Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings
Re: Zoysia
Posted by: The B-Man
on 8/16/17 5:00pm
Eagle Chase in Marshville.

Recent Reviews for All Courses

RSS feed icon Subscribe to the RSS feed for this page and never miss a review!

View All Course News & Updates

Lancaster Golf Club Date: 8/19/17 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 85
Cost: $40
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: GinMillDJ See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 22.0
Nice layout. Greens were really nice. Fairways very good. Bunkers were good. Many of the fairways are wide and very open, however the rough if almost non-existent. Any ball that rolled through the rough, either ended up in the woods and lost or ended up on rocky dirt patches. I probably lost 3 or 4 balls that would have been normally played out of the rough. Good course though. Maybe the rough will come back in the fall.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Golf Club at Ballantyne Date: 8/15/17 Tue Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 87
Cost: $34
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: GinMillDJ See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 22.0
Greens are lightning quick and very well maintained. Fairways are also in really good shape. Some of the bunkers are not in the greatest shape, which is the only reason I didn't rate it perfect/5 Stars. Course is definitely worth playing.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Monroe Country Club Date: 8/6/17 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 87
Cost: $20
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
This was a tale of two nines. The front nine caters to members, walkers and families. So even teeing off at 4:15, it was a very slow front 9. The front 9 is also the more difficult nine with small tricky greens and elevation changes that can make it difficult to get a good lie. I breezed through the back 9 in about 75 minutes with almost no one playing the full 18. I came within inches of an eagle on #12. All in all I had a fun round and the course was just how I remember it and expected it to be. The greens will not make a mark so they are all in good shape and rolling quick. And man was it cheap for a Sunday afternoon!
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Mooresville Golf Club Date: 8/5/17 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 83
Cost: $43
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
My first time getting out to Mooresville to see the renovated layout and new amenities. The clubhouse is complete and open, though the snack area and restaurant were not fully functional yet. The practice facility is as advertised and very extensive. I made a tee time the night before and got a decent weekend afternoon rate. I loved the course! It's in great shape. The bermuda greens are very challenging but very consistent. With 5 par-5's and par-3's and a couple of short par 4's, scoring opportunities abound. It definitely helps to have some local knowledge to pick good targets, especially on approaches into these young greens -- which don't hold approaches very well. There are some picturesque holes and quirky ones (be careful with your approach into #4!). Conditions were pretty immaculate tee-to-green, but don't venture off the first cut of rough. I lost two balls in thick pampass grass/weeds just off the cart paths on two holes, which was very frustrating. The beverage cart was out on the course and we saw it frequently - which seems to be a lost art these days with other courses. All in all this is course that's worth the long drive for me (50+ min) and I will make the trip again soon!
View Comments (2) Post Comment

Stonebridge Golf Club Date: 8/5/17 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 91
Cost: $45
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: GinMillDJ See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 22.0
Greens are getting a bit chewed up from the heat. On a scale of 1-10, I'd give the greens about a 6. The grounds crew are working hard to keep the greens playable. Fairways were in almost perfect condition. Traps were good as well although I was only in 1 on them all day. My fellow golfers didn't seem to have any issues with the bunkers they were in. Staff is friendly and the rangers do a nice job going around the course, keeping groups on time without being too pushy. Definitely a course worth playing.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Charlotte National Golf Club Date: 8/4/17 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 85
Cost: $25
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
As with other bent grass greens around town, Charlotte National's are having some issues. Several had bumps and bare spots, while almost all suffered from unrepaired ball mark scars. While green speeds were still good, well stroked putts could bump offline and that was occasionally frustrating. The rest of the course was in good shape. This course remains one of the best golfing values around town and the pro shop guys are the nicest around.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Stonebridge Golf Club Date: 7/30/17 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 83
Cost: $39
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
I enjoyed my visit back to a layout I enjoy and that lends to good scores for me. Course conditions outside the greens were pretty good. The bent grass greens are struggling as the summer winds down though. The pro shop gave me the heads up that 4 of the greens needed to be punched -- 3 on the front, 1 on the back. So those will need some time to come back. The others were fine, though the green speeds were fairly slow, as I think they are reluctant to cut them low due to the heat stress. I'll probably give the course a break until the fall, but I'll be back.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Charlotte National Golf Club Date: 7/28/17 Fri Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 81
Cost: $32
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: TPX See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 10.0
Nice course, good price especially. A few greens are struggling a bit in the heat, but otherwise in good shape. Fairways and tees are good. Rough and bunkers are just ok. The only problem we had is that the group behind us came up to us on the 9th tee and more or less asked us to speed up. We were waiting on the group in front of us most shots and we played in just under 4 hours. I'm not sure what else you can expect. The rest of the round the stayed right on us. Very distracting, rude, and uncalled for. Put a damper on an otherwise great day to be on the course!
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club Date: 7/26/17 Wed Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 98
Cost: $0
Conditions: PerfectPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: GungaGalunga See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 15.0
Really great course. Greens were a little slow, but recently punched and growing back well. Balls rolled true. Fairways were perfect. Course is beautiful and well landscaped. Time spent driving to this course is saved by the ability to play a round much faster. Guilties bar/restaurant inside is really nice.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Crescent Golf Club Date: 7/19/17 Wed Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 85
Cost: $22
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: < 3 Hours
Username: BetterThanMost See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 18.0
Wanted to give an update on Crescent, as my review over 2 years ago was the most recent review. The club has new ownership and a new name in 2017. It is officially called The Revival At The Crescent. The new ownership has put a lot of resources into bringing the course back from the edge of death (see my previous review). I found all but one tee box in great shape. They were as lush as any I've seen this summer. The fairways as well, save the 6th, have finally recovered from the winter kill of '15. The weather has allowed the bermuda to thrive. The greens have never really been an issue at Crescent, other than the 3rd, and that is still the case. The greens were spongy underfoot and rolled pretty true. The club has done a lot of work on all green side bunkers. They have redone the drainage in the bunkers and added new sand to them. It appears as if they are letting several fairway bunkers that don't really come into play transition into grass bunkers. There are new carts with usb charging ports. Additionally, there were coolers of cold water at several spots around the course. Sprinklers had distances on them and their was new signage everywhere. The club still has work to do. The front half of the 3rd green has been transitioned back into fairway, leaving a really small target. It sits so far back in a wooded area, that I don't see any way they can get air back there other than bringing in fans. The 5th tee, green and 6th fairway also need work. They sit down in a low area and don't much airflow. The club never had complete cart paths, and while it wasn't a problem 15 years ago, the lack of maintenance of the dirt cart paths over the years has made them almost impassible. The edges of bunkers need to be worked on as well. Areas of the course that aren't directly in the line of play, but could see an errant shot are the last piece of the course to come back. All in all, the club has made great strides to make the course playable again. Continued efforts in that same vein will bring it close to the condition it was in during the mid-'00s.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Glen Oaks Golf Club Date: 7/11/17 Tue Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $25
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: tvrepairex See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 15.6
Great course.The fairways are lush and green,the tee boxes are good except for one I noticed on gold tees.The greens were smooth but a little slow.The only issue was that the traps had not been raked.In fairness to the course,they were hit with a severe storm three days before and they lost approx.30 trees,so they were busy with that clean up and I'm sure that put the raking and mowing a little behind.Even with that,there was no problems with the trees around the course,only saw a few twisted sumps and some piles of brush far enough back in the woods that you had to look to see them.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Eagle Chase Golf Club Date: 7/9/17 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 95
Cost: $36
Conditions: PerfectPace: 5 Hours
Username: GinMillDJ See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 22.0
Greens are amazing, the fairways are great and the tee boxes were in pretty good shape. Bunkers could use a little TLC. Pace of play was a tad slow, but it was Sunday morning. The course is always well maintained. With no roads or houses near the holes, it's super quiet and and very tranquil. A demanding course with some fun elevation changes on several holes. Totally worth the drive from Charlotte. Definitely will be back.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Skybrook Golf Club Date: 7/9/17 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 86
Cost: $36
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
My first time back at Skybrook in over a year. I use to play here more often (5-10 years ago) when it was one of my favorites. I just really like the layout. Outside of Verdict Ridge, no course plays more like a mountain course than this one with its dramatic elevation changes and rolling hills. I had a nice chat with the superintendent, Dino Psaroudis, before the round. He's been at Skybrook since last Fall and has helped bring the course back from the brink. Conditions today were good with a few notable exceptions. The bent grass greens rolled really well and despite lots of ball marks from frequent play there were no other issues on the putting surfaces. Tees and fairways were in good shape too. The further you get off the fairway, the more weeds and brush take over. So rough lies can be dicey. The biggest issue right now is the bunkers and as my father has noted in his previous reviews (aimtobreak80), they are working on that. We basically played bunkers as a free drop outside the bunker. At a minimum, play them as rake and place. Most were overwhelmed with water or were dried up riverbed quality. Bunkers aside, the course is still a great layout and once again I enjoyed the closing 4-hole stretch that I think is among the best. I'll be back soon.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Eagle Chase Golf Club Date: 7/8/17 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 82
Cost: $29
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
This remains one of my favorite courses, especially the back 9 -- on which I broke par for the first time in my life. :-P The greens were immaculate. They simply don't mark up and roll really well. Tees, fairways and bunkers were all in fine shape. I know folks complain about the cart paths, but they let you in the fairway pretty early. So it's easy to avoid them for the most part. Late afternoon is a perfect time to play here when it's not very crowded. And $29 is a great deal. Can't recommend this course enough for when you can make the drive out there.
View Comments (2) Post Comment

Warrior Golf Club Date: 7/5/17 Wed Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 85
Cost: $33
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: tvrepairex See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 15.6
Fairways good,tee boxes good,The traps had mostly packed sand,luckily I didn't test any of them,but a few of the more out of the way ones had no sand.The only other complaint was that they had lightly sanded the greens,but not punched them.They looked kind of bad ,but actually putted pretty well and had good speed.Without the sand the speed would have been almost too fast.Of course they didn't tell us of the sanding when the tee time was made or when we paid.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 7/4/17 Tue Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 76
Cost: $49
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: TheClaw See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 5.3
Greens, tees and fairways are still perfect. They just need to fix the bunkers and they would get 5/5 stars.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Emerald Lake Golf Club Date: 7/4/17 Tue Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 83
Cost: $47
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
First full round here in a while, though I practice here frequently. The new clubhouse and grill are now open too, making the course feel normal again. I really like the placement of the grill and patio overlooking the 2nd green, 9th green, 10th tee, 14th tee and 18th green. Great view of several holes. The course itself was in good shape. The greens were cut and rolled true and fairly quick. Most had lots of ball marks, but not such a crazy amount that they affected putts. I tried to fix several that were fresh on each hole. The 10th green had an odd blemish near the collar where there looked to be about 6 old cup holes filled in with sand. There were a few muddy and GUR spots, but nothing significant affecting play. All in all, tee to green, it's in really good shape. They've added these red, white and blue posts to most greens. I couldn't quite figure out the purpose - my partners seem to think it was to rest your clubs on. A few times they got in the way and we had to temporarily displace them. I would have been more concerned if I had hit an approach shot that ricocheted badly off of one. So golfer beware. Contrary to my experience at Rocky River the day before, the cart girl was seen early and often throughout our round. Pace of play was good and we had a great holiday round. I've played Emerald Lake more than any other course over the years since I had a membership for 2 seasons. So it's like an old friend to me and I'll come back often.
View Comments (2) Post Comment

Highland Creek Golf Club Date: 7/4/17 Tue Morning
Overall Rating: Bad, stay away
Score: 84
Cost: $36
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: 5 Hours
Username: GolfNiners5 See All Reviews by this user
I know I posted on this course about 3 weeks ago and said it would take a lot to get me back but unfortunately I was asked to be a 4th and after I committed I found out they booked here. Not much has changed. Rough hasn't been cut in weeks, weeds growing everywhere including the greens and fairways. Bunkers weren't raked and had grass coming through. On top of all this, the starter was a complete jerk. We had a 835 tee time and he tried to push us out at 820 when our entire group was just arriving. He told us to stop talking to the other group on the first tee as "someone needs to tee off." Then after 9 when we let a 2-some play through he again yelled at us for being slow when we were doing them a favor. I have played here a lot of the last couple of years and have never seen this guy before. The course was pretty much dead other than the group behind us and the 2 some we let through yet he still told us we were moving slow. I will not return to this course until I see a better review
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Rocky River Golf Club Date: 7/2/17 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 94
Cost: $46
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
Tee to green the course was in good shape. The bermuda greens were immaculate and rolling well but not super slick. The carts have pretty accurate GPS touchscreens and they were helpful. While I generally like the layout and enjoy the challenge of this course, the wooded areas that frame each hole have now overgrown to the point where they are virtually unplayable if hit an errant shot. While I realize that you're not supposed to hit it there, I'm just pointing out that the course is not as forgiving as it once was in that respect and it can make the round very frustrating if you hit some loose shots. Because of that, I'd characterize this course as target golf, with fairway accuracy a must to score at all. My other beef with the course on this 90 degree Sunday was that there was no cart girl at all. When my partner purchased 2 beers to start the round we were told that all the coolers were out on the course and were not given any ice - so we didn't have a cold drink after that first beer on the front nine. I struggled to make it to the 8th tee where they had a water bucket. Overall, the course is worth playing with those caveats.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Highland Creek Golf Club Date: 6/25/17 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Bad, stay away
Score: 85
Cost: $40
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: wesleyhieghtshacker See All Reviews by this user
The golf course was atrocious. Greens were furry and seemed like they haven't been cut in days. Almost unputtable. The whole course is just poorly maintained. Clumps of clover and weeds intermittently throughout most fairways. Some holes there was no way to tell when the fairway ended and the rough began. Fairways and rough seemed like they hadn't been cut in days as well. Bunkers had grass growing in them on most of the holes. The layout is nice, but just not a great experience. It would take a lot for my group to go back.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Olde Sycamore Golf Plantation Date: 6/25/17 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 78
Cost: $73
Conditions: PerfectPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: DrSchteeve See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 8.0
It was all good. Got out early, pace was great. There were a few soggy areas in some fairways from the deluge the night before, and hence cart path only. Certainly pricey, but a great course in great shape.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 6/24/17 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 79
Cost: $35
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: GolfNiners5 See All Reviews by this user
Course was in excellent condition. Only complaints would be about the greens on the first couple of holes. A couple of them had crab grass coming through that would interfere with putts. After about hole 4 the greens were in great shape. Course was very wet from the recent rain but was still playable. Very impressed with how far this course has come from a couple of years ago. I did have some complaints about the starter/ clubhouse. We teed off about 20 minutes late due to them being behind. There were multiple 4 somes in front of us but behind us there was 4 consecutive groups of 2 somes. They should have paired them up with each other so we didn't feel rushed, even if we let them play through they would have had no were to go.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Eagle Chase Golf Club Date: 6/23/17 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 84
Cost: $35
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: DrSchteeve See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 8.0
Greens still recovering from a punch but rolled okay. Everything else was good.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Carolina Lakes Golf Club Date: 6/17/17 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 88
Cost: $59
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: GinMillDJ See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 22.0
Greens are in great shape, especially compared to last year when they lost almost half of them. Fairways are in really good shape. Tee boxes were normal wear and tear.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 6/17/17 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 76
Cost: $49
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: TheClaw See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 5.3
The only thing stopping me from giving a perfect rating is that the bunkers need sand and the carts have no sand bottles to fill divots with. Good news is that staff told me they are working on both. Apart from that the tees, fairways and greens were all perfect. Great staff in the pro shop as well. This course is in beautiful shape, it is well worth the drive from charlotte.
View Comments (0) Post Comment