Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings
Re: Zoysia
Posted by: The B-Man
on 8/16/17 5:00pm
Eagle Chase in Marshville.

Reviews for Glen Oaks Golf Club


View Recent Reviews for All Courses

Glen Oaks Golf Club Date: 7/11/17 Tue Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $25
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: tvrepairex See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 15.6
Great course.The fairways are lush and green,the tee boxes are good except for one I noticed on gold tees.The greens were smooth but a little slow.The only issue was that the traps had not been raked.In fairness to the course,they were hit with a severe storm three days before and they lost approx.30 trees,so they were busy with that clean up and I'm sure that put the raking and mowing a little behind.Even with that,there was no problems with the trees around the course,only saw a few twisted sumps and some piles of brush far enough back in the woods that you had to look to see them.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Glen Oaks Golf Club Date: 9/2/14 Tue Morning
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 74
Cost: $24
Conditions: PerfectPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: oneputt See All Reviews by this user
What a great surprise! Made the 40 minute drive out here and I am glad that I did. The course was in perfect condition. Fairways were mowed and really full of grass. Not a bad lie the entire day. Traps and bunkers were perfect. Full of sand, consistent and raked. Not a single foot print in the sand. Greens were smooth and held shots nicely. There were plenty of ball marks to be repaired. At least three other than mine on every green. This is such an un-necessary issue. If only those playing could be so courteous and fix just their own mark. It would make a huge impact on the overall quality of the golfing experience. Played with two others who new the course. This really helped. I can't wait to take my gang out there soon. Worth the drive and certainly the costs can't be beat!
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Glen Oaks Golf Club Date: 8/5/14 Tue Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 81
Cost: $24
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: Bob10276 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 12.0
This is the biggest bargain in the Charlotte area. Nice course in great condition and dirt cheap. They don't take tee times m-th but there is never a long wait on the first tee. Everything is well maintained and fun to play. A couple of goofy holes such as the par 5 18th where you re-tee at the bottom of a hill after a 200 yard drive so you can hit a 165 yard carry across a lake on your second shot. Tough for us seniors, but fun. Overall a great experience and the best golf value in the area.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Glen Oaks Golf Club Date: 7/14/14 Mon Afternoon
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 71
Cost: $34
Conditions: PerfectPace: < 3 Hours
Username: golferdude See All Reviews by this user
Extremely well maintained course with medium-fast greens. Only 2 other groups on the course and never had to wait.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Glen Oaks Golf Club Date: 9/18/13 Wed Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 86
Cost: $33
Conditions: PerfectPace: < 3 Hours
Username: IM4DHERD See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 16.0
Best conditioned course in the area, hands down. Found out that a membership costs just $240 per quarter...something to think about.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Glen Oaks Golf Club Date: 7/1/13 Mon Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 84
Cost: $30
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: Scott Brotherton See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 10.0
I had heard this course was a hidden gem and after finally playing it, I found that's the truth. I highly recommend checking this course out. Fairways and greens are in phenomenal shape. Go play there!
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Glen Oaks Golf Club Date: 6/3/13 Mon Afternoon
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 89
Cost: $34
Conditions: PerfectPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: izzyf150 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 17.4
For those of you who post ratings on this site especially those of you who give away stars liberally. I am making it mandatory for you to make a road trip up to Glen Oaks and see what a 5 star public golf course looks like. WOW, this was without a doubt the best public course that I have golfed on from the B-man list. The fairways were perfect, the greens were perfect, and the sand traps were perfect. As far as the condition of the course goes everything was great and picture perfect looking golf holes. Even the woods were cleaned out making the balls easy to find. (not mine but my playing partner hit one in there ( : ) $34 for a round of golf, you canít beat that with a stick. This is a public golf course with private golf course quality. Only bad things to report is that their club house burnt down and they are working out of a trailer. They could also use some more water jugs on the course.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Glen Oaks Golf Club Date: 10/18/12 Thu Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 75
Cost: $33
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 5 Hours
Username: golden2320 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 3.4
I have been reading reviews from this website for some time now but after my round Tuesday I decided start my own reviews. I played Glen Oaks Golf Club Tuesday at 10:30am. First let me say the course was beautiful even with a temp green on the 18th due to Bermuda grass taking over the bent grass on the green. But what made me sick to my stomach the whole round was the worst hospitality,impolite A-1 PGA Pro I have ever seen. We called ahead the day before and everything was good. When we got there it was full price for 3 A-1 pros and an assistant pro. Make us pay, fine with me. But, He treated us with no respect, made us tee off on #7 in the middle of a cluster f***. We were not the only guys he was treating like trash either. He needs to find a new line of work if he doesn't know how to treat and communicate with other people. Other than the pro there the maintenance crew was awesome and hard at work. Nice guys for sure.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Glen Oaks Golf Club Date: 8/18/12 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 98
Cost: $43
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: 4Putts See All Reviews by this user
First time at Glen Oaks and my score showed it... :) Course is on pretty good shape. Tees, traps, fairways good. Greens not bad considering a lot of ball mark damage. Recommended!
View Comments (5) Post Comment

Glen Oaks Golf Club Date: 8/9/12 Thu Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 89
Cost: $33
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: Wulfpack See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Occasional Golfer (handful of times per year)Handicap: 15.0
It was my first time out to Glen Oaks. Great course. Very well maintained. Fairways are like greens which made for excellent lies, and the greens were quick. Really wide fairways on a bunch of holes. Several odd designs. For example, on the par 5 no. 18, the course (local rule) lets you tee up your second shot over a lake if you hit your first over two of the restraining walls (it funnles downhill off the tee) that head down toward the lake. It's about 250 yards away (from the white tees) to get to the second wall, and another 200 or so to carry the lake. You then have about 120 to the green, now back uphill. On another hole on the backside you basically have to hit it over (or around) an old barn that guards the green on a dogleg left along with a creek that runs through. Really weird, but I kind of like it. Downside of the course today is that it was packed, and made for a very slow round. Couldn't go anywhere and a lot of walkers in the morning. Was told this is just a normal day on the course. This is a very popular course in the Lincolnton/Maiden area as there are just not a whole lot of options up this way. Clubhouse is ancient and needs some updating, but no big deal. I will be back as it is an excellent value, but I'd probably put it a notch below Verdict Ridge, Red Bridge, Stonebridge, and Edgewater. Seemed a little more like an old school municipal course that is just very well maintained.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Glen Oaks Golf Club Date: 7/6/12 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 80
Cost: $33
Conditions: PerfectPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: DrSchteeve See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 8.0
Best conditions I have ever played in. The fairways, especially, had nice cushiony grass, perfectly mowed, so if you were in the fairway, you had a perfect lie. The layout is very traditional, fairly wide fairways, a few funky dogleg holes to make things interesting. It is a hike, but so are a lot of the best public courses in Charlotte (Eagle Chase, Red Bridge, Verdict Ridge, Edgewater are my favorites). I played as a single and until I ran into a dogfight on the back nine, every group I came up on let me through immediately, without asking - the most uniformly courteous bunch of golfers I have seen.
View Comments (0) Post Comment