Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings
Re: Zoysia
Posted by: The B-Man
on 8/16/17 5:00pm
Eagle Chase in Marshville.

Reviews for Tillery Tradition Country Club


View Recent Reviews for All Courses

Tillery Tradition Country Club Date: 7/29/16 Fri Morning
Overall Rating: Average
Score:
Cost: $30
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: tvrepairex See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 15.6
Let me start by saying this is one of my favorite courses to play.Being a senior ,the course is challenging but not too long.The fairways were really good with no bare spots and good grass,maybe not "lush" but very good.The traps were raked with plenty of sand ,I know because I found enough of them.The tees were grass covered, but maybe a little too long in places and the rough was fair,thick but not too deep that you lose balls. The bad part were the greens.They always seem to have issues here.They repaired some of them this spring and they grew in well,but now they have major issues again.Lots of large bare areas and sporatic small areas.They just can't keep these bent grass greens alive down there is the heat we are having. The course is trying to up their memberships so they can be a more "upscale" course-higher fees- but it "ain't gonna happen"until they switch greens to champion bermuda or mini verde. The new management that was brought in has a tough job ahead.They want more income,but can't get more players with the greens issues and also the location.If they raise rates,they will lose some of the players they have now.I drive from Concord,because I like the layout and the rates are reasonable for the quality,excepting bad greens,but with a rate increase ,I will not be returning as often.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tillery Tradition Country Club Date: 1/16/16 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 73
Cost: $
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: HittOD See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 5.0
Played this round in January 2016, so Bermuda fairways/rough was dormant. Had rained recently, so very soggy. Full of grass in fairways and roughs, so should be very nice when turns green. Bent greens were very good in design, and average in condition, having areas that never recovered from the summer heat. Very large, modern clubhouse. Good hot dog at the turn. All staff very nice. I definitely look forward to playing this course again when grass starts growing. Good layout. Offer some great deals on Golf Websites, but my 1.75 hour drive will keep me from playing often, and the drive likely limits play from Charlotte golfers.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tillery Tradition Country Club Date: 7/19/15 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 91
Cost: $40
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
I used my free Sunday afternoon to make the hour's drive out to Tillery Tradition and play it for the first time. I got there early and enjoyed a nice $15 Sunday brunch at Eagle's Nest. The driving range had multiple tiers and even tees off to the left side where you could practice shorter distances to the short target pins for wedge practice. The staff in the pro shop was friendly and helpful. There are plenty of water stations and restrooms conveniently located around the course, but I was disappointed there was no beverage cart on a brutal 95 degree Sunday afternoon. So how about the course. Well... it's a challenging layout with most holes including some kind of dogleg (unfortunately for my game most of them were dogleg rights) and significant slopes and hills to navigate. You will get many sidehill, downhill and uphill lies, even in the fairway. Tees were fine. Bunkers seemed fine. Alas, the greens. They are bentgrass and I'm sure they keep them a bit longer and slower during the summer to save them. So slow speeds were one issue. The bigger issue was that most greens (almost every one on the back side) had many bare spots with no grass at all. A handful of holes had several areas on the green where they would not be able to put a pin because of the damage. At least one of the pins today was near the problem area, but in most cases the staff did a good job of keeping the bad spots out of play. One green (#3) had significant weeds growing on it, which you had to putt through. Given the sporadic nature of the green issues, I wouldn't call it a huge problem, but I was disappointed to be sure. It was a long drive to get there, I paid $40 and was excited to finally play the course. I won't go back until I hear that the greens are in better shape.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tillery Tradition Country Club Date: 6/14/15 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $14
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: BetterThanMost See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 18.0
First really hot day of golf this year for me. The golf course at Tillery Tradition was in great shape for the most part. The fairways had a decent amount of grass on them, and the greens were rolling well. They were syringing the greens throughout the afternoon as temps approached the high 90's. The 16th green was the only one that I saw with any kind of issues; it had a few bare spots in front. Teeboxes on some holes needed to be mowed a little lower, but I think they are taking precaution with those for the rest of the summer. The rough is starting to thicken up nicely, to the point where finding a stray tee shot is difficult. The course was busier than I expected with the heat, but I was still able to get around in a little over 3.5 hours. The layout is great with doglegs, elevation changes, long and short holes.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tillery Tradition Country Club Date: 4/3/15 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 84
Cost: $25
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: Jan See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 20.0
Very enjoyable afternoon on the golf course. Fairways are recovering from a recent aeration and starting to fill in. Greens were in very good shape. This course will be spectacular later in the spring. Staff was very friendly. Not a bad drive from my home in South Charlotte. Very good value for the money.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tillery Tradition Country Club Date: 7/30/14 Wed Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 87
Cost: $18
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: panthersfann55 See All Reviews by this user
white tees chewed up, fairways great shape, rough ball will sit down in certain areas but fair, some greens showing summer stress but pins were away from these areas. suprisingly not a lot of ball marks even though the greens were soft. bunkers raked and had soft sand. play here once or twice a year due to distance. good value except at 1130am the snack bar had 1 hot dog (still raw) going with at least 10 buns in the machine. eagle chase still has the best dogs.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tillery Tradition Country Club Date: 6/20/14 Fri Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 87
Cost: $25
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: tvrepairex See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 15.6
Great course,tees good,fairways good,traps fluffy sand and all raked.Greens were good but a tad slow.Had a good online rate.A little bit off the path for Charlotte area golfers,but that just leaves more open tee times for those of us a little closer!
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Tillery Tradition Country Club Date: 11/3/13 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 91
Cost: $21
Conditions: PerfectPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: slowmofo See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 20.0
Made the trip up to tillery this weekend. The course is in great shape and this is the time of year for their greens ( bent grass). A couple of fairways are starting to turn brown. It reminded me that oh F#$K winter is almost upon us. Staff was friendly even though we showed up 10 mins late. I really like this course, but the 1hr 5 minute ride isn't fun. I would rather play edgewater or Rock barn if I am driving this far.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tillery Tradition Country Club Date: 9/15/13 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $38
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: tvrepairex See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 15.6
Course in great shape.Fairways are drying out a little but still good.Tee boxes good,traps have a lot of sand and have been raked,the rough is pretty thick so keep an eye on any balls rolling off the fairways.Greens were good except for unfixed ball marks but they rolled true for the most part-medium speed and fair placements. One of my favorite places to play even if a little bit of a drive.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tillery Tradition Country Club Date: 3/8/13 Fri Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $20
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: tvrepairex See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 15.6
Course in good shape except it was still a little wet in places from the recent rains so it was cart path only.The greens were good,but a little slower than they looked.Traps for the most part were well raked and loose even with the rains.The staff are always friendly for the most part. We got a great foursome deal for $20 on golf now.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tillery Tradition Country Club Date: 9/14/12 Fri Morning
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 90
Cost: $25
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: Averageduffer See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 15.0
Course was in great shape overall. Tees and Fairways were excellent. Greens were in overall great condition there where 1 or 2 that had a few rough areas but the crew was out working on them. Pace of play was great it was like we were the only ones there. Will defiantly be back soon.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tillery Tradition Country Club Date: 5/21/12 Mon Morning
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 79
Cost: $18
Conditions: PerfectPace: < 3 Hours
Username: panthersfann55 See All Reviews by this user
It has been awhile since i have played this course (because of the drive). Awesome shape from tee to green. Best I've played this year. They will aerify june 11/12. I think a lot of courses are shaping up right now because of the lower temps which is great for us golfers.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tillery Tradition Country Club Date: 9/19/11 Mon Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 97
Cost: $25
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: izzyf150 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 17.4
This is a nice course aobut a 50 minute drive for me from Indian Trail. They are currently reseeding their greens and therefore have a $25 green fee until Oct. 1. This is not a flat course by any means but still not to bad. I only recall 3 extream holes. One being a steep up hill tee shot. The other two were steep down hill shots. One was about a 185yd. par 3. I never had more hang time on a golf shot in my life (drives included) I half expected my ball to explode into flames when it hit the green. Yardage is marked on cart paths, sprinkler heads and fairway blocks. Sand traps are in great condition and have plenty of nice soft sand. The downside was the greens. Some are sandy, some are furry, and some are a combination of both. It was very hard to find in consistancy with putting. It added a few strokes to the score card for sure. This is a great looking golf course and when they get the greens finished--look out. Considering the greens and the fact that I only had to pay $25, I didnt feel like I got ripped off at all. NICE COURSE!
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tillery Tradition Country Club Date: 7/19/10 Mon Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 79
Cost: $0
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: hvalmer See All Reviews by this user
Had a comp pass to play this course from a friend of mine who lives in Albemarle, so I went out and played last weekend. It took me about an hour and half, so this is a little out of the way for people who live in charlotte, but it was a nice change of pace. course was in above average shape with the greens being in excellent shape. this was my first time playing it and i will be back in the future for a good change of pace.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tillery Tradition Country Club Date: 7/2/10 Fri Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $30
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: tvrepairex See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 15.6
Great course.Greens in good shape,rolls true ,fast but not too fast.Lots of traps,mostly well maintained and well placed.Fairways in good shape.Only comment is a couple of the par 3's could have been designed a little better.Cost a little high normally but great value if you buy online.
View Comments (0) Post Comment