Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings
Re: Zoysia
Posted by: The B-Man
on 8/16/17 5:00pm
Eagle Chase in Marshville.

Reviews for Warrior Golf Club


View Recent Reviews for All Courses

Warrior Golf Club Date: 7/5/17 Wed Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 85
Cost: $33
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: tvrepairex See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 15.6
Fairways good,tee boxes good,The traps had mostly packed sand,luckily I didn't test any of them,but a few of the more out of the way ones had no sand.The only other complaint was that they had lightly sanded the greens,but not punched them.They looked kind of bad ,but actually putted pretty well and had good speed.Without the sand the speed would have been almost too fast.Of course they didn't tell us of the sanding when the tee time was made or when we paid.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Warrior Golf Club Date: 11/25/16 Fri Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score:
Cost: $
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: aimtobreak80 See All Reviews by this user
Played this course with the B-Man himself. Neither one of us had a particularly good outing, but the course was only partially responsible for the scoring. The fairways were brown, likely due to drought and early winter dormancy. The tee bases were very dry and hard, so much so that it was nearly impossible to insert the tee into several of them. One, or two, of the bunkers were a little ragged, but most were clean, fluffy sand. The two things that affected scoring were the narrow fairways (one of which I believe was only 20 yards wide) and the deep rough. The former, in my opinion, is ridiculous for a public course that caters to amateurs. The narrow fairways aggravated the problem of the rough. It was very difficult to find drives even in the “first cut” and, when trying to play a shot from the rough, it was difficult to get the club face on the ball and the grass grabbed the club face and altered just about every strike. This was my first time playing the course, but the few negatives experienced during this outing will not dissuade me from trying it again, probably next season.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Warrior Golf Club Date: 5/23/15 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 78
Cost: $35
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: bneuman1 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 7.0
I don't understand why this course only averages three stars. It's a challenging course with no two holes the same. The par-5's are reachable, there are easy and hard holes, lots of thinking involved, and the greens ARE FANTASTIC! The pro-shop is HUGE and has a great selection of clubs, balls, and apparel. The restaurant has great food for great prices. I highly recommend this course. I liked it so much we played it two days in a row.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Warrior Golf Club Date: 8/11/14 Mon Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 76
Cost: $20
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: golferdude See All Reviews by this user
The newly added GPS to the carts works well. Course was in very good condition with the recent rains. Would give it 5 stars if the greens weren't slow.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Warrior Golf Club Date: 7/7/14 Mon Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 65
Cost: $22
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: golferdude See All Reviews by this user
Greens are well kept but on the slower side due to afternoon watering from lack of rain but hold very well. Fairways are mainly brown (shades of green as the USGA likes to say :) and run fast. Some tees need repair but overall worth playing with the reduced Golfnow rates.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Warrior Golf Club Date: 5/25/14 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Average
Score: 79
Cost: $39
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: estanwick See All Reviews by this user
Tee boxes: C-/D; greens B (slow but true); fairways: B. Overall: C+. The tee boxes were absolute garbage. I usually like this course but it had issues. If price was about $30 I would recommend it to play. Otherwise, you can probably get something better at this time.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Warrior Golf Club Date: 4/13/14 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 97
Cost: $59
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: Bogeybryan See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 22.4
Played with a couple of members who helped make it an enjoyable round. Tee boxes really chewed up with basically no turf. Greens had been aerated a week or so ago and still pretty bumpy. Maybe could use a little more top dressing. Rebuilding fairway bunkers on 15 and tee box on 17. Traps dry and raked around greens. Rate is $10 higher than Verdict Ridge and really should be $10 less. Got around in 4 hours. Still an enjoyable course. Hope they invest in some turf for tee boxes.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Warrior Golf Club Date: 3/29/14 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Bad, stay away
Score: 85
Cost: $57
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: WallyCleaver See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 15.0
They let the course go. Tee boxes in terrible condition leading to using mats to tee off of. Greens mediocre, bumpy due to mole infestation Price outrageous due to condition of course. If you paid $20 to play then I'm all for it. But not the case. $57 to play on a $20 course. There are much better courses in the area to play and for much cheaper and in better condition
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Warrior Golf Club Date: 6/10/13 Mon Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 95
Cost: $32
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: izzyf150 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 17.4
This course is in decent shape. Fairways were ok, not like Glen Oaks last week, but they were in good shape, nothing to complain about. Greens were in good shape as far as having grass on them, but they sure was putting slow. The funny thing about it is - the greens looked like they would be fast but that just wasn’t the case. Left many putts short today. They screwed up the fringe on a lot of their greens leaving no grass in many spots on many greens. Doesn’t affect the game much unless you miss the green on your approach and you like to putt onto the green instead of chip. Sand traps were in good shape. After reading posts here on the B-man for the last couple of years, this course was in better condition than what I was expecting. Good course in good shape.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Warrior Golf Club Date: 5/5/13 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Average
Score:
Cost: $49
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: Cant3Putt See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Occasional Golfer (handful of times per year)Handicap: 20.0
The course has some issues that I don't recall noticing the last time I played here. The rough is a lot of clover and other mixed grasses. The fairways have greened up and are playable. The tee boxes are doing well and most of them have good grass coverage. The bunkers had plenty of sand in them but most weren't raked. Although, that may have been because of the recent rains, it rained the day we played. The Greens were in good shape and rolling smoothly, the best part of the course. They suffered from unfixed ball marks but that didn't affect play at all. The green surrounds were not great on some holes--very thin to no grass in isolated spots. If they were able to correct the issues with the rough grasses and the green surrounds, I'd give this course 3.5 stars. Lastly, Warrior is a nice golf club with a friendly staff and a challenging golf layout.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Warrior Golf Club Date: 5/4/13 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 78
Cost: $47
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: Chipper24 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 9.0
We have been playing the Warrior Golf Club for many years now. The Warrior is a hidden gem in the Charlotte area. The greens are always some of the best around. Greens rolls smooth and true. Fairways are usually in good shape. This trip had about 60% of the bermuda coming out and green. Tee to green is always nice. The greens are always awesome. This is a nice layout with some good birdie holes and some good risk/reward holes. The holes are spread out so walking is not the best idea. They have all concrete path and nice Club Cars. There are very few homes on the course and not a single one of them is close to being in play. There is a nice laid back kind of vibe at the Warrior which is another reason I like it. It's one place we can play and know in advance what we will get for our money. It's also one of the few places that will actually tell you when they are going to punch their greens and discount the price for the weeks following.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Warrior Golf Club Date: 4/20/13 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 91
Cost: $57
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: Eric See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 19.0
The fairways have greened up nicely since the last time I played here, still not plush but able to find grass to hit from. The greens were in great shape, no problems, and the ball rolled nicely.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Warrior Golf Club Date: 3/17/13 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Below average
Score: 91
Cost: $49
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: Eric See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 19.0
The good - the greens were hard and fast and the ball rolled true. The bad -- there was no grass in the fairways or on the white tee boxes. Hitting from the fairway was like hitting off dirt. The white tee boxes were just sand for the most part. The worst part is that have gone up to spring time rates with the course in winter time condition. I really like this course but was very disappointed paying spring rates on a course in bare winter condition.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Warrior Golf Club Date: 9/15/12 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 89
Cost: $55
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: 4Putts See All Reviews by this user
Course generally in decent shape but the greens are pretty beat up
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Warrior Golf Club Date: 7/29/11 Fri Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 100
Cost: $35
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: Jova007200 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 31.0
Fairways were in good shape. Having been on a golfing hiatus for the past two years, I didn't have much trouble hitting off of them. Any trouble was linked to my degrading skills rather than the surface. Considering the horrible heat and increasingly sparse rain, I'd say the fairways looked good. The greens could use a little attention, as old divot marks and debris was somewhat plentiful. However, it didn't do too much to affect putting. The pace on Friday morning wasn't bad, and it allowed for us to play as a twosome. We had a twosome ahead and behind. A foursome up the way slowed things down a bit, but that was just the contrasting numbers, and it wasn't all that abnormal. The folks behind hit into us a few times, and it really got annoying. I can understand how annoying it can be when people are going dismally slow, but there is no excuse for hitting into somebody because you're in a hurry to be a Pro. That is dangerous. Next time I report it! ;) In conclusion, The Warrior is a great course that won't force you to remove an arm to play. I will definitely play this one again as I begin my re-emergence into the golf world!
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Warrior Golf Club Date: 7/3/11 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 87
Cost: $40
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
My first time here and overall I enjoyed it. The pro shop attendant was very nice and when I asked about the conditions he admitted the greens were in good shape but slower than normal since they can't cut them as low due to the heat. He was right. The greens were all immaculate, but they were slower than I would have liked. The rest of the course conditions were so-so, I thought. It's a little rough around the edges. A few of the tee boxes were bad - #7 stood out. A few fairways had some bad patches or were brown/thin. None of that really affected play much, but it took away from the aesthetics for sure. The layout is challenging but fair. The carts have nice hole layout guides with helpful tips. I would love to come back here when the greens are quicker and the course is more lush. I imagine it's awesome in the spring.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Warrior Golf Club Date: 9/24/10 Fri Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 99
Cost: $37
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: tvrepairex See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 15.6
Course is good except for thick rough and narrow fairways as one other poster said.It is real easy to lose a ball 2 feet off the fairways because of the height and thickness of the rough cut.The greens were in good condition except for one or two tough pin placements.They rolled good and had no dead areas.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Warrior Golf Club Date: 8/22/10 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Below average
Score:
Cost: $40
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: BallStriker See All Reviews by this user
Warrior, like many courses in the area, is in rough shape. The greens were soft and bumpy with bare spots (another trend in the area.) What I don't understand is the rough- it was as high as 5-6 inches in some spots. It looked like it had not been cut in a while and, like the last reviewer mentioned, you could easily lose balls just off the fairway. Most of the bunkers looked like they were washed out. Honestly, it looks like they've given up on conditions for the summer. Very disappointing.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Warrior Golf Club Date: 8/12/10 Thu Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score:
Cost: $33
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: mattbeachum See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 10.0
I had always heard great things about this course and have had this course on my list of courses to play for a while. Finally got around to it and I wish I hadn't set expectations so high. The course was very well designed and the upkeep is amazing. It's very pleasing to look at and a good mix of holes. However, the rough is BRUTAL, to say the least. I loath hitting a decent shot and losing a ball. Local knowledge of where fairways are cut is a HUGE advantage. The greens, minus a few blemishes, rolled great, yet were a bit too receptive. I'm not good enough to stop a 2-iron in 18 inches, yet that's what happened. Definitely worth the drive, fun to play, but bring the $20 bag of used Wally World balls, leave the Pro V1's at home.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Warrior Golf Club Date: 6/5/10 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 79
Cost: $55
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: TwinsDad See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
Made the drive up to Warrior and was not disappointed. Fairways are very narrow, and with all the rain the rough was pretty thick. A good layout with a variety of holes. At least 3 of the par 5's are reachable in 2. Greens were in excellent shape, although speed was slow. Not sure if this was due to the rain or not. Very friendly staff. Nice yardage books in the carts which were a big help to a first timer. Took about 50 minutes to get there from Matthews, but I would make the drive again.
View Comments (0) Post Comment