Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings
Re: Zoysia
Posted by: The B-Man
on 8/16/17 5:00pm
Eagle Chase in Marshville.

Reviews for The Tradition Golf Club


View Recent Reviews for All Courses

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 6/24/17 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 79
Cost: $35
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: GolfNiners5 See All Reviews by this user
Course was in excellent condition. Only complaints would be about the greens on the first couple of holes. A couple of them had crab grass coming through that would interfere with putts. After about hole 4 the greens were in great shape. Course was very wet from the recent rain but was still playable. Very impressed with how far this course has come from a couple of years ago. I did have some complaints about the starter/ clubhouse. We teed off about 20 minutes late due to them being behind. There were multiple 4 somes in front of us but behind us there was 4 consecutive groups of 2 somes. They should have paired them up with each other so we didn't feel rushed, even if we let them play through they would have had no were to go.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 6/8/17 Thu Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 90
Cost: $15
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: Albert So See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 20.0
Just aerated, so got a reduced (senior/walking) rate. Great news for Tradition fans. After recovering from aeration the greens look like they should be in great shape.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 3/27/17 Mon Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score:
Cost: $
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: nstoudt See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 8.0
Everything was in decent condition. The greens are coming back after being burned last fall. Not perfect but much better than what they were.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 10/13/16 Thu Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score:
Cost: $25
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: aimtobreak80 See All Reviews by this user
Hadn't played in over a month, so I was not dissuaded from trying The Tradition even after having been warned that their greens were still in poor condition (seems they have not recovered from the summer heat and dry spell). But course management is up front about it, and are currently offering discounted rates to encourage play. Not all, but a good number, of the greens are affected, and they did present real problems for putting, especially for my playing partners who experienced obviously bumpy rolls and one, 45-degree angle carom. Players are invited to deal with the situation by limiting recorded putting strokes to a maximum of 2, re-positioning balls on the green when a significantly poor putting surface becomes an issue, or whatever accommodation you and your playing partners consider appropriate. The conditions did NOT spoil my outing. There was one, unusual hazard on the 17th - a coyote, that ambled off after we all had hit our tee shots, one of which carried right over the animal's head while it was stretched out in front of the fairway bunker. The only discouraging thing from my round was the fact that I did not achieve my goal of breaking 80 (didn't expect to after the layoff and the condition of the greens), but had insult added to injury when my 14-year old playing partner shot under par!
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 8/31/16 Wed Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score:
Cost: $25
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: aimtobreak80 See All Reviews by this user
The greens are in distress (heat), but the pro shop was up front about it when I called for a tee time, and they discounted the green fees accordingly. I wish that I could say that the abundance of near misses and lip-out putts that I experienced were due to the conditions, but I'm not sure that is completely true. For the most part, balls rolled true even on the most affected greens. The fairways had been cut recently, and some of them had obviously clumps/collections of clippings. The worst part of the course was the rough wherein even the first cut was a little long and made finding the ball rather difficult (I played through a couple of foursomes who shared that same sentiment, and apologized for their resultant slower play). Unfortunately, I found a couple of bunkers in my round, but the clean, fluffy sand allowed me to look like a pro in getting the ball out (bunker conditions are one of my usual gripes, and in my opinion, The Tradition course is currently one of the better ones in this regard). All in all, the round was definitely a good deal/bargain for the reduced rate.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 8/15/16 Mon Afternoon
Overall Rating: Average
Score: 88
Cost: $29
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: BetterThanMost See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 18.0
Played The Tradition for the first time in just under 2 years on Monday. I played in the late afternoon and the course was virtually empty. A few twosomes or singles here and there, but that was about it. The teeboxes were OK. Some were shaggier than others. Fairways were in great shape, as the bermuda has thrived in the hot weather this summer. The rough is thick and lush. A shot just a couple of yards off the fairway is in hack it out territory. The bent grass greens are starting to struggle. I'm puzzled at how a course that is basically cut out of trees only has fans on 1 hole. The greens still rolled fairly well, but the grass was beginning to die in several places on each hole. They were actually punching the 13th green as I was playing. Bunkers were hit or miss; some in better shape than others. What really struck me were some of the ancillary things; bunker rakes with missing handles and a good number of the pins were broken to the point where the flag itself had slid 1/4 of the way down from the top. The staff was friendly. I didn't use the range or putting green.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 4/10/16 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 78
Cost: $40
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: Fearlessgib See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
First time playing Tradition this year, greens had been punched several weeks ago but weren't to bad a little bumpy but rolled well. Overall in good condition considering the time of year. Staff friendly and accommodating. Overall a nice day. Will return
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 10/17/15 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 81
Cost: $45
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: Fearlessgib See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
Always enjoy Tradition, especially when I drive it straight. Course is in very good shape.The greens were firm and had good speed. Bunkers well maintained, fairways and tees green and lush and the staff friendly and accomadating. It was a good day, I'll be back.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 6/20/15 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 78
Cost: $50
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: Parbuster See All Reviews by this user
Last played here in early May, fairways & tees much improved. Had a chance to speak with the superintendent briefly on the 7th tee and was informed that they had recently resoded 7 tees. Winter kill areas in fairways were heeling as well. The greens were as good as you can get and the bunkers were raked and edged. Second time playing Tradition in over 2 years sense the new management took over, I like what I saw. Definitely be back.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 6/20/15 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 84
Cost: $45
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: metallikviper See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 16.0
Great course, nice layout and back to being in good condition. Greens are in really good shape like all the other trail courses. Bunkers and fairways are being worked on which is a good sign. It should be in really good shape this fall if they keep up the good work. Looks like the management is working on the tee boxes the least on all the courses. This course was no exception and the tee boxes needed some work done. Good deal if you have the Queen City Passport.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 5/9/15 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 58
Cost: $50
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
Played Tradition with some old friends on Saturday morning. We had two groups and played best ball in our groups. So I'll couch this review with the caveat that I probably did not get to sample conditions outside of the tees, fairways and greens. It seems like many of the reviews I've read on the site recently have remarked that tee boxes are torn up. I can't remember the last review or even the last round I've played where the tee boxes were any better than average with many in bad shape. Why is it so difficult to maintain grass tee boxes? The ones at Tradition were hit and miss but the majority were spotty, making it difficult to find a good tee spot. The fairways were the big problem, though. Many of them, I'd say more than half, were 50% dead grass -- like the course had "lost" them. So the lies were bare, like hitting off of dirt in many cases. It struck me as very odd. Weather has been pretty favorable recently, but it doesn't look like the fairways are coming back anytime soon. The greens, in contrast, were quite good. I didn't notice any significant issues and my team was able to make putts on just about every green (we birdied 14 of 18 holes!). Putts rolled true with good speed. Overall, I had a good time. The beverage cart made the rounds several times during our play. The pro shop, snack bar and rangers were all nice and helpful. I also like the layout here. The strange poor condition of the fairways and tees just puzzled me. Last comment -- I bought the Queen City Pass for $50 since the first round was free -- this was actually $5 cheaper than paying the $55 fee for a Saturday morning round! You get $10 rack rate and other discounts. So it's a good deal for the former Carolina Trail courses.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 9/13/14 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 89
Cost: $47
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: metallikviper See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 16.0
Finally played here after 1.5 years and I'm amazed how much a new ownership changes a course. The last time I came here, I decided never to play a Trail course again. I really like what the new management is doing with the trail courses. Tee boxes, fairways and greens are in excellent shape. Some greens needed help and lots of fresh sod around the fairways. There was a downpour the morning before we played so the bunkers were soaked with standing water in many of them. All in all, great improvements around the course and I will definitely recommend playing here.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 8/21/14 Thu Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 92
Cost: $43
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: BetterThanMost See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 18.0
Based on the reviews I've seen of this and other former CT courses, I decided to give The Tradition a shot after not playing here for close to 10 years. I teed off just after noon on Thursday. There couldn't have been more than 10 cars in the parking lot. There was a twosome immediately in front of me on the front, but after passing them at the turn, I didn't see anyone else on the back. The course was in fairly good condition. Fairways had plenty of grass on them, and rough was thick in spots. The greens were in great shape for the most part. I saw a small bare patch here and there on a couple of greens, but they rolled pretty well for me. They do suffer the public golf scourge of people not fixing ball marks. Bunkers were well taken care of and had ample sand in them. Didn't hit range balls, but it looked as if they had fairly new range balls. I'll definitely come back to The Tradition, and if the new management company is making the same progress at the other former CT courses, I'll check those out, too.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 8/3/14 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 76
Cost: $39
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: GolfNiners5 See All Reviews by this user
Havent been here in about 2 years because of how bad it was before. Hole 7 had a rough spot on the green but the pin made sure it wasn't in play. Honestly this is in great shape. The only reason i said Good instead of Perfect is because of lazy golfers that don't fix their ball marks. Tee boxes were great, fairways perfect and greens in excellent condition. Greens rolled true and were soft. Bunkers were also great but a couple I noticed had some wall damage, or they were collapsed. Other then that they were raked and playable. Would recommend this course again!
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 7/12/14 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 85
Cost: $39
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: TheClaw See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 5.3
First time back since Carolina Trail exited. I wasn't expecting much, but was pleasantly surprised by the course conditions. Tee boxes were good, fairways were ok, the greens were surprisingly good considering they are 1. bent grass in the middle of summer and 2.Tradition is a muni. They do have some other type of grass on them in some spots, so they can be a bit 2-paced, but they are mostly consistent, and roll well enough overall. No ranger out but we moved along at a good pace. The only disappointment was that there was no beer cart in sight, and it was a scorching summer afternoon with no threat of rain. So they definitely cost themselves some money there. But I recommend supporting this course again as I have always enjoyed the layout (hang on for your life for the first 4 holes...then it gets much easier after that). A good value at $40 or less
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 6/15/14 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 80
Cost: $52
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: DrSchteeve See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 8.0
Greens great, fairways OK, perhaps a tad pricey even though it is a great muni.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 3/20/13 Wed Morning
Overall Rating: Below average
Score: 81
Cost: $20
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: 4amigos See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 12.0
Bunkers were in good shape and the fairways were acceptable for winter. The greens were almost unplayable. Lots of damage,extensive bare spot. Putt bounced and wobbled on almost every green. They have not aerated or sanded which would have been an improvement over the existing conditions. Tee boxes did not have much grass either.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 3/20/13 Wed Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score:
Cost: $29
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: aimtobreak80 See All Reviews by this user
I agree with 4amigos review for the same day of play with respect to conditions. I found the greens to be bumpy and pock-marked but, in all honesty, don't believe that affected scoring as putts seemed to roll true. The greatest challenge, as other's have noted (and as an employee in the pro shop opined, "The course is very tight".) is to hit it straight. That was my, personal, problem - hit 10 of 14 fairways, but hit too many erratic shots after leaving the tee. Hopefully, with the first day of Spring now gone by, course conditions will improve. I'm willing to give it another shot. The Yardage Guide is a good value ($1.86), but is not all that necessary for this relatively straightforward course.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 11/29/12 Thu Morning
Overall Rating: Below average
Score: 107
Cost: $20
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: dad4204 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 20.0
Tee boxes pretty bad, greens in terrible shape. Had a lot of dead spots, and as others have commented, the players themselves are to blame. I repaired at least 5 ball marks on every green. The greens were really soft because they'd been watered. My score was high because I played from the tips on the front side for fun and shot 59. Sand traps looked good, but when you got in them, there was just a thin layer of sand, so it was like hitting from a bare lie.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 9/23/12 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Below average
Score: 82
Cost: $35
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 5 Hours
Username: estanwick See All Reviews by this user
Overall I give it a C grade. Greens had issues with sand and marks. Not many true rolls at all. Tee boxes were below average also. I have never been a huge fan of this course but I tried it again. I would have never played it if I didn't buy the Carolina Trail special early in the year. Pace of play was 5 hours. LONG, long round. If you have other options, take them first. My next reive will either be Verdict Ridge or Warrior. Keep you all posted
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 9/2/12 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score:
Cost: $29
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: Russell See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 6.0
Went out early Sunday morning and the pace of play was great. The greens were ok - I imagine they will be getting better as the weather cools off - a lot of unfixed ballmarks though. The biggest complaint that I have is that there is no indication of pin placement. The greens are deep and many are elevated so you can't tell where the in is. Normally it does not hurt me much but it can mean a 2 or even 3 club difference. Also, the tee boxes could of used a pass with the mower - very fluffy. The rest of the conditions were typical for Carolina Trail courses. Check out the algae growth on the lake in front of the club house - it is impressive. You may be able to walk on it.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 8/5/12 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Below average
Score: 85
Cost: $28
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: DrSchteeve See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 8.0
I guess this is average for Trail courses, which means pretty bad by usual standards. My playing partner commented that the greens were easily the worst we have played on this year - pocked marked with ball marks, bumpy, poa anna, bare spots. Fairways were fine, rough high but fair, teeboxes hard but OK. Pretty unlikely I'm going to play anymore Trail courses after I finish Birkdale and Skybrook on my $129 card
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 6/16/12 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Below average
Score: 84
Cost: $29
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: ncboy777 See All Reviews by this user
Greens were terrible considering they were punched several months ago, many ball marks from lazy golfers. Sand traps had not been taken care of recently (hard and not raked). Fairway were in good shape. I have been playing this course for years and I am disappointed of recent conditions.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 4/8/12 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Average
Score: 113
Cost: $32
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: > 5 Hours
Username: ISlayMySelf See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 18.0
2nd time I have played this course and I'm not sure I will be back anytime soon. Both times I've played the pace has been extremely slow. Not sure why but it is frustrating having to wait on every box and every approach. The conditions were ok. Greens have been aerated in the last month but were no real issue however some tee boxes were in bad shape and forget about the sand traps. Some rain the day before made the traps play like you were hitting off clay one was completely washed out. With recent weather I was expecting a nice green manicured course but that was not the case and I can't imagine it will get better as the weather gets hot. If it weren't for clickit I would not play this course but for $32 I got my moneys worth.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 3/21/12 Wed Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 88
Cost: $30
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: DrSchteeve See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 8.0
Overall, good conditions. Great pace of play. Aeration was last Tues/Wed (another that I was misinformed on) so the greens were quite bumpy. In 2-3 weeks should be nearly perfect.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 1/7/12 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 95
Cost: $
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 5 Hours
Username: metallikviper See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 16.0
First time playing this course and I wasn't disappointed. Course seemed to be in good shape for this time of the year. Tee Boxes and greens were in excellent shape. Fairways are basically dormant for this time of the year, which makes finding the ball a bit difficult. Roughs chewed up a few of our balls today. Only gripe about the course were the bunkers. Atleast 5-7 of the bunkers had stagnant water. Very few bunker had real sand. Also, did not appreciate the 5 hr pace.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 9/2/11 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score:
Cost: $28
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: < 3 Hours
Username: Jova007200 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 31.0
Played this course today and once again got chased off by weather. However, we made it to the 16th hole today so it wasn't that bad. The fairways are pretty chewed up in spots, but it is a public course and it gets its share of traffic. No issues there. The greens are indeed a bit beat up as the previous reviewer stated, but its not all that bad. I managed to 2 putt most of them from various distances. I might care more if I were a better golfer, but I'm not there yet. My main issue arose when we were leaving due to the storm. They shouldn't be letting people go out when a heavy storm with severe lightning has been sighted near by within a mile or so. Where I come from some places would send rangers out to round people up. Sure, golf at your own risk, but you can't be letting people start off or play through the back nine just because they want to tough it out. Administratively that is just irresponsible.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 8/21/11 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 108
Cost: $40
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: > 5 Hours
Username: ISlayMySelf See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 18.0
First time I have played here and I really enjoyed it. Tee box and fairways were in good condition. The greens are soft, fast and a little beat up but they are better then a lot of the courses on the Carolina Trail. Keep the ball in the fairway and you will have a good day. Mounds on the edge of the fairways will shoot any missed tee shots into the rough or woods and they are gone because both are thick. Only complaint is the pace of play. We had to wait on every tee and approach shot because the course was backed up. Longest round I have ever played and started at 1pm. They also have a good chicken salad sandwich and some "talent" on the beverage cart.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 8/14/11 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 82
Cost: $36
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 5 Hours
Username: Russell See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 6.0
It has been a few years since I have played the Tradition because I never felt it was well conditioned. Well, while conditions were not perfect they were better than some other courses I have played recently. The tees and fairways were in good shape. The greens were ok - definitely chewed up due to the soft conditions. They rolled pretty quick and very bouncy. (I guess this is the time of year to search out mini-verde greens.) The traps were a mess possibly because of overnight rain - but I doubt it. Pace of play was slow partly because of cart path only. Overall, pleasantly surprised - probably because I had low expectations.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 7/1/11 Fri Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 78
Cost: $
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: Ironcitybrewery See All Reviews by this user
I'm not a huge fan of the layout of this course, but everything was pretty good. The greens and rough were looking good. A couple spots in the fairway needed some attention. I think this is a solid course, but it's not very hard and is basically a bunch of holes that are straight.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 2/18/11 Fri Morning
Overall Rating: Average
Score: 88
Cost: $32
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: malamute See All Reviews by this user
fun course only a few hard holes / greens not what you'd exoect this time of year - need improvement / gps removed from carts
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 9/3/10 Fri Morning
Overall Rating: Below average
Score: 88
Cost: $37
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: malamute See All Reviews by this user
greens have been punched recently - most in poor shape not worth playing right now
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 4/10/10 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $52
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: El Supremo See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 16.0
Course was in pretty good shape. Bunkers need work. Much better shape than this time last year.
View Comments (0) Post Comment