Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings
Re: Tillery Tradition Status
Posted by: kuehbr
on 10/10/17 11:25am
Thanks for the update! One of my favorite area courses and happy to hear that they are putting in the time/money to make that place great again, looking forward to playing it in the upcoming months

Reviews for Springfield Golf Club


View Recent Reviews for All Courses

Springfield Golf Club Date: 11/13/16 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 86
Cost: $61
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: > 5 Hours
Username: GinMillDJ See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 22.0
Extremely slow play even with rangers on the course. Course itself is in nice condition. fairways and rough are beginning to go dormant.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 10/4/16 Tue Morning
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 89
Cost: $36
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: tmathes See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 8.0
From the pro shop staff, starter and everyone else associated with this course, TOP NOTCH all the way. Played with another twosome and it was a little slow as they searched for balls quite frequently, but as far as course conditions, OUTSTANDING. Greens rolled true, fairways and tee boxes were in great shape as well. Senior rate fit the budget and it was truly an enjoyable day of golf(outside of the score I posted) and that was surely all on me.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 7/30/16 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 80
Cost: $45
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: KyleSmith See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 4.7
I played this course in October of 2014 (before I moved to charlotte) and haven't played it since. Man, I need to play this course more. The fairways were nice, with a few spots here or there but to be this late in the summer it was awesome to see them that taken care of. The greens were dying from Wut I'm guessing is heat and lack of water, which meant they were fast and I loved it. All of them were quicker than any other public course I've played. The pace of play was awesome. We're only got help up twice towards the end, but they had a Marshall driving around to enforce pace. Overall, I'd recommend this course to anyone looking for a reasonable price and a great track. I will be back.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 5/5/16 Thu Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 87
Cost: $
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
My first time back at Springfield in many years. Still a challenging track. The course was very green and in good shape. I felt the greens were just okay. No major issues, but it seemed they were protecting the greens by not cutting them very low. So the speeds were average and uneven throughout the 18 holes. The slowness exaggerated the breaks and made putts from outside 5 feet difficult to hole. The other difficulty I had was not remembering the holes and getting surprised by hazards and fairways abruptly ending (#5 and #12). I hit a couple of really good shots only to lose my ball, which was very frustrating. You really have to know the course or play with someone who knows it to navigate the blind shots successfully. All in all, this is still a good course that I will come back to play again.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 5/22/15 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 84
Cost: $37
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: Leednc See All Reviews by this user
I first played Springfield back in November and have played 3 times since. Friday's weather was great and so was the course. Fairways are in good shape and the greens were super quick. I was surprised by the run out on several putts and look forward to more trips around this course. Another fun thing about Springfield is that the majority of the greens are elevated and it is very tough to get a level lie even in the fairways. Requires lots of attention to detail with the varied lies you get here. Truly a fun course to play.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 3/17/15 Tue Afternoon
Overall Rating: Average
Score: 92
Cost: $37
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: hotrod jb See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 13.0
First time I've played Springfield. I really like the course and layout but the winter weather hurt this course. Fairways are almost bald and tee boxes are chewed up pretty good. I'll go back in a few months and try it again.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 7/27/14 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 76
Cost: $69
Conditions: PerfectPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: oneputt See All Reviews by this user
Even the total fog out for a few holes could not take away from this really special Saturday morning at Springfield. It is very expensive so I don't play here on the weekends but I am sure glad that I did! The course was really beautiful. Fairways were smooth and fully grassed. Lies were good to perfect. Bunkers and traps were wet but the sand was consistent and playing from them was not bad. The greens were FAST. Pin placements were tough. Very rarely did one have a clean,straight putt. Mostly big breaking putts, even short putts were tough. The greens held most shots and the putts rolled true. The entire staff could not have been more focused on their customers! Rangers kept pace going and they even THANKED us for coming out and playing. Yes, the costs were on the very high side but for a special day on the links it was well worth every dollar. I will be back!
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 10/16/13 Wed Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $35
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: WGBSR See All Reviews by this user
Good condition through out. Nice practice range. First time on the course. It is a good layout with some challenging greens. I recommend it to all.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 9/15/13 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 85
Cost: $45
Conditions: PerfectPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: wnb5th See All Reviews by this user
Great shape. Fast, firm, green, no issues at all. It's a tough layout for me historically but it was such a pleasure to play. We teed off at 3:30 PM on a Saturday (3some) and finished in 3.5 hours - that was great! we flew around the course. I've had some slow rounds here in the past but this was a pleasant surprise. Tee Boxes - no issues Fairways - no issues Rough - very manageable and recently cut Green - AWESOME. The ONLY REASON I am not giving this a 5 Star Rating is that I couldnt believe they had the snack bar closed at 5 PM (after we completed our Front 9). I was looking forward to a cold beverage and was shocked it was closed on a Saturday. BUT, they do have a ice/water machine but it wasn't the exact beverage that I was looking forward to!
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 8/26/13 Mon Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 79
Cost: $32
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: oneputt See All Reviews by this user
Greens had been sanded but they putted true and really the fastest that I have seen yet! Fairways were excellant and the traps were well maintained. Always enjoy playing at this course. The starter went out of his way to get me a game and get us out right away. Pro shop staff, at least one of them, needs to work on her people skills. Make this course a must play, it's hard, pretty and a real challenge.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 7/29/13 Mon Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: izzyf150 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 17.4
Springfield in its normal condition (Good shape). Fairways were good. Ruff not to ruff. Greens were fast and putts were breaking. Greens have a light top dressing of sand at the moment but putts are still rolling smooth. Guy at the counter, noticing that I am a Steeler fan, told me that Donnie Shell plays the course pretty often. I might have to visit this place more often, might bump into him one day.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 7/13/13 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 81
Cost: $59
Conditions: PerfectPace: < 3 Hours
Username: oneputt See All Reviews by this user
Saturday morning,twosome,nobdy out in front,what's there not to like about this. Carts were off the path! Green's were perfect. Even the traps were raked and in good shape! I would again highly recommend this course to anyone wanting first class experience. Weekend fees are steep that is why I play mostly on the weekdays.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 7/13/13 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 91
Cost: $65
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: CU_Tigerfan See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Occasional Golfer (handful of times per year)Handicap: 13.9
Springfield is in really great shape right now. I was surprised that it wasn't wet and muddy given the extensive rain lately. Granted, there were a few low lying spots that were soggy, but overall the course seems to have drained really well. Greens were maybe a touch slow, but not bad. They were rolling true and holding shots, so no complaints. The only drawback to Springfield right now might be the price.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 7/9/13 Tue Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 71
Cost: $33
Conditions: PerfectPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: oneputt See All Reviews by this user
Kinda wet,but who isn't! Greens perfect. Fairways full and mowed close. Some roll even. Traps were wet but that is to be expected. Staff very friendly and willing to get me out quickly. Not very busy. Rate for a senior is ok. Have to ride,can't walk. Be back on Saturday morning!
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 7/1/13 Mon Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 86
Cost: $55
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: PADave See All Reviews by this user
First time out here. Great course. Superb practice area and pro shop staff. No cart girl for entire round though. Conditions were good even for all the rain we have had. Greens were a bit slow. Lots of slope on fairways and greens. All in all good course. Maybe not quite worth the $55 but close. Will be out here again as its a true test and you will use all your clubs.
View Comments (2) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 6/29/13 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 78
Cost: $35
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: oneputt See All Reviews by this user
First time playing here! What a surprise......really pleasant.... course in superb condition. Had the feeling of a mountain course and a resort one as well. Can't walk this course! Play was slow but their were plenty of rangers and they were doing their best to keep a crowded course moving. Will certainly play course again....next week. Subtle understanding will make scoring more likely. Great staff all around. Go play this layout
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 11/28/12 Wed Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 87
Cost: $32
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: 4amigos See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 12.0
Greens in very good condition for December. Staff always makes you feel that they want you back
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 11/8/12 Thu Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: Zunojoe See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 4.0
Springfield is in very good condition. The fairways and rough are dormant but provide a very nice lie and, due to dry weather, a lot of extra roll. The greens are fantastic. They are firm and fast and roll true. This course layout grows on me every time even though it is pretty tough and scoring is difficult. Something else that stood out to me today was that there were very few leaves in play. Normally this time of year you can lose balls that are in bounds due to fallen leaves. For whatever reason, the fallen leaves at Springfield are where they belong and we don't, in the woods.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 8/21/12 Tue Afternoon
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 93
Cost: $35
Conditions: PerfectPace: < 3 Hours
Username: metallikviper See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 16.0
This is the first time I've ever given a course a 5* rating. Everything is perfect from tee to green. Sand in bunkers was fluffy almost to point where I was wishing to end up in there. I just wish they didn't have the Mini Verde greens, but looks like that is the only kinda grass that will hold up to this heat and golfer abuse (unfixed divots). They must be spending a lot of money keeping this course up to snuff and its paying off. $65 is still a bit too steep for a weekend round of golf but worth it if you care about course condition and quality of greens. I highly recommend this course.
View Comments (2) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 8/20/12 Mon Afternoon
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 91
Cost: $41
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: estanwick See All Reviews by this user
Greens are good/excellent. Couple minor punch marks but nothing to get bent out of shape on. This course should be played at least twice a year by followers of B-Man's website. Strong recomendation to play. Overall rank: A-
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 8/19/12 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 102
Cost: $57
Conditions: PerfectPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: GungaGalunga See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 15.0
This course is in fantastic shape. I played horrible on a few holes, but still had a great time overall. The greens are 10/10, the rest of it is 9/10. Rainy morning so course was clear of people and pace was fast. I will be back. I highly recommend playing here.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 5/20/12 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 92
Cost: $57
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: Wulfpack See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Occasional Golfer (handful of times per year)Handicap: 15.0
Always enjoy playing this course -- one of the better kept in the area and very close to the center city. It is an extremely challenging course (voted Charlotte's toughest public couse), so bring your A-game and check your ego at the tee box. Greens were a bit slow, but all in all a great round. If you like this course, check out their great membership options, incuding a double membership with Fort Mill Golf Club.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 3/1/12 Thu Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 85
Cost: $38
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: malamute See All Reviews by this user
course in good shape except a few tee boxes / greens very fast / bunker sand very good / love this course
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 2/17/12 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score:
Cost: $35
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: Russell See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 6.0
A few quick comments about my last visit to Springfield. Their tee boxes have always struggled and seem to be in the worst shape I have seen them. Even in the heat of summer they are historically thin and heavily sanded - right now there is just not much grass at all. Also, the greens were in great shape but not as quick and seem to be softening up a little. Actually had to fix a ballmark or two. The balance of the course was still above average and the price was reasonable. A great option for this side of town.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 1/28/12 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 84
Cost: $50
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: ILL-INI See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 9.0
Springfield is right up there in my favorites column. The greens are rolling pretty nicely, fairways are thick. It was wet and cart path only when we played but overall not a bad day on the course. I think we ended up finishing in 4 1/2 hours so not too bad considering we had to walk to our balls. Thanks for the arm sleeve Chris Gore, that really helped me put together a nice round! Oh, and don't forget you still owe me money for the round, Puma's and steaks punk! hahaha
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 12/28/11 Wed Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 84
Cost: $40
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: wnb5th See All Reviews by this user
had lots of rain yesterday so it was soft and cart path only but course was still in pretty good shape. lots of dead, wet bermuda but greens still rolled good, bunkers in very good shape, overall not bad for this time of year. I am not a big fan of this course but there isnt any reason that i wouldnt recommend it to someone to play.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 10/15/11 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $25
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: Matt See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 30.0
Everything greened up nicely, but there were some sucker pin placements today. 7 or 8 were at or within a foot of the peak of two converging slopes and another 5 or 6 were on side slopes. At one point it was like putt-putt. My dad missed a 4 foot uphill putt that rolled about a inch past the hole before proceeding to roll back to almost an identical location of where it was before the shot. :) All in all a great course in great shape.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 9/11/11 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $25
Conditions: PerfectPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: Matt See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 30.0
Course in great shape like normal and my score in bad shape like normal.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 8/16/11 Tue Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 83
Cost: $35
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: Russell See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 6.0
Took the afternoon off to play this course near where I work. Pace of play was terrific - we teed off around 2pm did not see anyone for the whole round. The course was in terrific shape - specifically the greens - but I got an email that they are being punched next week. Tees, fairways and traps were all good. Yes, the greens do not hold as well as bent but they are not unplayable - maybe that was due to the recent rains. 7, 8 and 9 is one of the hardest three hole stretches in Charlotte.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 8/12/11 Fri Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 78
Cost: $45
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: NLM See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 5.3
Conditioning excellent compared to other local courses this time of year. Greens rolled true and had good pace, tees good, fairways excellent. Will definitely go back soon.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 8/11/11 Thu Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 104
Cost: $25
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: Matt See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 30.0
Only compliant is greens are very firm and not very receptive. They are great to putt on though. Everything else from tee boxes to fairways is perfect or very close to it.
View Comments (2) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 7/26/11 Tue Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 117
Cost: $25
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: Matt See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 30.0
Course looks great, and very green. Pros: Greens are consistent and extremely fast, and awesome to putt on. Fairways are in amazing shape and always have good lies. Cons: Fairways bouncy, fast, and sloped so a ball hit down the middle might roll off into the rough which brings me to my second complaint. Rough is EXTREMELY thick. You are lucky to hit the ball 100 yds out of it. You must be accurate off the tee to score well here. Also, greens are extremely hard and fast so approach shots roll off and do not stick whatsoever. Rough around greens is a little less thick but still quite ridiculous. I'm not trying to play in the U.S. Open! Sand is in decent shape and tee boxes are good. Overall, the course looks very green, but is playing extremely hard almost unfair-like right now.
View Comments (6) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 7/16/11 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $65
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: El Supremo See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 16.0
Somewhere between really good and perfect. Tees, fairways, bunkers are all in great shape. The greens, which were all replaced last year, are in really good shape but seem to be a little inconsistent in speed. They have a beverage cart now too.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 6/26/11 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 112
Cost: $25
Conditions: PerfectPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: Matt See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 30.0
Fairways great, tee boxes great, putting on the greens was great. Approach shots were another thing entirely. Greens are so hard that no approach shot sticks and it makes the course extremely difficult. Course in great shape though, staff was friendly like always, and pace of play was great.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 6/14/11 Tue Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 112
Cost: $25
Conditions: PerfectPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: Matt See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 30.0
Greens are healed from punching and in excellent shape. Not fastest they have ever been but are very consistent and smooth. Fairways are green and rough is long and tough as always. This course is truly one of the best public courses around.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 6/12/11 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 112
Cost: $35
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: Matt See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 30.0
Greens almost helaed from punching... will be perfect in about one week. Pace of Play was great and staff was super friendly (like always.) Fairways in great shape, and rough is well manicured (but maybe a little thick for my liking.) Just a great course and one of my favorite courses as far as conditions go.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 6/8/11 Wed Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 90
Cost: $25
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: rjrnyy See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 15.0
Great deal for anymore who needs to escape from work during the week. $25 is a steal. Springfield did airate their greens and they are still noticable with the sand, but some holes are starting to come in and they are still playing fast as per usual there. Rest of course is in good shape and playing tough as they grew the rough higher in areas around traps and greens.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 6/7/11 Tue Afternoon
Overall Rating: Average
Score: 84
Cost: $29
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: Porkchop See All Reviews by this user
Greens were punched last week, so nobody in the group made a putt outside of 4 feet. The rough is thick in some spots and was borderline unfair. Twice I was 3 feet outside the fairway and had to hack it out back into the fairway. I mean are we playing in the US open or something...? I would give it another 2 weeks before playing because the greens were punched. The course is challenging, even on the shorter par 4s there is trouble. If you've never played the course before, there are certain sides of the fairway you must avoid or youre looking at bogey. Also some sucker pins, play for the center of the green, short sided chips are no fun.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 6/7/11 Tue Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $25
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: Stick See All Reviews by this user
Springfield is one of the nicer courses in the area so even though the greens were just plugged last week I couldn't pass up a $25 round. Fairways were in great condition - about the best I've seen this year. Rough was on the long side but fair. Only a few areas on this course need work. The greens were extremely slow on this day and longer putts was very difficult due to the sand and plug marks. In a 2-3 weeks I'm sure the greens will be good again and this course will be outstanding. Fairways were 9.5/10, greens 5/10 due to the recent aeration.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 6/5/11 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 113
Cost: $25
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: Matt See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 30.0
Another great day at Springfield. Fairways and tee boxes in great shape. Just punched greens so sandy and slow but very consistent. They will be immaculate in a couple of weeks. Only $35 for adult rate right now so I for sure recommend or wait until greens are perfected and pay more but truly enjoy the Springfield experience. Every time I play I just enjoy the course more!
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 5/23/11 Mon Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 39
Cost: $
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: Fattyhoon See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 6.0
One of the nicest maintained courses in the Charlotte Area. I personally love the layout, and the conditions. Fairways are full, rough is thick and tough, Greens were a tad slow, but rolled true and had very minimal markings. If this course was $10 cheaper, I would play here every week...I do love this course and play it often, but almost $50 during the week to play is a little high for my budget.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 5/22/11 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 83
Cost: $55
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: ILL-INI See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 9.0
I was pretty much amazed at how nice Springfield is looking right now. I played here a couple years ago and wasn't all that impressed. They've completely redone the greens and they are super nice. They are rolling true and firm. I can count on my hand 5 time maybe where I saw a dry spot on the green or fairway, the course is in excellent shape. The only thing I worry about is the fairways are a little thing, not bad just a little thin. Hopefully they hold up to the heat otherwise this course is in trouble for the summer. But right now...you have to play this course. Absolutely beautiful play right now.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 5/20/11 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 115
Cost: $25
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: Matt See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 30.0
I played this course about a month ago for the first time and it was near perfect. It was still excellent today just lots of ballmarks on greens and lots of divots on fairway from lots of use. The greens still ran true, the course is still top-notch, and the staff there are some of the nicest people you will meet. I strongly recommend it. I am considering a membership.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 4/8/11 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 108
Cost: $35
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: metallikviper See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 16.0
Course is in great shape. Except for a few holes the greens were good. Fairways still not fully green but should be in good shape for the summer. Played on a Friday and almost took us 4.5 hours. No marshal to move the slow group in front. Would really recommend they add a net on the side of the driving range, cos if you hit a drive to the left on the Hole 1 you'll take forever to find it.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 3/19/11 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 93
Cost: $40
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: JD See All Reviews by this user
Greens are great and the course is in excellent shape for this time of year.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 3/4/11 Fri Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $39
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: malamute See All Reviews by this user
one of the best courses around / good quality range balls and large practice area / greens are decent but could be better
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 2/13/11 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 94
Cost: $35
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 5 Hours
Username: DrSchteeve See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 8.0
Well, I'm calling it a great course but I need to go back a few more times. The new mini-verde greens were in great shape, but the course seems to pride itself on "Augusta" greens in terms of speed - very, very fast. Wouldn't be an issue - I like fast greens - except that the greens are also in the Donald Ross mold: often mounded and extremely difficult to hold. Add to that some ridiculous shot angles and you end up with a course that is extremely difficult. Again, I think I might like it, as I love Donald Ross designs and like fast greens as well, but this may be over the edge. Some of the fairways are a bit goofy as well - hit the middle of the fairway and end up 20 yards into the rough because of the angles. I'm going to come back a few more times before I decide if I really like the course.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 10/13/10 Wed Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 90
Cost: $35
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: malamute See All Reviews by this user
1st time back since greens replaced - if they end up as nice as the putting green will be great only the 16th green had issue - a couple of squares placed in it - rest of course is what you expect here - great course
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 7/5/10 Mon Morning
Overall Rating: Bad, stay away
Score:
Cost: $
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: bob See All Reviews by this user
Greens are in horrible shape. Not sure what happened, but at least 13-15 are almost completely dead (i.e. bare dirt and weeds) and several have huge bees burrowing holes in the greens. They gave us the "maintenance" rate, which I assume is what they charge after aeration. Like the course but won't be going back until they straighten out the greens, which may be a long time. Looks like they might need to rip them up and start over.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 6/11/10 Fri Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 92
Cost: $45
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: malamute See All Reviews by this user
course in good shape greens great but need to be cut 7th green had a few rough spots
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 5/22/10 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score:
Cost: $39
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: Russell See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 6.0
I played in a modified scramble tournament at Springfield and the course was in pretty good shape. Everything has "greened up" pretty well and the greens were in nice condition. The only complaint would be that the greens needed to be cut - they were very shaggy. They have also moved the tees around to try to address some of the bad teeing areas - hopefully they recover quickly.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 5/8/10 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 85
Cost: $45
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: JD See All Reviews by this user
Springfield is in good shape. Greens were a little slow, fairway a little shaggy, and the collars around the greens were a little worn. Other than that, the course's layout still makes this a great round of golf at a decent price. (I just wish they'd put more darn red/yellow/white stakes...I've been complaining about this for three years.)
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 4/17/10 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Below average
Score: 90
Cost: $55
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: > 5 Hours
Username: CU_Tigerfan See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Occasional Golfer (handful of times per year)Handicap: 13.9
This is my favorite layout in town, but they have let me down again. I hadn't been in over a year, but I love the course so I thought I'd give it another shot. So many issues: Pace of play was an absurd 5 1/2 hours. No ranger on the course at all. Just backed up all day. There is no grass on a lot of the fringe/collar areas. The greens themselves were a bit slow, which I could forgive because most were in good shape. However, it must have been at least a weeks since they cut new holes! They were very overgrown around the cup. Also, they need to blow the pollen pods and leaves off the greens. There is no way they've done this in over a week either. I mean, this is a Saturday in the spring, and they can't do the little things to make things run smoothly for the prices they're charging? Just not worth the money to play here right now, which is a shame. Oh, and there was no beverage cart that day either.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 4/10/10 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 86
Cost: $44
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: Russell See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 6.0
They had punched their greens 3 weeks ago and were at about 90%. They should be nice in the next week. Fairways were ok and some tee boxes (3 or 4 - mostly par 3s) were almost all sand. I am not sure what was going on there. I like the layout and the economic downturn has slowed some of the builidng surrounding the course. The clubhouse is nice and the staff is friendly. They offer a USGA/CGA handicap service for $25. There are other courses in the area that are in better condition right now that are the same or less $ - so it may be awhile before I go back.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 4/9/10 Fri Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 86
Cost: $45
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: malamute See All Reviews by this user
great course - one of the best in the area
View Comments (0) Post Comment