

    Read The Review
  • 3/22/14 - Red Bridge Golf & Country Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    It had almost been a year since I played this course and it is nice to see that they are maintaining it well. Driving range, putting green and chipping area are all in great condition. Looking at all the great reviews I was expecting a pristine course, so I was slightly disappointed. Tee boxes on par threes were a little chewed up and could use some seeding. Fairways were all yellow which is expected at this time of the year. The greens definitely needed to be mowed as they were very hairy and it looks like they had just sprayed them green. The course should play nicely in the summer.

    Read The Review
  • 3/15/14 - Regent Park Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Everything looks to be in good shape, tee to green. This course is going to be great in the spring and summer. Driving range is coming along nicely, though I wish they get new balls soon. Fairways were dried up which was expected. What was very unusual was that the green were very firm. Very few balls checked up, as usually they stop if not spin back a bit. I wish more people would take the time to rake bunkers. Only problem I had was the pace of play. We had a 4-some in front who were hitting almost 2 balls of every tee. We waited on them on almost every hole.

    Read The Review
  • 3/2/14 - Harry L. Jones Sr. Golf Course

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    Everything looks good for this time of the year. The course was a little wet from all the rain so muddy conditions were expected. The roughs need to be trimmed a bit and some of the tee boxes were chewed up. Green were firm and fast. Should be good for the golf season.

    Read The Review
  • 8/24/13 - Highland Creek Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    I was very surprised after I was done playing this course. I was expecting it to be in worse shape based on what the reviews have described. Just to put things in perspective we purchased the $100 for 6 rounds at the trail, so I wasn't expecting much for $17/round. Yes, the course has severe issues. Almost every bunker is washed out and has bushes growing in it. Greens were fairly decent, but seemed to have a lot of Poa annua. At least they were mowed to the same height. I guess people have just stopped fixing divots. Roughs needed a good mow and the tee boxes were a bit hairy. However, fairways were in much better shape than I can remember. Driving range seemed to be in good shape, but the balls definitely need replacing. The beverage girl made her rounds about every 5 holes and so did the Marshals. This course has great potential and I really like the layout of this course.

    Read The Review
  • 6/22/13 - Larkin Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    About as perfect a course you can find for less than $40 for weekend golf. Tee to green this course is in amazing shape. Greens were in really good shape considering the time of the year. I had to make an adjustment as even my long irons were backing up. Only reason I gave it 4.5* was because of the bunkers. Some of the bunkers were not maintained, it could have been from the rain too. The beverage cart passed us 3-4 times after 10AM. We saw a Marshall about every other hole. The driving range is very well maintained and about 70% of their balls are new Nike Practice balls. If it wasn't an hour drive, I would be playing this course at least 2-3 times a month. Also, can't beat a $5 hot dog & beer combo at the turn.

    Read The Review
  • 6/15/13 - Regent Park Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Green are in good shape for this time of the year as the heat is starting to pick up. They were watering the greens on some of the holes while we were playing trying to keep it green. Noticed a lot of unfixed divots. Tee boxes and fairways are in great condition. Looks like the heavy downpour from the past few weeks has taken a heavy toll on the bunkers. Practice range still closed as they are making renovations, but please put a sign up that says so. We came in an hour early to hit balls only to wait. I would have given this course 5* if it wasn't for the pace of play. I'm not a good golfer so I'm not judging, but 5 hours is inexcusable. We had to wait on every hole for the group in front and we played as a 4-some. They need to speed up the play at this course. I think the USGA is doing the right thing with their pace of play campaign.

    Read The Review
  • 6/1/13 - Regent Park Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    The course is in great shape tee to green. Green were rolling true and very few divot marks. Tee boxes and bunkers were in good shape. The fairways seemed a bit thin and hard considering that we haven't seen a lot a of heat. I have always liked this course and it is very close to where I live. But, I was very disappointed with their service on Saturday. We had a 12:04 tee time and did not finish till 5:40. They had 2 groups that were playing in 5s and slowing everyone behind them. Once of them was in jeans and hiking boots. When we asked the Marshal if he could do something about it, he just said he is not authorized to make a call. I'll give them another chance, but wasn't impressed.

    Read The Review
  • 5/25/13 - Harry L. Jones Sr. Golf Course

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Course is in good shape and the greens were in great shape. Tee boxes and bunkers could use some help. Fairways were very thin, but that did help me get my driving average up. I think it is playing about as much as you're paying for it.

    Read The Review
  • 5/11/13 - Monroe Country Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    I really like this course and its layout. I would play here more if it wasn't so far away. Greens were beautiful, tee boxes lush and fairways were green. The roughs could use a bit of trimming however. Definitely worth the $37 clickit is charging.

    Read The Review
  • 4/27/13 - Charlotte Golf Links

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Never really cared for links style golf courses, but this one isn't so bad. Greens seemed a bit brown, but were rolling true. Tee boxes, fairways and bunkers were all in good shape. Definitely worth the $35 clickit was charging for it. I really wish they'd put up a dividing net between the practice range and 1st fairway. If you hit a drive left, you're pretty much hunting for about 10 mins.

    Read The Review
  • 3/29/13 - Rocky River Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    This was my first time playing this course. About everything was perfect tee to green. The greens have softened up well after they were changed last year. Only reason I gave it 4* was because we had not wait for atleast 40 mins to tee off and we had a 8:30 tee time. I would golf there more often if it wasn't such a long drive and it can get pricey on weekends.

    Read The Review
  • 10/20/12 - Monroe Country Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    First time playing this course. Played here on Saturday for a best ball tournament hosted by a friends company. The course is in great shape. Tee boxes and bunkers were well maintained. Fairways and greens were perfect. The fairways were almost country club like. The greens were mini-verde and didn't seem to leave divots so were in good condition. If the drive wasn't so long I would be playing here more often. I highly recommend this course even if the drive is long. Clickit is running a $37 weekend coupon which is a real value.

    Read The Review
  • 9/29/12 - Birkdale Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Probably the best kept course on the Carolina Trail. I really hope they don't go south. The layout is very interesting and the course plays challenging from the back tees. Greens were in decent shape considering the fact that they were Bent. #10 had some serious issues on the greens, but the rest were OK. Bunkers were spotty, some were decent and some were nothing more than just holes filled with stones. I would come back if they kept up the course as it is.

    Read The Review
  • 9/22/12 - Waterford Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Course still in good shape. Everything is at average or better. Greens are in great shape, a little tricky to putt on. Great course for an awesome price.

    Read The Review
  • 9/3/12 - The Divide Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    I really like this course for its layout and really wish The Trail would bring it back to where it belongs. It looks like the work they have put into some of the places is paying off, but they still have plenty of issues. About 10% bunkers have real sand in them. Fairways, tee boxes and roughs seem to be doing OK. Greens were very disappointing. Couple of the greens were almost bald and diseased. Its just about OK for the price you pay.

    Read The Review
  • 8/31/12 - Larkin Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Second time playing this course and still loving it. If this course was within 5 miles of where I live I would at least play here every other week. This is one of the few courses that does not have the mini-verde greens and is still in good shape. Tee boxes, bunkers and fairways were all in good shape. For the money it is totally worth playing this course.

    Read The Review
  • 8/21/12 - Springfield Golf Club

    "Perfect"
    Course photo

    This is the first time I've ever given a course a 5* rating. Everything is perfect from tee to green. Sand in bunkers was fluffy almost to point where I was wishing to end up in there. I just wish they didn't have the Mini Verde greens, but looks like that is the only kinda grass that will hold up to this heat and golfer abuse (unfixed divots). They must be spending a lot of money keeping this course up to snuff and its paying off. $65 is still a bit too steep for a weekend round of golf but worth it if you care about course condition and quality of greens. I highly recommend this course.

    Read The Review
  • 8/18/12 - Waterford Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    Waterford could not have a made a smarter decision than when they decided to switch the greens to Mini Verde. These greens hold up well to the summer heat and almost always never leave divots. Reading putts is a little tricky and trying to check up on the high irons is almost impossible for the higher handicappers. But, course was in good shape and is definitely worth playing for how much they are charging.

    Read The Review
  • 8/11/12 - Highland Creek Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    This course was in better shape than what I expected. I would say it was priced just right for the course conditions. Tee Boxes and fairways were in great shape and that was about the only good thing with this course. Greens on the front 9 were almost diseased, heavy poa anna and the unfixed divot marks tearing up these greens. Could not play out of a single bunker. Most of them didn't even have any sand left in there. If you're looking for a cheap round of golf and don't expect good condition I would suggest this course.

    Read The Review
  • 8/4/12 - Carolina Lakes Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    First time playing this course and it was in great shape tee to green. Fairways were very well maintained, greens almost perfect and sand in bunkers was well raked. Some rain from the night before packed the sand a bit but that was expected. I will definitely play here again. Only reason I gave it 4* was because of the duration of the round which was about 5 hrs 15 mins.

    Read The Review
  • 7/14/12 - Harry L. Jones Sr. Golf Course

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    This is the third time I have played this course this year. This is the closest course to where I live, but the course conditions are usually bad. I was very impressed with the conditions for the third time. The driving range which I used for the first time was very well maintained. Some of the tee boxes could use help. The greens were amazing considering the recent heat wave we've had. I would definitely recommend this course and for $40 I think it a priced just right.

    Read The Review
  • 7/5/12 - Waterford Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    Course is in good shape. The new greens were a really smart decision as they are holding the summer heat really well. Tee boxes and fairways could use some help and the roughs looked a bit high. Sand in bunkers was spotty with some having good sand and some just seemed to have pebbles and rocks. For $30 its a really good deal.

    Read The Review
  • 6/23/12 - Red Bridge Golf & Country Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Probably Charlotte's best maintained course. Tee boxes, fairways, greens, bunkers almost perfect. I really like the layout of this course as it challenges you to play the smarter stroke. Some are long, some risk-reward and some just blind. If it wasn't a 50 min drive, I would be here at-least once a month.

    Read The Review
  • 5/12/12 - Charlotte Golf Links

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    I've never liked Links style courses as they always seem to challenge me. Course overall was in good shape. Greens were in great condition. I was amazed at the number of golfers showing up at this course. Bunkers really need some work. Fairways and roughs were mowed to a good height and were in decent shape. Heard they are shutting the place down in July to replace the greens. So go ahead and enjoy it while it is still in good condition. Overall grade would be a "B".

    Read The Review
  • 5/5/12 - Highland Creek Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    Last time I played this course was about 2 years ago and I decided to never play it again. Now that we got theCcarolina trail deal we had to play this course. I'm surprised to say I was impressed. Last time around the greens were absolutely horrendous, but they have obviously taken care of that issue and probably some of best greens around. Tons of divot marks from lazy people obviously not caring about others. Fairways however could use some help and weed killer. There was no sand in bunkers on the few holes just a collection of mud and pebbles. I really like the layout of the this course and it can very challenging. I wish they would put more effort into this course and bring it back. Doesn't looks like the greens are going to survive the summer. Play it now while it lasts.

    Read The Review
  • 4/7/12 - The Divide Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    I really like the layout of this course and have played it 4 times in the last 3 years. Right now, this course is the best it has been in 3 years. However they still have a couple of issues that needs to be fixed. Tee boxes and bunkers need some help. Fairways are in good shape and the roughs are cut to a decent height. Greens were a little disappointing, but have come a long way. Greens seemed to be a mixture of multiple grasses and putting was rough. More than a couple putts bounced around before starting to roll. We had a slow 4-some in front of us and we almost had to wait on every hole. However, 4.5 hours on beautiful Saturday is acceptable. I hope this course holds the summer heat.

    Read The Review
  • 3/10/12 - Regent Park Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    Overall the course was in good shape for this time of the year. It was really annoying however to play a round almost over 5 hrs. Granted it was a Saturday and warm, but waiting at every hole gets pretty irritating. Did not a see a marshal the entire round. Fairways were all dead which is expected this time of the year. Greens were in good shape except for a few. Looks like they were aerated last week. Sand in bunkers is always in good shape. Pin locations seemed like we were playing at Augusta on Sunday. Most of the tee boxes were in good condition and looked like they had been over-seeded.

    Read The Review
  • 1/7/12 - The Tradition Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    First time playing this course and I wasn't disappointed. Course seemed to be in good shape for this time of the year. Tee Boxes and greens were in excellent shape. Fairways are basically dormant for this time of the year, which makes finding the ball a bit difficult. Roughs chewed up a few of our balls today. Only gripe about the course were the bunkers. Atleast 5-7 of the bunkers had stagnant water. Very few bunker had real sand. Also, did not appreciate the 5 hr pace.

    Read The Review
  • 11/25/11 - Tega Cay Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Course is in decent shape considering the time of the year. Fairways definitely look worn and the tee boxes had a bunch of bare spots and both could use some repair. Roughs were cut a bit high and its easy to lose balls especially since they are all dried out. Greens however were in great shape. Only drawback was that they were cut short and putting was very fast. Overall I would rate it a B+ and would recommend.

    Read The Review
  • 11/21/11 - Waterford Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    Course is in good shape. The over-seeding on the tee boxes have helped as they were in dire need of repair. Fairway are showing signs of fall wear, but not too bad. I really like the new Mini-Verde greens as they don't mark up easy. But they are also very hard and you're lucky to stop any balls. Putting was really hard as the greens were cut down to almost nothing. It took us a good 9 holes to adjust to the speed. For the most part it felt like putting on glass. Pace of play wasn't too bad.

    Read The Review
  • 10/1/11 - Waterford Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Green were great. For some off reason we could never leave any pitch marks, but the ball still checked up pretty good. Tee boxes need some work and so do the fairways. Pin placement was tricky on more than a few holes. Marshals driving around the course course the whole day and everything seemed to be going smooth. I wish the roughs were not as rough as I did lose a couple of balls in the high rough. Definitely one of the best greens in the area.

    Read The Review
  • 9/24/11 - Stonebridge Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    Overall the course was in good shape and has held the summer heat well. Tee Boxes need some work. Fairways and roughs were cut to a good length. The sand in bunkers was a bit inconsistent. Some of the greens need help, but most greens rolled true. Definitely worth the $36 we paid. Really wish they had more Marshals on the course. I usually don't complain unless something really bothers me, but what I saw on Saturday was ridiculous. Right about at the 12 hole, 2 groups of 3 started playing as a 6-some. We almost had to wait 7-10 minutes on every hole. One of them even had a boom box which was playing music really loud. They wouldn't even let us play through. So, my friend calls the club house by the 15th hole to complain hoping they would do something and the marshal comes out and says we don't usually allow this kind of behavior and just drives away. They let them play 2 more holes and finally splits them up on the 18th!!! Instead of having guys picking up our clubs and cleaning them I would have much rather appreciated they stop this kind of foolery.

    Read The Review
  • 9/17/11 - Birkdale Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Course is in great shape for this time of year. It was nice to play in 60* weather for a change. Greens are well maintained and were cut a bit fast. Roughs were cut a tad bit high. Staff was very friendly, but would have appreciated the marshals to push some of the slower moving groups. I guess 4.5-5 hrs is expected on weekends.

    Read The Review
  • 8/26/11 - Fort Mill Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Course was absolutely perfect. Tee boxes in great shape, roughs cut to a good height, fairways were well maintained and the greens were immaculate. These new greens have really held up well for the summer and show absolutely no signs of abuse. Sand in bunkers was well raked. Only problem we encountered was that we were stuck behind to groups of walkers and neither would let us play through. Nothing against walkers, but if you're a >25 handicap you have no business walking. We had to skip 2 holes to get past them. The $17 walker rate probably drew them all in. We saw plenty of marshals but neither of them seemed to bother. Twilight rate of $35 is still a good rate.

    Read The Review
  • 7/30/11 - Eagle Chase Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    Course was in decent shape for this time of the year. Fairways were green with very few issues considering the recent heat. Greens had some issues with weeds and plenty of unfixed ball marks. Had a really hard time getting the right read on the greens. Sand in bunkers was very inconsistent and one them had pebbles and rocks. Cart paths were really bad. I doubt if I'll be going back especially considering how far it is for me. Time to play 18 was great with no one really holding us up.

    Read The Review
  • 7/23/11 - Red Bridge Golf & Country Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Pretty much a perfect course. Tee boxes great, fairways well manicured and greens almost perfect. Sand in bunkers wasn't as fluffy as you'd expect, but still a lot better than others. Only thing that bothered us was the 5 hour round. We had a 3-some in front of us who were held up by a slower 4-some and would have really appreciated if the marshal had asked them to move it along. If it wasn't so far away from Charlotte I would play it more often.

    Read The Review
  • 7/15/11 - Regent Park Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    Course is in great shape. Tee boxes need some repair, fairways are near perfect and the sand in bunkers is probably the best in town. Greens are really showing signs of abuse and harsh weather. Balls marks everywhere and some of the greens have a bunch of dead patches, almost looks diseased. Pace of play was decent with no waiting. They probably have the best twilight deal and so close to the city.

    Read The Review
  • 6/25/11 - Charlotte Golf Links

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    I have never liked this course because of the layout. If you hit an errant shot you wind up in the high grass and its gone. But, the course is in great shape. Greens rolled true and have been taken care of except for some idiots who don't fix their divots. Fairways were green and showed little wear. Tee boxes could use some help as most looked like they had taken a severe beating. I would recommend this course.

    Read The Review
  • 6/18/11 - Waterford Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    We were the first group out on Saturday so did not have to worry about the pace of play. Nobody was pushing us so we played comfortably under 4 hours. Greens look like they were aerated a couple of weeks ago and were a bit bumpy. Also as the dew dried up it changed the pace of the greens through the holes. Also I did not find the greens had an even speed, maybe I was just putting bad. Roughs were cut a little high so errant tee shots were punished. Overall I enjoyed the round and for $32 it was a real bargain. Not sure why the Links courses got rid of the GPSs on their carts. It would be really nice if they put the course layouts on either the cards or by the tee box.

    Read The Review
  • 6/10/11 - Regent Park Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Course is in near perfect condition. We played it on Friday after work and used the twilight special of $30. I would be happy to even pay $50 for this course as it is in great condition. Fairways, tee boxes and rough were in great shape except for a few barren spots. Sand in bunkers were even and soft as I ending up being in almost everyone of them that day. Greens probably had the truest roll I've seen around Charlotte. Will definitely be coming back if they keep it up.

    Read The Review
  • 6/5/11 - Skybrook Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Almost a perfect course. We got the $39 special because the green were aerated, but it still wasn't too bad. Tee Boxes and fairways were in great shape. Roughs were cut a bit high but still in great shape. Looks like Skybrook took the advise of reviewers and sped up the pace of play. We passed about 5-6 marshals during our round. Even with a stop at the club house for food and drinks we still finished in under 4 hours. $62 might be a little steep for me, but it is definitely worth it.

    Read The Review
  • 5/21/11 - Tega Cay Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    We played the Pines and Grand View for our 18 and heard that the Cove is under repair. Greens were in good shape except for the usual divot marks. Tee boxes could use some work. Other than that course was great and played quick. Saw a couple of marshals who helped speed it up. This course should be in good shape throughout the summer.

    Read The Review
  • 5/14/11 - Eagle Chase Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Almost a perfect course. Fairways were very well maintained and greens were in great shape. As per previous review, the cart paths were really bumpy and in terrible shape. They have a decent driving range, chipping area and practice putting green. If it wasn't so far (more than 1hour drive) it would be one of my go to courses. For $37 its a great deal.

    Read The Review
  • 4/22/11 - Red Bridge Golf & Country Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Really enjoy this course every time I've played here even though this time we were rained out. Its an hour drive but worth it. Fairways were in great shape. They really don't have a lot of roughs, just woods and high grass. Greens were in great shape, some had unevenly cut grass, but nothing that can't be fixed. This course has a little to offer to everyone. Will definitely go back there again this year.

    Read The Review
  • 4/8/11 - Springfield Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Course is in great shape. Except for a few holes the greens were good. Fairways still not fully green but should be in good shape for the summer. Played on a Friday and almost took us 4.5 hours. No marshal to move the slow group in front. Would really recommend they add a net on the side of the driving range, cos if you hit a drive to the left on the Hole 1 you'll take forever to find it.

    Read The Review
  • 11/13/10 - The Divide Golf Club

    "Average"
    Course photo

    The last time we played this course it was in August and it was for only $29, so it was worth it. Back then the greens were in bad shape and the fairways badly beat up. Now it was $45 so we assumed it would be in better shape, but seemed to be about the same. Some of the greens were in bad shape and in need of repair. Fairways were tore up and needed work. Worst part about this course were the roughs. Cut high and had turned yellow so it was virtually impossible to find your ball if you strayed away from the fairways. We lost about 6 balls that should have been found. This is a great course in terms of layout and I really hope they get it back in shape for next season.

    Read The Review
  • 11/5/10 - Fort Mill Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    Greens were in great shape after being redone. Very few divots. Fairways needed some work but still definitely very playable. For $35 (after 12PM) it was very well worth it. For $40 (after 12PM) on weekends it's certainly a bargain. Should be in good shape through fall and winter.

    Read The Review
  • 10/23/10 - Emerald Lake Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Course was in good shape. Green were well maintained and bunkers raked. Most green had a good even roll with few divot marks. Fairways were in good condition with a little wear from the summer and roughs were cut to a good height. It took us almost 5 hours to get done. I think it was a little expensive for $50, but will definitely go back there again next season.

    Read The Review
  • 9/25/10 - Larkhaven Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    One of the few Charlotte courses that is still in good shape and not taken a hard beating from the heat. Greens were in good shape and well maintained, however they were hard and it was tough to keep the ball on the green on approach shots. Fairways look to have some wear from heat and play. Two of the holes were shortened. Hole 9 which is beautiful Par 3 over the pond was converted to a 90 yd chip shot. Could not drive on most fairways and some roughs, had to walk. Is-spite of having marshals driving around it still took us 5 hours to get through the round.

    Read The Review
  • 9/19/10 - Stonebridge Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Almost a perfect course. Made the drive from Charlotte worth it. Greens were very well maintained, fairways showed very little wear and the rough was cut the perfect length. Course played on the easier side, but still had a few challenging holes. Except for a really slow 2-some we should have been done in 4 hours, but would have appreciated a ranger to come by and ask them to speed it up.

    Read The Review
  • 9/11/10 - Larkin Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Beautiful course. Not overly challenging. Have to lay-up on a couple of holes to avoid hazards. It's a bit far from South Charlotte, but for $29 it was definitely worth it. Greens were in great shape and the fairways were very well maintained. Most homes were not too close to the fairways. Only problem we encountered was both our carts ran out of juice by the 17th hole. Will definitely recommend.

    Read The Review
  • 8/21/10 - Edgewater Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    A bit of a haul from Charlotte, but definitely worth the drive. A bit of a challenge for a high handicapper (player the gold tees). Except for a couple of holes most green and fairways were in good shape. Tree-lined most of the way so have to play target golf. Greens were soft and had a good roll. Will recommend.

    Read The Review
  • 7/31/10 - Red Bridge Golf & Country Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    Probably one of the best courses around Charlotte. For $29 it was definitely a steal and well worth driving. Greens were in great shape and unlike most of the other courses they handled the heat very well. Fairways and bunkers are very well maintained. The rough was cut just enough to find the ball. Good and challenging course for someone with a low handicap. Its a new course and they are working on making the course better. Will definitely play this course again.

    Read The Review
  • 7/23/10 - Charles T. Myers Golf Club

    "Average"
    Course photo

    For $22 it was a good bargain. Most greens were in bad shape and fairways had little grass. Atleast the greens very easy to putt when they were good. Sand bunkers were in miserable shape and most had stagnant water in them to the point where you almost needed a relief on each one. Will go back if they fix some major issues and as long as it stays under $30.

    Read The Review
  • 7/2/10 - Highland Creek Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    Used the summer special $109 for 4 play. For $27.50 a person it was a good deal. Some of the greens had weeds and were poorly maintained. Apart from the heat taking its toll (like on most courses) it was a good course. Fairways were beat up in some places. Hopefully it will get back up in shape.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Forum Post

Red Bridge

By IM4DHERD on 8/27/21

Anyone been out to Red Bridge lately? Heard they about lost their greens a while back?

Instagram

@charlottegolfer