Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings
Re: Tillery Tradition Status
Posted by: kuehbr
on 10/10/17 11:25am
Thanks for the update! One of my favorite area courses and happy to hear that they are putting in the time/money to make that place great again, looking forward to playing it in the upcoming months

Recent Reviews for All Courses

RSS feed icon Subscribe to the RSS feed for this page and never miss a review!

View All Course News & Updates

Eagle Chase Golf Club Date: 12/1/17 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 82
Cost: $22
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: GetThere214 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 7.1
Love this course. Course is in great shape for late fall. Did have some leaves on and around the greens which is to be expected. They got some new golf carts which are really nice. Can't wait to get out here again.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Olde Sycamore Golf Plantation Date: 11/29/17 Wed Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 102
Cost: $25
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: BetterThanMost See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 18.0
Wanted to post an update, particularly about Olde Sycamore's greens. They were in much better condition than the previous post. The cooler November weather seems to have served them well. Tees, fairways, rough, bunkers all in excellent shape.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Emerald Lake Golf Club Date: 11/19/17 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Bad, stay away
Score: 83
Cost: $39
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 5 Hours
Username: TheClaw See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 5.3
Giving them 1 star for pace of play. Course wasn't that busy, but they sent out a 4-ball and 3-ball of beginner golfers. By the time they finished they were 5 holes behind (and never caught up). No ranger in sight. In addition to slow play these guys were tearing the course up with massive divots, not raking bunkers (even taking practice swings in the sand). If there had been a ranger we could have told him/her to explain how golf works to these beginners (they don't know any better). The course was happy to take our money, and not care about customer service after that.
View Comments (2) Post Comment

Olde Sycamore Golf Plantation Date: 11/4/17 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Below average
Score: 79
Cost: $70
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: > 5 Hours
Username: kuehbr See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 3.5
Teed off at 12:30 on Saturday and it was probably my least favorite experience at Olde Sycamore. The pace of play was extremely slow, consistently had 3 to 4 groups waiting in front and behind us for a 4some that didnt know what ready golf was. The greens are shot right now. They are in a world of trouble for next summer if they can't get the roots to grow deeper and some spots were basically sand/dirt around the holes. Tee boxes are similar to greens. Fairways were nice and they have new carts. But for $70 dollars this place did not come close to expectations.. Would expect it from a $30-$40 dollar course.. save your money or look for deals to play this course right now. BirdieBug or GolfNow usually runs a couple of them.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Eagle Chase Golf Club Date: 10/27/17 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 98
Cost: $20
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: jaydee See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 18.0
Greens in great shape. I always find the course fun to play , every hole is different. Pace of play was a little slow but not bad considering it was a Friday afternoon.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Eagle Chase Golf Club Date: 10/22/17 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 80
Cost: $44
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: MGOBLUE See All Reviews by this user
This was my first time playing Eagle Chase, but after reading many good reviews over the years I decided to give it a try and I was not disappointed. The course conditions were near perfect,the layout was very challenging and the staff was very friendly. They even had a ranger on the course successfully keeping the pace of play at 4 hours. The drive from Ft Mill was almost 1 hour, but once you exited I-485 , the drive in the country was a great change of pace from typical highway driving in and around Charlotte. I will definitely be back.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 10/20/17 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score:
Cost: $39
Conditions: PerfectPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: syncgolf See All Reviews by this user
played tega cay and found the course to be in perfect conditions. ball sits perfect in the fairways, tees are well kept. greens rolling wry true and quick. one of the few public course that is not only keeping the course in good shape but actually improving and making it better. best value in town for the quality
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tillery Tradition Country Club Date: 10/18/17 Wed Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 88
Cost: $35
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: tvrepairex See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 15.6
Played this course early morning, first time on the new greens. The greens themselves were very good,smooth,medium speed.There were some areas on a few greens that had been sodded at the edges near the fringes.These did not affect our play and I had heard about these in advance through their emails.Fairways were great and the tee boxes for the most part very good.The rough seemed a little thicker than in the past ,but not as bad as some other area courses. The traps on the other hand had not been raked and this had usually been a strength of the course.Maybe because we were out before they got a chance to do them? Overall very good course but they have raised their rates somewhat,thirty five dollars for senior rate in the weekdays.I love the course,but can do better price wise and closer than a 45 min.drive.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Rocky River Golf Club Date: 10/14/17 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 81
Cost: $59
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: Opow See All Reviews by this user
All I can says is that this place is in great shape as it always seems to be. The price is a little more than I like to spend but it was worth it. Greens are always fast and true. I still don't like the bunker because of stones in some of them but other then that I would always recommend playing here.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Birkdale Golf Club Date: 10/13/17 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Never going back
Score: 80
Cost: $35
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: Opow See All Reviews by this user
Six years later and this place is still in bad shape. I wish the would get a real management company in hear to fix the place. Nothing is worse than hit a ball on the first green about ten feet away and when you walk up on green you see that there is no way you can make the putt because of clumps of crabgrass and bear spots in your line. It also looked as if the just cut the rough because the clippings were everywhere and we lost two balls under it. I said six years ago it was crap and I would not be back and I should have stayed away.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Waterford Golf Club Date: 10/13/17 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $39
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: syncgolf See All Reviews by this user
course was in great condition balls sits perfect in fairways greens rolled smooth. Great shot variety and most bang for your buck too
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Renaissance Park Golf Course Date: 10/5/17 Thu Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 82
Cost: $30
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
My first time back at RP in several years. I do enjoy the uniqueness of the layout, with lots of elevation changes and hilly terrain, a few blind shots. It was very familiar even having not played here in so long. That said, the course is quirky. Lies will be hit or miss everywhere. Since so many holes are sloped and hilly even fairway lies will be iffy. The fairways were in good shape for the most part. The rough on many holes had not been mowed recently, so we nearly lost a few balls in it. The greens on the front 9 were really good and quick. The back 9 was like a completely different course and very disappointing. Most of the greens were nearly unputtable due to sandy bare spots. Count two putts and pick up your ball. That bad. Not sure why the front 9 and back 9 were like night and day. I will say that the pro shop attendant mentioned that they had aerated 2 weeks ago and gave us a coupon for $20 off our next round if we come back in the next 2 weeks. I won't have a chance to use it and the expiration was kinda short, but it was a nice gesture. I do enjoy the challenge of this course so it was fun being back, but I'd like to see the back 9 greens in better shape when I play next.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Glen Oaks Golf Club Date: 10/3/17 Tue Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $25
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: tvrepairex See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 15.6
Played today and the course was in great shape,even with the drought.The fairways and tee boxes were good.The traps had good sand and were raked perfectly.The greens were good and a little faster than they appeared.Some of the pin placements were a little tough,such as on the edge of a ridge,but they were having a captains choice tournament after lunch so this probably led to some of the placements.I live in Concord so its about an hour trip up there ,but we love the course so we go monthly.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Rocky River Golf Club Date: 10/2/17 Mon Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 80
Cost: $70
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: hotrod jb See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 13.0
Course is in great shape! Greens roll really quick and true. Only reason for not giving 5 stars is the price.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 9/24/17 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 79
Cost: $27
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: HittOD See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 5.0
Greens 2.75/5 (some spottiness due to being bent grass coming out of hot time of the year, and aeration recently)., Fairways 4/5 (nice), Traps 2.5/5 ( many need more sand), Clubhouse/Staff 5/5 (always great). Course Layout 4/5 (nice mix of holes) From my experience playing bent greens, I expect the greens at Edgewater to be much nicer by the end of October after some cooler nights.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Golf Club at Ballantyne Date: 9/24/17 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 74
Cost: $82
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: kuehbr See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 3.5
It is always a treat playing Ballantyne. The course was in gorgeous shape. The greens were very quick and they were holding any shots into them. Pace of play was quirky since they allow 2somes out in the morning in between foursomes. The beer special on sundays are great, $1 dollar beers and they start serving at 10am. Staff was very friendly as well.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Skybrook Golf Club Date: 9/21/17 Thu Morning
Overall Rating: Average
Score:
Cost: $
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: aimtobreak80 See All Reviews by this user
Good news and bad news. The good news is that, now, carts are permitted on Nos. 1 and 6 holes where such access was desperately needed. The bad news is that the course renovation/rejuvenation has apparently stalled, and several issues that had been addressed earlier in the year have regressed somewhat. The biggest disappointment is that there has been no improvement in any of the bunkers contrary to what I was led to believe was in the offing back in June - no evidence of any work whatsoever - and the only improvement was no standing water (but we haven't had rain for over a week, so that's not saying much). Several greens were stressed either with bare spots and/or mower scrapes, and the ball didn't roll exactly true. The fairways were good-to-average, but my biggest complaint remains: too many uneven lies. Finally, I was playing as a single, and soon ran up against another single who was playing behind a foursome which was playing behind a fivesome! This made for an extremely slow second nine that ruined any playing rhythm, or momentum. I likely will not play Skybrook again until next year in order to give the new management one, last chance to make the course worthwhile.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Eagle Chase Golf Club Date: 9/17/17 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 73
Cost: $25
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: kuehbr See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 3.5
Course was busy but pace of play was decent. They had a hard time turning carts due to the morning play. The zoysia greens were in fantastic shape and rolling very fast for an afternoon round. I really do like playing this course even though it is a bit of a drive to get there. Cheap beer and a friendly staff makes it even better. Definitely worth the money and the drive to go play it.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Divide Golf Club Date: 9/4/17 Mon Afternoon
Overall Rating: Below average
Score: 83
Cost: $29
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
I wanted to get a late afternoon round in on Labor Day and most courses were packed. This course is 5 minutes from my house so I took a chance, knowing conditions have not been good. Well somehow The Divide managed to not meet even my low expectations. The greens were atrocious. They *averaged* a 3 out of 10 -- meaning several were virtually unplayable due to long grass, sand and rough spots. Several bunkers were unplayable due to mud and dried riverbed condition. Fairways and rough were thick and not recently mowed. Tee boxes had also not been cut recently. The course looked very neglected. I fear for the future of this course, to be honest. We've seen Regent Park close a neighborhood course and turn it over to developers. The same could happen here if they don't spend money to get it back to playable condition. The best thing I can say about my round is that Kent in the pro shop was very nice and told me I could start on the back 9 so my pace of play would be good. That was very much appreciated!
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Dr. Charles L. Sifford Golf Course at Revolution Park Date: 8/29/17 Tue Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 35
Cost: $20
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
I've been playing the Sifford course just about every week on Tuesdays as part of a small work golf league. Looking at the last review from November, I decided I should post an update. I've gotten accustomed to the course now and really appreciate it for what it is -- a friendly, inexpensive, fun place to play. The course itself is kept in good shape. The bermuda greens are pretty consistent -- they've been kept at normal speeds, maybe even a little on the slow side, but they could easily cut them a little lower and make them lightning quick. So it's a good idea to stroke some putts on the practice green before playing. The course is only 9 holes but offers a good mix of challenges. It plays to beginners as well as seasoned golfers. It can play short, even from the back tees, but makes up for that with doglegs, elevation changes and a few undulating, sloped greens. I managed to shoot even par for 9 holes in my round today. So I definitely think your scores and appreciation for the course will improve as you play it more. The pro shop is very friendly and accommodating -- the beer selection and prices are the best around the local golf courses. And the practice area is extensive, one of the best public facilities for practice and learning in the area.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Skybrook Golf Club Date: 8/25/17 Fri Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 90
Cost: $32
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: MtnIsland See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 18.0
Great Layout, course in very good condition. Greens rolled true but are a bit chewed up. Bunkers still unplayable. Course will be excellent when they get the bunkers cleaned up.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Lancaster Golf Club Date: 8/19/17 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 85
Cost: $40
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: GinMillDJ See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 22.0
Nice layout. Greens were really nice. Fairways very good. Bunkers were good. Many of the fairways are wide and very open, however the rough if almost non-existent. Any ball that rolled through the rough, either ended up in the woods and lost or ended up on rocky dirt patches. I probably lost 3 or 4 balls that would have been normally played out of the rough. Good course though. Maybe the rough will come back in the fall.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Golf Club at Ballantyne Date: 8/15/17 Tue Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 87
Cost: $34
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: GinMillDJ See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 22.0
Greens are lightning quick and very well maintained. Fairways are also in really good shape. Some of the bunkers are not in the greatest shape, which is the only reason I didn't rate it perfect/5 Stars. Course is definitely worth playing.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Monroe Country Club Date: 8/6/17 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 87
Cost: $20
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
This was a tale of two nines. The front nine caters to members, walkers and families. So even teeing off at 4:15, it was a very slow front 9. The front 9 is also the more difficult nine with small tricky greens and elevation changes that can make it difficult to get a good lie. I breezed through the back 9 in about 75 minutes with almost no one playing the full 18. I came within inches of an eagle on #12. All in all I had a fun round and the course was just how I remember it and expected it to be. The greens will not make a mark so they are all in good shape and rolling quick. And man was it cheap for a Sunday afternoon!
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Mooresville Golf Club Date: 8/5/17 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 83
Cost: $43
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
My first time getting out to Mooresville to see the renovated layout and new amenities. The clubhouse is complete and open, though the snack area and restaurant were not fully functional yet. The practice facility is as advertised and very extensive. I made a tee time the night before and got a decent weekend afternoon rate. I loved the course! It's in great shape. The bermuda greens are very challenging but very consistent. With 5 par-5's and par-3's and a couple of short par 4's, scoring opportunities abound. It definitely helps to have some local knowledge to pick good targets, especially on approaches into these young greens -- which don't hold approaches very well. There are some picturesque holes and quirky ones (be careful with your approach into #4!). Conditions were pretty immaculate tee-to-green, but don't venture off the first cut of rough. I lost two balls in thick pampass grass/weeds just off the cart paths on two holes, which was very frustrating. The beverage cart was out on the course and we saw it frequently - which seems to be a lost art these days with other courses. All in all this is course that's worth the long drive for me (50+ min) and I will make the trip again soon!
View Comments (2) Post Comment