Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings
Re: Zoysia
Posted by: The B-Man
on 8/16/17 5:00pm
Eagle Chase in Marshville.

Reviews for Tega Cay Golf Club


View Recent Reviews for All Courses

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 6/7/17 Wed Afternoon
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score:
Cost: $42
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: syncgolf See All Reviews by this user
Snuck out on a perfect day. Pro shop staff very nice. started on time. course condition is great. many upgrades and attention to details since I played last. Fairways were nicely mowed and bunkers were Mic. Greens were very fast and smooth. Great mix of holes. Great value based on cost to product condion.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 5/29/17 Mon Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 102
Cost: $35
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: BetterThanMost See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 18.0
Tega Cay is in phenomenal shape right now. Tees and fairways are beautiful. Bunkers are full of soft, white sand. Greens are lightning quick. This public course has very much of a private club feel. Not the longest course in the world; club selection off the tee is key. Lots of elevation change as well.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 4/9/17 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 75
Cost: $49
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: syncgolf See All Reviews by this user
great condition on green's very pure and fast. they have continued to improve the course from tee to green and even all the small details you would see at a private club without the costs. give it a try
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 7/2/16 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 82
Cost: $39
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: wnb5th See All Reviews by this user
Tough course, very tight, shot makers course, keep driver in the bag if you are a long hitter! Course was in great shape. Nice clubhouse, nice halfway house, greens were just verti-cut a few weeks ago so they have healed and roll great. Down hill, down grain puts are fast as lightning! Like the course but it eats my lunch. Only thing that is holding it back from 5 stars is that the driving range is kind of awkward... severely down hill. but its fine if you just want to warm up before your round.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 6/5/16 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 86
Cost: $
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 5 Hours
Username: KyleSmith See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 4.7
I'll get the bad out of the way early-= pace of play was terrible, especially for an 11:00 am tee time in June. The group in front of us acted like they were on tour- the exact opposite of ready golf. No rangers or other course employees to help push them through didn't make it easier. Wasn't completely on them, as the group ahead of them spent more time searching for golf balls than they did playing golf. This course just needs a ranger to drive around enforcing pace of play. Also, the fairways could benefit from about a month straight of cart-path only. They hold water for a while and it looks like the mowers/carts have done some damage. On the positive, the greens were some of the bet I have played in the area. Held shots well and rolled quick and true. Overall,I enjoyed the round. I will enjoy getting back out there to play another round.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 8/1/15 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Average
Score: 81
Cost: $39
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: dongtrgolfer See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 11.0
Tee boxes, fairways and bunkers in good shape. Greens were a mixed bag. Front nine in good shape. Several greens on back nine on the edge. Very thin grass with dirt starting to show. Made putting the back nine a challenge as some were super fast while others a bit slower. Need the heat to break so the greens can survive this very hot, dry summer.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 5/5/15 Tue Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 84
Cost: $25
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: Jan See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 20.0
The greens were perfect, rolled true and pretty fast. The fairways and tee boxes were in good shape. The fairways are really starting to fill in nicely. Staff in the pro shop were very friendly and inviting. They really made me feel at home. I will definitely play here as often as I can. Excellent value!
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 4/30/15 Thu Afternoon
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score:
Cost: $29
Conditions: PerfectPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: syncgolf See All Reviews by this user
Tega Cay is in perfect condition. Tee boxes have nice green grass, fairways mowed tight, bunkers were well manicured. The greens were rolling very fast and true. No better value in Charlotte.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 3/26/15 Thu Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 87
Cost: $20
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: gopher.birdies See All Reviews by this user
Course was fantastic. Greens rolled true and held shots even with low irons. Tee boxes could use some work but you could find a place to tee up with out too much difficulty. Really fun layout. Played the Pines/Grandview (the normal 18). Staff was very friendly and gave us a great deal on a 9 hole replay. Bunkers looked nice but some how i managed to avoid them for all 18. This is becoming one of my favorite courses due to the consistent condition this course is in and the good deals you can find online. Great snack bar as well.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 11/30/14 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 92
Cost: $38
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: dongtrgolfer See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 11.0
Played Tega Cay on Saturday afternoon. We were a threesome on the front and 1 player dropped out at the turn. Course in good shape. Greens were very good and very fast. Tee boxes a little chewed up but could find a place to tee it up. Fairways dormant but good. Traps I was in were fine. Pace ok, a little slow but not terrible. Only strange thing was it was cart path only. I didn't see much water on the fairways, they seemed really pretty dry. Not sure why it was cart path only.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 8/31/14 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 96
Cost: $42
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: metallikviper See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 16.0
Closest course to home and I play it a lot. This course gets a lot of play and they always have this course in great shape. Played the Cove 9 a few weeks ago and it was a great deal for $14 on a weekday. I just hate the location of the driving range as the sun is right in your face in the mornings and the right side of the 10th fairway always has stray balls making it hard to find your ball. Overall, a great course and reasonably priced.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 8/14/14 Thu Afternoon
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score:
Cost: $34
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: syncgolf See All Reviews by this user
I have played this course a few times a year for the past three or four years. Every year it has improved becoming more manicured. I hit the ball into the bunker both greenside and fairway and the sand was perfect. The greens rolled true and very fast! Fairways and tee boxes are in great condition. I enjoy the elevation changes and club selection off the tee and into the greens on this course too. I paid $34 which was a great value. As a golfer who plays all over #CLT I would put it against any course in town.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 7/20/14 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 53
Cost: $16
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: < 3 Hours
Username: cyoung2ty See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 18.3
I played here last evening with a small group on the Cove course. Unfotunately, the driving range was running out of balls and the picker couldn't get to those on the range... so I was unable to warm up prior to teeing off, but... it was still an enjoyable time. They seemed to pack in a bunch of really slow groups before we teed off. I believe there was a twosome in front of us... a threesome in front of them and another twosome in front of them. The leading twosome was extremely slow... so it made for a 2.5 hour 9-hole round. The course itself was in decent shape. There were some spots on the tee boxes that were pretty beat up, but the fairways were in good shape. The greens had just recently been punched and sanded, but they still rolled well. The only green that looked in poor shape was the 8th green. It looked like a driving range green with all the ball marks on it. Luckily, they were all on the back-right side of the green and the pin was towards the front-left of the green. The only problem I have with Tega Cay, having played all three 9-hole courses, is that it's a short course, all around. I played the course poorly (losing balls on 4 of the first 5 holes) with very poor course management. I hit driver off most holes when an iron or hybrid would have been just fine off the tee. Overall... for $16 including cart, the course is well worth it. I'll be playing here a lot as the course, staff and especially clubhouse are very nice and I've enjoyed my time there.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 5/24/14 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: ILL-INI See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 9.0
Once the tee boxes come in the course will be pretty much perfect. Greens are a little hard too. Other than that if you can find a deal on golf now.com you'd be hard pressed to find a better course for the money.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 5/18/14 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 79
Cost: $30
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: oneputt See All Reviews by this user
A tale of two nines, Carolina Pines, greens were very hard, had punch holes that made for rough rolls. The ball soundd like it had landed on a pool table when they hit the green. Tees needed growing in on both nines. Fairways were still growing in but were soft and green. Grande View, greens smother, rolled nice and held shots. Layout was solid. First time playing here and I will come back.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 11/15/13 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score:
Cost: $39
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: syncgolf See All Reviews by this user
Played Tega Cay Golf Club on Friday! It was in great shape! The fairways are still green and tightly mowed! The greens were very true and fast and the course has more elevation change than any course I have played in the Charlotte area! The course features a wide variety of holes requiring you to use all the clubs in your bag! If you want to play something different with some huge elevation changes and dramatic views try Tega Cay! I strongly suggest this golf course because the course is fun in perfect shape and like nothing I have seen or played in Charlotte. Give Tega Cay a try and I think you will enjoy it too!
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 7/23/13 Tue Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 84
Cost: $19
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: ILL-INI See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 9.0
12:10 tee time on golfnow.com - scored a $17 round for 3 guys. Nice! Greens look like they are having a hard time coming back from a recent punch - we didn't have the best time putting today. Fairways, although wet, are quite nice. Bunkers were shit. Overall a decent play - if I would have paid normal rates I would have been disappointed.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 6/22/13 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 100
Cost: $56
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: _mk70 See All Reviews by this user
First time playing here and it was an enjoyable course. Loved the elevation changes and club selection strategy. Course was in great shape as well. Two groups scheduled ahead of us didn't show up so we went out early and didn't see a single person while playing which made our Saturday morning tee time even more enjoyable. I will play this course again.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 6/14/13 Fri Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 92
Cost: $43
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: IM4DHERD See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 16.0
Greens were ideal and fairways were in excellent shape. Some teeboxes were a bit thin and the traps weren't fixed from the previous week's rain.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 9/22/12 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 95
Cost: $56
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: 4Putts See All Reviews by this user
First time back here since they re-did the greens and they are a huge improvement. Overall the course is in pretty good shape but has always felt very confining (squeezed into too little area) to me hence the 3.5.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 11/25/11 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $36
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: metallikviper See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 16.0
Course is in decent shape considering the time of the year. Fairways definitely look worn and the tee boxes had a bunch of bare spots and both could use some repair. Roughs were cut a bit high and its easy to lose balls especially since they are all dried out. Greens however were in great shape. Only drawback was that they were cut short and putting was very fast. Overall I would rate it a B+ and would recommend.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 10/22/11 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Below average
Score:
Cost: $39
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: > 5 Hours
Username: Orion See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 30.0
I'm not a fan of leaving negative feedback on anything, but I was really frustrated by the end of this round. Let me start off by saying the COURSE is beautiful and well maintained; my problem is with the administration. We had three people with us and a fourth was placed with us (standard practice, no problem there). We started at 12:20 and but did not finish until nearly 5:30. The pace was so slow, we had to wait almost 5 minutes before teeing off on each hole. We ended up having three (maybe even four, not sure) groups on hole 16. When we started we were talking with the starter and the marshall was right there, in the whole round we only saw him one other time, and that was at the 4th hole. We would have liked to see him again towards the end to pick up the pace a bit. I'll end this with the same disclaimer as before, I've only been playing for a year, so maybe this is standard for a beautiful fall day, but it was very different for me. Again, the course was in excellent condition, but maybe they were just a bit too ambitious with the booking. One last note, this is a TOUGH course (probably contributing to the pace). Keep this in mind if you are relatively new, you may want to tee up further than normal.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 8/13/11 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 109
Cost: $27
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: Matt See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 30.0
Conditions great, greens great! Layout is fun and course is definately a target course with some tight holes. One of my friends making a hole in one didn't hurt my opinion of the course either. :)
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 6/10/11 Fri Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $42
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: jooliver See All Reviews by this user
Course is in very good condition right now. Greens are rolling good and fairways in great shape. Played Carolina and Grande. Also played 9 hole Cove for 13.50 with cart. It's in acceptable shape considering the price.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 6/3/11 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score:
Cost: $38
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: Russell See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 6.0
Have not played here in over a year. Greens were recently aerated with a very light top dressing so they were a little rough and bumpy. The rest of the course was fine. Not great but not bad. I plan on giving the the greens a few weeks before heading back.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 5/21/11 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 100
Cost: $42
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: metallikviper See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 16.0
We played the Pines and Grand View for our 18 and heard that the Cove is under repair. Greens were in good shape except for the usual divot marks. Tee boxes could use some work. Other than that course was great and played quick. Saw a couple of marshals who helped speed it up. This course should be in good shape throughout the summer.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 5/7/10 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Average
Score:
Cost: $0
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: Russell See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 6.0
I have played here a lot in the past few years and enjoyed the "target golf" course layout. The course conditions vary from excellent to not so good. Right now they are not so good. The major issue is the new greens. They were sodded in the fall with the new mini-verde bermuda greens. Unfortunately the seams have not healed uniformily on all of the greens. My partner had a short put that got caught in one of the seams and redirected his putt severely. Hopefully this is something that they can address as the greens grow in but right now there are some problems. In addition, the area behind the 18th green is still GUR due to new sod. The back half of the 8th green on the Pines was being removed - hopefully to level the slope for rear pin positions. One or two teeing areas were bare (17th) I hope that some of these issues are addressed before I head out there again.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 4/28/10 Wed Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 101
Cost: $34
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: rmh612 See All Reviews by this user
The course was in decent shape. On the Grand View there are some large roped off areas in the middle of the fairway on one of the Par 5s (maybe hole 5). The pace of play was awesome. We did not have to wait one time on the Carolina Pines and only once once on the Grand View. This could have something to do with the Championship in town along with the cool day. Overall, I wish there were more yardage markers to help with approach shots. Decent course for a decent price.
View Comments (0) Post Comment