Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses

Reviews for Lincoln Country Club

Recent Reviews for All Courses

Review
  • 3/21/20 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    My first round here and I loved the course. Great layout and fantastic greens. They are Diamond Zoysia and were perfectly smooth and quick. The course gets an A for the greens alone. The original 9 holes is over 70 years old and has a great risk/reward mix, starting with the opening par 5, with an approach over water. Between the 1st and 2nd holes, there's some construction of condos going on and so it's walled off with black plastic. That's also made the 2nd hole a par 3 over water, as the construction is using that hole for runoff/retention ponds, where there was no hazard before. #7 is a great par 5 with a pond looming at the end of the fairway about 250 yds out and then an uphill climb to the green. Speaking of the greens, they are generally small. You can't have a putt over 60/80 feet on any green. With quick greens and some slopes, it can make putting and chips pretty tricky. This is a relatively short course with lots of scoring opportunities. The closing par 4 18th hole features a narrow landing area with a sharp dogleg right to the green which is perched on a hill next to the clubhouse. It was a fun round and I'll be back soon!

    Read The Review
  • 11/27/18 - Forum Posting by Tubby titled "Lincoln CC"

    Played Lincoln CC last week. Best greens I've putted in a long time anywhere. Fairways were good. Tee boxes ok. Good test of golf and fun to play. Only negative was cart path only.

  • 11/27/18 - Forum Posting by Tubby titled "Re: Lincoln CC"

    Forgot to mention that bunkers and cart paths need a bit of work but for the price this course is an excellent value.

  • 2/3/17 - Forum Posting by Albert So titled "Re: Lincoln Country Club"

    Almost blew somebody's windshield out. Check traffic before hitting on 10, 11 and 12.
    I hate this golf course. Love playing there, but it kills me. Just cannot figure out the greens. Most places I'm a two-putt or better. Not here. And yeah, they're fast, firm- my preference. One par-3 on the front I swear the ball appeared to roll uphill.
    Four doglegs are close to 90-degrees. Fun. Wide open fairways are sprinkled with semi-visible traps, plenty of water. No miss-hits allowed. Every shot has got to count. Most of the collars are a little chewed up. By the way, most greens are slightly elevated so you can forget about a bump and run. Short shots roll off to the side.
    Cheap rates. Paid $14 to walk. Which was a challenge. Some pretty steep hills. r />Worth playing this course just for #18 which has the steepest approach shot of any course in the area. Granted, I was pretty ragged at this point. At 135 yards out I hit a five-wood, thinking "If I hit the club house maybe that'll teach 'em." Pin-high with a steep downhill roll I two-putted for par on a hole I assumed I'd double- or triple-bogey. I hate this course.

  • 1/1/17 - Forum Posting by NCGolfer titled "Lincoln Country Club"

    Played at Lincoln CC last week. Course is in great shape. Greens are quick and roll true. Good test of golf. Definitely will be back.

  • 8/29/16 - Forum Posting by 5putts titled "Re: Information regarding Lincoln Country Club"

    Based on the LCC review, played there Sat. AM. The course is in best shape I've seen in 5 yrs. Greens are pristine but slow-ish. Fairways are generally nice but the rough could use a trim and there are some nasty spots if you are wayward off the tee. All-in-all a decent track with some quirky holes that has made some serious strides to come back. Now if they could just level out the cart paths on the front 9...

  • 8/4/16 - Forum Posting by HittOD titled "Information regarding Lincoln Country Club"

    This is a review of Lincoln Country Club (LCC), in Lincolnton, NC. LCC is not available as selection on the "Post a Review" section of BMan's website. I'll try not to be too biased, as I am a member of this club. LCC had trouble over the years with maintaining bent greens in the summer, partly due to financial difficulties. LCC was bought by a local business man a few years ago, and my guess is that close to 2 million dollars has been infused into the club. This includes a new swimming pool, clubhouse upgrades, new maintainence equipment, enlarged parking areas, and the golf course itself.
    The club was closed from mid May 2016 to the first part of July 2016 for a greens renovation project. The greens were re-sodded with Diamond Zoysia! grass, and the contours of some of the greens were upgraded to provide for more possible pin placements. This is the same type grass as that of the greens of Eagle Chase in Marshville, NC. All greens were enlarged some. These greens are very nice and are coming into their own. Their speed should increase throughout the coming months.
    The fairways are full, with well defined rough. Most tee boxes are in very good shape, with a few needing some work. I dare say that the golf course is in the best shape that I have ever seen. I have lived on this course since 2001. LCC provides a good variety of holes not necessarily favoring a drawer or fader of the golf ball.
    I suspect that most people reading this review are in the Charlotte area, but I would recommend checking out Lincoln Country Club if you get a chance. The food service is excellent, and many locals are choosing LCC for lunch and dinner.



Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Forum Post

The Divide closing for greens renovation this month

By The B-Man on 8/5/20

Great news for The Divide! The course was approved for a $350k greens renovation starting this month. The greens will be sodded with Diamond Zoysia grass, the same as Eagle Chase in Marshville (and those have been good year round). The work starts next week and the course...

Instagram

@charlottegolfer