Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses

DrSchteeve's Review of Olde Sycamore Golf Plantation on 8/17/12

Recent Reviews for All Courses
All Reviews for This Course

  • Olde Sycamore Golf Plantation

    Course photo
    Date: 8/17/12 Fri Afternoon
    Overall Rating:

    "Below average"
    Conditions: Poor - significant issues
    Pace: 4 Hours Cost: $30
    Username: DrSchteeve
    Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)
    Handicap: 8.0
    Today's Score: 92
    See All Reviews by this user

    Greens were terrible - no grass in many places, recently punched but it wasn't the punching that was the problem, it was the bare spots and, quite frankly, bare greens. They may come back in weeks to months, but right now they are next to unplayable. The rest of the course conditions were fair. Fairways and rough ware ok, traps were very inconsistent - some had very little sand and were hard packed, some had fluffy white sand, and on one I hit down and struck the padding or whatever it was that presumably makes up the base of the trap.

    DrSchteeve at 8/31/12 7:11pm – See review by malamute 8/30/12. I stand by my assessment of the greens - rolled mud that putts true isn't a good green.
    Wulfpack at 8/18/12 3:00pm – I played it this morning and had a blast. Got a lot of rain last night so course was soft and carts on path only for first 7 holes. Greens aren't the best but better than most. Holding shots nicely. A lot of ball marks. Rest of the course seemed to be in excellent condition. Still one of my favorite tracks.
    Hereitis at 8/17/12 10:00pm – unplayable greens? this guy is a hater good lord its mainy people who cant fix divots but the greens are very soft because they over water which does contribute to the problem but the greens are not unplayable not as inconsistent as the other courses in the area
    estanwick at 8/17/12 8:38pm – Dr Schteeve, I've got to disagree. I played today there also and the greens were better than you say. I believe they rolled true considering the punch. Yes, they had some edge bare issues but they were in fair shape. I would rate it a "B/B-".





Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Forum Post

doug_riley@bellsouth.net

By IM4DHERD on 8/27/21

Anyone been out to Red Bridge lately? Heard they about lost their greens a while back?

Instagram

@charlottegolfer