Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings
Re: Zoysia
Posted by: The B-Man
on 8/16/17 5:00pm
Eagle Chase in Marshville.

Reviews for Dr. Charles L. Sifford Golf Course at Revolution Park


View Recent Reviews for All Courses

Dr. Charles L. Sifford Golf Course at Revolution Park Date: 8/29/17 Tue Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 35
Cost: $20
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
I've been playing the Sifford course just about every week on Tuesdays as part of a small work golf league. Looking at the last review from November, I decided I should post an update. I've gotten accustomed to the course now and really appreciate it for what it is -- a friendly, inexpensive, fun place to play. The course itself is kept in good shape. The bermuda greens are pretty consistent -- they've been kept at normal speeds, maybe even a little on the slow side, but they could easily cut them a little lower and make them lightning quick. So it's a good idea to stroke some putts on the practice green before playing. The course is only 9 holes but offers a good mix of challenges. It plays to beginners as well as seasoned golfers. It can play short, even from the back tees, but makes up for that with doglegs, elevation changes and a few undulating, sloped greens. I managed to shoot even par for 9 holes in my round today. So I definitely think your scores and appreciation for the course will improve as you play it more. The pro shop is very friendly and accommodating -- the beer selection and prices are the best around the local golf courses. And the practice area is extensive, one of the best public facilities for practice and learning in the area.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Dr. Charles L. Sifford Golf Course at Revolution Park Date: 11/10/16 Thu Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $29
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: aimtobreak80 See All Reviews by this user
I finally got around to playing this course on "my dollar" (see 9/22/16 review). The conditions were almost perfect, weather and course, but I don't deal in superlatives, and gave it a "good" condition report. The only, slightly negative aspect was that the greens were very fast and slick,and didn't hold approach shots very well (I assume due to the local drought that is extending beyond 30 days according to the local weather guessers). This is a challenging golf course, especially for us seniors who are losing driving distance. The 9th hole is particularly challenging in that, from the tee, one must carry the ditch some 170 yards away (All three of my group had trouble doing so). It does help that it is a Par 5, so one could lay up on the drive and still have a chance for par. The only other negative is a personal one for me - it is a good distance from my home, and morning traffic is atrocious. The course does make tee times for singles, so that helps - one doesn't have to drive all that distance with a "hope" of getting on.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Dr. Charles L. Sifford Golf Course at Revolution Park Date: 9/23/16 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 38
Cost: $21
Conditions: PerfectPace: < 3 Hours
Username: Mattrobinson065 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
Granted this is a 9 hole course, it's actually in remarkably good shape given it's heavy foot traffic and proximity to uptown. The greens are fantastic, fairways and tee boxes are in fantastic shape. This is a great course to practice on and play a "quick" 9 after work or later in the evenings. The practice facilities are also very nice.
View Comments (2) Post Comment

Dr. Charles L. Sifford Golf Course at Revolution Park Date: 9/23/16 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 41
Cost: $23
Conditions: PerfectPace: < 3 Hours
Username: dyork See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 18.1
The course is in superb condition. I don't have a single complaint about the quality of the greens, fairways, tee boxes, sand or cart paths. For a 9 hole muni... I am really surprised at how well kept this course is. Great practice facitlity. Great staff. Great course layout, challenging dog legs and tree placement really make you think thru your approach to each shot. Club selection is important. The only thing this course lacks is a water presence... and maybe a few more sand traps to add to the difficulty, but I'm not complaining.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Dr. Charles L. Sifford Golf Course at Revolution Park Date: 9/22/16 Thu Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: aimtobreak80 See All Reviews by this user
Let me start off with a disclaimer. I was invited to play a round, for free, at this course in exchange for posting a review of my experience on this website. I have made every effort to ensure that the following comments reflect an honest, objective assessment of the course condition and offerings, but I emphasize that they are my personal opinions from the point of view of a senior golfer with a handicap currently in the mid-to-upper teens. I started off talking to Wesley Jones, the General Manager, about the course, and I was greatly impressed by two things – the man truly knows his golf course and he, himself, actually plays the course on a regular basis. He believes that the course has the nicest practice facilities of any public course in the Charlotte area. I am unable, personally, to confirm or deny that, but the course does have two large putting greens (and a third, smaller green adjacent to the first tee), a driving range, and a newly installed pitching/chipping green that has large, over-sized holes to enhance the practice experience. The course is only 9 holes, but there is no short-changing the golfing experience. Personally, I often enjoy such courses because it gives me a real incentive, and truly objective measure thereof, for improving on the “second” nine holes of a round. This was true, for me, today, when armed with a little more knowledge of the layout, I scored 4 strokes better than my opening nine holes. There is a Course Guide (yardage book) available that offers good, strategic advice for managing play. The cart was a very energetic electric vehicle that operated smoothly and quietly. All teeboxes, fairways, and greens were, indeed, “green”. The greens were very good, although I never quite mastered their speed (maybe because of intermittent rain showers). The rough can best be described as short-to-moderate in length. Wesley told me his philosophy is that one should be able to see the golf ball from 50 yards away, and that certainly seemed to be true. The Pro Shop area is neat and clean, and even the on-course restroom was immaculately clean and fresh. This is not an EASY course, by any means, in spite of being only 9 holes and having relatively shorter yardage available. It is a good, challenging course that, currently, is in very good playing condition, and offers competitive rates ($29 for seniors for 18 holes and a cart). Geographically, it is a little out of the way for me, and the stop-and-go traffic on I-77 this morning made me question my desire of an early morning tee time, but I fully intend on returning to play the course “on my own dollar” (hopefully when it is a little sunnier and drier). I would heartily recommend the course to any who work in downtown Charlotte, and want to get in a quick nine either before, or after.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Dr. Charles L. Sifford Golf Course at Revolution Park Date: 9/3/13 Tue Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $9
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: justslappy See All Reviews by this user
Great experience. Fun layout. Had a blast walking the course this morning. Best public practice facility in Charlotte. Super location, just a mile or two from uptown Charlotte. Friendly, helpful staff. And really inexpensive.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Dr. Charles L. Sifford Golf Course at Revolution Park Date: 8/4/13 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 34
Cost: $29
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: Luv2golf See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 3.0
This is quickly moving towards being my favorite course in the area. It definitely has the absolute best practice area and a wonderful 9 holes of golf. Easy course to walk. The greens roll true and the fairways always give you a good lie. The staff is very friendly and it's just a fun place to hang out. Very family friendly as it is home to The First Tee of Charlotte. If you work down town and live in South Charlotte you should stop by and play 9 holes or spend some time on the practice area after work rather than fighting traffic. I look forward to my next visit.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Dr. Charles L. Sifford Golf Course at Revolution Park Date: 5/19/13 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 37
Cost: $12
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: < 3 Hours
Username: Russell See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 6.0
The course renovations a few years ago have really improved the layout here. They installed all new putting surfaces at the same time and last year they were in great shape. They are suffering right now, I think from the cool spring. It appeared as if they had been punched awhile back and were not recovering well. Hopefully, the warm weather will revive them. I really like the overseeding of the fairways they did this winter - the course looked great. The rest of the course was acceptable - remember this is a Radcliffe course (CT Myers, Renaissanse) so don't expect plush conditions. I think it is a great deal for a quick 9 but it is not for everyone.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Dr. Charles L. Sifford Golf Course at Revolution Park Date: 3/25/13 Mon Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score:
Cost: $
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: zzazazz See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 25.0
The fairways are really coming in now after the redesign. It has taken a while but this spring and summer should provide some good play. The greens are super fast. Almost too fast for radical sloping on some of these greens. This is my favorite place to practice. Generally there not a lot of players on the range and I like some privacy when practicing.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Dr. Charles L. Sifford Golf Course at Revolution Park Date: 12/3/12 Mon Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 41
Cost: $13
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: 4amigos See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 12.0
Greens have some ball marks but still playing fast
View Comments (0) Post Comment