Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses

Reviews for Olde Sycamore Golf Plantation

Recent Reviews for All Courses

Review
  • 8/30/20 - Review by Hunter

    "Average"

    Avoid for now. Took 45 minutes to get a cart (Tee time was 136, we teed off around 2:15) I know COVID factors in, but no other course seems to have this problem. Greens are in pretty bad shape. #2 might be lost for the year. Other ones were fair at best. Better value out there.

    Read The Review
  • 8/1/20 - Review by Hunter

    "Worth playing"

    Greens slow. Some rough spots from heat etc with bare patches esp on Hole #2. A solid course, but right now not in it's best shape.

    Read The Review
  • 6/20/20 - Review by KyleSmith

    "Worth playing"

    This course just never lives up to the price or hype. Greens were soaking wet, soft and slow. Pace was bad even though it was the suggested pace of play. Staff was pissy all day. Just an overrated course in general. Play it if you like, avoid if not.

    Read The Review
  • 5/31/20 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    Course was in good shape, greens especially. A bit slow, but I figure that was due to the rainy soft conditions. Lots of unfixed ball marks. We repaired a bunch on every green. Tees, fairways and bunkers were all very good. Conditions-wise, now's the time to play Olde Sycamore, but find a good deal online. $75 plus another $7 for range balls. Yowser. About $15-$20 more than Eagle Chase and $10 more than Rocky River in similar shape. Pace was slow too with no ranger regulating play on the course. I like the layout and the Bent grass greens are good right now, but this is still a 2-3 rounds a year place for me. Just not enough value or uniqueness to bring me back soon.

    Read The Review
  • 5/31/20 - Review by Hunter

    "Worth playing"

    Sad I didn't run into Chris out there since we were both on course at same time. My review pretty much echoes his. I was impressed with conditions given all the weather lately. Greens were really slow and some soggy spots, but still solid all things considered. We had two groups of walkers in front of us that grouped up into a 6-some on hole 12 or so and took FOREVER. Not a ranger to be seen on back 9 to correct it. 5 hour round. For $70 bucks, I'd pass. But this course is a great value later in day or during the week.

    Read The Review
  • 3/19/20 - Review by The B-Man

    "Worth playing"

    Greens were recently aerated and so fees were discounted to $25 for 18 with cart. Even with the aeration the greens were okay, though I'm sure the bumps cost me at least 3 strokes. With the discount, I'll call it a wash, but I would give it another 1-2 weeks. There were no special instructions or any changes to the flagstick / cup -- I've seen a few other courses either put a filler in the cup to discourage touching of the flagstick or raise the cup above ground so all you have to do is hit the cup to count it good (Ballantyne is doing this). The course was very wet even with what I think was just overnight rain and so it was cart path only. All in all the conditions were just average, but I'm sure that'll improve with the greens healing and perhaps some dry, warm weather. One course layout note -- they've opened a new tee location on the par 3 #4 hole that is about 50 yards left of the original tee. I like it. It's more visually appealing and gives you a better view and angle to the green, though it's a more direct carry over the water. Check out the picture I posted on Instagram to see it.

    Read The Review
  • 11/11/18 - Review by tpac

    "Perfect"

    First time playing Olde Sycamore, and I think I have a new local favorite. The course itself was perfect, sans the marks on the greens the idiots in front of us were leaving. "Repairs yours and one other" everyone... Otherwise, the fairways were in great shape, the rough cut as should be, beyond the rough kept clear in case you need to retrieve an errant shot or two. and the green were FAST! Thought the course layout was great. The cart we had was also in great shape.. lots of power and quiet electric. The staff was welcoming and very professional. Practice facilities was also in good shape and offered plenty of space for everyone. All in all, I cannot wait to get back out to Olde Sycamore.

    Read The Review
  • 7/25/18 - Review by GungaGalunga

    "Average"

    Reviewed this earlier in the year and was harsh in my comments to the course...and it still needs work regarding the greens...most have significant issues around the edges of the green and a few are really bad...also noticed higher than usual ball marks not repaired on the greens. Shame for a nice layout. Bunkers need sand added...hit one shot and saw the liner of the bunker. there was probably 1/2 in of sand only. Fun course when it's in better shape, but this is not it's year. Hope they can turn it around soon.

    Read The Review
  • 7/14/18 - Review by Jdog85

    "Worth playing"

    Layout, fairways and tee boxes in good condition. Now the greens are a different story. Need to put the new greens in and also improve some traps. Greens are bad, too soft people not properly repairing ball marks. Great course worst greens in Charlotte. Dont be fool by the drive by.

    Read The Review
  • 6/23/18 - Review by GolfNiners5

    "Great course"

    Course is in excellent condition with the exception of about 2-3 holes in which the fringe was burned off. We had no issues with anything else on the course. I would complain that they need a marshal out there to move people along. We had a group of 3 and were constantly waiting on a group of 2 that would hit multiple shots. Behind us they let out a group of about 6 and each had their own cart. Can't beat the price if you find a special online.

    Read The Review
  • 4/26/18 - Review by GungaGalunga

    "Bad, stay away"

    Played in a Captains Choice fundraiser...and thankful I had not paid good money to play my own ball given the course conditions. It is in embarrassing shape. I don't think any of the greens were in good shape...some are in terrible shape...fairways were horrendous...tee boxes trashy...not sure what is going on because this is a good track and layout...but in really bad shape right now. Sad.

    Read The Review
  • 4/21/18 - Review by GolfNiners5

    "Worth playing"

    Majority of the course is in great shape. I didn't notice any issues with the bunkers, tee boxes or fairways. I would say 75% of the greens are in good shape. Most of the fringe around the greens is bare or dead. There were a couple of holes in which the greens were very bumpy and looked like they had a disease. There were bare spots and rough patches but it only affected about 25% of the greens and they were still playable. Found a special on BirdieBug for 37 bucks so it was definitely worth it. I would imagine in a couple of weeks this could be back to 5 stars

    Read The Review
  • 11/29/17 - Review by BetterThanMost

    "Great course"

    Wanted to post an update, particularly about Olde Sycamore's greens. They were in much better condition than the previous post. The cooler November weather seems to have served them well. Tees, fairways, rough, bunkers all in excellent shape.

    Read The Review
  • 11/4/17 - Review by kuehbr

    "Below average"

    Teed off at 12:30 on Saturday and it was probably my least favorite experience at Olde Sycamore. The pace of play was extremely slow, consistently had 3 to 4 groups waiting in front and behind us for a 4some that didnt know what ready golf was. The greens are shot right now. They are in a world of trouble for next summer if they can't get the roots to grow deeper and some spots were basically sand/dirt around the holes. Tee boxes are similar to greens. Fairways were nice and they have new carts. But for $70 dollars this place did not come close to expectations.. Would expect it from a $30-$40 dollar course.. save your money or look for deals to play this course right now. BirdieBug or GolfNow usually runs a couple of them.

    Read The Review
  • 6/25/17 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Great course"

    It was all good. Got out early, pace was great. There were a few soggy areas in some fairways from the deluge the night before, and hence cart path only. Certainly pricey, but a great course in great shape.

    Read The Review
  • 5/23/17 - Review by KyleSmith

    "Great course"

    Won't post a score/rate for this round since it was a tournament, but wanted to share course conditions. This was my first time playing Old Sycamore, and it was a fun track. Course is in great shape, especially considering the amount of rain we had leading up to the tournament date. fairways were solid, and greens were in great shape. Highly recommend making your way to play it.

    Read The Review
  • 11/23/16 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    Olde Sycamore is in good shape. The greens rolled true and didn't have any problems. The bermuda fairways are just starting to yellow for the winter. Leaves are a problem if you're not in the fairway though. I hadn't played in a while but not much has changed. This track is still one of my favorites around town and is kept in good shape.

    Read The Review
  • 9/15/16 - Review by aimtobreak80

    "Average"

    I didn't actually play this course. I just wanted to post a complaint about the course being closed to the public today because of a tournament, and that information NOT being posted on their website. What is the sense in having such a "communication vehicle" if they do not regularly update the site with useful information??? Luckily, I called before making the ~30 mile trip to the course.

    Read The Review
  • 8/20/16 - Review by The Good Son

    "Average"

    Following up on BetterThanMost's 8/1 review, I can report the greens are still in miserable shape. They punched the greens Monday and Tuesday (8/15 and 8/16), which only seemed to compound the issues. I can agree that the rest of the course is in solid shape, but the greens are a major deal breaker. I would avoid this course until they get this fixed up.

    Read The Review
  • 8/1/16 - Review by BetterThanMost

    "Worth playing"

    From tee to green Olde Sycamore is in about as good a shape as any track in Charlotte. The greens, however, are suffering terribly. The bent grass just can't handle the heat we've had over the last month or so. They've sanded most of them, but with the abundance of ball marks and stressed out bent grass, they are in really poor shape. They are also building a new tee box for the par 3 4th hole that brings the pond more into play.

    Read The Review
  • 5/7/16 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    Olde Syc is one of my favorite tracks and it is in really good shape right now. Greens were very good and rolled true. Tees, fairways and bunkers were all in really good shape. Got a nice $55 deal for Saturday morning. The ranger was out on the course and keeping the speed of play on track. My only complaint was that a few of the pins were tucked very close to the edges of greens, like only a flagstick length (#6 and #11) -- that was a bit tough for us amateurs.

    Read The Review
  • 4/16/16 - Review by GolfNiners5

    "Great course"

    No major issues. Everything seemed to be in great condition as always. Pace of play was expected as it was a busy Saturday afternoon.

    Read The Review
  • 3/24/16 - Review by GetThere214

    "Worth playing"

    Course is starting to green up nicely with the weather. Tee Boxes and Fairways were very good. Bunkers here are the best in the area with fresh white sand. Greens were just punched and sanded recently which made it difficult to putt. Balls were bouncing a lot. I am fine with that knowing they are going to be better later in the spring. Overall good day.

    Read The Review
  • 3/16/16 - Review by aimtobreak80

    "Great course"

    First outing of the 2016 season. The flags in front of the clubhouse were flapping rather vigorously when I arrived, and the breezy conditions continued throughout the round. Temperatures reached low-to-mid 80's by the time I had finished so, all in all, a great day to be out on the course. The greens had been aerated recently (the reason they were only charging $25 for the round), but there were only a few greens where that really hurt me. Most of the aeration holes were nearly filled in, and the covering sand (stones included) were the bigger problem. The fairways are definitely "greening up", but tee bases are still a sparse. The bunkers were damp and firm (perhaps as a result of the Sunday night-Monday afternoon showers). My round was definitely up and down - ball striking surprisingly good for the first time out, but decision making was more than iffy (Birdied the opening Par 5 with three excellent shots ending with a 6' putt. The next hole, I didn't check yardage, drove through the end of the fairway, and lost the ball.) The front nine results really tell the story: 3 birdies, 2 triple bogies, and 2 lost balls! Even so, it was great to be on the course, especially for only $25.

    Read The Review
  • 1/31/16 - Review by averagejoebacknine

    "Worth playing"

    This was my first time playing Olde Sycamore, the course was in decent shape considering a week before there was a snow/ice storm. Some wet areas in the shaded areas, the greens were in decent shape had great speed but showed every cleat mark. Pace of play was a little slow but hey it was the first nice day in a week on a Saturday. Will play again for sure, membership rates are promising as well.

    Read The Review
  • 8/12/15 - Review by aimtobreak80

    "Great course"

    Another week - another golf course. Fairways, greens, and tees were all green. Bunkers were quite firm and slightly damp (possibly from Tuesday evening thunderstorm that ravaged the area). There was a sign posted advising that some greens were being watered by hand, and that golfers should be accommodating when encountering such. The results were that balls were holding very well, similar to Charlotte National, last week, coming to rest within inches (1 foot at most) of the ball mark. The only complaint is the abundance of poorly repaired/poorly recovered ball marks on virtually every green that contributed to somewhat bumpy rolling to the hole. The $32 Senior rate made for a good golfing value.

    Read The Review
  • 7/30/15 - Review by GetThere214

    "Great course"

    Really enjoyed my round at Olde Sycamore. From the opening hole and the conversation with the starter before teeing off. He was great to talk to. Course is in very good shape. I played from the tips and some of the tee boxes were a little chewed up. The other boxes were much better where my dad played from. Fairways and bunkers were in great shape and the greens were very good. They do have some marks in them but for the most part ran true. Will definitely be coming back.

    Read The Review
  • 7/9/15 - Review by GetThere214

    "Great course"

    I really like coming out to Olde Sycamore. Course was in great shape. Tee boxes were very good. I played from the tips and had no issues with any spots. Fairways were very good. There was only one hole that had a little "fairway kill" and it was only on one side of it. Greens were fast and receptive. Putts rolled true and for the most part were smooth. Cant wait to come back!!

    Read The Review
  • 6/25/15 - Review by HittOD

    "Great course"

    Thought I would post a review of Olde Sycamore since there appears to be none since last year. Fairways were great, and played ball down with no problem. Greens very good, and full of bent grass, but understandably cut a little high, and a little slow, undoubtedly to protect them during the recent oppressive heat. Played Blue tees, ~ 6400 yds. Sand traps in very good shape. Holes are unique in general, with some par 4's requiring less than driver. Played in a threesome with fast players that would have finished in 3.5 hrs, but waited some to still finish in under 4 hrs. Got a very good rate online making this an excellent value.

    Read The Review
  • 8/6/14 - Review by PADave

    "Worth playing"

    Great round. Paired up with a member, shot similar scores, and he paid for beers. Really like this course. A couple greens were damaged, but really still in great shape. Average pace of play.

    Read The Review
  • 8/5/14 - Review by dad4204

    "Great course"

    The course was in it's usual really good shape. Tees very good, fairways excellent, greens rolled well but were very ball marked. Again, poor golfers not repairing marks correctly. The one sand trap I hit out of was great. I really liked it, looking for some deals though. I try to use up 4 containers of sand each round. Fill all holes next to where I hit.

    Read The Review
  • 7/6/14 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    Used one of my LivingSocial deal rounds - was $180 for 10 rounds where you only pay $20 cart fee. Great deal for this course. The conditions were very good. The greens are in fine shape, only a few ballmarks here and there. Tees, fairways and bunkers were all good and the course was near empty late in the day. Only one issue I noticed -- #12 green is damaged. Almost as if a runaway grass-killer spray cart got loose. There's a long winding random trail on the green that left bare tracks in its wake. They put the pin away from most of it, but my putt had to cross it and bumped off line. Other than that, just great conditions.

    Read The Review
  • 5/23/14 - Review by cnolin1976

    "Below average"

    Very disappointed with my experience here today. Purchased a $39 Friday before 1pm coupon from clickitgolf. Before doing so I checked Olde Sycamore's website. No where did it say they were observing holiday rates today. (Turns out they actually were in holiday rates from Thursday through Monday, Memorial Day) even when I called to book a tee time and asked their current rate they never said it would be their holiday rate. So the best del he could give us was $51. Guy in line behind us had exact same issue. But sucking it up and paying the extra fee we tried to get to golfing. Well one of the genius workers decided to close our trunk with our keys and one set of clubs still inside. They refused to pay triple A to come and unlock our trunk even though it was their employee that took it upon himself to shut our trunk. Our tee time was 10:30 so by the turn it was a little hot. We stopped in the club house to get some food and refreshments and enjoy the ac for a few. We were told we had to leave and take our food and drink to go because we were at the turn. Wtf?!?! Overall attitude of the employees, with the exception of the drink cart girl, was very poor and borderline rude. And strangely the on course bathrooms were all locked. The course conditions were actually pretty good. Greens were much slower then they led us to believe. Their quote was "you'll feel like you're putting at Augusta" I'm not a major fan of the lay out. Lots of blind landing zones that would mysteriously eat up what appeared to be a good tee shot. Pace of play was great. We finished in four hours. But for reasons having nothing to do with the course itself, I will not be returning to this course.

    Read The Review
  • 5/10/14 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Great course"

    Not quite perfect, but close. A few greens with bumpy patches, fairways still coming in, great pace for a Sat morning, a bit pricey but worth it.

    Read The Review
  • 3/2/14 - Review by Northernhacker

    "Worth playing"

    I'm a big fan of Olde Sycamore, played it Sunday afternoon and as always the layout was great. Conditions for the course were good given it is February. Greens were quick and rolled true. Tee boxes were in pretty good shape. They overbook this course with tee times 4 minutes apart, our tee time was delayed 25 minutes. One cart in our group died on the third hole, then both carts started to die around the 14th hole. We called 3 times and no one ever came out to swap the carts. Ended up abandoning the carts on the 18th fairway after they had completely died.

    Read The Review
  • 2/22/14 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    My first round of the new year. Unfortunately conditions were very wet with the heavy rains Thursday and Friday last week. Cart path only and lots of mud puddles in the fairways. I had to take relief in several of the fairways (esp. #11) and in many of them it was difficult to find relief within 25 yards of your ball. None of that is really the course's fault, though it means I wouldn't necessarily choose this course next time after a big storm. The bunkers were also very wet, not necessarily with standing water, but enough where it was difficult to play from them. They had not been raked. One other spot that really bothered me was the tee box on 17 -- mostly mud, little grass. So the best part about the course during my round was the greens. They were in good shape for the season and the wet conditions. They were cut low and rolled pretty consistently throughout. I really like this course and the shape it's kept in. I just happened to hit after a very big rainstorm. The Clickit rate was $46 compared to a rack rate of $52 on the weekends right now.

    Read The Review
  • 12/18/13 - Review by syncgolf

    "Perfect"

    Winter golf at its finest. Course is in great shape for December. Bunkers were especially nice. Greens have great speed. Perfect for holing putts. No leafs in play. We played a tee forward to make up for winter conditions. One of my favorite courses.

    Read The Review
  • 10/18/13 - Review by aimtobreak80

    "Great course"

    The course was in near perfect condition. The only issue - not a complaint - was the rough. It was cut short everywhere, but the grass really grabbed the club head making it difficult to recover even when just a few feet off the fairway. The best way to handle it is to not be in it (My hitting 10 of 14 fairways didn't completely solve the problem). The greens were very good, although getting the right speed was a continual challenge, and led to more than one 3 putt performance by everyone in the threesome. I was very impressed by the tee set-ups. Out of our threesome, one hit from the Gold tees, one from the Blues, and one from the Whites. It was quite remarkable to see all three balls in relatively close proximity to one another following the respective drives. The entire staff was friendly and courteous, and truly made one feel welcomed to play there. All in all, a very enjoyable outing.

    Read The Review
  • 9/30/13 - Review by syncgolf

    "Perfect"

    Great day at the course the course was in terrific condition best fairways in town Awesome areas around the the greens for chipping on tightly mowed zoysia grass Bunkers were well maintained with soft sugary sand great for hitting high soft shots closest thing to country club I have played in Charlotte Hit balls on the range on perfect grass to actual greens complexes The staff was awesome Give them a try next time you are looking for a nice course Tell them syncgolf from the bman sent you Enjoy

    Read The Review
  • 9/24/13 - Review by WFGolfer7

    "Below average"

    First off, let me lead off by saying that this is an interesting test of target golf. Bombers need not apply, as all they'll do is run through fairways into marshes, creeks, woodlands. In this way, the course artificially lengthens itself. That's fine, but it was frustrating to not be able to hit the big dog that often. However, the main reason for the bad review is THE GREENS. I specifically asked the pro when I called how they were rolling, had they been punched, were they fast, etc.? I was informed that they had been punched 7 weeks before and were running "about a 10." This statement of being "about a 10" was reinterated before the round. This was an outright LIE. The greens were super fuzzy and SLOW SLOW SLOW. I was using my mallet putter like a sledgehammer all day and barely getting halfway to the hole. Another element in play with such slow greens is that the grain takes over. Reading putts became incredibly difficult, as inconsistencies from green to green with regards to speed hindered any and all putting attempts. Combine that with uncountable ball marks that were either unrepaired or poorly repaired and it was a joke. By the end, I was laughing (as was my playing partner). In summary: an interesting course with a tight, precision based layout RUINED by horrible, fuzzy, bumpy greens. Would not play again.

    Read The Review
  • 9/22/13 - Review by JHG

    "Great course"

    Course is in nice condition. Greens rolling good, fairways a bit wet from the overnight rain but not too bad. Wasn't in any bunkers but they appeared in good shape. Enjoyed the layout. Friendly staff.

    Read The Review
  • 9/11/13 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Average"

    Olde Sycamore does many things well - nice clubhouse, practice facilities, layout. Conditions of everything but the greens - fantastic. The greens - late summer bent grass: a mess. Despite a punch 3 weeks ago, there were ball marks and scars everywhere. They really need to move to Bermuda.

    Read The Review
  • 8/1/13 - Review by malamute

    "Great course"

    course in nice shape - some sand on #8 green but the rest of the greens in good shape / one of the best courses around

    Read The Review
  • 6/27/13 - Review by PADave

    "Great course"

    Great course! Morning round on a weekday. Well worth the $33 from clickit. Played in 3.5 hrs. Good shape, a tad wet, and a few too many unrepaired ballparks on greens. I'm nitpicking a bit. Great round. I'll be back!

    Read The Review
  • 6/9/13 - Review by CU_Tigerfan

    "Great course"

    I feel like I'm repeating myself with my reviews, but Olde Sycamore is in very good shape right now. It was a little more soggy than rounds I played at Regent Park and Carolina Lakes. Greens were great, and the rangers did a good job trying to keep things moving on a busy Sunday morning.

    Read The Review
  • 5/29/13 - Review by Wulfpack

    "Great course"

    I echo Dr. Schteeve's and CU Tiger fan's reviews -- this is a great course. No complaints whatsoever. Love the new clubhouse, too, and the hot dogs are great. I haven't been able to get out much this spring, and was planning to check Stonebridge out again as it has been a while since my last round there, but I called and was told the greens were recently aerated, and only 9 holes are open. Same thing at Fort Mill Golf Club. So I went out to Olde Reliable - The Syc. And it was just perfect. I got a coupon off Clickit for $33 - not half bad considering the great track. I highly recommend this course.

    Read The Review
  • 5/25/13 - Review by GolfNiners5

    "Great course"

    Course was in great shape! Greens and fairways were pristine. Pace of play was very slow and it seemed like they bunch a couple groups together

    Read The Review
  • 5/19/13 - Review by CU_Tigerfan

    "Great course"

    Everything was in really good shape. Greens were great -- on the fast side, but not so fast that they were overly difficult. We were out early, so pace of play was not an issue which is really nice.

    Read The Review
  • 5/11/13 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Perfect"

    Can't beat perfect. They had a member dogfight including a fivesome, but they rangered it well and we still finished in 4 hours. With the amenities (towels and tees in the carts, gorgeous cart girl, great well-stocked clubhouse), when things are right here they are really right. Everybody was in a good mood.

    Read The Review
  • 4/23/13 - Review by estanwick

    "Great course"

    Greens= B+ Fairways B Tee boxes B- (tips) too much sand on them. Overall, I give it a B grade. Worth playing currently. No issues to report.

    Read The Review
  • 1/29/13 - Review by dad4204

    "Great course"

    The course was in good shape. Greens were good,were running average, not too fast or slow. fairways also good, but the people who play there need to fill their divots. I really enjoyed this course. I'll go back as soon as it's 60 again

    Read The Review
  • 9/11/12 - Review by RedGeek

    "Worth playing"

    First time playing at Olde Sycamore. Fun course, played from the blues and had some interesting decisions on club choice on a couple of holes. Greens are in rough shape, especially the par 3's. Looks like a lot of play with no one repairing ball marks and couple of bad patches. Recently aerated and I think they're working on them. I definitely plan on going back in a couple of weeks to check in. Played at 2:30 pm, empty for front 9 but briefly slowed down after the turn. Everyone playing and working were very nice. As a note, the hole layout is not shown on score card or at the marker at tee box so that was a little tough for me having never played it before.

    Read The Review
  • 8/30/12 - Review by malamute

    "Average"

    course is in good shape / greens are being sprayed for problems - they are not in good shape - would not play here for a few weeks until they recover

    Read The Review
  • 8/17/12 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Below average"

    Greens were terrible - no grass in many places, recently punched but it wasn't the punching that was the problem, it was the bare spots and, quite frankly, bare greens. They may come back in weeks to months, but right now they are next to unplayable. The rest of the course conditions were fair. Fairways and rough ware ok, traps were very inconsistent - some had very little sand and were hard packed, some had fluffy white sand, and on one I hit down and struck the padding or whatever it was that presumably makes up the base of the trap.

    Read The Review
  • 8/2/12 - Review by malamute

    "Worth playing"

    tee boxes / fairways great - greens top dressed not so great / never been treated badly here / like the course

    Read The Review
  • 7/7/12 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    Course is in great shape tee to green. I took off half a star for the bunkers -- they had some gray sand and were difficult to play from. They no longer have the nice fluffy white sand from years past. From one of my old reviews, I use to think they had the best bunkers in town. No longer. Also, I had a similar experience to what one of the previous reviewers mentioned -- no using stray range balls. We were warming up (this is at 7:00am) and a buddy was finishing his bucket. I noticed a few extra balls from a leftover bucket next to him and so I grabbed a club to hit a few. As I'm walking up, one of the rangers walks past me and scooped up the extra range balls before I got there (didn't say a single word to us). Crazy. Never seen that before at any other course I've ever played. Say what you will about no freebies, but we were talking about 6 or 8 range balls -- what is that about $1.50? It's not like I was up there to practice and sniping all the balls I could to avoid buying a token. I think it's safe to say that's no way to encourage return visits.

    Read The Review
  • 5/26/12 - Review by estanwick

    "Great course"

    Holiday weekend round. Expected to see more golfers but golf traffic was light. Course was in really good shape. No issues with greens at all. Hope the heat doesn't get to this place cause I will come back and play soon. Worth playing if you haven't been here in awhile.

    Read The Review
  • 5/9/12 - Review by Wulfpack

    "Great course"

    Nothing negative to say about Olde Sycamore. Just a fabulous course - hands down my favorite in the area. Rained hard for the first three or so holes but then cleared up. Had the course to myself for the most part. Greens were pretty quick even with the rain. Fairways, tee boxes, and rough were all groomed. Bunkers very wet so hard to tell. Managed to par the usually impossible par 4 #9 (it always seems to get me). Only thing I find odd about the course is the giant shared green between #6 and #8. No biggie though. They are currently renovating the clubhouse/dining room area. Will look even nicer. Love this course. Need every club in the bag.

    Read The Review
  • 5/2/12 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Great course"

    Some of you may know I have a bit of history with Olde Sycamore. Nevertheless, I have to give the course its due. Greens, fairways, bunkers, tee boxes, rough - absolutely perfect. Add a great pace of play (played through one foursome with our threesome) and a nice senior rate, and you can't beat it. They are getting pricey again with a $69 rack rate on the weekend, but they are also one of the few courses that offer a senior rate ($56) on the weekend. Like many course with bent greens, they may get beat up toward the end of summer - I would play now while conditions are perfect

    Read The Review
  • 4/8/12 - Review by slowmofo

    "Bad, stay away"

    I hated old suckamore. I showed up by myself ( which I normally do) and asked the 3 some behind me if they would like to play, they declined so I was ok with that. I started with a nice drive and then thats when I saw something a little fishy. On the green a whole group of kids and their parents. Apparently there was a tournament for little kids going on. I had to wait about 40 minutes in between each shot. I caught up to the group and they saw I was by myself, they wouldn't let me play through which I can understand. So after the kids would finish up on the green the greenskeepr would stop me and start watering the greens while I was on my second shot. It took me 7 hrs to play this course, solo. The course itself isn't even really that great. It was kept up okay, but there is nothing visually satisfying about this course. Luckily I only paid $20 and should have listened to my friend when he told me not to play there. What a dissapointment.

    Read The Review
  • 12/20/11 - Review by outliar

    "Average"

    I don't like "cons" and therefore want to call these guys out! Advertisement says "$185 for 10 rounds, 10 range tokens and 10 lessons....a value of over $1800 bucks!" BS- Add $230 more dollars to play (mandatory cart fee); the "lesson" is 5-10 minutes. What you end of getting is 10 rounds + a small bucket of range balls for $41.50 + tax.

    Read The Review
  • 10/24/11 - Review by izzyf150

    "Great course"

    Ive played this golf course quite a few times this year. It has always been in great shape. Guess what? It still is. Thats why it remains my favorite I guess. Nothing negative to say about this course.

    Read The Review
  • 8/13/11 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Below average"

    Greens are very chewed and bumpy, mixed with bare spots, mixed with one sanded green. Pace of play was horrific - we had to play catch up to get through in 5 hours. The course blamed this on too many people showing up for an outing and another extra group showing up - they let them on the course on a packed Saturday morning with 9 minute spreads!?! Won't be back for a while. I'm beginning to think of Olde Sycamore as the Lucy and the football course - things happen to make me swear I won't go back, but since it is a good layout and conditions can be good, I keep going back and then something like this happens. Come on, Charlie Brown, I won't pull the football away this time. I promise!

    Read The Review
  • 7/18/11 - Review by ILL-INI

    "Great course"

    So glad I bought that Groupon deal a couple months back, I am really enjoying this course right now. The greens out there are in great shape as well as the rest of the course for that matter. Pace of play wasn't bad, had a few hiccups with me being a two-some and waiting on a 4-some with an open hole in front of them for 3 holes. Ranger took care of it though so no worries. All in all another great day out at the syc.

    Read The Review
  • 7/6/11 - Review by stonecold

    "Worth playing"

    only thing about this course i have to complain about is the lack of signage or yardage markers/distance to creeks/rivers/and no indication of blind holes and they should put up big cow bells to alert golfers behind you that you have cleared the fairway . and it seems like they make you buy the caddy book to find these things out which will not only speed up play there but make for a more joyous experience!!

    Read The Review
  • 7/4/11 - Forum Posting by roy titled "olde sycamore"

    I had the honor of playing with THE B Man today at Olde Sycamore. Overall the course was in good shape, fairways rolling and the greens were true throughout the round.

  • 7/2/11 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Great course"

    Just one thing was odd - the teeboxes were all WAY forward. Usually play the whites, and every par 3 was less than 115. Silly. We ended playing a mix of the blues and the whites, but on some holes there just wasn't a good choice - whites way forward, blues back. Although the course seemed to play slow, we finished in 4 1/2 on a Sat morn/aft, with lots of rangers coming through. All in all, highly recommended.

    Read The Review
  • 6/25/11 - Review by El Supremo

    "Great course"

    Course is in great shape. Tees, fairways, bunkers are in great shape. Greens are in excellent condition but a bit slow. A couple still had syringe size punch marks but it didn't affect the roll. Rough is cut short but is extremely thick. Only issue was that on 14 the ranger told us we needed to speed up because there was a hole open between us and the group in front of us. I wouldn't have taken issue with this except that the group behind us was no where in sight. Ranger got a little ticked when we told him we'd speed up if they caught us. They didn't.

    Read The Review
  • 6/21/11 - Review by NC-Buckeye

    "Great course"

    I played in the Ernie Els Autism tournament at TPC Piper Glen in the morning and then my foursome played an afternoon round at Olde Sycamore. We were in full agreement that the course conditions at Olde Sycamore were substantially better than TPC. The only area of comparison were the greens. TPC greens were marginally better, rolling a bit more true than OS. OS greens were well maintained, but were rolling slower than they looked/we were used to. All in all, we all would have preferred to play 2 rounds at OS vs. the morning round at TPC.

    Read The Review
  • 6/18/11 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Great course"

    Everything great except pace just a bit slow, but at 4 1/2 hours not bad. Just been spoiled recently at Eagle Chase and Charlotte National as far as pace of play - 3 1/2 hours at those even on a weekend.

    Read The Review
  • 6/18/11 - Review by ILL-INI

    "Great course"

    Head pro...not sure what his name is - real snobby dude. Other than had a great day on the course. Greens look faster than they are so a little deciveing there but rolling very true. 18 had a few bare spots towards the end of the fairway, no biggy. Rough is cut for fair play, fairways are nice. Love the course, very scenic and plush.

    Read The Review
  • 6/1/11 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Great course"

    Well, my run-in with the staff several months ago notwithstanding, I have to give the course its due. Hard to imagine better conditions. Like several other higher-end daily fee courses, weekend pricing, even with Clickit, is quite high right now, but the weekday senior rate was $32 and we basically set our own pace, seeing only 2 other groups while we played.

    Read The Review
  • 4/3/11 - Review by manu775

    "Average"

    Olde Sycamore is a good track, but the rain has really taken it's tole on the course. This day it was cart path only (and has been that several times now). The pace of play was horrible. We ended up skipping a hole so we could get in front of a group. The fairways needed some work, but the greens were pretty good.

    Read The Review
  • 3/4/11 - Forum Posting by Wade titled "Olde Sycamore?"

    I played Olde Sycamore last year and will play that again. I might drive over to Pinehurst and play a few rounds there. Any reccomendations? I am looking at Hyland Hills, Tallamore, Southern Pines. I am trying to stay within a budget of $50 per course.

  • 2/12/11 - Forum Posting by DrSchteeve titled "Range Balls"

    So here was my experience at Olde Sycamore yesterday.

    Heading out to the range, about to use the token I bought for a bucket, I noticed there were quite a few balls on the range already. I pocketed the token, headed to the range, and began hitting balls. Called to pick up my partner who had just checked in, I got in my cart, having left several clubs leaning against the club rack in front of the balls I was hitting. When I returned, a course employee was on the range, buckets in hand, picking up all the balls on the range. He asked me if I “paid for those balls” to which I answered, “they were here when I came out”, at which he picks up the balls and puts them in a bucket and walks off.

    I have played golf for over 20 years, on every ! course from exclusive club to downtrodden muni, and I have never seen this, and never had this type of confrontational event on a range. Usually, course employees are giving out free buckets if they happen to cross a golfer while they have some balls in hand. I have played at Harbour Town in Hilton Head, and when asked what to do with the bag of balls not used (because there were plenty of balls on the range to hit), have been told “Take them, they’re yours”.

    I understand that there is an alternative view - that I was "stealing" balls by hitting balls that I hadn't paid for (even though somebody did). I just haven't seen this in over 20 years of playing golf. Not likely I'll be going back to Olde Sycamore anytime soon.

  • 2/12/11 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Bad, stay away"

    See the message board posting for my reasons for suggesting to stay away - major attitude issue on the part of a course employee. Conditions, however, were overall fair - fairways muddy from the rain, some greens with some bumpy spots.

    Read The Review
  • 10/13/10 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Great course"

    Very minor issues on a few greens. Near perfect. Ranger could have moved us around in 3 1/2, but 4 hours wasn't bad.

    Read The Review
  • 10/1/10 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    Played in a scramble here Friday morning and the conditions were great. They have their Club Championship this weekend and as you can imagine did everything they could to have the course in great shape. The greens, especially, were very good. Smooth and rolling true, quick but not fast. The few issues I could find were one hole with a large area of sand in the middle of the fairway (#13) and a few fairways that were downright shaggy (#8, #18 stood out), I guess because of the rain and wanted to hold off cutting for the club championship. Rough was fair. Overall, happy with the conditions and will be back to play my own scorecard when I can.

    Read The Review
  • 9/25/10 - Review by CU_Tigerfan

    "Great course"

    Course is in very good shape right now. I haven't played in a while, so I don't have much to compare it to, but I thought the greens were in good shape considering the weather lately. The only issue seems to be so many players don't fix their ball marks. Beyond that everything was great. Fairways were nice, tee boxes were in good shape, and the rough was thick and penal (as it should be). Pace of play was good for a Saturday morning. It is a little pricey right now, even with click-it.

    Read The Review
  • 9/4/10 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Worth playing"

    Greens just have "pock marks" from a lot of play without ball marks being fixed adequately. Mostly able to repair the marks on putting lines but there were a few bumpy rolls. Rough is difficult but fair. Pace was a bit slow. Fairways a bit fluffy but quite good. Overall pretty good condition but paid a premium price.

    Read The Review
  • 8/28/10 - Forum Posting by DrSchteeve titled "Greens update 08/28/2010"

    Personally checked or played (except where noted):

    Verdict Ridge: punched "about 2 weeks ago" - still quite bumpy, along with some bare spots that haven't responded to the punching

    Olde Sycamore: punched about a month ago, unfortunately divots from poorly repaired ballmarks mar the surfaces significantly - in other words, they look ok, and in general are in good rolling condition, but there are just too many ballmarks so almost any putt is likely to hit a ballmark (or 2)

    Emerald Lake: punched about 10 days ago, still top dressed with a lot of sand, along with other issues certainly not rolling true

    Skybrook: some really nice smooth areas on many greens, but also bare spots and many plugs of (presumably) poa anna, overall not bad

    Highland Creek: very spotty, bare areas galore, one green (#15) gone by report

    Red Bridge: mostly in very good condition, only a few greens with some isolated issues (Red Bridge greens are mini verde per clubhouse); definitely the best greens of all these (except Cleghorn, see below)

    Cleghorn (this from a month ago) - in Rutherfordton, a hike, but perfect Bermuda greens (and fairways), best overall conditions I've played in all year (and maybe ever)

    Hope that helps somebody...

  • 8/27/10 - Review by malamute

    "Average"

    course is holding up well #13 is playing as a par 3 right now because of broken water line in fairway like most courses greens are just fair due to heat

    Read The Review
  • 8/17/10 - Forum Posting by DrSchteeve titled "Olde Sycamore/Oak Hills"

    Sadly heard that Olde Sycamore's greens are going the way of everyone elses - not horrible, but not good.

    On a bright note, played Oak Hills in Columbia - a great track with Bermuda greens and fairways in great shape. I definitely recommend if you are in the area.

  • 7/31/10 - Review by happygolfing

    "Great course"

    The course was is good shape, but the green were full of ball marks that affected every putt. I mentioned it to the person at the Pro Shop and he got personally offended. He stated well 'it is a public golf course." This is the second time I've played here and found the Pro shop perfect very rude and disrespectful. I like the course and was thinking about a membership, but will hold off for now due to this experience. I will be looking at Red Bridge and Emerald Lake.

    Read The Review
  • 7/16/10 - Review by malamute

    "Worth playing"

    course is in better shape than most this time of year a few greens had sandy spots but not bad at all well worth playing right now

    Read The Review
  • 7/10/10 - Review by pga5f

    "Great course"

    Great course and the greens are weathering the heat pretty well, with only a few having some issues, but even those roll well.

    Read The Review
  • 7/9/10 - Forum Posting by The B-Man titled "Olde Sycamore touts its conditions and service - do you agree?"

    I am on the email list for Olde Sycamore and this week's specials came with a big intro hyping their conditions and service. I thought it was a great list that all courses could aspire to, but I was skeptical about how much OS lives up to them. I'm curious about others' opinions on this and whether other courses do a better / worse job with this list. Post your feedback here.

    So why do Charlotte golfers continue to choose Olde Sycamore over other area courses?

    • Bag drop loading and unloading services.
    • Clean carts stocked with comfort towels and tees.
    • Well groomed fairways and general playing conditions.
    • Smooth, fast greens.
    • Well groomed sand traps.
    • On-course beverage and snack service.
    • Clean clubhouse and on-course restrooms.
    • Upscale practice facility.
    • Well maintained landscaping throughout the grounds.
    • Convenient outside water stations.
    • Friendly registration staff.
    • Full service Bar and Grill.
    • Professional, polite service.
    • The ability to enjoy a hassle free round of golf.

    At Olde Sycamore Golf Plantation we focus on our players and our product. We promise to maintain the level of excellent course conditions and service you have come to expect and we thank you for your support and business.

  • 7/9/10 - Forum Posting by Drschteeve titled "Olde sycamore"

    I think all those apply, except occasionally the pro shop staff is a bit stuffy. With a lot of courses suffering this year due to the heat, they have done a very good job with course conditions so far.

  • 6/26/10 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    I played in the Matt Clark charity tournament Saturday morning and the course was in perfect shape. No issues anywhere. Smooth, quick greens. Lushness all around. The rough is in mid-season form, which means it's thick and penalizing when you're in it. It's not past the point of fairness, but you will need to keep a close eye on any shots that are headed for it -- in some cases, you may have to walk right over a ball that has nestled down in the thick stuff. This is one of my favorite area courses mostly because it's kept in such great shape.

    Read The Review
  • 5/15/10 - Review by DrSchteeve

    "Great course"

    Nearly the best shape I've seen the course. Pro shop staff snooty as usual, which is usually the only issue along with pace of play. For a Saturday morning, the pace was lightning.

    Read The Review
  • 5/3/10 - Review by JD

    "Great course"

    The "Syc" is in the best shape I've seen in a long while. Greens were running slower than normal, but in good shape. Fairways, rough and bunkers all in good shape. Tee boxes were okay, a little sandy, but nothing that affected play. Bring a thermos if you play in the afternoon. If it weren't for a little kid selling water/Gatorade at 15th tee, I would have perished.

    Read The Review
  • 4/30/10 - Review by malamute

    "Worth playing"

    course in fine shape / bunkers nice fluffy sand / greens in good shape / range a bit torn up / for an upscale course lack of gps is questionable

    Read The Review
  • 4/16/10 - Review by malamute

    "Average"

    pace was very slow due to event course was in fine shape all around one of the better courses in charlotte; however a bit expensive at times

    Read The Review
  • 4/3/10 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    Course is starting to round into spring shape. The fairways are just starting to turn green. The greens were aerated in the last few weeks and you can barely tell. They were pretty solid today. Fairly decent speed and mostly consistent. I had no problems with the greens. The rest of the course was OK. A few fairways had some muddy spots or some ground under repair. The bunkers are still some of the nicest around -- fluffy white sand. The rangers did a good job keeping the pace right around 4 hours. So no problems today, though it's still one of the pricier rounds in town ($55 twilight on a Sat).

    Read The Review
  • 9/15/09 - Forum Posting by Ri Ra Irish Pub titled "2nd Annual Ri Ra Golf Classic - Wed Oct 21, 2009 Olde Sycamore Golf Plantation "

    You are welcomed to join Ri Ra Irish Pub in our second annual Charity Golf Classic. This is your chance to get out and have some fun with Ri Ra while we are busy re-building you a brand new pub due to a fire back in May. We are pleased to be working with and supporting the charity the NC Fire Fighters Burned Childrens Fund. Our event is Wednesday October 21st, 2009 1 PM Shotgun start at beautiful Olde Sycamore Golf Plantation. Only $80 per/$320 a foursome with ALL proceeds to the Charity. Food, beverage (the good stuff of course!) and prizes provided all day. Please don't hesitate to register at www.rira.com (follow links to Charlotte golf site). CHEERS!

  • 8/23/09 - Forum Posting by James titled "Olde Sycamore"

    Another great round at Olde Sycamore. I don't play there nearly enough as the condition of the course was immaculate as usual, much better than any of the Carolina Trail courses. It's a terrific layout and well worth $54 (with coupon) on weekends.

  • 8/1/09 - Forum Posting by Lee F. titled "Olde Sycamore Golf Plantation"

    Played Olde Sycamore Golf Plantation on Friday, July 31. We've gotten a good amount of rain this week and the course was a bit wet (cart path golf), but I can imagine this course will suck up all the moisture this week. The place was in great condition. It was my first time playing it and I was impressed. On "par" with Emerald Lake and Skybrook, though Skybrook has had a little wear and tear in recent weeks. Greens were a little beat up due to the moisture and resulting softness of the playing surface, but I think they'll bounce back soon. Even though this course is a bit more expensive than the other public courses in the area, I thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking for a decent challenge and good conditions.

  • 6/23/09

    Played late afternoon on 6/23. Course is still in fine shape tee to green. The rough is definitely tough right now, but it's fair (and actually can help your ball from going into trouble). OS still has the best bunkers of any public course I've played in Charlotte, nice and consistent white sand. The greens were good, maybe just a tad slower, but that was probably due to the lateness of our round (we played from 5 until dark). Overall, I was pretty pleased again with the course.

  • 6/7/09 - Forum Posting by Chuck titled "Carolina Trail Coupons"

    Anybody try the 29.00 carolina trail coupons ? I was curious about the select Tee times. The price is great but don't really want to have to play in the heat of the day. The coupon say anytime but the fine print has select time.

    Played Olde Sycamore on Thursday and the course was in great shape. Greens were firm and fast but rolled real nice.

    Played Stonebridge on Tuesday and the fairway was a little shaggy due to the rain and not being cut but otherwise in great condition.

    Anybody play springfield lately ? Looking to play next week as the rates are down and enjoyed playing there last year.

  • 5/26/09 - Forum Posting by James titled "Olde Sycamore"

    I agree with the comments about the condition of the course. Great shape right now. Greens are quick. I still would rather play Skybrook or Carolina Lakes for the price though, $69 on Friday. They charged a holiday rate. Does anybody know what holiday it was on Friday?

  • 5/22/09

    Played on 5/22. This course gets my highest rating and best review of the year for conditions. Immaculate. Perfectly green and smooth fairways. Fast greens. Just awesome. About the best shape it could be in. Go play it! But grab a coupon or play in the afternoon. The prices have gone up. $69 rack rate on a weekend, $49 on a weekday. I played for $36 after 3 today (Friday). So it was a great deal for what I got.

  • 5/15/09 - Forum Posting by Dave titled "Golf in Charlotte"

    Just some comments on some of the courses I've played in the last couple of months.

    Renaissance - completely disagree with the comments earlier. The only issue I had with this course is that it's sometimes hard to find a flat spot on the tee.

    Emerald lake - completely agree with the last comment. Not going back.

    Regent Park - played there Wednesday. Greens were a little fuzzy and slow but the course is in great shape.

    Springfield - Always in great shape.

    Cleghorn Plantation - made the drive and was dissapointed. Course is gorgeous. Great views, elevation changes, etc. Tees, fairways, bunkers all in great shape. Greens were terrible. They have something growing besides grass. It made them virtually unputtable and ruined the round.

    Olde Sycamore - always in great shape.

    River Oaks - greens were very good. Tee to green, not so much. Needs some work, Not worth the drive unless you're north of town.

    Glen Oaks - I really liked this course. They seem to take a lot of pride in this course. Some really pretty holes and at least one where you tee off across a road. Worth the drive.

    Deer Brook - I wasn't all that impressed but I was out there after some bad weather. I'll try it again before passing judgement.

    Rock Barn - Played the Jones course and it was great as you might expect from a course that is a Senior Tour stop.

    Charlotte Golf Links - It's horrible. Don't bother.

    Moorseville Muni - You hear different things about hhis course but I liked it. A few of the tees needed a lot work but I thought the fairways and greens were very good. They seem to do a lot of 1st Tee/ Junior golf up there. There were lots of kids walking the course Mother's Day.

    Have played Eagle Chase, Fox Den and The Warrior also. All were in good shape and worth going to play.

    Playing Edgewater in the morning. I'll update my last comments about it.

    A comment about Ballantyne Resort. They really aren't interested in attracting local golfers over there. It's all about packaging rounds with rooms and corporate outings.

  • 4/13/09 - Forum Posting by Jin titled "Olde Sycamore"

    Played 4/11 for the first time and pace of play was good. we used coupons off their website for a discount. wet from the t-storms on fri, but it wasn't bad. greens were a bit slower and holes were still visible from aeration... should roll better in the next few weeks. the par 3 4th green really is a monster. well, i think it depends more on pin placement. it didn't look too intimidating off the tee, but once we started putting it was nearly impossible. the pin was cut about 3 ft from the tier in the middle of the green. a few inches past the hole and you roll 20 ft down, and if you roll it a few inches short it'd roll right back down. i was lucky enough to 2 putt and get out. the layout was fun, a few dogleg rights in the beginning. fairways are greening out and bunkers were clean for the most part.

  • 3/11/09 - Forum Posting by J.D. titled "A few course updates"

    B-man,
    I've been golfing, but too busy to provide course updates, so here's a bunch from the last month or so:

    Fort Mill -- The improvements made here are all subtle and these have to be some of the fastest greens in Charlotte... at least at this point of the year. Great value. The course is in good shape.

    Charlotte Golf Links -- The greens and bunkers are in better shape than they've been in the past. Sadly, in an effort to speed up play they've made some changes that make the course a lot easier. Specific changes include slashing the thicket areas between holes #6 and 17, to the right of #7, between holes #10 and #18, and between holes #14 and #15.

    Stonebridge -- I played the same day as you, it seems! I think the course is in very good condition for this time of year. No changes to course layout there.

    Ballantyne Resort -- The changes they made to a few holes seem to be designed specifically to speed up play only. Nothing of any real note. Sad to see hole #2 get changed to a much less interesting hole.

    Olde Sycamore -- I'm growing tired of this course for one very nit-picky reason. The hole placement of the first par-3 (hole #4) is terribly unfair... and it screws up my entire round every time. The hole is perched atop a massive slope. If you're above the hole and you miss the putt by two inches... you wind up 20 feet away. If you're downhill and miss the putt by 4 inches... it rolls back down 20 feet. Sidehill putts are death. That's not the way golf is meant to be played. Rant over. The course is in so-so shape.


    Pebble Creek (Par 3) -- Yes, I'm not above playing a little pitch-n-putt. I know it's early in the season, but this place usually has nice greens and bunkers. Not so. It's in terrible shape, even for this time of year.

    Carolina Lakes (Sun City) -- Continues to be one of the nicest and well-maintained courses around. Not too tough off the tee, but the greens are sinister. They raised prices again and now it's not a good value... but it is a good course when you have some extra cash.

  • 2/28/09 - Forum Posting by Scott titled "The Divide & Olde Sycamore"

    Played the divide this week and the greens are a mess. I don't see how these greens will get any better all year in 2009. Save your money and play somewhere else! Also played Olde Sycamore this week. Course is always in good shape and you can get good deals during M-TH. Greens were fast and rolled great for Feb. They had some evil pin placements out there on Thursday.

  • 2/6/09

    Played on 2/1. Very impressed. Have not played this course in years and am now kicking myself. Although when I did play it last I think it was cheaper. The greens were great, very fast. There was a frost delay so I guess that lent itself to the faster speed. Everything is still brown but it was well worth $50 - expect more in the summer. Go out and play it now while you can. (Thanks to Bill for the update)

  • 7/16/08 - Forum Posting by Elsupremo titled "Recent Play"

    3 July - Played Warrior for the first time. Pretty impressive. Course was in great shape, greens, tee boxes, everything. Well worth the drive. Playing partner walked on and shot four over, the annoying b@$t@rd.

    4 July - Olde Sycamore - Was in it's usual immaculate shape. Of the 30 or so public/semi-private courses I've played in this area, I think this is the nicest and also the most difficult.

    5 July - Tega Cay. Second time I've played here. I think it's a very nice course but it is another one that doesn't believe in bunker maintenance. I've noticed that about several courses in the area.

    12 July - Skybrook - Played here several times and it's always in great shape but it's also one of those courses that could use a little more bunker maintenance. It is on the Carolina Trail now but not part of any of the packages. Not sure what the deal is there.

    13 July - Stonebridge - Nice course but it is a haul from Huntersville. Again, bunker maintenance. How hard is it to go in, turn over the bunkers and rake them smooth. I don't get it. I know, I know, if you don't hit into them you won't have that problem. Whatever.

    Playing Pinetuck on the 18th and Eagle Chase on the 19th. I'll write up something about Pinetuck next week.

  • 7/5/08

    Played on 7/3. The course is in good shape overall. The greens were solid and consistent, but they weren't perfect and they weren't fast. The fairways and tee boxes were in fine shape. If I had to nitpick, I'd say they need to mark hazards more clearly with stakes and painted lines. My group had to take some best-guess drops because it wasn't obvious. One change I noticed from my last visit is that they've really let the brush grow in the creek that divides the #15 fairway. My tee shot bounced into this "hazard" and I dropped some 15-20yds behind the margin. I still couldn't see the flag over the brush and it's an uphill shot! At any rate, I'm mostly sour because I didn't play well. Pace of play was fine and I only paid the afternoon twilight coupon rate ($30), so I shouldn't complain much.

  • 6/28/08 - Forum Posting by James titled "Re: 3 Courses this past weekend"

    I agree - the greens at Rocky River couldn't be any slower. For me, it takes the enjoyment out of the round. Additionally, I think their tee boxes are in poor shape. It's a shame, b/c this course has such a great layout.

    6/22 - Played at Olde Sycamore. This used to be my favorite until Carolina Lakes came around, but I still love it. It was in great shape, quick and fair greens, and a good test of golf. Sign up for their online discounts - some decent deals can be found.

  • 3/22/08

    Played on 3/22. The course is not quite ready for the season yet. They evidently aerated the greens several weeks ago and they still had some sand on them. They rolled fast enough, but had a few bumps. The bermuda fairways won't come in for few more weeks. The tees were also hit and miss. A few of them (such as #6) were just plain bad, in my opinion. All in all, it was just okay and maybe a little disappointing for this time of year -- especially since they are charging higher in-season rates already. Don't even touch this course without a coupon. The rack rate was $68 on a Saturday. Thanks to GolfHoles.com, I only paid $50. If I'd paid $68, I'd have had to say something to the staff.

  • 9/19/07

    Played again on 9/19. Was here just 11 days ago and the course looks even better. Probably the best conditioned course in my area of town, hands down right now. In particular, the fairways are green and lush, despite the lack of rain. Other nearby courses (possible exception: Emerald Lake) aren't faring very well. The greens were also better than my last visit, a little faster and smoother. If you need a place to play where the conditions are guaranteed to be good, stop by Olde Syc.

  • 9/10/07

    Played on 9/8. I was fairly happy with the course conditions. Fairways and greens were solid. I thought the greens were slow, but they are certainly healthy. Just a little hairier than I like at Olde Syc. There were a few odd wet spots around the course (just to the right of #8 green) where you didn't want to hit your ball. I can only guess a renegade sprinkler or hose was to blame, cause there hasn't been any rain in weeks. No other worries, really. They aerated early, back in July/August. So you shouldn't run into any problems.

  • 7/6/07

    (From JD): I played with a local member who told me they just hired a manager who historically was "more interested in coupons than course conditioning." Apparently , Olde Sycamore was in bad shape a few years ago under this guy's watch...and now he's back. Course played fine last weekend, but keep an eye on it.

  • 6/15/07

    Played on 6/15. Course had drained off most of the water. Only had to drop once out of casual water. Fairways, tees, and greens are all green and lush. The greens ran slow for Olde Syc today, mostly due to the rain, but they were all smooth. It's in great shape by my standards.

  • 5/3/07

    Played today. I thought the course was in fine shape. Most holes were green and lush. A few tees were kinda rough or patchy. The #8 fairway was splotchy throughout, but it was fine to play. The greens were good. Not quite as fast and perfect as Skybrook, but consistently good. Several of the Blue tees were up and playing to White yardage, which changed several holes pretty significantly as far as club selection. I wasn't quite sure why they did that. All-around, I was pleased with the course.

  • 4/30/07 - Forum Posting by J.D. titled "More Course Reviews"

    * Regent Park is in better-than-average shape and the greens are rolling true. I met the new owner and he seems to be genuinely committed to providing a quality golf experience.

    * Olde Sycamore is in average shape, but there are a few holes (5-6?) on the front nine that have fairways that are practically dead. Greens have been better here, but are average.

    * Charlotte Golf Links is just awful. The greens are terribly inconsistent, and they're all cut high, almost like fairways. They claim to be working on the problems, but there are beetles on most greens, which suggest its only going to get worse. Are they just letting this place rot? Or are they just keeping status quo because it's always crowded?

  • 8/25/06

    Played on 8/25. The course was just aerated 2 weeks ago and the greens are still coming back. Had no problems with the fairways or rough, but about half the greens were still bumpy and difficult to putt. The other half were in decent shape. So overall, it was fine, but not pristine shape. Give it another couple of weeks if you want really nice greens.

  • 8/10/06

    Course will be aerated on Mon 8/14. They will be offering 50% off green fees for the entire week of 8/14.

  • 7/24/06 - Forum Posting by J.D. titled "CLT Links and Olde Sycamore"

    Latest reviews:

    Charlotte Golf Links -- greens were still bumpy and inconsistent as they have been for most of the year, but the fairways were in average shape. The course layout still continues to impress me...you have to think your way around the course, with a few options off most tees. If they put a bit of money into fixing the greens and making the bunkers a little more interesting (e.g. make them more Scottish), it could be one of the best in Charlotte. The potential is there.

    Olde Sycamore -- worst greens they've had this year, unfortunately. But the fairways are in good shape. If you're having trouble with long irons on this course, you're in for a long day...it feels like the slope rating should be higher than posted. For the money, you'd expect a yardage book or a good GPS system on this course, rather than the dog-eared photobooks they put in the carts. But still a good course.

  • 7/12/06

    Played on 7/11. Course has gotten a bit dried out. Was in pristine condition several weeks ago, but not as perfect now. Greens were top-dressed with light sand and several had thin spots. They still rolled mostly true and quick, but not as smooth as usual. Fairways and rough were fine. Have I mentioned that Olde Syc now has some of the best sand bunkers in the area? Beautiful, consistent white sand. Course was deserted, even for a Tuesday afternoon.

  • 5/14/06 - Forum Posting by chaaooh titled "olde sycamore and eagle chase"

    Played eagle chase and olde sycamore over the past four days. Eagle chase was a really good round, reasonably priced and the greens rolled great. Some very memorable and challenging holes, esp. a few of the par 3s. The fairways were not in great shape however.
    Olde Sycamore is a great round of golf, though I thought the greens were on the slow side.

  • 5/5/06

    Played on 5/4. Course is in nice shape with only a few exceptions. A couple fairways and tees were splotchy and damaged, but the rest were very good. The greens were excellent. The sand bunkers, though no fun to be in, are some of the best in the area. If you haven't played here in a while, you'll notice a lot of new houses springing up. They have changed the view and the landscape of several holes on the back 9. The course has also added several stone walkways right off several of the greens. While aesthetically pleasing and nicely done, they could send a slight mishit into the green out of play. The ones I remember were on #3, #4 and #8. Beware.

  • 1/12/06

    Played on 1/12. Course was wet and cart path only thanks to the heavy rain Wed. Greens were great though, rolling fine with no problem spots. There were some small puddles and muddy areas, but not bad. I'll also give Olde Sycamore its due on their bunkers. Most courses don't drain them and keep them dry after rains. The ones at Olde Syc were in fine shape, zero puddles.

  • 11/23/05 - Forum Posting by Nathan Helms titled "olde sycamore"

    I played olde sycamore today, because it was so cold the greens were brutaly fast. Most holes were not very muddy despite the heavens opening up two days ago. I played a horrible round but course was in good shape.

  • 11/8/05 - Forum Posting by Jamie titled "Re: Vacation Golf"

    Verdict Ridge and Olde Sycamore are fairly different in terms of setup and difficulty. Olde Sycamore is a shot-shaper style course, with the driver not needed on most holes. It has a lot of dog-legs. The greens are usually in great shape, and fairly fast. Verdict Ridge is beautiful, but one of the toughtest courses in this area. The greens are usually very nice, but can be tough to putt because of the undulations. Verdict Ridge is a great course, but it will frustrate you if you don't bring your A game. I play Olde Sycamore more because it's more convenient. Verdict Ridge is a bit of a drive, but worth it.

  • 10/6/05 - Forum Posting by MJS titled "Conditions"

    For those visiting Charlotte this fall, please know that this summer's conditions were very hard on local area greens - very wet and humid early and very, very dry for an extended period only now starting to come back. My opinion on those asked about in earlier posts:

    Springfield - tough tough, forced carries and truly unique place - just now developing real estate on/around course. Play it now as it is one of the best premium courses in the area. I played last week and greens were so so - having just been punched and suffering a bit from the bad summer - great value durring the week and unique.

    Eagle Chase - kind of a long drive, I call this a bubba course. I mean it in a nice way - more like a muni look and feel it is low end but really good layout, not in great shape - almost like a mtn course with elevation change.

    Olde Sycamore - Probably best greens around right now - very playable and tough layout. typical Charlotte style course in a housing development.

    Regent Park - great layout and usually great shape - i have heard greens were lost earlier this year and have stayed away but will defer to earlier posters and go back on their rec.

    Waterford - in Rock Hill SC - 30 min from Charlotte. A gem, and a Hale Irwin Course very fun and some unique holes (#3 has you drive thru a "chute") Good shape

    Charlotte Golf Links - scottish style layout with lots of Gorse, bunkers and elevated greens - good shape and right off 485

    Stonebridge - good shape for the most part and forgiving layout

    Larkhaven is a muni that is not in the same tier as above but fun/fair and cheap

    Verdict Ridge is TIGHT and LOTS of houses but very nice and good shape last time I played

    My top 4:

    Waterford
    Olde Sycamore
    Springfield
    Charlotte Golf Links

  • 9/22/05 - Forum Posting by Jim C. titled "Re: Course conditions"

    Played Olde Sycamore today 09.22.05. It was great. Conditions were excellent. You can find a coupon in the paper here for $35 per person or at www.golfholes.com.

    Played Springfield last week 09.15.05 and the greens were in very poor condition. I've always enjoyed Springfield but would not play there again until the greens have returned.

  • 8/11/05

    Played on 8/10. A few greens were sanded, but hardly affected play. The greens were actually rolling awesome, nice and true. Tees and fairways were in great shape. Super-twilight on weekdays is $30.

  • 7/5/05

    Played on 7/1. No problems to report. Course is generally well-kept. Minor problems, such as a very patchy 7th fairway, don't impact play most of the time. Greens are in typical good shape.

  • 5/13/05

    Played on 5/6. In good shape. Greens were very good. No complaints. $38 on a Friday afternoon.

  • 5/4/04

    Very good shape overall. Greening up. Only a few rough spots -- some so-so tees and a bunker under repair on #2. Greens were very consistent and medium speed. This course will likely be in perfect shape within a few weeks.

  • 3/16/04 - Forum Posting by Sonny Rauscher titled "Olde Sycamore"

    Oh yeah, Forgot about telling you about Olde sycamore!! Not as nice as Tega Cay, But had a very nice time there. Greens were in excelent shape. Fairways were not overseeded. I really don't care for playing with dormant fairways, It's so hard to see.

  • 4/23/03

    Held their member-guest tourney today (4/23) -- no, B-Man's team didn't win. Course is in very good shape. Fairways are green and lush, though still a bit soggy in spots. Greens are very good, rolling medium fast.

  • 3/9/03

    Course will be closed Monday, 3/10 for aeration. Fairways were already wet, muddy and in average shape for this time of year. Greens, however, were in excellent shape, rolling fast and true. Pace of play was very slow today and it was cart path only.



Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Forum Post

The Divide closing for greens renovation this month

By The B-Man on 8/5/20

Great news for The Divide! The course was approved for a $350k greens renovation starting this month. The greens will be sodded with Diamond Zoysia grass, the same as Eagle Chase in Marshville (and those have been good year round). The work starts next week and the course...

Instagram

@charlottegolfer