Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings
Re: Zoysia
Posted by: The B-Man
on 8/16/17 5:00pm
Eagle Chase in Marshville.

Reviews for The Divide Golf Club


View Recent Reviews for All Courses

The Divide Golf Club Date: 9/4/17 Mon Afternoon
Overall Rating: Below average
Score: 83
Cost: $29
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
I wanted to get a late afternoon round in on Labor Day and most courses were packed. This course is 5 minutes from my house so I took a chance, knowing conditions have not been good. Well somehow The Divide managed to not meet even my low expectations. The greens were atrocious. They *averaged* a 3 out of 10 -- meaning several were virtually unplayable due to long grass, sand and rough spots. Several bunkers were unplayable due to mud and dried riverbed condition. Fairways and rough were thick and not recently mowed. Tee boxes had also not been cut recently. The course looked very neglected. I fear for the future of this course, to be honest. We've seen Regent Park close a neighborhood course and turn it over to developers. The same could happen here if they don't spend money to get it back to playable condition. The best thing I can say about my round is that Kent in the pro shop was very nice and told me I could start on the back 9 so my pace of play would be good. That was very much appreciated!
View Comments (1) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 6/10/17 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Bad, stay away
Score: 74
Cost: $42
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: 5 Hours
Username: TheClaw See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 5.3
First time back at Divide in a while and I was not expecting much, but conditions were still lower than expectations. Course was packed, pace of play was brutal and there was no ranger in sight. Played the blue tees, which were basically at the same place the white tees were. The tee boxes for the regular blue tees were all in disastrous shape. On my first hole I took a massive divot, I wanted to fill it with sand only to find the sand bottles on the cart were completely empty. The practice green was really good but some greens on the course were really bad. This course needs a lot of work still, and it needs to try harder. No excuse for no ranger, no sand in the bottles, and the regular tees are so bad that the course plays ridiculously short compared to its rating. Rather go play somewhere else before you play here, there are plenty of other courses around that value their customers more.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 11/12/16 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score:
Cost: $20
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
I only played the front 9 today but I wanted to post a more accurate review than the 2 recently posted. The Divide is very close to my house and I had to all but abandon it years ago when things went bad for the Carolina Trail. While it has come back to be in decent shape, it is nowhere near "perfect" as the previous 2 reviews noted. I found the greens okay, but noted that several were bumpy and had bare spots. In fact, #4 appears to have been vandalized or been the victim of a groundskeeper mistake. It had some track marks in the middle of the green that had been sanded but still affected play. Fairways were good, tee boxes, just okay though. Several had sparse amounts of turf to tee on. And while the bunkers have lots of nice fluffy sand, they were mostly moguls, like a black diamond ski slope. The ones I were in had not been raked at all - I'm guessing in several days. And those were just my observations of playing 9 holes. I can only rate The Divide as an average course around Charlotte and I still rank it last of the 4 closest courses to me -- Olde Sycamore, Charlotte National and Emerald Lake being the other better 3.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 11/6/16 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 84
Cost: $20
Conditions: PerfectPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: Love the game See All Reviews by this user
Been playing the Divide for years and it's as good as ever was. From tees to greens, awesome. Ground keeper, great job. 5 stars
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 11/6/16 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 79
Cost: $32
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: Scollier See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 82.0
Really good shape , greens are great , much improved conditions . Great desk staff and bar staff . Course is great clubhouse is fun .seems like more money being invested after tough times several years ago
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 7/23/16 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 87
Cost: $42
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: metallikviper See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 16.0
Very impressed with the turnaround this course has made over the past couple of years. There still are some issues, but its nice to see the management is making the effort to fix it. Tee boxes needs some work and a lot of the tee boxes have been moved around to fix them. They should be good come fall. Fairways and rough were in decent shape, some a lot better than the rest. Greens were very soft and rolled true. Only downside was they left huge pitch marks. Lot of unfixed divots, but the patrons are more to blame than the course. Marshall came around a couple of times asking if we were OK with the pace of play. 4.5 hours on a weekend is not bad by any means. Water on a lot of holes and the beverage girl passed us a couple of times. Overall, very impressed with the course and management and will definitely come back and highly recommend for the price they charge. Nothing to complain about the practice range or the practice greens.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 5/28/16 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 79
Cost: $43
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: < 3 Hours
Username: PYB See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 8.0
Greens nice and smooth. Scraggly in fairways and tees. Played in 2.5 hours at 7am for $43 so that was the payback. Far from great but worth a play if you get a good rate and can play quickly.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 4/9/16 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Below average
Score: 83
Cost: $30
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: 5 Hours
Username: jscum13 See All Reviews by this user
Gave it a shot. Oh well. Divide staff could care less how crowded the course is and how many 4somes they send out, just counting the dollar signs. We were a 3somd waiting on every shot and the ranger did nothing to improve pace of play . Tee boxes and fairways dry and beat up. Greens ok with winter freeze issues on the outside of them. Go to Waterford or the other courses, this one needs lots of work
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 12/12/15 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 85
Cost: $26
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: notalentgolf See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Occasional Golfer (handful of times per year)Handicap: 12.0
The divide is in good shape. They had a panther special for $13 off. Just glad to be playing in December. If you haven't played the course it's worth the price.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 12/6/15 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 86
Cost: $29
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: hotrod jb See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 13.0
The Divide is in decent shape. The greens are really nice except for a few on the front. Tee boxes and traps were in good shape for the most part. No one out for a Sunday morning, kind of surprised but it made for a quick round.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 11/15/15 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $39
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: gatorthunder77 See All Reviews by this user
The Divide was in solid shape. There were only a couple holes/greens that could have been in better shape. Overall it is great to see this place regaining its original form.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 10/24/15 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 85
Cost: $39
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: scotth See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 6.0
Played the Divide. Course is good condition. Tees were a little rough and grass thick. greens were in good shape and staff was nice. All in all I think it is worth playing. We played early 742am and finished before noon.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 10/20/15 Tue Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 97
Cost: $28
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: dad4204 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 20.0
they have come a long way. Resodded some of the tees, most of the greens were great. Fairways good and traps good. I really enjoyed playing there and I wish I could have not had 10 chips not get on the green. I'll be back soon.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 10/19/15 Mon Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score:
Cost: $28
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: notalentgolf See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Occasional Golfer (handful of times per year)Handicap: 12.0
Played The Divide on Monday morning and it was cold. The greens are rolling a lot faster now that the weather has gotten cooler. I got some balls for the driving range and they had new balls and over seeded the range it was a nice look. The Divide was in good shape and pace was wonderful. like always the staff is nice. Will be back soon.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 10/11/15 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 83
Cost: $
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: bluetee72 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 15.0
I played here on Sunday, had no problems going off, staff was friendly the pace was normal for a Sunday. A little slower than normal because of cart path only due to the rain the night before. However from the past years this course has definitely turned around! Will be going back for sure.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 10/11/15 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 92
Cost: $26
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: dyork See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 18.1
Great course IMO... The weather the night before had beat it up a little bit, but it was still in good condition. Super friendly staff... and the pace of play was decent for a Sunday. Will definitely be going back.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 9/23/15 Wed Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 74
Cost: $29
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: butterfade31 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 4.0
The staff was very nice and always easy to deal with and talk to. They have a good practice facility with good range balls to hit before my round, which is always nice compared to the courses with worn out range balls. The fairways were plush and i caught good lies all day when I hit them. The two greens that had struggled all summer, numbers 3 and 4, had grown back in considerably. You could still see around the back edges mainly where those two greens had struggled, but that was it. I would by no means say that 3/4 greens were bad enough to avoid the course at all though, don't get me wrong. The other greens rolled very true and were a good speed, not lightning fast by any means, but nice to putt. I played very well, and moved around in under 4 hours so all in all I was very happy with the Divide. I had read some of the reviews over the summer, where people had bashed the place over 3/4 greens and basically told people that all the greens were bad, and honestly their maintenance staff has made long strides in the right direction to getting those two greens back in shape. It was a hot dry summer after all, this course has def come a long way from the management of years past no doubt.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 8/2/15 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 82
Cost: $39
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: notalentgolf See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Occasional Golfer (handful of times per year)Handicap: 12.0
Played The Divide on Sunday morning with the new queen city card i received a few weeks ago. The card saved me $10 dollars off my round, so the price was good. The course has some problems on the greens from the heat and the tee boxes are getting beat up. I noticed they are resodding a few of them and once the weather changes the greens will return. The staff made me aware of the greens once again, so i appreciate that. i wish more courses would be that honest.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 7/29/15 Wed Morning
Overall Rating: Below average
Score: 88
Cost: $28
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: psychgunny See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 15.0
Played this course about a month ago and found it to be in the best condition I had seen it for some time. Unfortunately things have changed for the worse. Fairways are decent but the tee boxes and greens have gone down hill. Every green now has dead spots especially around the edges. Numbers 3 and 4 are not even being cut at this time so we had to take automatic two putts. I know everyone this summer has used the excuse that the weather has been too hot, but if they watered just the greens maybe they could save some of them.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 7/26/15 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Below average
Score: 78
Cost: $39
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: < 3 Hours
Username: dongtrgolfer See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 11.0
Wrote a review a few weeks ago from my previous two outings at The Divide. Unfortunately things have drastically changed. Greens have significant issues. Some on the front 9 are unputtable (we used a 2 putt maximum on a few holes). Green speeds were very slow. Almost all have some issues but hole locations were away from problems. Back nine better than front. Tee boxes pretty beaten up. Fairways were spotty and we not fully filled in with grass creating some issues. Pace of play was great and staff was friendly. I hate to see these problems as I really like this layout. Hopefully they can correct the problems with the greens.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 7/2/15 Thu Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 81
Cost: $28
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: notalentgolf See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Occasional Golfer (handful of times per year)Handicap: 12.0
I played The Divide the other day with some friends and the course was in good shape. We had a few issues with a couple greens,but they still rolled fine. I can see they are doing work to improve the conditons. The staff was exremely nice and helpful with letting me know about a couple greens before i played. I appreciate the honesty.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 6/27/15 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 83
Cost: $29
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: Oakpar92 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 11.0
I haven't been back here at the divide since they've put money into the course. However I gave it another try, the greens were aerated, but still rolling great. Definitely going start coming back more often.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 6/25/15 Thu Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 76
Cost: $39
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: freeballer76 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 0.5
played there this Thursday and was pleasantly suprised about the turn around the course has made! even though the greens had been punched earlier that week they were still rolling decently and i could tell they had put a lot of work into the course. always been one of my favorite designs and will be returning frequently
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 6/14/15 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 86
Cost: $45
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: metallikviper See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 16.0
I'm playing this course after almost 2 years after hearing good things about it. This course is in the best shape it has been in over 5 years. Great job by the new management. Bunker and greens have made a real turnaround. Fairways were a bit thin, but not too bad. Tee boxes definitely need some work. Good value if you have the Queen City Passport card.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 5/9/15 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 83
Cost: $39
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: dongtrgolfer See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 11.0
I played on Saturday morning with three of us. No issues on pace of play as we were out early and finished in under 3 1/2 hours. Greens were in good shape but seemed slow. On uphill putts I could not get the ball to the hole. Many tee boxes had issues as not a lot of grass, but teeing it up it really did not matter except it looked bad. Fairways were pretty hard but greening up. No issues on any of the bunkers I hit out of. Overall a nice day. Only thing keeping me from giving a 4 star were the tee boxes, pace of greens, and fairways being pretty hard (but the ball did run well).
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 10/17/14 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 88
Cost: $28
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: GetThere214 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 7.1
Course was in overall good shape. Greens and bunkers were in very good shape. Can tell they have been putting time and effort into the course and it shows. Staff was very cordial and accommodating. Will definitely be coming back and try not to loose as many tee shots.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 10/13/14 Mon Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 82
Cost: $29
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: dongtrgolfer See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 11.0
I saw the previous review and thought we would give it a try. I have to admit I was expecting the worse and pleasantly surprised. The course was in good shape overall. As the previous review stated the greens are in really good shape, probably the best I have seen these greens. Bunker work was noted on several holes. Some of the tee boxes pretty beat up but a guy was seeding them as we played. Also, it appears they are moving their tee placements around on some hols trying to allow tee boxes to heal. We will be adding this course back to our rotation given it's current state and affordable price.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 10/12/14 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 83
Cost: $39
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: TheClaw See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 5.3
The greens were easily in the best condition I have ever seen them. It really was a treat to see Divide in such good condition. The course is still a work in progress and is only going to get better from here on out. They have some great deals on clickit, so I recommend cashing in now and giving it a second chance (for those who gave up on it from the Trail Days like I did). Great job Divide, keep it up!!!
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 9/29/14 Mon Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 83
Cost: $34
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: Luv2golf See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 3.0
Wow!! Is all I can say. The greens at the Divide were fantastic. They honestly could not have been rolling any better. The rest of the course looked good as well and the progress they have made with the bunker renovation is moving along great. If you want to have fun golfing I highly recommend The Divide. A Great Value
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 8/22/14 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 70
Cost: $28
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: YoMama111 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 0.0
ok, so went back out to The Divide, to give it a shot since the Trail isn't controlling them anymore.....they have made leaps and bounds since I played last. They are actually working on the greens!! You can see marked improvement in the bunkers, they actually have sand in them now! The tees on a few holes were moved WAY up, walked back to check them out, and they were re-soding them. So, they are trying. I give it 3 stars, for the price, its worth playing. Don't expect perfection, afterall, it is the Divide, but its a great little track, and I'm crossing my fingers that they keep up the improvements. I would love to see this track back in the shape it was in years past.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 7/19/14 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Average
Score: 91
Cost: $38
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: kincaid82 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 16.0
The course is still rough and not worth the 38.00 I paid to play, but I also realized I was never crazy about the layout. I would rate it like this, greens I would give them a 4/10, fairways 6/10, tee boxes 3/10. This course has taken a beating for years at the hands of the previous owners, so it will take time, and some day I will play it again, but not any time soon with better options. I still pick here to practice, as I would like to give them some money, but when it comes to playing a around I will pick Charlotte National, or Emerald Lake nearby instead.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 7/14/14 Mon Afternoon
Overall Rating: Below average
Score: 79
Cost: $25
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: > 5 Hours
Username: golfguy See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 8.0
If you want slow play you can find it here at this course. The course is filled with people taking strolls on the paths with their kids, dogs, skateboarders, bicycles talking on cell phones as they stroll! AND the funny part is the Management does nothing about it! Save your change and play Old Sycamore or Emerald Lakes!
View Comments (1) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 5/25/14 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Average
Score:
Cost: $
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: < 3 Hours
Username: kincaid82 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 16.0
I hope this is not against the rules, but this is more a update on the club it self. I live about a mile from the divide, and yet have not played it in 2 years and as we all know it was in BAD shape. I still practice there on a weekly basis, and in talking things over seems about 28,000 has been spent on the traps, and i know the bunker on the practice area is all nice and new. New Range balls came in a few days ago, and the gentelman working there thinks things are really going to turn around and in a few months The Divide should be better than it has been in years. From the few holes i can see from the practice area things look better, and greener, but i will try and get out in the next week and play my first round these in years.
View Comments (2) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 1/1/14 Wed Afternoon
Overall Rating: Average
Score: 86
Cost: $24
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: TheClaw See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 5.3
2 years ago, after dealing with the same old shocking conditions, I swore never to play any Carolina Trail course again. Now that the IRI golf group cancer is out, I will try and support these courses again in the hope that they are restored to their former glory. First time back at the Divide, and I really didn't expect much. The greens were in rough shape, really really bumpy. I think they are supposed to be bent grass, but they look like they have 5 different types of grass on at the moment. They were also really bumpy in patches. They were not bad to the point of being unplayable, but they were not good. The bunkers were horrendous. Luck of the draw to land in one and find it dry/raked/filled with sand. The biggest disappointment to me is that it still appears there is a lack of effort. Case in point, the bunker on the right hand side of the 15th green. 2 years ago when I played Divide, there was NO sand in that bunker, just rocks and vegetables growing. Sadly it was the exact same again. The aggravating thing is that the course does not even go to the effort of at least marking it as GUR. Obviously it is going to take time for these courses to get better, but it starts with TLC from the course staff. Hope they can turn the courses around. For now, don't expect much from these courses for a while.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 10/30/13 Wed Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $20
Conditions: PerfectPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: syncgolf See All Reviews by this user
Best Course in town for $20. I played last Wednesday for only $20. The course was in great shape. I am from the northeast so I like to putt on the bent greens! The fairways are in perfect condition, greens rolled true with generous speed and the pace of play was under 4 hours! This course is fun to play with a great mix of long and short holes! It's a fair course that you can score well on if you are playing well! I strongly recommend it!
View Comments (1) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 9/28/13 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Average
Score:
Cost: $
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
I played in a scramble here on a Saturday morning. Despite this course being 2 minutes from my house, I rarely play here anymore due mostly to the typical Carolina Trail issues of poor maintenance, green conditions and price. So I went in with low expectations. About all I can say is that it met my expectations. The greens, while some had weeds or bare spots, were cut low and actually rolled fairly well. We only had a few putts disrupted by bad spots. Tees and fairways were okay, nothing terribly bad and nothing spectacular either. The worst part was the bunkers. Now, being in a scramble, we never actually played from a bunker, but the poor conditions were noticeable on every hole. None appeared to have been raked, which meant that many had that dried-up river bed look or actual standing water. On one hole, as we looked from the tee, we could see three different shades/varieties of sand in the fairway and greenside bunkers on the same hole. Needless to say, had I been playing my own ball and had to play from those bunkers, I would not have been happy. I've never particularly enjoyed the layout or aesthetics of this course and with Emerald Lake, Olde Sycamore and Charlotte National within 10 minutes of The Divide, I never have to settle for it. I can't recommend the Divide and would not pay more than $25 to play here.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 7/6/13 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Average
Score: 92
Cost: $25
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: carp24000 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 12.0
Well, its the Divide. Only reason I played is because we got a $25 online deal. For all of the rain, I was surprised how well the fairways held up. There were some bare spots on the green, but most ran true. Bunkers were non-existent...mostly weeds. The range wasnt open for some reason. The pace of play was quite good, probably because it wasnt busy. I would play here again if I get the same price, but wouldnt spend any more than $25.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 6/5/13 Wed Morning
Overall Rating: Below average
Score: 85
Cost: $20
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: dad4204 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 20.0
As is the usual comments for trail courses, The Divide is in rough shape. The fairways are thin, maybe no fertilizer, who knows. The greens had be punched and had a ton of sand on them. Surprisingly I putted well. The traps had no sand. You were chipping off dirt or were in a pond in the trap. I has the trail pass, so I'm committed to playing them before Nov. I'm hoping for better, but I heard today that they hadn't been paying employees. Who wants to work for no pay.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 5/11/13 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Below average
Score: 71
Cost: $29
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: YoMama111 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 0.0
Well, it's the divide, but we went through two carts that both died on the course. That is just ridiculous. First cart made it 8 holes. The second cart made it 4 holes. Uncool. The course was pretty much standard for IRI, greens were not good, there wasn't any rough to speak of, the tee boxes were baron, but hey, you get what you pay for. Probably wont be back for quite a while, they really need to do some work out there. It really needs it
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 4/25/13 Thu Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 92
Cost: $27
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: Cant3Putt See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Occasional Golfer (handful of times per year)Handicap: 20.0
If you like The Divide and were afraid to play it, like me, (because of all the bad news on Carolina Trail mgmt), now is your chance to go back, at least for one round. I picked up a single tee time on Clickit for $27 and a 9:50 start, knowing full well I'd go out earlier. I went off at 9:20 with a older twosome (Trail members) that plays the Divide several times a week. It seems like the course is serving mostly members these days, at least on the weekdays. The course was in really good shape. The fairways were about 80 percent in, the rough still needs to grow a few inches. The tee boxes were good. most of the tees were up, I guess, so the regular tees could finish growing in. The bunkers had sand, yep I said it...the Divide bunkers actually has sand. I even tested a few myself. The greens were playable for sure. they were punched about two weeks before I played and only a few green still had the remains of some punch marks. They cleared a lot of the underbrush out which made it easier to find wayward shots. I was also pleased to see water in the lakes. They were actually full. Nice to see. One of my playing partners informed me that drainage isn't great so keep that in mind after heavy rains. The carts no longer offer GPS, it probably been like that for a while. I reccommend anyone who likes to play this course to get out there in the next 4 to 6 weeks before the Summer heat hits. The greens will probably not do well, so get there before they are lost.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 10/23/12 Tue Afternoon
Overall Rating: Average
Score: 102
Cost: $23
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: Chunker See All Reviews by this user
Not bad for the price. Fairways in good condition. Greens slow but no bald areas. Tee boxes need to be moved, pretty beat up. Clubhouse not so good, specifically the bathroom. Unkept is putting it nicely, about what I would've expected at a bus stop. Worst one I've seen at any Charlotte area course.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 9/3/12 Mon Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 92
Cost: $29
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: metallikviper See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 16.0
I really like this course for its layout and really wish The Trail would bring it back to where it belongs. It looks like the work they have put into some of the places is paying off, but they still have plenty of issues. About 10% bunkers have real sand in them. Fairways, tee boxes and roughs seem to be doing OK. Greens were very disappointing. Couple of the greens were almost bald and diseased. Its just about OK for the price you pay.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 7/8/12 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 84
Cost: $36
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: TheClaw See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 5.3
I enjoy playing this course when it is in good condition as I really like the layout. Another plus is that out of all the Carolina Trail courses, I have always found pro shop staff here to be the most friendly. The greens were all nice and green with decent grass coverage (considering the heat) but a little on the slow side. I have posted this before, but the greens have a mix of 2 different types of grass on them. Most of the greens are 60% bent grass and 40% some type of grainy grass. Unfortunately this can make them really 2-paced. If you have all bent between you and the hole they roll smoothly. But if you hit a grainy patch they slow up quick and bounce around. I found myself having a lot of 3-4 foot 2nd putts because of that fact. The biggest minus about the Divide right now is that half of the traps are almost totally devoid of any sand and play like hard-pan. I was in the right greenside trap on 15 (the worst of the bunch), and literally had to play a pitch shot off my back foot as it was the only shot possible out of there. Fairways and tee boxes were ok, I didn't expect them to be good because of the heat of late. To summarize, a fun course, but I would not drop more than $35-$40 right now to play here.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 5/29/12 Tue Afternoon
Overall Rating: Average
Score: 93
Cost: $32
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: izzyf150 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 17.4
I thought I would give the Divide a chance despite the many poor reviews this place gets. The reviews were right. The greens are slow and bumpy. You cant judge speed of putts because you dont know how many times the ball is going to hop. The fairways are a little thin. I did like the layout of the course. There was a couple of narrow fairways but most of the time you could just let the driver rip. This course is still below average compared to the many other courses there are to choose from.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 4/7/12 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 98
Cost: $
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: metallikviper See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 16.0
I really like the layout of this course and have played it 4 times in the last 3 years. Right now, this course is the best it has been in 3 years. However they still have a couple of issues that needs to be fixed. Tee boxes and bunkers need some help. Fairways are in good shape and the roughs are cut to a decent height. Greens were a little disappointing, but have come a long way. Greens seemed to be a mixture of multiple grasses and putting was rough. More than a couple putts bounced around before starting to roll. We had a slow 4-some in front of us and we almost had to wait on every hole. However, 4.5 hours on beautiful Saturday is acceptable. I hope this course holds the summer heat.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 3/11/12 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Average
Score: 82
Cost: $
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: TheClaw See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 5.3
I am not sure if their greens are supposed to be bent grass or bermuda, because there is an even covering of both types of grass on every green. Seems like the Bermuda is taking over though so a lot of the greens are really bumpy in the areas where the 2 grasses meet. Had a lot of putts that got knocked off line in our foursome. Having said that, they still roll pretty well if you have a highway of one grass type between you and the hole. Fairways were ok and tee boxes also fine. I love the layout of the course, and had a fun round despite the bumpy greens. However, I would not pay more than $40 to play here.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 10/24/11 Mon Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 73
Cost: $40
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: YoMama111 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 0.0
Played the Divide this morning, the course was in good shape, the greens were much better than all of the reviews I had been reading lately, so I didn't really see any of the issues that people had been talking about. A few did have some minor issues, but that was only 2 of them. Other than that, the course was in good shape. That is all for now.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 10/10/11 Mon Morning
Overall Rating: Below average
Score: 89
Cost: $32
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: stonecold See All Reviews by this user
greens were covered in sand with no aeration also not alot of grass on the greens it was like putting on concrete also putting was atrocious as ball would bounce all the way to the hole tees were in bad shape and some bunkers had no sand in them driving range was like hitting off concrete no grass i just dont understand the theory of charging these high prices for bad conditions will not be back until i hear of different updates
View Comments (3) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 10/2/11 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Average
Score: 97
Cost: $
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: BOOMCB See All Reviews by this user
Greens are recovering - only 2 or 3 are bad. The recent rains have helped.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 8/28/11 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Below average
Score: 98
Cost: $43
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: ezndat See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 15.0
Divide Greens are better than they were a month ago but still pretty rough....
View Comments (5) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 8/21/11 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Bad, stay away
Score: 75
Cost: $25
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: < 3 Hours
Username: KPK704 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 2.0
Worst course I have ever played in terms of conditions! I have played over 200 courses as well. The greens were hands down the worst I have ever putted on. Fairways at a private clubs are miles better. Just basically dirt with weeds and bumpy dirt at that. I have never played here before and I was not expecting much. But after 4 holes I was ready to go in and get my money back. Why play when you have a 6 footer for birdie and have to get lucky to make it! My membership just ran out at Emerald Lake and I was thinking about this place instead and they could not let me play there for free. I would choose to pay to play elsewhere, that's how bad it is. STAY AWAY! Unless you want to waste your money.
View Comments (4) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 7/15/11 Fri Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 84
Cost: $25
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: dongtrgolfer See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 11.0
I like the set up of this course but I am afraid they are losing some of the greens. The greens seemed to get better as we progressed on the course but the front nine has a lot of issues. I almost hated to walk on some of the greens. Many have the fans going so I am sure they are trying to keep them through the heat but they are on the edge. There were a lot of bumps on the putts making the round more difficult, Finally figured out to hit it firm at the hole and that helped on the back. Fairways were fine, no major issues on the tee boxes. Pace of play was great for a Friday morning. I like the practice area because of the chipping area. Staff are friendly and helpful and gave me a better rate than I expected (may be because I practice there a lot),
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 5/23/11 Mon Afternoon
Overall Rating: Below average
Score: 85
Cost: $34
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
Not my favorite course, but it's the closest course to my house (<5 min) that I play it once or twice a year for variety's sake. So I guess it's just my luck that they aerated the greens last week. The greens were slow and had a top dressing of sand. So you had to nuke your putts to get it there. A few tee boxes were not in great shape and the fairways were just okay. Didn't seem like the rough or fringe around greens had been cut recently (even though we saw guys mowing). And then there's the bunkers. Half of them are fluffy white sand and half are orange dirt / clay. No consistency. Pace of play ended up 4.5 hrs, but it felt very slow. Backed up for all of the last 12 holes. No rangers. This kind of experience is why I don't play here much. Emerald Lake, Charlotte National and Olde Sycamore are within 10 minutes of here and they are miles better.
View Comments (3) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 5/21/11 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Bad, stay away
Score: 74
Cost: $59
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: > 5 Hours
Username: QuitYourWhining See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 1.0
seriously? people pay money to play this crap hole of a golf course? They need to shut this thing down!!!!! The worst conditions I have EVER SEEN!!!! Will never go back.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 11/13/10 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Average
Score: 88
Cost: $45
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: metallikviper See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 16.0
The last time we played this course it was in August and it was for only $29, so it was worth it. Back then the greens were in bad shape and the fairways badly beat up. Now it was $45 so we assumed it would be in better shape, but seemed to be about the same. Some of the greens were in bad shape and in need of repair. Fairways were tore up and needed work. Worst part about this course were the roughs. Cut high and had turned yellow so it was virtually impossible to find your ball if you strayed away from the fairways. We lost about 6 balls that should have been found. This is a great course in terms of layout and I really hope they get it back in shape for next season.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 9/24/10 Fri Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 93
Cost: $32
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: a.rich See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 20.0
Pretty fair test except for some, unfair first cut rough. The greens were in great shape, compared to some.15 out of 18 in good shape. I'll go again.
View Comments (0) Post Comment