Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses

Reviews for Mooresville Golf Club

Recent Reviews for All Courses

Review
  • 7/14/20 - Review by RT

    "Great course"

    Mooresville is in superb condition. Tee boxes are some of the best in the area. Fairways were play-the-ball-down condition with excellent lies all day. Greens were firm but receptive and rolled very smoothly with very consistent speed all day. The Bermuda is thriving in the summer heat, and the turf is full, with the rough cut at about a half-stroke penalty height. Fun course. Front and back are very different.

    Read The Review
  • 6/1/20 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    Mooresville comes in at #4 on my recently published Top 10 list for Charlotte and this round validated that ranking. The layout is fun and challenging. The greens are tough but fair and the price is right. Just a well maintained course and great bang for the buck. Today, conditions were very good. Tees and fairways are lush and full with very few issues due to the rain. The greens were not as fast as I've seen them here but they were rolling true. It was still cart path only today but I heard that should change tomorrow. The path restriction meant we couldn't use the GPS on the carts today but it's a nice feature when you can drive to your ball. It's two to a cart now and there were sand bottles on the carts. So some of the restrictions are easing up. This course has a nice practice area for your warm-up. I really like the front nine. It's easily walkable and has two reachable par 5's. The back nine is a little trickier and has three of each par 3, par 4 and par 5s, which is unique for Charlotte. The only issues today were some ground under repair on #1 where the rains have washed out some areas that just have sand right now and also around the green on #11. Those issues were isolated but I found both areas with my approaches and had to take relief. This is a great course and if you have never played it, take a trip up 77 and check it out.

    Read The Review
  • 9/22/19 - Review by wesleyheightshacker

    "Perfect"

    First time playing Mooresville today and I will be back. The course was in fantastic shape - tee boxes, fairways, and greens. Pace of play was right at 4 hours. The front nine is a little more aesthetically appealing to my eye, however the entire course was excellent.

    Read The Review
  • 8/29/19 - Review by IM4DHERD

    "Great course"

    Or darn near perfect. Greens rival those at The Warrior. When they re-opened a while back they were far too fast. Coupla years of aerating and they roll as well or better than anywhere. Great layout and near perfect conditions.

    Read The Review
  • 7/24/19 - Review by IM4DHERD

    "Great course"

    Mooresville is looking and playing great. Some of the best greens in the area, right up there with Warrior. When they were rebuilt they were too hard and fast, but have settled down. Fairways, rough, tee boxes all in excellent shape. One of the best practice ranges, chipping greens and putting greens in the Metro area.

    Read The Review
  • 5/27/18 - Forum Posting by BetterThanMost titled "The Hits Just Keep On Coming"

    Mooresville is currently using 3 temporary greens and will close on June 11th for the remainder of the month to complete repairs to the course.

  • 5/27/18 - Review by BetterThanMost

    "Bad, stay away"

    Mooresville Golf Club is currently using 3 temporary greens and will close on June 11th for the remainder of the month of June to complete repairs.

    Read The Review
  • 5/27/18 - Review by KyleSmith

    "Great course"

    Disclaimer up front: yes, they have three temp greens currently. That shouldn't keep you from playing this course if you are in the area. This is the best public track I have played in Charlotte. Hands down. The back nine (our front nine) can play a little tight, but many holes I hit 2 iron off the tee and still had low iron/wedge in. The course was well kept and the greens were pristine. I will for sure be back that way this summer once the greens are finished.

    Read The Review
  • 5/5/18 - Review by dischydo

    "Great course"

    Fairways were in bad shape. #2,4 and 18 greens were bad as well. A A member told me that they are closing it down for a month to get them back. They really want it to be a great course, which it could be

    Read The Review
  • 8/5/17 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    My first time getting out to Mooresville to see the renovated layout and new amenities. The clubhouse is complete and open, though the snack area and restaurant were not fully functional yet. The practice facility is as advertised and very extensive. I made a tee time the night before and got a decent weekend afternoon rate. I loved the course! It's in great shape. The bermuda greens are very challenging but very consistent. With 5 par-5's and par-3's and a couple of short par 4's, scoring opportunities abound. It definitely helps to have some local knowledge to pick good targets, especially on approaches into these young greens -- which don't hold approaches very well. There are some picturesque holes and quirky ones (be careful with your approach into #4!). Conditions were pretty immaculate tee-to-green, but don't venture off the first cut of rough. I lost two balls in thick pampass grass/weeds just off the cart paths on two holes, which was very frustrating. The beverage cart was out on the course and we saw it frequently - which seems to be a lost art these days with other courses. All in all this is course that's worth the long drive for me (50+ min) and I will make the trip again soon!

    Read The Review
  • 5/14/17 - Review by BetterThanMost

    "Worth playing"

    Played the redesign for the first time yesterday. Huge improvement over the old layout. Conditions for the most part much better as well. There are still a few fairways that are thin, particularly the 2nd. Greens are still concrete hard. Well struck shots did not hold a green as they would bounce over the back. Greens are also lightning fast. Construction on the new clubhouse seems to be progressing nicely, and the range and practice areas are really nice.

    Read The Review
  • 12/29/16 - Review by TPX

    "Great course"

    Loved the old setup, love the new setup. Really a great course for the money. Always crowded, so make sure to get a time in advance. For winter conditions, the course is great. New greens are very firm and fast. Along with the speed of the greens, the new greens have a ton of undulations to navigate. A very good test of your game.

    Read The Review
  • 12/28/16 - Forum Posting by The B-Man titled "Re: Mooresville Golf Course"

    I've added this course so you can all now post official reviews!

  • 11/7/16 - Forum Posting by Albert So titled "Mooresville Golf Course"


    While itís nice to see an old course renovated, the front is no longer by any stretch a Donald Ross course. Two complaints: The bunker walls are ridiculously steep with grass so long it holds the ball, keeping it from rolling into the bunker and they are too steep to stand on forcing a shot from the sand at a ball above the waist! Second: the course is just too popular. One oíclock on a Thursday afternoon and itís packed.

  • 10/12/16 - Forum Posting by IM4DHERD titled "Re: Mooresville Golf Club"

    HAVE TO get this Club listed. Played yesterday. Played it many times in the past (Donald Ross front nine, very challenging back nine) but it closed for renovations for 22 months. Many of the holes are recognizable (#s 1,2,4 and 11-18 except for 13 which has been stretched into a par 5). Really like how the new holes on the front are configured, a stretch gives a Links style look. Best greens I have seen in forever, no doubt. Firm and FAST. Excellent practice area. Tee Boxes and fairways are in better shape than Glen Oaks, and that is saying something if you have ever played there. Probably should be expected after almost two years of work. Excellent work with the sand traps - placement and condition. Thick fluffy sand. Few holes have traps 50-100 yards from the green bu! t from the fairway looks to be greenside, something to get used to. My GPS is no good as this course hasn't been mapped. They need to put together a yardage book. Oh yeah, new carts too.

  • 10/12/16 - Forum Posting by IM4DHERD titled "Re: Mooresville Golf Club"

    More info. Not to oversell it, because the more of you who play it, the less the rest of us can, but it is pretty much the first new golf course in some time. Even though a number of the old holes are recognizable slopes have been evened out, trees removed, traps added, etc. Lot's of tall links-type grasses.

    5 par 5s, 5 par 3s. 6800 from the blues, 6300 from the whites. Played with a freshman Catawba College golfer and a Sr. HS player who bombed 300 yard drives and hit a 5 wood 260 to a green, and they had a pretty tough time of it. Pretty difficult, my worst score in over a year.

    These kids work at the club and say a number of new members (yes, it is now semi-private) are also members at Trump National. I now put this one up with any of my favorites and some of the highest rated courses on this site like Edgewater, Stonebridge, Glen Oaks, Deerbrook, and Red Bridge.

  • 10/5/16 - Forum Posting by aepfeiffer titled "Re: Mooresville Golf Club"

    I haven't got a chance to play there yet, used to play this course a ton back before they shut it down, so looking forward to playing there soon, actually tried to get a tee time for this weekend and its booked up unless you can play after 1pm if you want a 4 some! I looked on GolfNow and seems like almost all early tee times are booked up b/w today 10/5 and next Wed 10/12. Im sure some of the newness is the reason for the bookings, but I heard they sold like 1000 memberships and for anyone that bought a 2017 membership they got the rest of 2016 for free, and they allow members to book 14 days in advance, so Im wondering if some of the early tee times are getting booked up by the influx of members! Just hoping it lives up to the hype, they used to have bent grass that always stayed in good shape%2! C but they installed Tiff Eagle greens, so they should be excellent year round and fast! Is there any way to add Mooresville along with Crowders Mountain to the list of Charlotte area courses for review?



Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Forum Post

The Divide closing for greens renovation this month

By The B-Man on 8/5/20

Great news for The Divide! The course was approved for a $350k greens renovation starting this month. The greens will be sodded with Diamond Zoysia grass, the same as Eagle Chase in Marshville (and those have been good year round). The work starts next week and the course...

Instagram

@charlottegolfer