Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses

esb's Review of Red Bridge Golf & Country Club on 6/27/11

Recent Reviews for All Courses
All Reviews for This Course

  • Red Bridge Golf & Country Club

    Course photo
    Date: 6/27/11 Mon Afternoon
    Overall Rating:

    "Worth playing"
    Conditions: Good - normal wear/tear
    Pace: 5 Hours Cost: $30
    Username: esb
    See All Reviews by this user

    This course has undergone some major improvements over the past 10 weeks. Greens were excellent. Fairways were decent, especially considering that they were barren 10 weeks ago. Tee boxes and sand traps again were excellent. OVERALL GRADE: An excellent and VERY difficult test of golf skills. It's pretty easy to make a big # on many of these holes, as my 14 dogfight points and 100 score proved. My only gripe was the pace of play and the ranger on duty. Our foursome was held up on every hole on the front nine by a three some playing very slowly in front of us....not a big deal except for the "rednecks" that hit into us from behind on 6 of the 9 holes on the front nine. After hitting into us on the 8th hole once again, the rednecks caught our group as we waited to tee off on #9. We had previously advised the ranger of the problem and he assured us that he would take action. The ranger on duty was often seen, but did nothing of significance to earn his pay. Upon catching us on #9, he rednecks offered no appologies for consistently hitting into our group and actually became confrontational when one member of our group commented on their impatience. When we teed off on #9, the rednecks skipped the hole and we caught them on the #10 tee box....we let them go.....the world has bigger problems!!! But these guys were class A Jackoffs and the ranger on duty did NOTHING!

    Tom S. at 6/28/11 9:31pm – Fellas! We'll go back to the judge's office, I'll fix us some drinks, come on!
    DrSchteeve at 6/28/11 8:41pm – My goal in life is to eliminate slow play. So let's look at this situation. The 3some is holding up the 4 some, holding up the 4 some. Problem is the 3 some. Answer: somebody from the (1st) 4some go up and ask to play through the 3some. Second answer: somebody from the 1st 4some ask the ranger to move the 3some along or to allow the 1st 4some to play through. Hitting into a group is never OK - after this happened more than 1x, the 1st 4some should have driven back and explained the situation to the 2nd 4some. All this is common sense, and common courtesy. Ultimately, yes, the course is at fault because a good ranger should have been able to address this and resolve it.
    esb at 6/28/11 8:38pm – Adjusted odds....now 1000 to one....and it's highly unlikely that you will be happy.
    outliar at 6/28/11 6:37pm – Cry me river! I don't care what you shoot, you brought up score not me. You shouted "Redneck" not me. You took too long and seem offended that the fellas behind wanted to get by you. Again- just because the threesome ahead also was rude doesn't mean your group was not wrong or should get a free pass to call everybody else a "redneck". I am done on this subject and absolutely get that others disagree. Again- let others play through next time a we can all be happy.
    esb at 6/28/11 5:38pm – But I digress.....The whole point is to give props to the COURSE, which has shown dramatic improvement since the spring. Thumbs up!
    esb at 6/28/11 5:18pm – First off: Outlier...you comments lack logic and your attitude is comical. Congrats on being a scratch golfer...along with some other not so great attributes.I would like to offer additonal facts on our day. During the first four holes, we waited behind the obviously slow three some ahead of us. On two, perhaps three of these holes, the group behind us hit balls past us in our fairway in spots where they could obviously still see us. So, you can rule out that these occurances were accidents. On the 4th hole, the ranger came up to our group and asked if we could pick up the pace. We advised that we were waiting on every hole, but also advised the ranger of the problem group behind us as an injury was a definate possiblity with balls flying everywhere. Now this is where the course at RB requires a long ride back to the clubhouse through the woods to the par 3 that used to be #1. So.....the ranger took the ride with us to find the three some chipping up to the green on the par 3.....so we waited some more!!! The group behind us continued to hit into us over the next 4 holes until the confrontation on #9 where they rudely jumped to #10 where we waited some more....this time with them ahead of us.Say what you want, but golf would be a better game without people like that....I don't care if they shoot 68 or 100. Without the waiting, I think we would have played in about 4:20, which I think is ok for the course.So now at least Outlier may be able to comprehend what happend, but I might place the odds on that at a par 72 to one.
    Bigacito at 6/28/11 10:30am – Outliar I am sorry but I am not sure I follow your train of thought. Please let me know if I am reading your post wrong but I think you are saying that your understanding of proper etiquette is to allow a group to play through even if you are waiting on every hole if you are shooting a high score that day? Or does the score not matter and you are saying that if a group in front of you is playing slowly and does not invite you to play through you should let the group behind you play through if they persistently hit into your group? Or does the hitting in to you not factor into the equation and your point is that even if the group in front of you is so rude as to not let a faster playing group through, you should let the group behind you play through no matter what even though you are not the direct reason they are being held up?Hmmm, on re-reading your last post maybe the above is not what you are saying. Do the quotation marks around the word “held-up” mean that you doubt that the original poster was in fact held up by the threesome in front of them? Perhaps you have some additional information about the original poster other than that listed in his post but I can attest from personal experience that a threesome of slow players can slow up a normal or faster foursome behind them. I also can (sadly) attest from personal experience that you can shoot over a hundred and play a round in well under four hours. :-)
    outliar at 6/27/11 11:44pm – Dear Dr. - Didn't think I "slammed" anybody; just had a different point of view based on the story told. A foursome of hundred shooters being "held-up" by a threesome out to have everyone's hair standing on edge. Barney Adams and the USGA have been all over the Golf Channel talking about how 5 hour rounds are killing the game. Just doing my part to help esb understand that he should have asked the Ranger to tell the group behind them to "play-through". That would have been the decent thing to do in my view. If they had to then play through the threesome so-be-it! Within reason, it is not fair (within reason)to torture everbody on the course for 5 hours cause you and your 3 buds are shooting a leisurely 100 each. After 4 hours you ought to be letting EVERYBODY PLAY THROUGH. Obviously we disagree....but why not let them play through? Is there some weird ego thing that says "I am shooting 103, it will take 5 hours and you will NOT play through...you will watch me hack it up and like it"?
    outliar at 6/27/11 11:25pm – Stand by what I said. Name calling (Redneck) isn't necessarily appropriate. 5 hour rounds are KILLING the game. Shoot your 100 score in 4 hours. Again sounds like the people paid to monitor such things sided with what YOU CALLED "the REDNECKS". Again...54 mph in the passing lane.
    esb at 6/27/11 10:42pm – Outlier....I might suggest you read a post before making yourself look foolish.
    DrSchteeve at 6/27/11 10:38pm – What's up with slamming the poster, when he clearly stated that his group was waiting on the group in front of them? Chill....
    El Supremo at 6/27/11 2:12pm – Sounds like they need the ranger I had at Olde Sycamore out at Red Bridge. Pretty sure esb clearly states they were waiting on the group in front of them. I've never seen any value in letting people play through if I'm waiting also. No excuse in purposely hitting into the group in front of you.
    outliar at 6/27/11 9:18am – Not advocating them being jerks, but are you the person driving 54 mph in the passing lane who will not move over and then gets upset with dirty looks as everybody has to get around you on the right side? After-all...you shot 100 and took 5 hours....I feel their pain! Perhaps the Ranger was being too polite to YOU. Should have told your group to pick up and move on THAT'S why he didn't say anything to the group behind...the problem WAS YOU!





Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Forum Post

doug_riley@bellsouth.net

By IM4DHERD on 8/27/21

Anyone been out to Red Bridge lately? Heard they about lost their greens a while back?

Instagram

@charlottegolfer