Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings
Re: Zoysia
Posted by: The B-Man
on 8/16/17 5:00pm
Eagle Chase in Marshville.

Reviews for The Golf Club at Ballantyne


View Recent Reviews for All Courses

The Golf Club at Ballantyne Date: 8/15/17 Tue Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 87
Cost: $34
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: GinMillDJ See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 22.0
Greens are lightning quick and very well maintained. Fairways are also in really good shape. Some of the bunkers are not in the greatest shape, which is the only reason I didn't rate it perfect/5 Stars. Course is definitely worth playing.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Golf Club at Ballantyne Date: 8/5/15 Wed Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 92
Cost: $25
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: GinMillDJ See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 22.0
Course is in very good shape. Very high rough and lightning fast greens. Fairways are in spectacular shape. Staff is always courteous making sure you are hydrated on hot days as well as a ranger on the course handing out cold towels and ice water.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Golf Club at Ballantyne Date: 8/2/15 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 82
Cost: $60
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: TheClaw See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 5.3
So they say the problem with golf these days is it is too long, too expensive and too hard. Ballantyne is a great example of a course that does it's best to promote all 3 of those. It is pricey, even the layout is not spectacular (it is a golf course fitted between an office park). But the kicker was the course set up. The greens roll perfect and lightning fast, so as a result you would expect the pins to be in flat spots, where the ball feeds towards them to make it fun for everyone... Not here. Standing in the first fairway we watched 2 guys 4 putt, 1 guy pick up after his 4th putt, and another guy 3 putt. We got to the green and could see why...the pin was on a ridge that falls away steeply. We all 3-putted and the highest handicap in our group was a 7. Naturally this makes the round long, as on almost every green people were putting and marking, putting and marking. Also the rough was diabolically thick just off the fairway in most places. Strange to see a resort course play so tough. Some of the pin positions were madness based on the greens being so hard and fast. They just need to add the clowns and windmills next time. Otherwise the conditions were perfect, staff were friendly, but it was a debilitating round of golf thanks to the setup.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Golf Club at Ballantyne Date: 7/26/15 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 93
Cost: $79
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: ISlayMySelf See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 18.0
I received a give card for the Ballantyne Resort Golf Club for Valentines day and decided to us it this past Sunday. What a great experience. From the guys at the bag drop, to the starter, to the course ranger and even the concession stand at the turn. Top notch service that was friendly and helpful(the starter does a great job with helping first time players navigate the course and on how to play the greens). The ranger provided us with towels soaking in ice water on #10 that probably spoiled me for any future rangers I meet. The course was near immaculate. Greens are definitely fast but fair, sand is raked and fluffy and fairways are in great condition. The only minor complaint is some par 3 tee boxes were chewed up but all they have to do is move the tee area back or to the side. Looks like they were the same tee placement from Saturday. For Valentines or Fathers Day ask for a gift card to Ballantyne Golf resort. You'll enjoy it much more than a bad tie or a box of chocolates.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Golf Club at Ballantyne Date: 7/17/15 Fri Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 88
Cost: $
Conditions: PerfectPace: < 3 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
My first time at Ballantyne this year. The course was in near perfect shape, as usual. This is a pricey round of golf, but you get private course conditions. The greens are among the fastest in the area -- definitely tops for any public course -- and they can be maddening. My partner and I just had to laugh at a few putts that took a break and rolled well past the hole more than a few times. If your chipping and putting is not on here, you will have a frustrating round. The greens are pretty much immaculate though -- it's just the crazy quickness, slopes and undulations. Tee to green, the course has no peer right now from a public play perspective. The rough is lush and thick -- be sure to watch your shots til they finish. You may way to walk right over your ball to find it in the rough. The only hole with some issues is #8. Always cart-path only, they are still having difficulty sodding the fairway near the green. I found myself in this area and while it was supposed to be fairway, it was thick like rough since it had not been mowed. They need to mark it as Ground Under Repair in my opinion. That was my only complaint (outside of my struggles on the greens). This course is a treat to play every once in a while.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Golf Club at Ballantyne Date: 7/16/15 Thu Afternoon
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 89
Cost: $60
Conditions: PerfectPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: GetThere214 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 7.1
The best public course in the area. Course was in great shape. You get treated first class here and it makes for a very enjoyable experience. Course conditions were very good and soft even with the dry weather. Greens were blazing fast from above the hole and ran true. Love the layout and # 18 is probably my favorite hole in Charlotte.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Golf Club at Ballantyne Date: 6/11/15 Thu Afternoon
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 95
Cost: $25
Conditions: PerfectPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: GinMillDJ See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 22.0
Fairways were like carpet. Greens were in very good shape. Some of the Par 3 tee boxes were a little chewed up, but still playable.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Golf Club at Ballantyne Date: 8/31/14 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 79
Cost: $45
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: TheClaw See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 5.3
Took advantage of the clickit deal and headed out to the Ballantyne resort. The conditions of the course are always great and it was no different this time. Greens were in great condition and rolling fast and true. Even a little softer than I remember them (but still firm). I wish they had more tee options. From the back tees it is around 6800 yards, then the next set up is around 6100 yards. Would be nice if they could a set at around 6500 yards like most courses have. But not a train smash. On a different note, normally myself and my buddies tend to have a problem with the attitude of a lot of the staff here. We have noticed that unless you are a 40+ rich old guy, they tend to get a bit..difficult...with you ( you meaning us younger guys 35 and below). We have all experienced it on different occasions, but in fairness they were pretty hospitable this time.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Golf Club at Ballantyne Date: 9/9/13 Mon Morning
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 87
Cost: $60
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: Hackerama See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 12.0
Excellent shape, fast greens and pins were tough.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Golf Club at Ballantyne Date: 8/28/13 Wed Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 85
Cost: $40
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: > 5 Hours
Username: FuzzyMulligan See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 10.0
Course was in excellent condition as always. Only problem today was the pace of play. Lots of singles out and many foursomes. This hampered pace to sometimes waiting 20+ minutes from the tee boxes, but since the click-it deal, it was worth the wait for $40 @ a great course.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Golf Club at Ballantyne Date: 7/21/13 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score:
Cost: $
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: Hackerama See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 12.0
The course is in great shape and they have a 110 for 2 coupon in Summe. FAST GREENS...
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Golf Club at Ballantyne Date: 5/25/13 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 79
Cost: $80
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: SmitteyB See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 7.0
This was my first time playing Ballantyne and from the reviews, I went in with high expectations. The facilities are top-notch, from the greeting to the putting greens- very nice. The range I thought was laughable due to its limited hitting slots, but that it nit picky. The putting greens were nice and rolled nicely as well. The tee boxes were very brown and crisp. The greens were rolling well, however the ranger said the course was under water Tuesday and Wednesday which would explain why they looked bad. Fairways were in nice shape, few dead spots. The course is somewhat tights and the small greens make for a challenging test of golf, especially if you do not know the course. Overall the course was in good condition, I don't see myself playing much very often due to the steep weekend prices, but $59 weekday rate is certainly doable. Certainly one of the nicest courses in the CLT area.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Golf Club at Ballantyne Date: 4/28/13 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 79
Cost: $80
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: carp24000 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 12.0
Best course in Charlotte, IMO. The fairways are 95% green and the greens are the nicest, truest greens I have played all year. The amenities and workers are top notch. Love this place!
View Comments (1) Post Comment

The Golf Club at Ballantyne Date: 4/10/13 Wed Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 84
Cost: $
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
Got back to Ballantyne yesterday thanks to a vendor outing. Conditions were perfect. Best shape of any course I've played since last season. Greens were immaculate, rolling well but not ridiculously slick (like they sometimes can be here). The bunkers are some of the nicest in town, with fine, white sand. Tee boxes were about the only thing not perfect with some thin spots, but that's a nit-pick. Fairways were very good. The biggest difference now is that most of the construction around the course is complete. So there are no distractions, no hole re-routing and no ugly mounds of dirt affecting play anymore. Pace of play was great and the halfway house at #10 was well-stocked. Great to see the course whole again. It's pricey but at least back to feeling like a treat when you splurge.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Golf Club at Ballantyne Date: 8/17/12 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 88
Cost: $80
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: GungaGalunga See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 15.0
Course was in great shape. Greens rolled true all the way through. Love this course, just wish it cost less, but they take great care of it and it is very nice.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Golf Club at Ballantyne Date: 7/15/12 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 82
Cost: $40
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: TheClaw See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 5.3
Managed to play Ballantyne at 9am on Sunday for $40 thanks to the ClickIt deal. Best deal of the year in my opinion. Love this course, hope they keep the deals coming. The course is always in near perfect condition. Tees, fairways, greens and bunkers were all great. A guy even came around with ice towels for everyone to help keep cool. I wish the greens were bent grass though, I find that the greens here can be tricky because of the grain. But don't let their appearance fool you, they are still lightning fast. However the only real issue (small one) I have with this course is that the greens are very hard. Bring your softest, highest spinning Pro V1s if you want to go flag hunting at the back pins.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

The Golf Club at Ballantyne Date: 2/20/12 Mon Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 91
Cost: $39
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: ammo55 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 15.0
So it probably wasn't the best idea to play the first round of the year at Ballentyne, but it is such a great course I couldn't pass it up for $39. It had rained the day before so the fairways were a little "thin" but the greens were as quick as ever. Can't wait to play when the course is in perfect shape.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Golf Club at Ballantyne Date: 9/14/11 Wed Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
I was invited to play here on media day and see the improvements they have made and the shape the new greens are in now. I must say I was impressed. My last experience here back in May was not great because they had just started the construction behind #2 tee and the renovation of #8. While the building construction is still in progress, the #2 tee has been moved closer to the 8th green and now makes the hole play as a more difficult dogleg right. For #8, they have built a new green in front of the creek, shortening the hole and softening the slope of the green. They are still filling in the old temporary green with sod in the middle of the new fairway. So that played as ground under repair. They said the sod should be finished within the week. Everywhere else the conditions were impeccable, especially the new Champion Ultra Dwarf greens. The course recently hosted an LPGA championship and the greens were cut extremely fast -- as fast as any I've ever played. That made the course play more difficult than usual. I realize it was media day and all, but I was treated extremely well by the entire staff and had a great experience. I look forward to going back soon.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

The Golf Club at Ballantyne Date: 5/5/11 Thu Afternoon
Overall Rating: Average
Score: 87
Cost: $60
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 5 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
My first round here in almost 2 years. I was disappointed. I was surprised right away as we headed to the 2nd tee to see that #2 and #8 were being torn up and renovated. I'm on Ballantyne's golf e-mail list and I get messages about once a week. Nowhere in any of these messages has it mentioned any renovations. The work was going on while we were playing, including very loud equipment. #2 was not much affected, but #8 had been shortened to a 250yd par 4 with a temporary green. Not cool. Elsewhere on the course, conditions were very average. Several greens had bare spots covered with green sand. Several fairways had bad patches. The greens were extremely hard and slick. It was a difficult putting day. Overall, I was sorely disappointed since we paid $60 for an afternoon tee time. If I'd paid $30 or even $40, I might have let it go. But when I play a resort course, it should be immaculate. I can't recommend this course right now.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

The Golf Club at Ballantyne Date: 3/18/11 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 97
Cost: $60
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: JD See All Reviews by this user
I never liked the layout of this track, but it is in good condition. If you're player who works the ball from left to right, you're dead here on at least 6 holes.
View Comments (0) Post Comment