Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses

Reviews for Warrior Golf Club

Recent Reviews for All Courses

Review
  • 10/9/20 - Review by JB

    "Great course"

    This is one time of my favorites. Anytime I can give my driver a break I'm in heaven!!!! This course was in excellent condition and the greens were lightning fast! Well maintained and manicured. Don't be fooled this course will sneak up on you, especially the "back 9" but overall it's a great course and I look forward to my next round there.

    Read The Review
  • 8/27/20 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    Warrior is in fantastic shape. The greens especially were pretty much perfect, rolling fast and true. Tees, fairways and rough were in good shape. A few bunkers had some water but with lift, smooth and place rules for bunkers, it's not really a problem. We got off early (8:16) and had an easy round, pace wise. The course has several picturesque holes (check my @charlottegolfer Instagram for the photos) with Lake Wright bordering the 9th, 15th, 16th, 17th and 18th. Still not a fan of the 7th hole -- I say this every time... the turf mat tee box is difficult to get a tee in the ground on but I was able to do it this time and hit a decent 3 wood off the tee. That still left me a long approach though! Tough hole. 16 is my second least favorite hole because it requires such a long carry off the tee for a par 3 (~175yd from the Blue tees to carry the lake and front bunker). The 17th is a fun par 5 that you can reach in 2 with a good tee shot and the guts to challenge the lake along the right side. I like this course and now it's in as good a shape as I've seen it. It came in at #10 on my list of best public courses in Charlotte and likely deserves to be a few spots higher.

    Read The Review
  • 6/6/20 - Review by KyleSmith

    "Worth playing"

    Finally got out to play Warrior this past weekend. First impression was awesome- loved the drive in through the country, and the course seemed pretty open. Driving range was decent, but the grass was pretty inconsistent (I wish people understood how divot patterns on driving ranges work, and why they are good for the turf). Practice green was pretty true to the course, which was slow and really, really grainy. 4 foot putts would slide 8-12 inches on some holes. The rest of the course was good- I liked the layout alot (except for number 7 and the grass tees), and thought it was a really fun round. I dont know if I will make it back anytime soon, however. The first 18 we played (10:40 tee time and teed off after 11) took nearly 4.5 hours compared to just over 3 hours for the second 18. No ranger on the course, no starter on the first tee and no cart girls. On the 16th hole, there were 4 groups waiting on the tee box while one was on the green finishing out. FOUR GROUPS! Its just wild to see it get so backed up and no attempt to fix it. Stinks, because its a fun course otherwise.

    Read The Review
  • 4/4/20 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    Back at Warrior on a day when the course was as packed as I've ever seen one outside of a tournament. I had a 3:20 tee time reserved online and we were not called to the tee box until after 4:00. They had tee times spaced only 8 minutes apart where other local courses have gone to 15 or 20 minute intervals. They had difficulty turning carts around fast enough for the afternoon tee times. That said, the pace of play was good once we started - 4 hours on a packed course is excellent. We did finish 18 in near darkness though. Contrary to the previous review, they were allowing 2 people to a cart - except for seniors. There weren't any extreme precautions I've seen at other courses - clubhouse was open, grill was open (no dining in of course), hole cups were normal. Conditions-wise, I wasn't overly impressed. I've played at two other courses recently (Monroe CC and Lincolnton CC) where the greens were immaculate and quick. Warrior's greens were fine, no issues, but they were not fast - I left putts short all day. And they still aren't very receptive as far as checking up approach shots. The fairways were fine, though conditions just off the fairways were not as good - weeds and thin grass. The tee boxes were very thin and some were more dirt than grass. So overall, conditions were just average. As for the layout, I forgot how much I dislike the front 9 -- especially #7 where they use a turf tee box that you cannot get a tee in, and this for a hole that requires a 175yd carry over a hazard for what is a layup tee shot due to another hazard reachable by a 200+ yard drive that hits right center of fairway. The back 9, really starting with hole #9, gets a lot better but there are still many holes where you can't hit driver or risk getting into trouble. There are several very pretty holes -- #15 and #17 in particular -- where Lake Wright comes into play. #17 is my favorite hole, a risk-reward par 5 that garnered me an eagle putt yesterday (I just missed). This course is a top 10 Charlotte public course with reasonable rates - it just may take some getting used to.

    Read The Review
  • 3/30/20 - Review by BetterThanMost

    "Great course"

    Warrior is greening up nicely. Teeboxes are OK. Some are better than others. Fairways are good. Greens and surrounds are phenomenal. The new greens are a little over two years old now, and seem to be better each time I play there. Bunkers have good sand in them and are maintained well. Carts have on-board GPS. Course is allowing one person per cart now. All amenities are still open.

    Read The Review
  • 9/1/19 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    My first time back at Warrior since they redid the greens (Bermuda) last summer. They did not disappoint. They rolled great and were in excellent shape. The course is a little more open now as they also removed tons of trees last year. It is a fun layout and has some beautiful holes on the back 9. The rate was great for a holiday weekend afternoon. If you live anywhere near this course, it should be in your regular rotation.

    Read The Review
  • 8/3/19 - Review by wesleyheightshacker

    "Great course"

    Greens were fantastic, probably some of the best that I've putted on in Charlotte. The fairways were fine. There were a few tee boxes that were pretty bare with not much grass on them. The bunkers are in bad need of repair as most didn't have much sand in them at all and the edges of some of the bunkers were grass less. The pace of play was pretty slow.

    Read The Review
  • 7/2/19 - Review by IM4DHERD

    "Great course"

    The good - Couple of fairways have a few bare spots that make you scratch your head, but none seemingly in play. Otherwise they are lush and beautiful. Greens and fringe are magnificent. Some of teeboxes have some sand repair going on, but overall in great shape. The bad - The traps are thin, hard and have rocks. There are thins and bare areas, particularly at the cart paths but they shouldn't come into play. The ugly - they took out a large number of trees last year and those areas, not in play, are not very appealing. They did, however, have a number of people out working in the heat on these. Bottom line, tee to green as good as it gets.

    Read The Review
  • 9/13/18 - Review by BetterThanMost

    "Great course"

    Just want to echo IAM4HERD's review. New greens are great. Fairways are phemomenal! The other new feature is the removal of trees on just about every hole, mostly around the greens. Makes the course much more playable for all ability levels. They have grown the rough up to help combat the tree removal, but you can play out of it. GPS was working on my cart today as well. Definitely back in my rotation.

    Read The Review
  • 9/11/18 - Review by IM4DHERD

    "Great course"

    First time at Warrior since the re-do. VERY impressed. The new greens are as perfect as anything around. A little slower than you might think for the way they look, but not shaggy. Perhaps kept a fraction long to keep them healthy. 95% of the fairways are perfect, just a couple spots here and there. Traps look great. I was in a couple and they played well ... Not fluffy, but compacted and raked. I was afraid they were thin, but they weren't. All the tee boxes were as good as any. GPS wasn't on, but I use my own so didn't even ask about it. Might have just needed to flip a switch. For the most part there is a nice 2nd cut, but the third cut can be pretty bare or overly thick. I expect this to be the next priority. Definitely well worth the trip (40 mins) and even the cost.

    Read The Review
  • 7/29/18 - Forum Posting by BetterThanMost titled "Couple of Updates"

    Warrior is reopening on Friday, August 3rd for public play. You can now make tee times on their website.

    Revival/Crescent is dealing with some issues on their greens due to a bad batch of chemicals they got earlier this season. They are interseeding their greens with Pure Distinction bent grass, but are still open for play. Additionally, they have cut down several trees around the 3rd green, and are laying sod to bring it back to its original size. If you've played the course, you know the 3rd green has been a problem for several years, so it's good to see that they are remedying it.

  • 6/15/18

    Warrior Golf Club closed for a greens renovation on 5/29. The course is targeting an early August re-open. They are switching over from Bent Grass to Champion G12 Ultra Dwarf Bermuda. They've already removed ~2000 trees to maximize sunlight and airflow to the new greens. Further upgrades to the irrigation system and walk mowers will keep the course in great shape moving forward. They also have a new fleet of golf carts equipped with GPS -- which means they will keep you from getting close to the greens and tees. Mike Cagiano is the new superintendent who started last Fall -- he came over from River Run. The course should have a great setup once it re-opens in August.

  • 4/21/18 - Review by MosherH'ville

    "Great course"

    First review. They've been doing a lot of work at Warrior. Cleared out numerous trees throughout the course, giving it more of an open feel. Greens are rolling true with few if any blemishes. Very pleased here. Rest of the course is growing back nicely, still lots of dead areas but to be expected with extended bouts of cold.

    Read The Review
  • 7/5/17 - Review by tvrepairex

    "Great course"

    Fairways good,tee boxes good,The traps had mostly packed sand,luckily I didn't test any of them,but a few of the more out of the way ones had no sand.The only other complaint was that they had lightly sanded the greens,but not punched them.They looked kind of bad ,but actually putted pretty well and had good speed.Without the sand the speed would have been almost too fast.Of course they didn't tell us of the sanding when the tee time was made or when we paid.

    Read The Review
  • 11/25/16 - Review by aimtobreak80

    "Worth playing"

    Played this course with the B-Man himself. Neither one of us had a particularly good outing, but the course was only partially responsible for the scoring. The fairways were brown, likely due to drought and early winter dormancy. The tee bases were very dry and hard, so much so that it was nearly impossible to insert the tee into several of them. One, or two, of the bunkers were a little ragged, but most were clean, fluffy sand. The two things that affected scoring were the narrow fairways (one of which I believe was only 20 yards wide) and the deep rough. The former, in my opinion, is ridiculous for a public course that caters to amateurs. The narrow fairways aggravated the problem of the rough. It was very difficult to find drives even in the “first cut” and, when trying to play a shot from the rough, it was difficult to get the club face on the ball and the grass grabbed the club face and altered just about every strike. This was my first time playing the course, but the few negatives experienced during this outing will not dissuade me from trying it again, probably next season.

    Read The Review
  • 5/23/15 - Review by bneuman1

    "Great course"

    I don't understand why this course only averages three stars. It's a challenging course with no two holes the same. The par-5's are reachable, there are easy and hard holes, lots of thinking involved, and the greens ARE FANTASTIC! The pro-shop is HUGE and has a great selection of clubs, balls, and apparel. The restaurant has great food for great prices. I highly recommend this course. I liked it so much we played it two days in a row.

    Read The Review
  • 8/11/14 - Review by golferdude

    "Great course"

    The newly added GPS to the carts works well. Course was in very good condition with the recent rains. Would give it 5 stars if the greens weren't slow.

    Read The Review
  • 7/7/14 - Review by golferdude

    "Great course"

    Greens are well kept but on the slower side due to afternoon watering from lack of rain but hold very well. Fairways are mainly brown (shades of green as the USGA likes to say :) and run fast. Some tees need repair but overall worth playing with the reduced Golfnow rates.

    Read The Review
  • 5/25/14 - Review by estanwick

    "Average"

    Tee boxes: C-/D; greens B (slow but true); fairways: B. Overall: C+. The tee boxes were absolute garbage. I usually like this course but it had issues. If price was about $30 I would recommend it to play. Otherwise, you can probably get something better at this time.

    Read The Review
  • 4/13/14 - Review by Bogeybryan

    "Worth playing"

    Played with a couple of members who helped make it an enjoyable round. Tee boxes really chewed up with basically no turf. Greens had been aerated a week or so ago and still pretty bumpy. Maybe could use a little more top dressing. Rebuilding fairway bunkers on 15 and tee box on 17. Traps dry and raked around greens. Rate is $10 higher than Verdict Ridge and really should be $10 less. Got around in 4 hours. Still an enjoyable course. Hope they invest in some turf for tee boxes.

    Read The Review
  • 3/29/14 - Review by WallyCleaver

    "Bad, stay away"

    They let the course go. Tee boxes in terrible condition leading to using mats to tee off of. Greens mediocre, bumpy due to mole infestation Price outrageous due to condition of course. If you paid $20 to play then I'm all for it. But not the case. $57 to play on a $20 course. There are much better courses in the area to play and for much cheaper and in better condition

    Read The Review
  • 6/10/13 - Review by izzyf150

    "Worth playing"

    This course is in decent shape. Fairways were ok, not like Glen Oaks last week, but they were in good shape, nothing to complain about. Greens were in good shape as far as having grass on them, but they sure was putting slow. The funny thing about it is - the greens looked like they would be fast but that just wasn’t the case. Left many putts short today. They screwed up the fringe on a lot of their greens leaving no grass in many spots on many greens. Doesn’t affect the game much unless you miss the green on your approach and you like to putt onto the green instead of chip. Sand traps were in good shape. After reading posts here on the B-man for the last couple of years, this course was in better condition than what I was expecting. Good course in good shape.

    Read The Review
  • 5/5/13 - Review by Cant3Putt

    "Average"

    The course has some issues that I don't recall noticing the last time I played here. The rough is a lot of clover and other mixed grasses. The fairways have greened up and are playable. The tee boxes are doing well and most of them have good grass coverage. The bunkers had plenty of sand in them but most weren't raked. Although, that may have been because of the recent rains, it rained the day we played. The Greens were in good shape and rolling smoothly, the best part of the course. They suffered from unfixed ball marks but that didn't affect play at all. The green surrounds were not great on some holes--very thin to no grass in isolated spots. If they were able to correct the issues with the rough grasses and the green surrounds, I'd give this course 3.5 stars. Lastly, Warrior is a nice golf club with a friendly staff and a challenging golf layout.

    Read The Review
  • 5/4/13 - Review by Chipper24

    "Worth playing"

    We have been playing the Warrior Golf Club for many years now. The Warrior is a hidden gem in the Charlotte area. The greens are always some of the best around. Greens rolls smooth and true. Fairways are usually in good shape. This trip had about 60% of the bermuda coming out and green. Tee to green is always nice. The greens are always awesome. This is a nice layout with some good birdie holes and some good risk/reward holes. The holes are spread out so walking is not the best idea. They have all concrete path and nice Club Cars. There are very few homes on the course and not a single one of them is close to being in play. There is a nice laid back kind of vibe at the Warrior which is another reason I like it. It's one place we can play and know in advance what we will get for our money. It's also one of the few places that will actually tell you when they are going to punch their greens and discount the price for the weeks following.

    Read The Review
  • 4/20/13 - Review by Eric

    "Worth playing"

    The fairways have greened up nicely since the last time I played here, still not plush but able to find grass to hit from. The greens were in great shape, no problems, and the ball rolled nicely.

    Read The Review
  • 3/17/13 - Review by Eric

    "Below average"

    The good - the greens were hard and fast and the ball rolled true. The bad -- there was no grass in the fairways or on the white tee boxes. Hitting from the fairway was like hitting off dirt. The white tee boxes were just sand for the most part. The worst part is that have gone up to spring time rates with the course in winter time condition. I really like this course but was very disappointed paying spring rates on a course in bare winter condition.

    Read The Review
  • 7/29/11 - Review by Jova007200

    "Worth playing"

    Fairways were in good shape. Having been on a golfing hiatus for the past two years, I didn't have much trouble hitting off of them. Any trouble was linked to my degrading skills rather than the surface. Considering the horrible heat and increasingly sparse rain, I'd say the fairways looked good. The greens could use a little attention, as old divot marks and debris was somewhat plentiful. However, it didn't do too much to affect putting. The pace on Friday morning wasn't bad, and it allowed for us to play as a twosome. We had a twosome ahead and behind. A foursome up the way slowed things down a bit, but that was just the contrasting numbers, and it wasn't all that abnormal. The folks behind hit into us a few times, and it really got annoying. I can understand how annoying it can be when people are going dismally slow, but there is no excuse for hitting into somebody because you're in a hurry to be a Pro. That is dangerous. Next time I report it! ;) In conclusion, The Warrior is a great course that won't force you to remove an arm to play. I will definitely play this one again as I begin my re-emergence into the golf world!

    Read The Review
  • 7/3/11 - Review by The B-Man

    "Worth playing"

    My first time here and overall I enjoyed it. The pro shop attendant was very nice and when I asked about the conditions he admitted the greens were in good shape but slower than normal since they can't cut them as low due to the heat. He was right. The greens were all immaculate, but they were slower than I would have liked. The rest of the course conditions were so-so, I thought. It's a little rough around the edges. A few of the tee boxes were bad - #7 stood out. A few fairways had some bad patches or were brown/thin. None of that really affected play much, but it took away from the aesthetics for sure. The layout is challenging but fair. The carts have nice hole layout guides with helpful tips. I would love to come back here when the greens are quicker and the course is more lush. I imagine it's awesome in the spring.

    Read The Review
  • 9/24/10 - Review by tvrepairex

    "Great course"

    Course is good except for thick rough and narrow fairways as one other poster said.It is real easy to lose a ball 2 feet off the fairways because of the height and thickness of the rough cut.The greens were in good condition except for one or two tough pin placements.They rolled good and had no dead areas.

    Read The Review
  • 8/22/10 - Review by BallStriker

    "Below average"

    Warrior, like many courses in the area, is in rough shape. The greens were soft and bumpy with bare spots (another trend in the area.) What I don't understand is the rough- it was as high as 5-6 inches in some spots. It looked like it had not been cut in a while and, like the last reviewer mentioned, you could easily lose balls just off the fairway. Most of the bunkers looked like they were washed out. Honestly, it looks like they've given up on conditions for the summer. Very disappointing.

    Read The Review
  • 8/12/10 - Review by mattbeachum

    "Worth playing"

    I had always heard great things about this course and have had this course on my list of courses to play for a while. Finally got around to it and I wish I hadn't set expectations so high. The course was very well designed and the upkeep is amazing. It's very pleasing to look at and a good mix of holes. However, the rough is BRUTAL, to say the least. I loath hitting a decent shot and losing a ball. Local knowledge of where fairways are cut is a HUGE advantage. The greens, minus a few blemishes, rolled great, yet were a bit too receptive. I'm not good enough to stop a 2-iron in 18 inches, yet that's what happened. Definitely worth the drive, fun to play, but bring the $20 bag of used Wally World balls, leave the Pro V1's at home.

    Read The Review
  • 7/9/10 - Forum Posting by t2green2 titled "@Wade Re: Warrior"

    We played Warrior July 4th and could not have been happier with the condition of the greens. There is still some poana in the greens but they are well water and roll very true. Other than the occasional issue with ball marks not being fixed the greens are in great shape.

    The Fairways are a bit hard but considering how little rain we have had of late I can over look that. The Tee boxes for the middle tees were not in very good shape at all. They appear to have killed off some tee boxes and are trying to grow new grass.

    Hope this helps,
    Todd

  • 6/5/10 - Review by TwinsDad

    "Great course"

    Made the drive up to Warrior and was not disappointed. Fairways are very narrow, and with all the rain the rough was pretty thick. A good layout with a variety of holes. At least 3 of the par 5's are reachable in 2. Greens were in excellent shape, although speed was slow. Not sure if this was due to the rain or not. Very friendly staff. Nice yardage books in the carts which were a big help to a first timer. Took about 50 minutes to get there from Matthews, but I would make the drive again.

    Read The Review
  • 7/16/08 - Forum Posting by Elsupremo titled "Recent Play"

    3 July - Played Warrior for the first time. Pretty impressive. Course was in great shape, greens, tee boxes, everything. Well worth the drive. Playing partner walked on and shot four over, the annoying b@$t@rd.

    4 July - Olde Sycamore - Was in it's usual immaculate shape. Of the 30 or so public/semi-private courses I've played in this area, I think this is the nicest and also the most difficult.

    5 July - Tega Cay. Second time I've played here. I think it's a very nice course but it is another one that doesn't believe in bunker maintenance. I've noticed that about several courses in the area.

    12 July - Skybrook - Played here several times and it's always in great shape but it's also one of those courses that could use a little more bunker maintenance. It is on the Carolina Trail now but not part of any of the packages. Not sure what the deal is there.

    13 July - Stonebridge - Nice course but it is a haul from Huntersville. Again, bunker maintenance. How hard is it to go in, turn over the bunkers and rake them smooth. I don't get it. I know, I know, if you don't hit into them you won't have that problem. Whatever.

    Playing Pinetuck on the 18th and Eagle Chase on the 19th. I'll write up something about Pinetuck next week.

  • 10/13/05 - Forum Posting by mtharpster titled "Warrior in China Grove"

    for anyone looking for a great course of the betten path try Warrior in China Grove (i85exit 68 to 152 n) about 25 min. from Concord Mills. this is a great course in perfect conditon rates about $56 but well worth it, having played many Pro level courses this is not far behind. If the grow the rough and fasten up the greens a bit could host a tour event.

  • 7/22/05 - Forum Posting by Jamie titled "Re: More reviews"

    To Hans, The Warrior is a good course. I played it earlier this week. Well laid out, good variety of holes, well manicured. The play was a little slow, but that may be because it's popular in that area. The greens, although very soft and spongy, were in good condition. It's worth a look.

  • 7/25/04 - Forum Posting by Michael titled "Warrior Golf in China Grove"

    I made the 30 minute drive to China Grove and it was well worth it. I teed off at 4:00 on a Saturday and it cost $25 with cart. I was able to play 18 and then another 7 holes before it became too dark. The course was in phenomenal shape, the holes were spaced out nicely and it borders a lake on several holes. The fairways were pretty wide, so the beginning/intermediate player can still have alot of fun here.

    I read some descriptions about the course being very secluded. I would say those reviews need to be updated, as they are developing on portions of the course.

    I played The Divide two weeks ago and this course was much nicer and in considerably better shape. I"ll be back at this course several times in the next month.

    If you're willing to drive a little outside of Charlotte, its worth the trip... www.warriorgolf.com



Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Forum Post

Edgewater Aerating 10/4-10/5

By The B-Man on 9/29/20

Here's a note from Edgewater about aeration next week: We're working hard to keep our course in tip-top shape for you. On October 4th and 5th, the course will be undergoing aeration. Please expect recovery conditions. Check our website for reduced rates during this time!

Instagram

@charlottegolfer