Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses

DrSchteeve's Review of Eagle Chase Golf Club on 10/17/12

Recent Reviews for All Courses
All Reviews for This Course

  • Eagle Chase Golf Club

    Course photo
    Date: 10/17/12 Wed Afternoon
    Overall Rating:

    "Great course"
    Conditions: Good - normal wear/tear
    Pace: 3 1/2 Hours Cost: $26
    Username: DrSchteeve
    Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)
    Handicap: 8.0
    Today's Score: 88
    See All Reviews by this user

    Eagle Chase is OPEN! OK, let's be clear. Eagle Chase is not: upscale. No cart girls. No ranger. Modest clubhouse. Conditions will never be great unless or until they redo the greens, repair the cart paths, and maybe redo the bunkers. Eagle Chase is: a great layout, nice people in the clubhouse, inexpensive. The greens are back to very playable - not perfect, still some rough spots, but not bad. The fairways are great, the traps OK, the rough difficult but fair. The course will be back in our rotation, although granted there is a lot of competition this time of year.

    DrSchteeve at 11/18/12 4:54pm – Now exactly a month later, and sad to say many of the greens are again in poor condition. Impossible to recommend playing here when Red Bridge, Rocky River, Old Sycamore, and Charlotte National all have perfect greens.
    izzyf150 at 10/20/12 12:56am – Ok, I can go along with that. There are no rules here on how we grade golf courses. I hate long drives to courses but I do it to play somewhere good. I talk to the guy in the club house but just long enough to get my receit. I might talk about alot of things in my posts but I personally dont start rating a course until Im in the cart on the way to the first tee. The guy in the club house isnt golfing with me, the drive to the course has long been forgot about and even more so when conditions on the course are nice.
    DrSchteeve at 10/19/12 9:15pm – 1) the Eagle Chase layout is great, one of Tom Jackson's best, as good or better than Olde Sycamore, 2) the clubhouse experience is night and day with Fox Den - warm and friendly vs. cold and ascerbic, 3) it is a beautiful drive, through wonderful NC fields and farms, 4) I agree that Fox Den and Eagle Chase are very different - the conditions at Fox Den much better, the clubhouse experience and the course layout at Eagle Chase much better
    Wulfpack at 10/19/12 7:39pm – I played here 2 weeks ago and I must say I am just not a fan. Some of the greens were bad. A lot of debris on the course. A couple of guys in front of me in jeans trying to learn the game, and no ranger in sight. And the cart-paths are an absolute nightmare. I understand it is a good value, but make no mistake it is a haul out there. Not only that but they were doing construction on a bridge out there in the boonies and I couldn't get through. Added yet another 20 minutes to my trip. Takes me an hour to get out there. Sorry, but just not worth it. Plenty of other options.
    izzyf150 at 10/19/12 1:00am – Im not trying to be mean spirited here but maybe it might be seen that way. Eagle Chase is cheaper and I know you had an issue with Fox Dens false advertisment on prices. You give Eagle Chase 4 stars the same as yod did Fox Den???? There's no way Eagle Chase and Fox Den are equals, not even close.





Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Forum Post

doug_riley@bellsouth.net

By IM4DHERD on 8/27/21

Anyone been out to Red Bridge lately? Heard they about lost their greens a while back?

Instagram

@charlottegolfer